For Small and Medium Business Owners v2, Come In and Share Your Biz ~

gerald7
post Jul 3 2015, 08:28 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

morning guys, newbie to this thread.

Been bouncing from working for people and doing own business back on forth for a few years already. Obviously when doing own business kept failing in the end, I believe my main weakness is in the area of time management and financial management. And probably marketing skills.

1st Was in the handphone/reload/ computer repair line, was not earning much the killer was because the suppliers were loading me, I made a bad decision to listen to others to increase reload price by RM1.00. And someone reported to consumers affairs and I was fined so I decided I was not 'smart' enough yet. back to work.
Total capital RM5000 (loan from dad)

2nd after few more years of slugging it out in the corporate world I came out, went into photography business. Myself and few amateur friends, we had passion, we had energy, we had no other commitments. Then one guy got married had a cute baby, one got a gf then I found my gf and because of that I needed more income so back to corporate world. Now everyone seems to be committed to other things. We didnt fail per-say, business is still on going. But we seem to be sub to other people more now. Morale of this story is make sure your committed and have business meetings every week if possible. Btw we are mid tier in terms of pricing. We spend loads of our earnings on best gears and training.
Total capital existing camera gears

3rd Now im starting out on a new venture. Lost a partner a month in so now going solo. reason Im not tactful when communicating... sigh. Im doing home made birds nest drinks. But the time invested is higher than anticipated, actual earnings is moderate, around 30% per drink. On going. Looking into markets to enter.
Total capital RM5000

rolleyes.gif with every increasing daily costs, the pressure is really on!
gerald7
post Jul 3 2015, 10:37 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 3 2015, 09:12 AM)
quite envy u...at least bro, dare to try...i dare not
I read your already buying your own house dy.. i think your still better than where I am. The only house I built is not for humans...
gerald7
post Jul 3 2015, 10:54 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 3 2015, 10:43 AM)
different people will have different stories~!
very true. but we share lyn stories!
gerald7
post Jul 3 2015, 11:07 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 3 2015, 11:01 AM)
as age increase, a lot things to think as well and mostly involve money

1. marriage needs money
2. new house needs money
3. honeymoon needs money
4. changing job will be a high risk now....thts why i am looking forward to be an owner
thats putting it lightly. things rosak need money... if human rosak... even more money. medical care is no joke expensive!
gerald7
post Jul 8 2015, 05:00 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(lyrilmaki @ Jul 8 2015, 11:47 AM)
wish I can be daring like u  sad.gif
I am afraid of losses
Can la.. everyone can do it, jst have to plan properly and stick to it. of course review and make corrections if and when needed. So far I have not succeed, but I will not give up yet!
gerald7
post Jul 10 2015, 09:09 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(Killerjeff88 @ Jul 10 2015, 08:27 AM)
Do u guys have a proper business plan document before really opening one?
My friend is inviting me for a business venture on F&B but he does not seem to have a written business plan.
So I have no idea what is the plan...
I started off business w/ friends but never had proper documentation. for me it was trust and of course you need to use your common sense and see if the market is viable or there is potential for growth. Do your own research rather than taking your friends word on it.There is nothing wrong check it out, as its your hard earned money, you have to decide where to invite it
gerald7
post Jul 18 2015, 11:59 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(tyrion @ Jul 18 2015, 02:18 AM)
guys, any advice on doing agriculture business? As in growing fruits/vege like melons and cili. Currently my house got a small piece of land (approx 1000sqft) but the soil is not very good for growing plant (too many stones)
Bro this is a very good business but 1000 sqft is small means you cannot plant anything too big as plants need space to grow. As I know if you successfully grow your 1st harvest and manage to sell, you must be able to supply constantly. Unless your target market is direct to household. I am waiting for my USSweet Corn harvest in two weeks. Last time I planted was around 2 years ago, then tried many crops failed due to bad timing, bad weather and disease. So far this round everything is looking good. But unless got more land to produce bulk and to stagger the planting, your going to be limited to friends+2 (customers) and thats about it unless you got time to buka gerai... then can also smile.gif
gerald7
post Jul 21 2015, 09:50 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 21 2015, 06:08 AM)
I am in the mid of scratching my head where n how to get 50k within 3 months..lolx
as capital or from profits?
gerald7
post Jul 21 2015, 10:20 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ Jul 21 2015, 10:10 AM)
any license need to apply if a cafe playing songs or music? when can get more information? thanks
I believe its MACP, check out http://www.macp.com.my/macp-licence.htm
gerald7
post Jul 21 2015, 10:21 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 21 2015, 10:15 AM)
capital
investors or loans lor. Unless god of fortune bless you 4 digit nombor tonite smile.gif tat could be another means of sourcing of capital:)
gerald7
post Jul 21 2015, 11:21 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ Jul 21 2015, 11:18 AM)
thanks bro...  thumbup.gif
If I recall correctly there are two licencing bodies. because this does not cover all the artists / labels etc, you can ask around see if they know more or wait for someone else to pitch in. Best of luck !
gerald7
post Aug 3 2015, 08:39 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

