117 Pages « < 87 88 89 90 91 > » Bottom

Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$

ratloverice
post May 22 2019, 01:02 AM

804 posts

QUOTE(silverviolet @ May 21 2019, 06:29 PM)
There is an insurance thread with great sifus here
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4712323/+980
Thank you for the link biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ May 21 2019, 07:57 PM)
At your age I don’t think you need to have such an expensive insurance plan. Work on your priorities, for instance do you really need a 1 mil life plan? The reason I bought a life plan is as MLTA, in case something happens to me, my family won’t be burdened by my house loan.
My concern is that my beloved ones should have enough money to support their daily life just in case anything happens to me. MLTA will be bought when I buying my house next year.
LostAndFound
post May 22 2019, 07:28 AM

6,262 posts

QUOTE(ratloverice @ May 22 2019, 01:02 AM)
My concern is that my beloved ones should have enough money to support their daily life just in case anything happens to me. MLTA will be bought when I buying my house next year.
Are you married yet, you mention girlfriend ma.

If you're buying a house just for yourself (no one else staying) then why need insurance to cover the loan? The house itself is an asset which can be sold to cover the loan (and with whatever profit goes to your loved ones).

Insurance is normally for dependents (esp children or non-working spouse). Right now you have neither.
SUSyklooi
post May 22 2019, 09:03 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ratloverice @ May 21 2019, 06:12 PM)
Need some advices here.

Im currently 27. Planning on getting married and buying a house within the next 2 years. My savings are able to cover 60 months of my monthly expenses.

I have been considering about getting a life and accident insurance just in case anything happens to me. A friend of mine who works as an insurance agent quoted me RM664 per month for a sum insured of 1.1m for life, 500k for illness, around 200k for accident, and a medical card of 1.2m per year.

I had a discussion with my gf and she thinks that it is not necessary to insure that much when im still young. Im in a dilemma about this because I see it as an important thing to ensure that either my parents or future wife have sufficient amount of money to support themselves if anything happens to me, but my gf thinks that I shouldn’t be spending so much on insurance at this young age.

Would anybody mind giving me some opinions please?
saving can last 5 yrs of monthly expenses.... thumbup.gif
this expenses amount is for your current self only?

on this..."to ensure that either my parents or future wife have sufficient amount of money to support themselves if anything happens to me"

does that current available saving, includes "your future family" (1 spouse + 2 kids) monthly expenses......(next 5 yrs)

after your got the house next 2 yrs...will you be drawing money from that saving to do the house renovation?
if yes.......hope you had budgeted about RM70k + for that purposes....then how many more months of that saving can cover your monthly and family needs expenses?

after getting your house, in the next 2 yrs....will you plan to getting married with your current GF?
if yes.....will you be drawing money from that saving to do the marriage expenses?
if yes.....hope you had budgeted about RM20k + for that purposes...then how many more months of that saving can cover your monthly and family needs expenses?

This RM664 per month is about how many % of your net take home pay?
How much is the monthly housing loan + maintenance fees (if any)? This housing loan is about how many % of your net take home pay?
How much monthly per month do you think you will need per month after getting married + with a family in the next 3 yrs?

Does your current employer has any form of insurance coverage?
if yes....how is the coverage like....?
Does your family members has any medical history of critical illnesses?
Does your parent has any form of insurance coverage?
Does your GF has any form of insurance coverage?
Does your "kids" needs any form of insurance coverage?

with that...to add on to your current so call dilemma..... brows.gif ...
how to ensure that either your parents or future wife (+ kids) have sufficient amount of money to support themselves if anything happens to any of THEM, without drawing into your savings or become a liabilities to you biggrin.gif

Insurance is a good to have thing & it is a long terms commitment like marriage, plan the suitability, affordability and sustainability, else they would become a "useless" burden. (severely under covarage or permature termination)

Yr GF knows alot more about your current financial standing than me.......thus, on the side of err....i think your GF is right.

This post has been edited by yklooi: May 22 2019, 09:21 AM
jojolicia
post May 22 2019, 03:34 PM

1,911 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ May 10 2019, 02:43 PM)
indeed, it will depend on personal need.

I think if one has, let's say half a million saved up and set aside for medical cost - one can forget medical insurance.

If your medical costs is more than that, perhaps better to die!

Edit: It is much easier to reach half a million if you start young, and while company covers your medical costs  smile.gif
i agree on the <better to die> part. I too hold to this believe but not against cash-saved up.

