Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$

coolguy99
post Mar 1 2018, 07:14 PM

7,349 posts

i would recommend you to look into ASNB as a beginner to investing. you can easily invest the amount that you save every month into ASNB, but of course there is also risk however is very minimal compared to other investment options out there
coolguy99
post Mar 24 2018, 08:55 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(orly? @ Mar 23 2018, 11:49 PM)
Guys. Seeking your advice. Say I have a large sum of money which I will need to use only in a month’s time, where is the best place to put the money into temporarily that will gain the most interest?
i think FD? some banks do offer 1-3 months FD with good interest
coolguy99
post Dec 28 2018, 05:58 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(NGV22 @ Dec 28 2018, 04:11 PM)
edited: its ok, found out
Amanah Saham is the way to go.
coolguy99
post Jan 3 2019, 10:32 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 3 2019, 09:41 PM)
Just a point here : a Credit Card with a large spending limit can also act as an emergency fund source.
True I always keep at least one credit card that has a large spending limit that sits in my drawer.
coolguy99
post Feb 10 2019, 07:49 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(ruben7389 @ Feb 9 2019, 11:27 PM)
instead of cash Withdrawal via credit card why not Withdraw these funds via bigpay/boost at merely 0.15% transaction cost while stretching repayments to even 18 months at zero interest?
Repayments are still being done to credit card companies. You can’t withdraw more than what you have in bp.
coolguy99
post Mar 1 2019, 08:00 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(af_1993 @ Mar 1 2019, 01:52 PM)
Hi guys would love to get your advice on my personal finance.

Age 26
Gross salary RM3380

Investments
Asb loan - RM150k (monthly RM813) - now dividend more than RM10k
Tabung haji - RM100 monthly (less RM2k)
Unit trust - RM500 (just started - will practise DCA)
Stashaway - RM100 (initial deposit)

Expenses roughly
Housing loan - RM1320 - house still under  construction, another 4 years to complete -- so i havent paid full installment yet
Food RM500
Transport RM200
Rental RM500
Misc RM200-300
Parent RM100

So now i was thinking of purchasing reit stocks which i want o allocate RM2k (taken from bonus) for that as a start. I feel like im rushing with my investment

What do you guys think?
It’s better to start investing as young as possible. But do it within your means and don’t overstretch yourself.
coolguy99
post May 10 2019, 12:27 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(neverfap @ May 9 2019, 11:19 PM)
Hi, not the owner of the question but saw your reply on removing from Stashaway. May I know why? Quite new to financial stuff and investment still so might need a little guidance with it  sweat.gif

Age 25 (non-bumi)
Gross salary RM3900 after epf, socso, pcb etc
No side income @@

Emergency Fund - 10k

Investments
StashAway - RM15k

Expenses roughly
Rental plus utilities - RM550
Food - RM450
Insurance - RM390
Transport - RM60
Misc - RM200

Remaining - RM2250

Currently most of the saving will go to StashAway (1.5k monthly)
Remaing 750 not sure where to invest yet. Still learning about investment.

Any input is welcome thumbup.gif
Try to put some in asnb.

On a side note, your insurance premium is kind of high. Is it for a policy? Medical?

coolguy99
post May 10 2019, 12:44 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(neverfap @ May 10 2019, 12:42 AM)
Thank u very much for the replies!!

Alright. Asnb for fixed price fund right?

Currently under GE
500k death
500k CI
500k early stage
Smartmedic xtra 200myr (annual 120k)
Smartmedic xtra 99 200myr
Smart extender 120k 200myr (annual 1. 2m)
Smart extender 120k 99 200myr
Hospitalizations 50myr

390 a month (cash value can tahan till age 69)

U guys got any good insurance plan to introduce
All input is welcome as usual
Your insurance plan sounds similar to mine. Is it one of the investment linked plan? Not sure why is your premium so high then. Maybe you have higher coverage. I am only paying 200 a month.
coolguy99
post May 10 2019, 12:50 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(neverfap @ May 10 2019, 12:48 AM)
Its Smart Protect Essential 2 by GE
Ya. I got add a bit stuff
Previously even higher coz i got pa too
But then found out I'm over insured by a huge margin. So cut down to this.
My agent.. Ermm... How should I put it... A little bit too chong? Haha
When I'm not that financial literate, easily persuade by the agent. So ended up in the insurance trap  sweat.gif
Insurance trap is very very dangerous. Please revise your coverage and only go for what you need. Talk to your agent about this, switch agent if needed.
coolguy99
post May 21 2019, 07:57 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(ratloverice @ May 21 2019, 06:12 PM)
Need some advices here.

