Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$

wongmunkeong
post Apr 30 2017, 01:21 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Just cleaned up / formatted an EXCEL Monte Carlo simulation for a friend who's worried about "enough or not ar" and thought it'd be useful for some others as well.

Edutainment only - i'm no licensed fler ya
Note:
1. This simulation does 2,000 iterations from the current year till end of expected life - it may kill/be extremely slow on some "notebook-wanna-be" tablets ya.

2. Simulates 6 asset classes yearly returns/losses
+ additional yearly savings for investing in those 6
- yearly expenses (goals' cost & retirement expenses)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6Oc0k5dqW...iew?usp=sharing

Screenshot of Data Entry & Results

Screenshot of Monte Carlo Simulation
WhitE LighteR
post Apr 30 2017, 06:56 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 30 2016, 11:43 AM)
And that's why many Malaysians do not take savings & retirement planning seriously. That's also the reason why, most Malaysians do not have sufficient savings in their old age.

You do not use higher inflation figures only because it will show that none of your products will be able to overcome this inflation thus nobody will invest in them. So u downplay the actual inflation figures and use low figures. You are merely misleading your clients and that's the reason why I always tell people never trust financial planners. They will always downplay the real market conditions and try and sell you a product of their bank / financial institution in the end.
You cannot use long term inflation rates when the current inflation rate is much higher than that. And u are also wrong in saying that by assuming higher inflation figures, there will never be enough for retirement. That is again misleading. You can achieve a 10% ROI growth per annum with prudent investments. I am living proof of that and if I can achieve it so can anybody else.

In March 2007, my NAV was only RM196,000. My current NAV is approx. RM2.3mil. And im not someone who earns a super high salary. I just manage my risks, diversify investments and continuously review my investment portfolio every 3 months to ensure im getting maximum returns for every cent.
care to share with us your journey on how u manage to get from 196k to 2.3m in 10 years?
jawagar
post May 3 2017, 05:17 PM

123 posts

Hi sifu's...Need help on financial planing T.T

Basically i earn 2.5k
potong epf and sokso 2.3K

With 2.3k

Im monthly spending on

CarLoan : RM480
Internet : RM184
Mobile : RM 84
Parents : RM 300
GYM : RM 106
Petrol :RM 140
Food :RM 300
Entertainment : RM 300

With the balance money what can i do with it? Invest on something...but on what thats the thing, pls help me out cause wanna save up and try to beli rumah near future ^^ thanks guys!
WhitE LighteR
post May 3 2017, 06:21 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(jawagar @ May 3 2017, 05:17 PM)

Basically i earn 2.5k

With 2.3k

Im monthly spending on

CarLoan        : RM480
Internet        : RM184
Mobile          : RM 84
Parents          : RM 300
GYM              : RM 106
Petrol            :RM 140
Food              :RM 300

With the balance money what can i do with it? Invest on something...but on what thats the thing, pls help me out cause wanna save up and try to beli rumah near future ^^ thanks guys!
ASB if you eligible

If not then just put in SA or GIA until it reaches FD level then park in FD.

If u have the will for it, you can look into UT also.
jawagar
post May 3 2017, 06:28 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ May 3 2017, 06:21 PM)
ASB if you eligible

If not then just put in SA or GIA until it reaches FD level then park in FD.

If u have the will for it, you can look into UT also.
TQ sifu but acronyms i tak paham XD..sry ya can explain to me i quite newb in this sector ^^
WhitE LighteR
post May 3 2017, 06:39 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(jawagar @ May 3 2017, 06:28 PM)
TQ sifu but acronyms i tak paham XD..sry ya can explain to me i quite newb in this sector ^^
ASB
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4183284

SA = Saving account. Get something good like Maybank Savers-i

GIA-i = An investment account. Pay higher interest. Not an SA but people use it like SA. Not PIDM protected

UT = Unit Trust

Or if you have the balls for it can play stock
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3773939

In the end it all depend on how is much is your risk appetite.
lowdensity
post May 3 2017, 10:08 PM

454 posts

Basically i earn 2.5k

With 2.3k

Im monthly spending on

Left 406 ya...

200 -> fixed deposit 1-3 months for emergency fund
200 -> invest company's business via stock platform; before this, buy yourself "knowledge" first before invest until you are certain

do this until you have too much emergency fund, then allocate more for investment
100 -> emergency fund
300 -> investment

by the time when you have too much emergency fund, you should have get increment of your current salary. fund allocation / budgeting is the key skill.
good luck.
Smurfs
post May 4 2017, 08:24 AM

1,060 posts

Basically i earn 2.5k

With 2.3k

Im monthly spending on

At first glance, I think the car loan, gym and mobile + internet is the expenses that you may consider to trim.

With RM140 per month I guess you are not a frequent drivers? Compare to normal city driving RM 140 petrol per month is actually on the low side. And in your case getting a car is not really recommended.