My take is, 10% on my monthly take home $$, invested in protection, which includes Life, Critical-I, PA & MedicalCard.

Started this 10% ruling since age 23 as i grew my take home $$ with one golden rule, the insurance cover is my limit of medical cost, any cost above that, better to die

This post has been edited by jojolicia: May 22 2019, 03:35 PM
ratloverice
post May 23 2019, 01:28 AM

804 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ May 22 2019, 07:28 AM)
Are you married yet, you mention girlfriend ma.

If you're buying a house just for yourself (no one else staying) then why need insurance to cover the loan? The house itself is an asset which can be sold to cover the loan (and with whatever profit goes to your loved ones).

Insurance is normally for dependents (esp children or non-working spouse). Right now you have neither.
Im not married yet, but am already planning a marriage with this gf in the next 2 years.

I will be buying the house jointly with my gf that's why I need to have it insured. As for insurance, the nominee will be my parents for the time being, but will be changed to my wife later.

QUOTE(yklooi @ May 22 2019, 09:03 AM)
saving can last 5 yrs of monthly expenses.... thumbup.gif
this expenses amount is for your current self only?

Yeah it is calculated based on my current expenses of RM7k per month. It will be reduced to 4.5k by May 2020.

on this..."to ensure that either my parents or future wife have sufficient amount of money to support themselves if anything happens to me"

does that current available saving, includes "your future family" (1 spouse + 2 kids) monthly expenses......(next 5 yrs)

No, that is just for the 1.1m of insured amount. Both me and my gf have agreed that we don't want to have a child in the next 5 years, so that shouldn't be a problem. Even if we have a child later, I expect my savings + payment from insurance will be about 2m if anything happens to me. That should be enough for them to use and to generate more income.

after your got the house next 2 yrs...will you be drawing money from that saving to do the house renovation?
if yes.......hope you had budgeted about RM70k +  for that purposes....then how many more months of that saving can cover your monthly and family needs expenses?

Yes, I am expecting a renovation cost of about RM200k after the house is built and a mortgage payment of RM10k per month for the next 7 years. It will not shorten the duration that my savings can last.

after getting your house, in the next 2 yrs....will you plan to getting married with your current GF?
if yes.....will you be drawing money from that saving to do the marriage expenses?
if yes.....hope you had budgeted about RM20k + for that purposes...then how many more months of that saving can cover your monthly and family needs expenses?

Yes, we are going to just make the ceremony super duper simple. The cost should be around RM40k - RM80k including honeymoon trip + wedding rings + other expenses for wedding. That will not affect the duration that my savings can last.

This RM664 per month is about how many % of your net take home pay?
How much is the monthly housing loan + maintenance fees (if any)? This housing loan is about how many % of your net take home pay?
How much monthly per month do you think you will need per month after getting married + with a family in the next 3 yrs?

The RM664 insurance premium is about 2.66% of my monthly income. I do not have a house yet but will buy one in November 2020. Planning on paying RM10k per month and it will be exactly 40% of my current income, but I think my income will probably be slightly higher by the time I need to start making mortgage payments. I calculated and think that my monthly expenses should be around RM15k per month (including mortgage and auto loan payments) after getting married without a child. But if my gf stops working after that, that should be around RM17-18k per month.

Does your current employer has any form of insurance coverage?
if yes....how is the coverage like....?

Nope. I am self-employed. I own a medical card which covers up to RM1.2m per year (in-patient).

Does your family members has any medical history of critical illnesses?

Yes, my father's side seems to have inherited cancer genes.

Does your parent has any form of insurance coverage?

My mother has a medical card. I don't think that my father has any.

Does your GF has any form of insurance coverage?

She does but Im not really clear about her policies.

Does your "kids" needs any form of insurance coverage?

I think they do. Will buy if I have children in the future

with that...to add on to your current so call dilemma..... brows.gif ...
how to ensure that either your parents or future wife (+ kids) have sufficient amount of money to support themselves if anything happens to any of THEM, without drawing into your savings or become a liabilities to you  biggrin.gif

I don't think that my parents will need financial assistance from me just in case anything happens. They have quite a large amount of savings so that's probably enough... As for my gf, she has her own insurance so I think that should be okay.

Insurance is a good to have thing & it is a long terms commitment like marriage, plan the suitability, affordability and sustainability, else they would become a "useless" burden. (severely under covarage or permature termination)

Yr GF knows alot more about your current financial standing than me.......thus, on the side of err....i think your GF is right.