Im currently 27. Planning on getting married and buying a house within the next 2 years. My savings are able to cover 60 months of my monthly expenses.

I have been considering about getting a life and accident insurance just in case anything happens to me. A friend of mine who works as an insurance agent quoted me RM664 per month for a sum insured of 1.1m for life, 500k for illness, around 200k for accident, and a medical card of 1.2m per year.

I had a discussion with my gf and she thinks that it is not necessary to insure that much when im still young. Im in a dilemma about this because I see it as an important thing to ensure that either my parents or future wife have sufficient amount of money to support themselves if anything happens to me, but my gf thinks that I shouldn’t be spending so much on insurance at this young age.

Would anybody mind giving me some opinions please?
At your age I don’t think you need to have such an expensive insurance plan. Work on your priorities, for instance do you really need a 1 mil life plan? The reason I bought a life plan is as MLTA, in case something happens to me, my family won’t be burdened by my house loan.
coolguy99
post May 24 2019, 12:17 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(whiteflame66 @ May 24 2019, 10:24 AM)
Hi there, quick question. So I'm currently applying for personal loan at Alliance Bank and the bank fella sent me some forms through email and he asked me to sign all the agreements without filling them up first. Is this normal? Seems kinda risky not knowing what I'm signing up for.
Set up an appointment with him, it’s his obligation to go through the documents with you, so that you are aware what you are signing up for. If he refuses, suggest you to get another officer.
coolguy99
post Jun 25 2019, 06:17 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(ultralightbing @ Jun 25 2019, 03:14 PM)
Hi, which insurance (life, medical card, PA etc.) is suitable for 21 year old?
Currently paying RM200 for GE iDamai, is it too much? I saw AXA Affin have for less than 100 per month
Please state your coverage, else it is difficult to determine.
coolguy99
post Sep 5 2019, 07:55 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(taiping... @ Sep 5 2019, 03:13 PM)
I'm following that thread now. It's ridiculous

Cause it is very limited units available.....
Yes it is getting harder to get now. To get 10k worth of units might take days.
coolguy99
post Sep 30 2019, 10:42 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(b0rhui @ Sep 30 2019, 10:37 AM)
Guys, I have just started working not for long, and I am particularly concerned with my CCRIS for future plannings. I heard that credit card statements do affect my debt service ratio and I am afraid it would bring a negative impact to my future loan applications

Say my monthly income 3k, but my credit card oustanding monthly is about 2-4k, and according to DSR calculation, my DSR is ~67% to >100% is that right? I am able to service it on time every monthly
As long as you do not have any late payments on your credit card with all 0s, I think you should be fine. Most importantly you need to pay up your outstanding every month.
coolguy99
post Oct 2 2019, 09:25 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(ratloverice @ Oct 2 2019, 01:09 AM)
I can't imagine working for 35 years continuously just to pay a mortgage loan. I prefer to settle the loan ASAP so that I can stop worrying about what to do if my business closes down one day in the future.

Says I pay 10k per month while the monthly instalment is just 4.5k. If I go for conventional mortgage loan, can settle in 9.5 years. Can full-flexi loan reduce the period to that 9.5 years also?
Full flexi reduces the interest that you pay, similar like a conventional mortgage loan where you make an advance payment to reduce the loan principal amount,

The only difference is that you are able to withdraw the amount anytime, without any fees involved.
coolguy99
post Oct 4 2019, 12:10 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(IAnK @ Oct 4 2019, 11:54 AM)
Hi all,

I'd like to seek advise from you guys. To. See if I miss any major areas in planning for my finances.

I'm 32, married with a kid.

My monthly pay is 10.6k

My expenses are :

1. House 2.5k
2. Car 1: 1.3k wife use
3. Car 2 : 400 own use
4. Insurance 1k for the 3 of us
5. Household : 500
6. Utilities : 100 +20
7. TM: 147
8. Digi : 53
9. House 2: 800 ( will dispose by year end)
10. Epf 1166
11. Pcb : 1.3k
12. Kid daycare 350
13. Petrol : 350

Wife earning 2k per month but I am letting her use it for her own

By year end, I am expected to receive 100k from the sale of the house, and by March next year expected 30k bonus.

