91 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Shall we have a diet/workout post?, To Help Each Other.

4Rings
post Jun 3 2008, 05:21 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 3 2008, 04:36 PM)
Breakfast, hurm, alrite, i think i'll put in egg whites there also.
Lunch-it was the only chicken available at the moment. Will soon only eat chicken breast for lunch.
tea-unsure of what more to add. 2 more slices of bread?
postworkout-ok, more eggwhites for this.
dinner-may i ask, how do i diversify this one?
supper-trying hard to think of a purely protein food for this.

plus, my parents banned me from buying whey.
Eat whole eggs instead of white. Forget about the cholesterol craps.
Alternate your dinner with fish, poultry and red meat. Eat only one type of meat per meal.
Whey is better than HL Milk.
bata
post Jun 3 2008, 11:50 PM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(4Rings @ Jun 3 2008, 05:21 PM)
Eat whole eggs instead of white. Forget about the cholesterol craps.
Alternate your dinner with fish, poultry and red meat. Eat only one type of meat per meal.
Whey is better than HL Milk.
sorry for my ignorance but why? hmm.gif

Chow
kege
post Jun 4 2008, 12:31 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(bata @ Jun 3 2008, 11:50 PM)
sorry for my ignorance but why? hmm.gif
QUOTE(4Rings @ Jun 3 2008, 03:58 PM)
Breakfast - not enuf protein. HL Milk is junk milk, serve no purpose
Lunch - why eat chicken wing? It has very low protein and sausages too
Tea - not enuf protein
Post workout - too little protein
Dinner - eat 1 type of protein food at a time for better digestion and assimilation
Supper - you don't need so much carbo before bed time.

he already answered it before u asked biggrin.gif
Kyoyagami
post Jun 4 2008, 09:07 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

In reality, I'm not sure about the oats thing being true, but my belief is that it does help lower down cholesterol. I think that compensates for some choleterol crap that is being circulated around with eggs.

Another thing for me, my diet is terrible, because my mother controls it. Its sad when a 20 year old guy still couldn't choose what he wants to eat best. My gf on the other hand is supportive though.
kege
post Jun 4 2008, 09:39 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 4 2008, 09:07 AM)
In reality, I'm not sure about the oats thing being true, but my belief is that it does help lower down cholesterol. I think that compensates for some choleterol crap that is being circulated around with eggs.

Another thing for me, my diet is terrible, because my mother controls it. Its sad when a 20 year old guy still couldn't choose what he wants to eat best. My gf on the other hand is supportive though.
hey kyo, to reassure you that the whole cholesterol thing is a myth, check out this link:

http://www.chelationtherapyonline.com/articles/p72.htm

it's definitely true, my father has a few heart artery blockages and it has nothing to do with cholesterol. he has been reading books ever since his bypass surgery and confirmed that cholesterol is not the cause of his heart condition; if anything, more towards lack of certain vitamins but I won't go into detail. You can read the rest from the link but it's pretty long, so it's up to you if you wanna read till the end smile.gif

Why does your mother control your diet? Try reasoning with her that you're not feeling comfortable with your current physique and you have the knowledge and tools to make improvements. Or if really cannot smuggle food into your room la laugh.gif or keep a secret food stash at your gf's place. I'm assuming that your mom controls your basic 3 meals; bfast lunch dinner right? If that's the case I'm sure you can find a way to eat what you want in between meals outside the house. Anyway, good luck with your fitness goals. Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by kege: Jun 4 2008, 09:39 AM
Kyoyagami
post Jun 4 2008, 11:57 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(kege @ Jun 4 2008, 09:39 AM)
hey kyo, to reassure you that the whole cholesterol thing is a myth, check out this link:

http://www.chelationtherapyonline.com/articles/p72.htm

it's definitely true, my father has a few heart artery blockages and it has nothing to do with cholesterol. he has been reading books ever since his bypass surgery and confirmed that cholesterol is not the cause of his heart condition; if anything, more towards lack of certain vitamins but I won't go into detail. You can read the rest from the link but it's pretty long, so it's up to you if you wanna read till the end  smile.gif

Why does your mother control your diet? Try reasoning with her that you're not feeling comfortable with your current physique and you have the knowledge and tools to make improvements. Or if really cannot smuggle food into your room la  laugh.gif or keep a secret food stash at your gf's place. I'm assuming that your mom controls your basic 3 meals; bfast lunch dinner right? If that's the case I'm sure you can find a way to eat what you want in between meals outside the house. Anyway, good luck with your fitness goals. Cheers  smile.gif
Cool article, i'll read more when i get back from work.