Do you think that I am spending too much on insurance? From my point of view, it's like life is unpredictable and I don't know what will happen the next second. I prefer to make sure as early as possible that my spouse or my future family will not suddenly have major financial problem someday in the future after I'm gone.
SUSyklooi
post May 23 2019, 01:40 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ratloverice @ May 23 2019, 01:28 AM)
.....Do you think that I am spending too much on insurance? ......
reading from the info provided.........it is ok....with just RM664 per month
thumbup.gif good to go....
check your GF's insurance for details.....maybe need to get your GF some more insurance coverage too while you do that...

This post has been edited by yklooi: May 23 2019, 01:42 AM
Leo the Lion
post May 23 2019, 06:37 AM

6,358 posts

Will delaying both Auto repayment and Housing loan repayment for 1 month affect my credit scores?

Leo the Lion
post May 23 2019, 06:43 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(ratloverice @ May 21 2019, 07:12 PM)
Need some advices here.

Im currently 27. Planning on getting married and buying a house within the next 2 years. My savings are able to cover 60 months of my monthly expenses.

I have been considering about getting a life and accident insurance just in case anything happens to me. A friend of mine who works as an insurance agent quoted me RM664 per month for a sum insured of 1.1m for life, 500k for illness, around 200k for accident, and a medical card of 1.2m per year.

I had a discussion with my gf and she thinks that it is not necessary to insure that much when im still young. Im in a dilemma about this because I see it as an important thing to ensure that either my parents or future wife have sufficient amount of money to support themselves if anything happens to me, but my gf thinks that I shouldn’t be spending so much on insurance at this young age.

Would anybody mind giving me some opinions please?
I would say, you upgrade your policy AFTER you married. Not now. As anything can happen to the CURRENT you like breaking up with GF or PUTUS TUNANG. Save those extra money for your wedding or for the future.

After you’re married, take time to upgrade your policy. Start off with insurance around 260-320. You just started a new life ma. Dont jump to 6xx.
whiteflame66
post May 24 2019, 10:24 AM

205 posts

Hi there, quick question. So I'm currently applying for personal loan at Alliance Bank and the bank fella sent me some forms through email and he asked me to sign all the agreements without filling them up first. Is this normal? Seems kinda risky not knowing what I'm signing up for.
coolguy99
post May 24 2019, 12:17 PM

7,350 posts

QUOTE(whiteflame66 @ May 24 2019, 10:24 AM)
Hi there, quick question. So I'm currently applying for personal loan at Alliance Bank and the bank fella sent me some forms through email and he asked me to sign all the agreements without filling them up first. Is this normal? Seems kinda risky not knowing what I'm signing up for.
Set up an appointment with him, it’s his obligation to go through the documents with you, so that you are aware what you are signing up for. If he refuses, suggest you to get another officer.
Human Nature
post Jun 4 2019, 10:40 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

Has anyone come across any online calculator that allow us to enter a negative amount withdrawn annually?

A simplistic scenario would be, at retirement a person has RM1mil in bank. He withdraws RM50k annually, and the balance continues to rake in compounding interest. Any online calculator that can calculate the balance after certain years for example?
neverfap
post Jun 4 2019, 10:53 PM

1,147 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 4 2019, 10:40 PM)
Has anyone come across any online calculator that allow us to enter a negative amount withdrawn annually?

A simplistic scenario would be, at retirement a person has RM1mil in bank. He withdraws RM50k annually, and the balance continues to rake in compounding interest. Any online calculator that can calculate the balance after certain years for example?
I googled saving withdrawal calculator and these came out. Maybe u can give it a try

https://www.bankrate.com/calculators/saving...lator-tool.aspx
https://financialmentor.com/calculator/reti...awal-calculator
Human Nature
post Jun 4 2019, 10:57 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(neverfap @ Jun 4 2019, 10:53 PM)
I googled saving withdrawal calculator and these came out. Maybe u can give it a try

https://www.bankrate.com/calculators/saving...lator-tool.aspx
https://financialmentor.com/calculator/reti...awal-calculator
Yes, this is exactly what i am looking for. Thanks!
Kakacaucau
post Jun 5 2019, 03:30 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(whiteflame66 @ May 24 2019, 10:24 AM)
That's normal. If you worried why dont you hand them in person at the branch?
sev66
post Jun 14 2019, 04:15 PM