I believe GYM RM106 is per month membership? Maybe it is possible to switch to 2 days gym(weight training) and 3 days jogging outdoor?

In terms of mobile and internet, just survey around some Telco like digi offers RM150/month infinite calls and infinite data.

Further more questions will be :

1) Do you have adequate insurance coverage?
2) DO you track your expenses monthly and review?
3) Do you have any savings in bank?
4) Do you know how much is your networth?

Before doing any investment have to consider a lot factor. smile.gif
xixo_12
post May 4 2017, 09:33 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

Basically i earn 2.5k

With 2.3k

Im monthly spending on

current balance = 406 / mthly

Max balance i think around 600 / mthly
you go gym everyday? find ghetto gym, RM5 per entrance, 1 week for 2 times = RM50,
Mobile, go for cheaper plan.
Control your entertainment, restrict yourself

with rm600 u could save for emergency, FD or any amanah saham could make it grow.

rumah? share with partner later on, you can't do yourself, unless your salary become bigger.
jawagar
post May 4 2017, 04:53 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ May 4 2017, 08:24 AM)
At first glance, I think the car loan, gym and mobile + internet is the expenses that you may consider to trim.

With RM140 per month I guess you are not a frequent drivers? Compare to normal city driving RM 140 petrol per month is actually on the low side. And in your case getting a car is not really recommended.

I believe GYM RM106 is per month membership? Maybe it is possible to switch to 2 days gym(weight training) and 3 days jogging outdoor?

In terms of mobile and internet, just survey around some Telco like digi offers RM150/month infinite calls and infinite data.

Further more questions will be :

1) Do you have adequate insurance coverage?
nope...planing to get one bila ada increment which i foresee very soon

2) DO you track your expenses monthly and review?
kind of downloaded an app but stat roughly

3) Do you have any savings in bank?
used to than beli kereta this n that no more d sad.gif

4) Do you know how much is your networth?

no idea bro hahaha biggrin.gif

Before doing any investment have to consider a lot factor.  smile.gif
True that thats y askin sifus biggrin.gif

jawagar
post May 4 2017, 04:56 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ May 4 2017, 09:33 AM)
current balance = 406 / mthly

Max balance i think around 600 / mthly
you go gym everyday? find ghetto gym, RM5 per entrance, 1 week for 2 times = RM50,
Mobile, go for cheaper plan.
Control your entertainment, restrict yourself

with rm600 u could save for emergency, FD or any amanah saham could make it grow.

rumah? share with partner later on, you can't do yourself, unless your salary become bigger.
True that can trim but telco, internet, gym is ok to me i find the cheapest and most valuable to me later increment wont upgrade on it smile.gif....
masih single bruh sad.gif but i want to help settle my parents dulu since we still in a rental house sad.gif

xixo_12
post May 4 2017, 05:15 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(jawagar @ May 4 2017, 04:56 PM)
True that can trim but telco, internet, gym is ok to me i find the cheapest and most valuable to me later increment wont upgrade on it smile.gif....
masih single bruh sad.gif but i want to help settle my parents dulu since we still in a rental house sad.gif
parent retired?

try to save up 600 (in some occasion maybe need to fork out for emergency use, but it's ok) and follow the flow of life.
your focus on investment and house. investment could make it possible, but regarding house maybe look into combine with sibling / spouse later on.

i don't know what is your house target, but just try to make it work. wink.gif this is the only option, unless it change by getting bonus, change job ...

imnotabot
post May 5 2017, 12:22 PM

531 posts

Basically i earn 2.5k

With 2.3k

Im monthly spending on

Mobile           : RM 84
GYM               : RM 106
Petrol             :RM 140
Food               :RM 300

1. Try your best to reduce your expenses so that you can save more than RM400. If you really want to buy a house as soon as possible, then you have to make some sacrifices. Maybe cancel your gym membership and just workout with your body (https://www.reddit.com/r/bodyweightfitness/), or reduce your entertainment expenses.

2. Most important is to have an emergency fund (EF). At least 1 month of your salary. If you save that RM400 extra every month, you can get it in 6–7 months. Only use this money for emergency purposes.

3. Once you have at least 1 month of EF, you can either reduce your contribution to your EF (maybe just RM100 – RM200 monthly) or stop completely, depending on your risk appetite. Then you can start to invest into things like ASB (if you're bumiputera), Tabung Haji (if you're Muslim), unit trust, or FD (fixed deposit).

4. Keep on budgeting and controlling your expenses, work harder to increase your income, and you'll reach your target in a few years. It's also important to not get into any debt, especially credit card debt. Since you didn't mention anything about debt (other than your car loan), then you're doing a pretty good job so far. smile.gif

Good luck!

This post has been edited by imnotabot: May 5 2017, 12:23 PM
rollover
post May 8 2017, 07:48 AM

94 posts

hello sifus

I'm in my early 50s and looking at possible early retirement. I am looking at advice on how best to manage my finances so that it'll last me over the next 30 years or so.