My question is that, what is the better use for the 100k?

1. Use the 100k to pay off all the car loan?
This will free up around 2.5k of monthly cash flow
1.3k +400+800 (disposal of House)

2. Keep the 100k, put in ASB, earn 6k per year

3. Sell off expensive car, get a cheaper one. But have to bear the loss of selling while under loan. Currently hrv, planning either city or myvi or persona

I'm not a very good investor, very bad at it.

Any advise?
Dump the 100k into the house loan if you do not have any use for the money. Car loan amount is fixed so there is no point in settling it early.

Or you can dump into asb as the interest earned in asb is higher than the mortgage interest.

Just keep the car. No point changing if the car does not give you any issue.

coolguy99
post Oct 7 2019, 08:41 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(ali00 @ Oct 7 2019, 06:04 PM)
All,
Need your help/advice.

I'm single 24 with monthly pay of 3.7k + OT = 4.1k. These are rough estimation of my expenses

Expenses:
1. Rent + bills: 280
2. Car: 990 + another 7years
3. Foods & stuff: 300
4. Celcom: 68
5. Pcb : 130

Investment:
6. Epf: 396
7. Gold: 100
8. Stashaway: 500
9. P2P (planning): 200
10. ASB (planning to use saving): 14k
11. Fundsupermart (planning): 300

Just starting to invest this mid-year.  Made a bad decision on buying car sad.gif
Can help?
Car is too expensive for your pay. I don't think you should sell it though as car depreciates quite fast, just put more thought into your financials next time you intend to commit into something else.

coolguy99
post Oct 7 2019, 08:48 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(ali00 @ Oct 7 2019, 08:46 PM)
KIA K3. Running for 30km now.. still no prob. So it is still good to sell it?
KIA's resale value is not that good from what I heard from my friends. Just keep it if that is the case.
coolguy99
post Oct 17 2019, 09:51 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(Reonix91 @ Oct 17 2019, 08:57 PM)
Hey guys, I'm single and here are my Personal Finance status

Gross salary RM4000-RM8,000
Its pretty random as its basics with comissions
Monthly expenses (Food, groceries, work related etc) RM800
Parent RM300
Rental RM250
Car loan (Share with siblings) RM250
Insurance RM210
Phone RM 50
Internet RM100
Electric RM100
PTPTN RM230 (Left 18 Grand more)
ASB I max up to 200Grand (RM1,000 per month) roughly
I steadily save up 3Grand-4Grand per month.

Total saving : 168Grand

I seek you guys advice on what should I do with the 168k in my saving account. I'm planning to close 200k end of this year. Your insights much appreciated.
FD, ASNB, Unit Trust - FSM, Stock Market, Stashaway, anywhere but not your savings account. The interest is too low, with close to none compounding effect.
coolguy99
post Oct 31 2019, 07:36 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(jeffboon97 @ Oct 31 2019, 05:28 PM)
RM2700 salary after deduction, following 50% needs/ 30 % invest / 20% spending rule.

1. In a relationship
2. House utilities are paid by my parent.
3. House area no fibre optic thats why went for Digi Infinite 150 for tethering purpose and unlimited data.

50% - RM 1,350.00
30% - RM 810.00
20% - RM 540.00
RM 1,350.00 Expenses
 Foods – RM 600.00
 Car Installments – RM 750.00
RM 1350.00 – RM1350.00 = RM 0.00
RM 810.00 Investment/Savings
 StashAway – RM 200.00
 OCBC Max Yield – RM 500.00
RM 810.00 – RM 700.00 = RM 110.00                 

RM 540.00 Expenses
 Shopping – RM 100.00
 Entertainment – RM 50.00
 Petrol – RM 240.00
 Haircut – RM 20.00
 Digi – RM 120.00
RM 540.00 – RM 530.00 = RM 10.00           

Still analyzing where else can I save? Kindly advise!

Thank you.
What car you are using? Maybe save on food? I generally do not spend so much on food per month, on average about RM400 and I do eat out once a while.

0.1498sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:38 PM