Well, she doesn't want her son to look big. She scared I'll get fat. And trust me, I've reasoned a whole lot with her, and she still controls. But i'm lucky enough to eat 6 times a day though. Its just, the quality isn't there. My gf's in Aussie, so she can't cook for me. Then I dun have a room (i sleep in the living room). So, that's my life and the hardness of me wanting to bulk up.

I miss the days I spent having my own room at Uni, the amount of food I took was much more than this. biggrin.gif
kege
post Jun 4 2008, 02:48 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 4 2008, 11:57 AM)
But i'm lucky enough to eat 6 times a day though. Its just, the quality isn't there.
hmm? if u're working outside, then you can get the meals you want wat. your mom can't control you outside of the house right? she can only control you when you're at home, so go out when u want to eat biggrin.gif food courts are bb's best friends when on the move.
Kyoyagami
post Jun 4 2008, 02:57 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(kege @ Jun 4 2008, 02:48 PM)
hmm? if u're working outside, then you can get the meals you want wat. your mom can't control you outside of the house right? she can only control you when you're at home, so go out when u want to eat biggrin.gif food courts are bb's best friends when on the move.
haha. true2. But somehow the food court at my office is horribly reeking with oily food. Ouch... I dun think i barely see any traces of good protein in there.
kege
post Jun 4 2008, 03:52 PM

336 posts

haha. just go with eggs then. hardboil and bring to work or something. eat 2 or 3 every 3 hrs or so.
Kyoyagami
post Jun 6 2008, 05:10 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Thanks kege for the link. it was a really good long read and now I really understand the stuff on cholesterol.

I have a question, i find that protein coming from tofu is actually very little. The normal white packed tofu seems to have only 13.8g of protein on it, which is actually the whole pack itself. Is this true, cuz I dun wanna eat too much tofu because I'm aiming for 44g of protein a meal to bulk.
4Rings
post Jun 6 2008, 09:57 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

44g protein per meal. 44g x 5 meals = 220g. That's meant for a 200 pounder.
Kyoyagami
post Jun 7 2008, 10:05 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(4Rings @ Jun 6 2008, 09:57 PM)
44g protein per meal. 44g x 5 meals = 220g. That's meant for a 200 pounder.
Woops, I think that's too much. Since I'm aiming for 80kgs, it would mean i need around 175g of protein?
shanecross
post Jun 7 2008, 10:21 AM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

Are there any stores or marts that sell egg whites? I have been looking around and am yet to find one. It makes life really really easy.
kege
post Jun 7 2008, 02:00 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Jun 7 2008, 10:21 AM)
Are there any stores or marts that sell egg whites? I have been looking around and am yet to find one. It makes life really really easy.
you can look for protein powders made solely from egg whites. but i don't know why you would want to do that. just eat whole eggs
4Rings
post Jun 7 2008, 02:27 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 7 2008, 10:05 AM)
Woops, I think that's too much. Since I'm aiming for 80kgs, it would mean i need around 175g of protein?
Yeah, something like that.

Added on June 7, 2008, 2:28 pm
QUOTE(kege @ Jun 7 2008, 02:00 PM)
you can look for protein powders made solely from egg whites. but i don't know why you would want to do that. just eat whole eggs
Can't blame him. Majority of the people had been brainwashed to believe in cholesterol craps.