- assets: apartment, car, ~RM2m in EPF, ~RM200k cash
- liabilities none. Kids have finished school etc.
- other income none
- monthly expenditures RM4-5k for a very comfortable living
- insurance none, have always been covered by the company and don't plan to take any in the future given my age, the cost, my thankfully good health (now).

How should I manage the EPF + cash? My objectives are minimal work and I am ok with moderate risk.

1. leave it in EPF & tabung haji, withdraw only what I need. No taxation and fully liquid but returns at 5+% per year is just ok

2. Diversify and invest a portion in property? I have never really invested in property long term, have flipped a few but that's probably not the way to go now. How much realistically can I get beyond 5.5% per year post tax that #1 provides?

3. equity market? I don't know enough about the Malaysian market unfortunately. I have no desire to go for unit trusts given the higher costs in the short term.

4. something else?

Rinth
post May 8 2017, 11:39 AM

1,261 posts

QUOTE(rollover @ May 8 2017, 07:48 AM)
hello sifus

I'm in my early 50s and looking at possible early retirement. I am looking at advice on how best to manage my finances so that it'll last me over the next 30 years or so.

- assets: apartment, car, ~RM2m in EPF, ~RM200k cash
- liabilities none. Kids have finished school etc.
- other income none
- monthly expenditures RM4-5k for a very comfortable living
- insurance none, have always been covered by the company and don't plan to take any in the future given my age, the cost, my thankfully good health (now).

How should I manage the EPF + cash? My objectives are minimal work and I am ok with moderate risk.

1. leave it in EPF & tabung haji, withdraw only what I need. No taxation and fully liquid but returns at 5+% per year is just ok

2. Diversify and invest a portion in property? I have never really invested in property long term, have flipped a few but that's probably not the way to go now. How much realistically can I get beyond 5.5% per year post tax that #1 provides?

3. equity market? I don't know enough about the Malaysian market unfortunately. I have no desire to go for unit trusts given the higher costs in the short term.

4. something else?
I'm not a pro but if i were you i just put my money in EPF and use the interest since you don't have any liabilities anymore.

RM 2mil x 6%(average ) = RM 120k / 12 mths = RM 10 per month.

Can every month travel with wife to average places such as Thailand / bali and still have extra for daily expenses. Of course this gonna be an average lifestyle.
rollover
post May 8 2017, 06:47 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ May 8 2017, 11:39 AM)
I'm not a pro but if i were you i just put my money in EPF and use the interest since you don't have any liabilities anymore.

RM 2mil x 6%(average ) = RM 120k / 12 mths = RM 10 per month.

Can every month travel with wife to average places such as Thailand / bali and still have extra for daily expenses. Of course this gonna be an average lifestyle.
Thanks. In all honesty I'm tempted to do that.

Another alternative that I didn't mention is potentially continue working for a few years and end up with almost double my EPF amount. Sacrifice 4+ years and come out significantly further ahead...

tonytyk
post May 8 2017, 09:45 PM

1,962 posts

QUOTE(rollover @ May 8 2017, 06:47 PM)
Thanks. In all honesty I'm tempted to do that.

Another alternative that I didn't mention is potentially continue working for a few years and end up with almost double my EPF amount. Sacrifice 4+ years and come out significantly further ahead...
Wonder what has changed from earlier work, to double EPF amount to RM4mil, just to work 4 more years ?

Also may be worth to get medical insurance as medical expenses could cost a bomb if not covered after retirement?
rollover
post May 8 2017, 10:51 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ May 8 2017, 09:45 PM)
Wonder what has changed from earlier work, to double EPF amount to RM4mil, just to work 4 more years ?
According to the online calculators the EPF will increase about 65% (returns plus whatever contribution I make). The rest are coming via my stock grants that will vest. I'll still continue to work where I am now.

This post has been edited by rollover: May 8 2017, 10:51 PM
ckdenion
post May 9 2017, 11:19 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

hi jawagar, based on your monthly expenses, your average balance per month is around RM330+-. Kinda limited for investment cz I think most secure is to just save up those in savings account to accumulate it as emergency fund first. of course can spare a little for simple investment in unit trust but you wouldn't wanna dig out the investment money when emergency arises.

anyway that you can cut down expenses from entertainment perhaps and make your monthly balance to around RM500?
Arche_ling
post May 9 2017, 11:32 AM

Need advise on my financial planning
Earning average nett 4.5k after epf and tax

monthly commitment
Car Loan : RM1050
house loan : RM700
Mobile : RM 100
gym : RM 88
Petrol :RM 300
Food :RM 300
insurance :RM200

approx RM1.5k saving monthly (sometimes try to pump into asnb but not always got quota for non bumis, so any advice where should i invest apart from putting in fd? ) thanks.

This post has been edited by Arche_ling: May 9 2017, 11:35 AM

117 Pages « < 72 73 74 75 76 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:14 AM