For Small and Medium Business Owners v2, Come In and Share Your Biz ~

gerald7
post Jan 7 2016, 08:27 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jan 6 2016, 09:02 AM)
finally i am back to Malaysia. Happy new year my friends in here. Hope a new year brings a fatty year in your pockets.

Just managed to start up a branch in Brunei and Miri smile.gif

Looking forward in tokyo street pavilion, but seems not worth it with the rental there smile.gif
welcome bek... where did you go off to?

good to hear ur expanding ur business XD
gerald7
post Jan 7 2016, 08:44 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jan 7 2016, 08:40 AM)
Went to brunei for 2weeks to settle all documentations.

Not easy country to handle
aaahhh brunei... boringest place to be after work. but good sushi used to drive up for sushi and back to Mri back in the day.
gerald7
post Jan 26 2016, 03:03 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Jan 26 2016, 02:51 PM)
good one stays, bad one mumble++++ and ran away. statistics tell U many things.
See through her characters, if she cannot tahan stress, reconsider your love life or your entrepreneur venture.
things come very real when she have to dig into her pockets to support U.
well said
gerald7
post Mar 4 2016, 04:35 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(hungryJack @ Mar 3 2016, 02:39 PM)
I intend to plan starting to do online business:

This is my first time doing online business, however i hv no clue how to start:

My thought is:

target product: some household product, for decorative purpose. Maybe some electronics gadget. When starting, maybe i target selling on few items. Purchase every items quantity is 10. After sell it, then replenish the stock again. workable?

question 1: Should i purchase those popular/high demand/potential interesting items which have potential market in malaysia? Then re-sell for profit?

question 2: or i should doing like daigou? Who to approach for the platform like others daigou?

question 3: platform for selling like social media and forum? (any better explosure?)

question 4: if i order bulky quantity and have it ship to malaysia, will i being charged for tax?
I also consider about the courier (product delivery). Which courier company offer better rates for shipping? normally shipping fee will be borne by customer?

What else should i consider or i have miss out? Appreciate who have online business background could enlighten me a little.

Thank you,.
I have a friend who works in the Gomen sector, on his free time, he buys and sells things made in China to friends locally. 2 years back he started shipping and selling about 2-5 items. Valued less than RM1000. He claims he only makes a margin of about 10-15% per item after shipping and handling. Last year end when I asked him, he had moved about RM200k of items. Lets say at 10%, thats a decent RM20k for a part time job. According to him, after the 1st month, he had already covered his capital. Some times he also save on petrol, as I bring him to poslaju after our morning coffees. innocent.gif In my friend's story, he only actually takes pre-orders. On rare occasions he will bring in a few new items to test the market. But generally its pre-ordered items. So his funding is customers money, up front. While there are lot of people who have had experience will say, we need a lot of resources and planning. My friend had only one plan, buy and sell, earn profit minimum 10%, rinse and repeat. His media is facebook and forums.

I think his way is better than mine where I have to invest heavily and market my products and SELL. If I do not go out and sell, there is no sales. Then again my margin is better compared to him, but I have to do more.
gerald7
post Apr 16 2016, 08:31 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(xszmyx @ Apr 16 2016, 02:12 AM)
hi all...

just wondering what kind of business can I start in kuching? I own a native land in lundu but dont know what to do with it. Somebody approached me to lease/buy the land for crocodile farming. But I dont want to let go as its hard to own land or property nowadays due to exponetial increase of price per sf. I'm thinking of venturing into agro farming biz, but not crocodile farming though, maybe organic farming? or agro tourism?

Another property is an ancestral kampung house around satok area which is now left vacant. Im thinking of turning it into homestay, but Im not so sure how profitable is the homestay business in kuching. If anybody have few words to chip in, please feel free to comment. Thanks
Farming is always good and steady.. not much glamour but steady. But finding a good crop is important...
gerald7
post Apr 17 2016, 09:43 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(xszmyx @ Apr 16 2016, 10:04 PM)
My real passion is hosting...that's why I'm thinking of venturing into homestay business. I just love to entertain guests and making them comfortable. And I love to meet new people. So far I have never encountered any awkward situation being in foreing land and being among foreigners. I can easily click with people. Another thing is that I always overthink things into minute detail example, always putting myself in other peoples shoes. So I tend to be accomodating kind of person. Please, I would love to hear others opinion. I'm getting pretty excited  rclxms.gif
if hosting then your location must be unique. or you provide a unique experience.
gerald7
post May 10 2016, 12:31 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(carmenyta @ May 8 2016, 09:35 PM)
Hello all,

I'm starting out a small business in selling my own coloring book (something suitable for the adults even) and I have plans to sell them internationally. My concern is on the pricing of my books. I'm planning to sell it 15 bucks per book locally but i am unsure how i should price it internationally. do i just convert the currency or do i just set the price in usd or..? For now, i am only planning to use my social media and etsy as a platform to sell it.