This post has been edited by 4Rings: Jun 7 2008, 02:28 PM
fugu199
post Jun 8 2008, 07:33 PM

74 posts

Its not cholesterol crap me dear.. its true .. google online for the yolk content, its one of the foods with extremely high cholesterol. u dont want to overload yr circulation with that, esp if yr family has a history of obesity or coronary vascular disease. thats why the bodybuilding supplement only sell the egg white powder.. NOT whole egg powder. also, if u eat the yolk, it contain tons of fat.. one of my frenz who did this for a few months .. already chubby and very surprised how he look today - and he told me he take boiled eggs often these few months to bulk up..but it seems he got more fat instead of muscle.. id rather be defined/slim that that!

This post has been edited by fugu199: Jun 8 2008, 07:34 PM
4Rings
post Jun 8 2008, 08:23 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

Another one.
kege
post Jun 8 2008, 09:38 PM

336 posts

fugu, view the link i posted for kyo above. and read the past posts. egg yolk definitely does not make you fat. rice does smile.gif

edit: if you're lazy to read, basically the medical world has created this myth that cholesterol is bad for your health and falsely associated cholesterol with coronary heart disease, so the public will buy their billion dollar industrial drug, Lipitor. Go pharmacy and check. fact: our body produces 80% of the total cholesterol in our system. Also, the less cholesterol we eat, the more our body produces to compromise (since cholesterol is essential for our body to function) and the more we eat, the less our body produces. High cholesterol is a condition, not a disease. Heart disease is.

abt fat, read the posts posted by 4Rings. Athletes often opt for a high fat, high protein, zero or low carb diet esp precontest to lose as much fat as possible. There's even an e-book about it. Here's the link:

http://www.scivationbooks.com/chadiet.htm

read the article in the link in the past posts above for further info. my father had a bypass few years ago, he's been researching about it ever since.

I'm not a professional, but this is what I've learnt through online research and logical interpretation. Please correct me if I'm wrong. I hope I have provided some insight to some. Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by kege: Jun 8 2008, 09:51 PM
fugu199
post Jun 9 2008, 12:35 AM

74 posts

well, its not like one size fits all.. its a known scientific fact that if u take high cholesterols diet, you -may- be more susceptible to CAD. also, there are scientific studies for the drugs, and such cholesterol drugs are mostly meant to block our body from synthesizing more of cholesterol (inhibit HMGCOAreductase, the rate limiting enzyme for cholesterol de novo biosynthesis) -- .. so, you may wish to think its all medic-hype, but there are scientific papers published on it and what ppl say about something may not necessarily be 100% applicable for everybody. also, it would be a broad generalisation to say that eating fatty food would not make one susceptible to become fat. thats why most bodybuilders opt for protein, minus fat or carbs

This post has been edited by fugu199: Jun 9 2008, 12:37 AM
Kyoyagami
post Jun 9 2008, 09:04 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(fugu199 @ Jun 9 2008, 12:35 AM)
well, its not like one size fits all.. its a known scientific fact that if u take high cholesterols diet, you -may- be more susceptible to CAD.  also, there are scientific studies for the drugs, and such cholesterol drugs are mostly meant to block our body from synthesizing more of cholesterol (inhibit HMGCOAreductase, the rate limiting enzyme for cholesterol de novo biosynthesis) --  .. so, you may wish to think its all medic-hype, but there are scientific papers published on it and what ppl say about something may not necessarily be 100% applicable for everybody.  also, it would be a broad generalisation to say that eating fatty food would  not make one susceptible to become fat. thats why most bodybuilders opt for protein, minus fat or carbs
haha. good analogy. But if I may, I would like to share.

Based on reading Kege's link, a scientific research was done on a rabbit on taking too many cholesterol. The rabbit was found dead from that diet. Though th results is viable, a huge flaw was discovered in this research. That the Rabbit was a vegetarian. How could it possible take cholesterol when it is not suited through its nature in the first place?

Btw, regarding high amounts of cholesterol, how come goats and cows still live, knwoing that those 2 animals have the largest amount of cholesterol in their system? Honestly, read the full length of that article and you'll see what we have understood.

91 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0330sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:02 AM