129 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v5, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

SUSPink Spider
post Nov 12 2013, 08:27 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Nov 12 2013, 06:37 PM)
Oh...any specific reasons why certain funds are more favoured over, say, the 3 that I mentioned? Just for my knowledge sweat.gif
1. Past performance
2. FSM recommendation

Pacific GSF -
The fund manager has a fairly flexible mandate to select stocks, and it's not afraid to hold high/low cash levels as they see fit

OSK-UOB GEYF -
A "safe" choice due to its focus on dividend-yielding equities from relatively stable sectors/industries

Alliance Global Equities -
Feeds into Singapore managed Fullerton Global Equities (Fullerton is associated to Temasek the Singapore sovereign wealth fund)

Hwang Select Asia Quantum and Select Asia Opportunity
HwangIM's performance speaks for itself. And why we call Asia Quantum the "Ponzi fund"...I leave it to your imagination tongue.gif

Aberdeen Islamic World Equity -
Sister fund to the hugely successful Aberdeen Global Opportunities available thru FSM Singapore, probably their only difference is one is Shariah-compliant while the other is not.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 12 2013, 09:43 PM

52,874 posts

Anybody knows why AmDynamic Bond NAV keeps sliding recently?

pinksapphire
post Nov 13 2013, 04:21 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 12 2013, 08:27 PM)
1. Past performance
2. FSM recommendation

Pacific GSF -
The fund manager has a fairly flexible mandate to select stocks, and it's not afraid to hold high/low cash levels as they see fit

OSK-UOB GEYF -
A "safe" choice due to its focus on dividend-yielding equities from relatively stable sectors/industries

Alliance Global Equities -
Feeds into Singapore managed Fullerton Global Equities (Fullerton is associated to Temasek the Singapore sovereign wealth fund)

Hwang Select Asia Quantum and Select Asia Opportunity
HwangIM's performance speaks for itself. And why we call Asia Quantum the "Ponzi fund"...I leave it to your imagination tongue.gif

Aberdeen Islamic World Equity -
Sister fund to the hugely successful Aberdeen Global Opportunities available thru FSM Singapore, probably their only difference is one is Shariah-compliant while the other is not.
Thanks for the helpful information, Pink!
SUSPink Spider
post Nov 13 2013, 09:20 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Nov 13 2013, 04:21 AM)
Thanks for the helpful information, Pink!
You're welcome, Pink tongue.gif

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 12 2013, 09:43 PM)
Anybody knows why AmDynamic Bond NAV keeps sliding recently?
I'm actually thinking about selling some AmDynamite and use the money to buy into DIGI.com Bhd and/or Axis REIT unsure.gif

Yield is similar, but with capital appreciation potential

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Nov 13 2013, 09:22 AM
jerrymax
post Nov 13 2013, 09:30 AM

310 posts

I was thinking to buy some AmDynamite lol
SUSDavid83
post Nov 13 2013, 10:40 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 13 2013, 09:20 AM)
You're welcome, Pink tongue.gif
I'm actually thinking about selling some AmDynamite and use the money to buy into DIGI.com Bhd and/or Axis REIT unsure.gif

Yield is similar, but with capital appreciation potential
I have similar thinking as you - to cash out AmDynamic and put into other more higher return fund.
SUSPink Spider
post Nov 13 2013, 10:48 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 13 2013, 10:40 AM)
I have similar thinking as you - to cash out AmDynamic and put into other more higher return fund.
Based on current market scenario, are u actually comfortable to increase your UT equity exposure?

I think my risk appetite limits me to EQ 60:40 FI.

But I'm comfortable buying more KLSE stocks to hold, cos as long as I don't sell, any "paper losses" won't be realised, I just hold and keep receive the cash dividends. Just treat as a very long term FD, just a matter of time before the dividends cover/offset the price losses.

Whereas if buy into UTs, if the fund manager disposes off the loss-making positions, the paper losses would be realised and hit my portfolio value.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 13 2013, 10:49 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 13 2013, 10:48 AM)
Based on current market scenario, are u actually comfortable to increase your UT equity exposure?

I think my risk appetite limits me to EQ 60:40 FI.

But I'm comfortable buying more KLSE stocks to hold, cos as long as I don't sell, any "paper losses" won't be realised, I just hold and keep receive the cash dividends. Just treat as a very long term FD, just a matter of time before the dividends cover/offset the price losses.

Whereas if buy into UTs, if the fund manager disposes off the loss-making positions, the paper losses would be realised and hit my portfolio value.
I'm looking to use that cash out in into my 2014 PRS contribution. laugh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Nov 13 2013, 01:36 PM

16,872 posts

Alright, selling 1/6 of my AmDynamic Bond today, moving the money to local KLSE stocks that are beaten down in recent days.
kabal82
post Nov 13 2013, 01:41 PM

♥Nature Lover♥
804 posts

is it a wise decision to sell off amdynamite and bank in to CMF? Assume CMF as a form of FI also? sweat.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Nov 13 2013, 01:45 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(kabal82 @ Nov 13 2013, 01:41 PM)
is it a wise decision to sell off amdynamite and bank in to CMF? Assume CMF as a form of FI also? sweat.gif
CMF would be a safe choice to park your money, basically zero risk close to 1-month FD returns. Current yield is 2.94%.