Appreciate all advice from sifus.  notworthy.gif
Can try a shopping cart / online store. Ive bought stuff from vendors using https://www.shopify.my/ I find the experience quite pleasant. Maybe can have a look, or find something similar.

Also how do you sell currently ? I might be interested to purchase for my wife.

This post has been edited by gerald7: May 10 2016, 12:31 PM
gerald7
post May 28 2016, 08:13 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(sense_less143 @ May 27 2016, 05:44 PM)
For those of you interested to accept bitcoin n your biz: https://blog.wirexapp.com/how-to-accept-bitcoin/
btw, love your blog ^^,
gerald7
post Aug 4 2016, 02:10 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Aug 4 2016, 01:01 PM)
What's B&M?  hmm.gif
brick & mortar ?
gerald7
post Oct 6 2016, 09:00 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(Babablacksheep @ Oct 4 2016, 11:38 PM)
From my experience,
most Malaysian sell off their business is because their biz is dying.

Hence, you need to be creative enough to revamp the existing business and give new life to it.
If not, think ten times.
That is probably true for many cases. Of course there are exceptions as well.

In my home town, I know of a shop selling beef noodles, since it started operating business was packed every day till the owner sold it. Reason for selling, was he was a retiree, he only wanted to spend time doing something with the missus. Business was too good that it gave him stress. So in less than a year he sold off the business, went into something less stressful.

But then the business started to drop after that. Because the new owners didn't have the passion like the uncle did when cooking / preparing the food. This is my assumption, as the food didn't taste as good as before. Or maybe the uncle had already forecast this, we will never know .

As far as i know the business is still operating till today.
gerald7
post Oct 6 2016, 04:20 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Oct 6 2016, 09:51 AM)
this uncle is self employed, it is not a business.

real business hire workers (or machine etc) and autopilot in both operation and finances.

real business only need owner's management, or don't even need to manage if hire a business manager to run.

if the business needs you to operate, then you are not the business owner, or maybe you are the owner, but it's not a true business.

maybe the fact that malaysians like to call everyone 'boss' makes them think self employed or freelance as business.
So by your definition because the uncle did not hire a business manager its not a legitimate business or not a real business? He had a proper chef from Taiwan and a few kitchen staff, at least 5 waiters his shop can fit only 100 pax. But sorry for sharing a 'fake business' story.

For me a business is something that generates income for the proprietor / operator repetitively. Sometimes we just like to label things.
gerald7
post Oct 7 2016, 09:17 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(fleaz @ Oct 6 2016, 04:36 PM)
I believe what lowya is trying to convey is that if a business depends on that 1 person to make any revenue, then that person is considered self-employed more than being a "businessman".

And you're right, we all love to label things
But that uncles business can operate without him being present ( from my observations ), and it was sold as a whole business and its still operational till date. A business cannot be defined in such a restricted view, large or small.

QUOTE(lowya @ Oct 6 2016, 06:02 PM)
generate income?

well.. any of these category can do that..

1. employee (full time, part time)

2. self employed (freelance, contractor, etc)

these are labels for income generators.

But, these are not business.

Just like dentist, lawyers, those are professions, but not business.

Without them,no income, those are not real autopilot businesses.

Those 'business' you like to call it, cannot be sold.

Cause without uniquely them, it is not going to work.
So your definition of a business is it has to be autopilot that can be sold without owner / operators / executives meddling in its operations.

My definition is of a business is if someone provides goods or services in return (exchange) for monies or some form of compensation, is a business (Im olSkool like tat, I think I learnt that in secondary school).

---

But, Im not an academic, so I cant say my view is correct or better... so moving on ya... Cheers!
gerald7
post Apr 7 2018, 08:26 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(gotham11 @ Apr 6 2018, 03:22 PM)
Hi all,  any one receive  Call from 016 number mentioning ministry of agriculture is organizing seminar,  and you are shortlisted as participants on 'program keusahawanan: pendedahan n pegenalan awal terhadap Tanaman Logan ' last few days and the talk is two hours session in hotel seri Malaysia this Sunday.  Altogether session, altogether two persons called to confirm my attendance and follow with a sms confirmation.  During the phone also asked me whether I has credit card..  Sound like a hoax right???  Tried to call MOA putrajaya,  as usual...  No one answer the phone.
Few years ago I got such call. the MO looks like the same... that time it was tanaman kurma. I did attend and it was really 2 hours session of 1 to 1. Cant remember the name of the company but supposedly is supported by MoA, no one there actually said they were from MOA.

I guess looking back its kinda like crowd funding. They got the land from MOA and they wanted use our monies to bear operating costs for X years and they will buy back the tree from us at a profit. they were really pushing it, and will try get a close there and then. Thats why asking about credit card.

