134 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

For Small and Medium Business Owners v2, Come In and Share Your Biz ~

TSghoss
post Oct 16 2013, 11:25 AM, updated 5y ago

975 posts

Since the first thread is already over the limit , I decide to open v2 after asking permission from edyek.

This is a place for people to share their questions regarding on running their on small /medium biz or other inquires .

It's ok to ask on how to run a MLM / Direct Selling but please don't spam/promote it here.

My background , currently working in a MNC while selling burgers at night laugh.gif

kenneths88
post Oct 16 2013, 11:31 AM

214 posts

Congratz on V2 for this thread rclxms.gif
Copy & Paste from Previous Thread for continuation

This is a good thread. Indeed a really inspiring thread. Thanks TS for starting it.

I started to read thread V1 a week ago, now I am in 76 page. Never knew I would read that far. Will continue to read.

Anyway I have some questions for sifus here.

I intend to start an online business, feng shui.
Do you think people would purchase from me (assuming I am selling out cheaper than those Big Feng Shui Master shop - Lilian Too, Joey Yap)

Capital : Max RM30k
Type of Business : Trading - feng shui items (Pagoda, money frog, horse, dragon, tortoise, etc)

Person :
(1) Me Myself
(2) My Mom (Been studying in feng shui for more than 5 years, but with one disadvantage - not getting a certificate for feng shui)

No operation/shoplots/manpower cost needed. But will hire someone to create & constantly update my own website.

How it works, I will put a picture on a particular photo. Then I will explain how it works, which direction to put in which year and what kind of things to take note, what can it help. All info free.

All kinds of feedback & critics are welcome smile.gif smile.gif Thanks notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by kenneths88: Oct 16 2013, 11:32 AM
TSghoss
post Oct 16 2013, 11:39 AM

975 posts

^
Feng Shui , I think you still need a physical store where people can see the actual goods / consult for advice .

I feel it's more better when people can see what they're paying for rather than getting something that they thought it was.

Even for me , last time I used to buy small things like crystal. I also go survey a few shops before purchasing it .
kenneths88
post Oct 16 2013, 12:10 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Oct 16 2013, 11:39 AM)
^
Feng Shui , I think you still need a physical store where people can see the actual goods / consult for advice .

I feel it's more better when people can see what they're paying for rather than getting something that they thought it was.

Even for me , last time I used to buy small things like crystal. I also go survey a few shops before purchasing it .
Actually from what I actually feel, Malaysian is looking for affordable & value for money items.

For example :
Item : Small Pagoda
Feng Shui Shop : RM120
I am selling : RM 80 which include delivery cost.

Quality wise, maybe/may not be the same, but it functioning the same way. Why not purchasing from me instead of those shops?

One good example would be my mom. A lot of feng shui stuff in my house are purchase from other places (not feng shui shop) as it is much cheaper. I guess more than 50% of the stuff.

Secondly, I feel that not everyone willing to step in Feng Shui shop to listen advice from Feng Shui Master in the shop, as they do not know what they actually need. Instead, if I put it online, people would read and may compare it via GOOGLE.
razorboy
post Oct 16 2013, 12:14 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Oct 16 2013, 11:25 AM)
Since the first thread is already over the limit , I decide to open v2 after asking permission from edyek.

This is a place for people to share their questions regarding on running their on small /medium biz or other inquires .

It's ok to ask on how to run a MLM / Direct Selling but please don't spam/promote it here.

My background , currently working in a MNC while selling burgers at night  laugh.gif
holy crap, that's what I've been thinking of doing for the past few months. I am currently working in an MNC but thinking of selling burgers at night
TSghoss
post Oct 16 2013, 12:17 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(kenneths88 @ Oct 16 2013, 12:10 PM)

Secondly, I feel that not everyone willing to step in Feng Shui shop to listen advice from Feng Shui Master in the shop, as they do not know what they actually need. Instead, if I put it online, people would read and may compare it via GOOGLE.
I get what you mean , but nowadays those people that buys these thing are not so tech-savvy .

If they are , some of those might searched whether if it's real or a scam (the whole feng shui thing , not the product)

But at the end of the day , since it's online , I guess the cost is kinda low to setup .

I suggest ,
1. Provide online consultation
2. Do pre-order with deposit , you can sell cheaper and you don't need to carry a lot of stocks in hand
samurai7
post Oct 16 2013, 12:21 PM

KaMiKazE
2,047 posts

Gratz for 2nd thread ^^
TSghoss
post Oct 16 2013, 12:24 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Oct 16 2013, 12:14 PM)
holy crap, that's what I've been thinking of doing for the past few months. I am currently working in an MNC but thinking of selling burgers at night
Just do it bro , if cooking is your passion thumbup.gif

I wanted to learn culinary but can't due to financial restraints . Only can do simple home cooks .

A little story on how I started do it ,

Few years back before pork burger was a craze around Malaysia , my friends likes to have BBQ party now and then celebrating any holidays celebration and I would bring pork patty.

I didn't thought of selling it as , selling burger is like a job that no ones want to be and it was dominant primarily by Malays.

Till someone started to sell em , and it boom and mushrooms everywhere in Penang.

If I could turn back time , I would like to be the first person to do it sad.gif
razorboy
post Oct 16 2013, 12:27 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Oct 16 2013, 12:24 PM)
Just do it bro , if cooking is your passion  thumbup.gif 

I wanted to learn culinary but can't due to financial restraints . Only can do simple home cooks .