26 posts

hi guys, would like to get some financial advice from pros and sifus here whether i should take a personal loan to purchase a bike and tutup all my previous lubang tongue.gif

Gross salary RM10k plus minus 500 depends on overtime
Net salary let say RM7.8k

Monthly expenses
Married

insurance pru 800 me n 2 kids n hibah
maybank cc 600 (fuel) outstanding 9k
uob cc 300 (fuel) outstanding 4k wife
fon bills 400 me n wife
coop loan 230 5% 9 years left
mbsb loan 450 3.99% 9 years left
parents 400
parents housing loan 120
car 600
TNB 100
Time 100
kutu 200
housing loan 1600
maint fee 300
maid 200

total 6400

so i left 1.4k for food, saving and other expenses. Groceries expenses under my wife.
and here is where i would need advice.

new RM120k personal loan at 3.8% interest for 10 years monthly RM1380 per month. if i take this loan. i can cover all my outstanding cc's and personal loan so

maybank and uob cc total 900 tutup = new fuel expenses RM500 only (400 saving)
coop and mbsb loan tutup = 680 saving
fon bills = 200 due to no more contract (200 saving)

my total saving from above = RM1280. this total saving only rm100 difference with the monthly payments of new personal loan. please advice. thank you in advance. thumbsup.gif
MUM
post Jun 14 2019, 04:35 PM

14,863 posts

QUOTE(sev66 @ Jun 14 2019, 04:15 PM)
hi guys, would like to get some financial advice from pros and sifus here whether i should take a personal loan to purchase a bike and tutup all my previous lubang  tongue.gif

Gross salary RM10k plus minus 500 depends on overtime
Net salary let say RM7.8k
Monthly expenses
Married

insurance pru 800 me n 2 kids n hibah
uob cc        300 (fuel) outstanding 4k wife
fon bills      400 me n wife
coop loan    230  5% 9 years left
mbsb loan  450  3.99% 9 years left
parents      400
parents housing loan 120
car              600
TNB            100
Time          100
kutu            200
housing loan 1600
maint fee    300
maid          200

total 6400

so i left 1.4k for food, saving and other expenses. Groceries expenses under my wife.
and here is where i would need advice.

new RM120k personal loan at 3.8% interest for 10 years monthly RM1380 per month. if i take this loan. i can cover all my outstanding cc's and personal loan so

maybank and uob cc total 900 tutup = new fuel expenses RM500 only (400 saving)
coop and mbsb loan tutup = 680 saving
fon bills = 200 due to no more contract (200 saving)

my total saving from above = RM1280. this total saving only rm100 difference with the monthly payments of new personal loan. please advice. thank you in advance. thumbsup.gif
uob cc 300 (fuel) outstanding 4k wife
total is 13k
fon bills 400 me n wife

coop loan 230 5% 9 years left
mbsb loan 450 3.99% 9 years left
total is 230+450=680 x 12 x 9 yrs = 73,440

total outstanding is 13k + 73k = 86k (early settlement maybe lesser amount)

why do you want 120K?

sev66
post Jun 14 2019, 04:49 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 14 2019, 04:35 PM)
uob cc        300 (fuel) outstanding 4k wife
total is 13k
fon bills      400 me n wife

coop loan    230  5% 9 years left
mbsb loan  450  3.99% 9 years left
total is 230+450=680 x 12 x 9 yrs = 73,440

total outstanding is 13k + 73k = 86k (early settlement maybe lesser amount)

why do you want 120K?
Extra coz i want to buy a bike.
SUSyklooi
post Jun 14 2019, 04:52 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(sev66 @ Jun 14 2019, 04:49 PM)
hmm.gif then worth it wor...RM 100 pm for a bike worth > 35k thumbup.gif

hmm.gif expenses coming with this bike...the maint cost and the need to an extra personal accident insurance.

maint cost for superbike is not cheap i heard

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jun 14 2019, 04:55 PM
R93
post Jun 14 2019, 11:29 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(sev66 @ Jun 14 2019, 04:49 PM)
your goal is to increase your debt confused.gif
sev66
post Jun 15 2019, 11:43 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(R93 @ Jun 14 2019, 11:29 PM)
your goal is to increase your debt  :confused:
If buying bike is not good then im not gonna proceed with that. Btw another income is rent out house rm1.4k per month (housing loan finish d). But didnt put under income as that money goes straight to saving.

117 Pages « < 87 88 89 90 91 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:09 AM