my small harvest. profits enough to cover petrol and some pocket money flex.gif
gerald7
post Aug 10 2015, 02:22 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(-Davidoff- @ Aug 4 2015, 09:38 AM)
gooding. spend some to LYN kaki?  rclxms.gif
cannnn
gerald7
post Aug 11 2015, 08:17 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Aug 11 2015, 07:38 AM)
I want too
haha can... foc for you two.. come kch take ya
gerald7
post Sep 9 2015, 02:13 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(Razer.Ken @ Sep 8 2015, 04:37 PM)
I always believe that there is effort behind everything. True, some agents (MLM or insurance) is indeed very wealthy, but its not as easy as it seems. It could be as hard as being an entrepreneur as well. There is always effort involved. Like my thread, in my signature (Microsoft office 365). I took a lot of time to build my reputation and now people trust me and my service.

Everything takes effort. smile.gif
+1

well said
gerald7
post Sep 18 2015, 10:08 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

wink.gif sold 1000 cob last month... very sweet! wub.gif
gerald7
post Sep 25 2015, 09:00 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(jackloft123 @ Sep 24 2015, 11:07 AM)
Hi all sifus!
I'm starting up 2 businesses target to go live simultaneously in mid Oct 15'

First would be an event agency (branding, events & activation). Have been in this industry for quite some time. Reliable contacts and willing to help out (bro price & payment terms). Thing is, client base is still on the shaky side. Have some, but not enough to sustain in the long run. I don't mind low % profit, as long as someone willing to give me the chance to. Any comments to better this part?

Second would be an online lighting boutique shop. All are handmade by yours truly and a couple of friends. Mostly would be minimalist, retro / raw look & feel.

Food for thoughts guys?
for me events are hardcore businesses. need to have really competent and dedicated ppl working with you. some days can be good some days can be really bad when nothing goes right. one must be brave to start an event agency smile.gif

gerald7
post Sep 25 2015, 01:19 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(Tenshi @ Sep 25 2015, 11:17 AM)
Nice.. got own corn farm?
nah.. just an interim crop .. banking on pamelos .. hopefully is a good crop
gerald7
post Sep 26 2015, 08:22 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(Razer.Ken @ Sep 25 2015, 04:01 PM)
Anyone interested in generating some passive income via online affiliate marketing? Reselling AliExpress products. I'm not promising millions or billions, but it's a start for those who are interested in making money online. Here's my result so far:

Again, it's not millions but it's part of earning money online. Startup cost is below RM200 (inclusive of website and all)
tats about 3% of sales? how long did you take to generate 9xx sales?
gerald7
post Oct 6 2015, 09:09 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(boarulez @ Oct 4 2015, 09:33 PM)
Want to ask any sifu here is in the fruits or vegetables business?
I'm planning to open a fruit shop, what i want to ask is about the refrigerator.
Do i buy it with cash or do shops provide rental for it.

And do i really need this for a fruit shop? what if my shop is air conditioned.
im not in the line of business but, your normally air conditioning is around 16 degrees Celsius max coolness, actual maybe 20+- ? A fridge normally should be below 4 degrees Celsius..

go around supermarkets and see, fruits normally air conditioning can dy... I guess you have to see what your products are and if you really need the fridge

This post has been edited by gerald7: Oct 6 2015, 09:09 AM

0.1450sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:10 PM