A little story on how I started do it ,

Few years back before pork burger was a craze around Malaysia , my friends likes to have BBQ party now and then celebrating any holidays celebration and I would bring pork patty.

I didn't thought of selling it as , selling burger is like a job that no ones want to be and it was dominant primarily by Malays.

Till someone started to sell em , and it boom and mushrooms everywhere in Penang.

If I could turn back time , I would like to be the first person to do it sad.gif
if you don't mind me asking, how did you start it off? stall ? or physical shop?
kenneths88
post Oct 16 2013, 12:31 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Oct 16 2013, 12:17 PM)
I get what you mean , but nowadays those people that buys these thing are not so tech-savvy .

If they are , some of those might searched whether if it's real or a scam (the whole feng shui thing , not the product)

But at the end of the day , since it's online , I guess the cost is kinda low to setup .

I suggest ,
1. Provide online consultation
2. Do pre-order with deposit  , you can sell cheaper and you don't need to carry a lot of stocks in hand
How do you mean by scam?
Sorry don't get you rclxub.gif
TSghoss
post Oct 16 2013, 12:34 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Oct 16 2013, 12:27 PM)
if you don't mind me asking, how did you start it off? stall ? or physical shop?
Currently a stall in a kopitiam , looking to expand but headache on finding workers rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Easier to do it in a kopitiam as there is already traffic of people there.

QUOTE(kenneths88 @ Oct 16 2013, 12:31 PM)
How do you mean by scam?
Sorry don't get you  rclxub.gif
meaning some people are not sure in feng shui , like religion , some believe some don't .
razorboy
post Oct 16 2013, 12:37 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Oct 16 2013, 12:34 PM)
Currently a stall in a kopitiam , looking to expand but headache on finding workers  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

Easier to do it in a kopitiam as there is already traffic of people there.
And you do it all by yourself? worth the time invested in it ? I mean income wise. I assume you do it after work right?
TSghoss
post Oct 16 2013, 12:46 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Oct 16 2013, 12:37 PM)
And you do it all by yourself? worth the time invested in it ? I mean income wise. I assume you do it after work right?
Depends bro ~

I currently partnered with another 2 friends . Currently all is doing the business while trying to get workers so that we can do other things .

Worth the time ? When it's boom big sure worth it tongue.gif

Income wise , the biz is generating around RM3k/month profit , it's operating 5 days a week / from 730pm-12midnight and it's not even very busy sweat.gif sweat.gif

Yup after work do
alanaw
post Oct 16 2013, 12:47 PM

186 posts

Stumbled upon on an article about childcare. I believe that most of these childcares nowadays are not registered and hence unregulated. What do you guys think about this business. I might be wrong but I personally feel that any business associated with child and women are something worth doing. nod.gif Is that so?
areankim
post Oct 16 2013, 12:50 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

QUOTE(alanaw @ Oct 16 2013, 12:47 PM)
Stumbled upon on an article about childcare. I believe that most of these childcares nowadays are not registered and hence unregulated. What do you guys think about this business. I might be wrong but I personally feel that any business associated with child and women are something worth doing.  nod.gif  Is that so?
u need certficate, and those who take care of child need training and cert as well and their salary aint cheap.

unless your partner has those background, else i think it's quite difficult.
TSghoss
post Oct 16 2013, 12:51 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(alanaw @ Oct 16 2013, 12:47 PM)
Stumbled upon on an article about childcare. I believe that most of these childcares nowadays are not registered and hence unregulated. What do you guys think about this business. I might be wrong but I personally feel that any business associated with child and women are something worth doing.  nod.gif  Is that so?
Hmm... are you talking about those day care centre / learning centre ?

Some of those are really registered company. There is a SG company opened their branch here in Penang . http://www.cheriehearts.sg/

Even every corner I go , I can see those a lot here.
alanaw
post Oct 16 2013, 01:02 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Oct 16 2013, 12:50 PM)
u need certficate, and those who take care of child need training and cert as well and their salary aint cheap.

unless your partner has those background, else i think it's quite difficult.
Agree. But they are charging quite expensive also. It should be enough to cover their salary. So back to the question, is this a good business to ventures for new comer?
LawrenceTan
post Oct 16 2013, 01:25 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(alanaw @ Oct 16 2013, 01:02 PM)
Agree. But they are charging quite expensive also. It should be enough to cover their salary. So back to the question, is this a good business to ventures for new comer?
Everyone can do well in business as long they equip with appropriate method and sufficient knowledge to analyse market and operate business in specific industry.

The question you should ask yourself is do you have the determination to learn, right channel to be trained and obtain information in specific industry and take the risk for loss your capital?
kenneths88
post Oct 16 2013, 02:52 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Oct 16 2013, 12:34 PM)
meaning some people are not sure in feng shui , like religion , some believe some don't .
Oh ok. This I am not worrying. I am just targeting people who actually believe them. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

I will try it. Will update here later rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Btw, thanks ghoss....
TSghoss
post Oct 16 2013, 03:57 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(kenneths88 @ Oct 16 2013, 02:52 PM)
Oh ok. This I am not worrying. I am just targeting people who actually believe them.  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

I will try it. Will update here later  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  Btw, thanks ghoss....
Welcome ~ All the best ~~ thumbup.gif

134 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0235sec    1.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:28 PM