Legit or not, I dunno.. I just didnt like the buyback plan and how pushy the person was. Very well scripted tho. Go and attend and let us know the outcome please. biggrin.gif Maybe got new updates.
gerald7
post Sep 9 2018, 09:02 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

whats a good e-commerce site builder in the market recently? any one got suggestions ?
gerald7
post Sep 12 2018, 08:08 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ Sep 11 2018, 11:58 AM)
using wordpress...u can buy those theme with e-com feature or find those free one.
wordpress ok. ok thx
gerald7
post Sep 27 2018, 10:38 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(Hetna Ligiv @ Sep 27 2018, 12:20 AM)
Wordpress still requires some level of technical know-how. Best to use drag-and-drop site builders like Shopify or Wix.  icon_idea.gif
QUOTE(ehwee @ Sep 27 2018, 08:16 AM)
Shopify or easy store is easier as they have already POS system ready and design specify for e commerce

WordPress should be better at seo that is a plus for Google search exposure, yet you will need pro web designer to help you to create the website as it's not a lay man job.
thumbup.gif thanks guys
gerald7
post Oct 9 2018, 11:26 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(tonYe @ Oct 1 2018, 12:02 PM)
Social media management and online advertising for retail/commercial brands.
May I ask what is your current payment model? Is it per project / event ? Maybe do 6 - 12 months contract?

I think there are still ways to market your business, as a LOT of businesses require some sort of online marketing assistance. I just started up a new business selling automotive products, and my business partner thinks hes a internet marketer after attending a course. I have a degree in marketing and I do not have the confidence to say so.

The problem for now it seems your losing your current customers and unable to sign new ones. How do you source for new customers? word of mouth, referrals, advertising ? 7 years of portfolio can be an advantage.
gerald7
post Oct 9 2018, 11:32 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Oct 2 2018, 12:09 AM)
Best that you join networking or business events, seminars & groups. You may even get clients while looking for opportunities.

Buying from easy to find places like Alibaba or Taobao & sell on Lazada may work for a while but in the long run, people will eventually smarten up & go direct to Alibaba. If you’re planning to build something that’s sustainable, you need to think for long term too.

I am selling skincare. Buy from USA & sell in Malaysia. I am selling via Lazada, 11St & Shopee too, not everything sells well in those platforms. My sales is better offline than online. On the other hand, I’ve spoken to other online sellers who sells better online. I also met sellers that couldn’t sell anything via those platforms. It’s highly depending on the industry, based on my recent observation, currently gadgets & baby products sells better online cause those are the highly searched ones.

From my current venture, I’m trying to expand into textile. Buying Malaysian textile & sell it overseas. It’s still in a very infant stage though. Still in the process of establishing the distribution & building the market.
For import of skincare products, dont you need to apply permit from KKM? My wife was eyeing on this skincare that couldn't be found in Malaysia, She wanted to bring some for own usage and maybe sell to reduce costs. How do you promote your products online? only thru lazada etc etc ?

gerald7
post Oct 9 2018, 11:46 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(captain_asia @ Oct 4 2018, 10:43 AM)
Hi guys, seriously looking for help here. My family got a swiftlet bird nest house steadily producing considerably big amount of bird nest. Good thing is the continuous supply and the bad is its kinda hard to find buyer nowadays, especially Malaysia could no longer export its bird nest to China as easily as few years ago. We have tried selling it online but the response wasnt very satisfactory. We do not mind selling our products lower than the market price because what we intend to do is to decrease stock and increase sales. Can anyone suggest any channel or ways to accomplish that?

Is there anyone here facing the same issue? Any constructive suggestion or advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
I find it hard to believe that you have trouble finding buyers. I have a small birdhouse which produces small amounts birds nests and I have a choice of buyers, always waiting at my door. And all my counterparts in the industry never faced this problem that you are facing. Please do not sell at a lower price, we worked so hard to increase the price for the past two years. And finally its stable at a fair price.

just realize Nightheart also in swiftlet thread, you also rancher ?
gerald7
post Oct 9 2018, 11:55 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Oct 9 2018, 11:52 AM)
Yes, need to go through KKM.

Technically, buying online (especially iHerb) is illegal without permit. But the Kastam have been lenient so far, if unlucky only your shipment will be confiscated.

How to promote online really depends on your direction, strategy & nature of product eg niche, commercialized, price war, educational etc etc. Generally people would say use Google ads, SEO, FB/Insta ads or influencers etc.

IMO skincare if purely sold online without much effort isn’t gonna work. Eg if you create a new amazing brand but no one search for it & it got lost among the millions of products in those e-marketplace, how to sell? If wanna rely on word of mouth alone, it’s too slow.
she bought dunno what oil from iherb 2 months ago. waited almost 6 weeks for the item to arrive LOL. well at least didnt get confiscated

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0781sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:07 PM