I'm moving the money to local dividend stocks, I'm looking at a few...see how they behave in coming days hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Nov 13 2013, 01:46 PM
SUSyklooi
post Nov 13 2013, 01:48 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(kabal82 @ Nov 13 2013, 01:41 PM)
hmm.gif in the longer terms, i think bond fund will out perform CMF.
are you in for the longer or short terms (< 3 yrs)?
SUSPink Spider
post Nov 13 2013, 01:52 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Nov 13 2013, 01:48 PM)
hmm.gif in the longer terms, i think bond fund will out perform CMF.
are you in for the longer or short terms (< 3 yrs)?
The paper loss u will suffer when BNM hikes rate (speculated by 2nd half of 2014?) may not be covered by the interest incomes in 2-3 years tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Nov 13 2013, 01:55 PM
SUSyklooi
post Nov 13 2013, 01:55 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 13 2013, 01:52 PM)
The paper loss u will suffer when BNM hikes rate (speculated by 2nd half of 2014?) may not be covered by the interest incomes tongue.gif
0.25% ~ 0.5% up can affect so much meh?
SUSPink Spider
post Nov 13 2013, 01:57 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Nov 13 2013, 01:55 PM)
0.25% ~ 0.5% up can affect so much meh?
I forgot how to do the math, but even a slight rate hike can hit a bond fund hard especially if most of its holdings are longer-dated bonds brows.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Nov 13 2013, 01:59 PM

16,872 posts

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=4057

Idea Of The Week: Window Of Opportunity For Fixed Income Investors [8 November 2013]

1. rebalance fixed income allocation

Riskier segments of fixed income which have been popular in recent times, have been impacted hard over the course of the previous few months, with Asian bonds, Emerging market debt and even High Yield on the receiving end of a rise in yields. The rise in yields on the various segments has been predominantly led by a rise in the spread between the US Treasury and their respective yields, although the reduction in exposure by foreign investors has contributed to currency depreciation which has added to negative performances for holders of the above said segments. With investors having previously been infatuated with the riskier segments of fixed income, which while not desirable was understandable given their relatively more attractive yields, the recent respite afforded to them by the Fed's decision not to begin tapering its asset purchase program should be seized and made full use of.

Investors who have been overly exposed to the riskier segments of fixed income should be looking to pare down their exposure to the riskier segments, given that the current reprieve is expected to be temporal and that tapering and a return to more normalised (higher) levels of interest rates are inevitable.

2. take note of duration exposure of existing bond funds

Duration, an indication of the sensitivity of a fixed income product's price to a change in interest rates, is an important measure that investors should take note of. The higher the duration, the more sensitive a fixed income product is to a change in interest rates. With that in mind, investors who have been investing in funds that are typically long duration, particularly applicable for funds whose investment space resides in the government debt sphere where longer dated bonds offering low yields are the norm, need to pay attention to the said measure. That being said, investors can leave the duration management up to the fund managers' expertise and discretion.

3. consider equity-exposed bond funds

Investors who can take higher level of risk and would like to gain potentially higher return can consider bond funds with exposure to equities. CIMB Islamic Enhanced Sukuk Fund and AmConservative are two examples of Malaysia bond funds with exposure to equities. As of 8 November 2013, CIMB Islamic Enhanced Sukuk Fund returned 5.21% and 7.87% on a 3-year and 5-year annualised basis respectively while AmConservative returned 6.69% and 6.71% in the same period respectively. Based on their respective factsheets as of end September 2013, CIMB Islamic Enhanced Sukuk Fund has close to 20% of its net asset value (NAV) in equities while AmConservative has 25% of its NAV in equities.

SUSyklooi
post Nov 13 2013, 02:25 PM

8,188 posts

hmm.gif i see Amdynamic trend up in between 2006 ~ 2008 at the same time M'sia interest rate go up from 2.7% to 3.5%

anything usual happens in that period?

TakoC
post Nov 13 2013, 02:46 PM

2,081 posts

DiGi dividend fell as compared to FY2012. Based on the current market price, you are getting a mere 3.5%. If next year dividend continue to fall, it's not attractive.
SUSPink Spider
post Nov 13 2013, 02:47 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Nov 13 2013, 02:46 PM)
DiGi dividend fell as compared to FY2012. Based on the current market price, you are getting a mere 3.5%. If next year dividend continue to fall, it's not attractive.
Today continuing weakness...let's see if it can drop further. hmm.gif

My minimum yield requirement is 4% for stocks that are still growing, 5% for REITs.
TakoC
post Nov 13 2013, 02:57 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 13 2013, 02:47 PM)
Today continuing weakness...let's see if it can drop further. hmm.gif

My minimum yield requirement is 4% for stocks that are still growing, 5% for REITs.
Based on dividend payout of 16.8 cent, it need to drop to 4.20 before you can pick up some. But highly unlikely can drop so much hmm.gif

This post has been edited by TakoC: Nov 13 2013, 02:58 PM

129 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0312sec    1.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:16 PM