133 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

For Small and Medium Business Owners v2, Come In and Share Your Biz ~

SunofaBeach
post Oct 23 2013, 10:18 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(Manuk1188 @ Oct 22 2013, 08:27 AM)
Maybe i should share mine as well.

Business Fail and Gone Wrong - Very Failed

Type of Business : Transportation of Goods (East Malaysia - Sabah)
Started Year Jan 2005 - April 2007
Capital : RM5,000 (Each Person)
Period : 2 years +

Person : 5 partner (But only 3 in the Enterprise Trading license)

Vehicle : 3 Ton Lorry (Upgrade to 6 ton Load)
Worker : 1 Driver, 1 Hookman/Assistant

Business Load all good from KK Major Town to Mostly SDK/TWU/LD - Longest is Semporna

1 Trip = RM350 for the Fuel (RM180 for 1 Way)
1 Driver = RM300 for the Food/Stay

1 Trip Load = Worth of Transportation Fees = RM 1k. (The less is RM700)
Return from Sandakan = RM300~500 Additional Goods load back to KK (But not always, Once or Twice a Month)
If from Tawau/LD = Empty

Every Week surely have 2 ~ 3 Trips.
Simple Calculation = 8 Trips per month
= RM8k ++ (if plus the SDK trip back)

Driver Salary = RM 1.5K (1 Trip RM50) Commission the more the better
HookMan = RM400 (1 Trip RM30) to accompany the Driver and Unload the Stuff

Reason Business Failed due to the Main Con/Supplier.
He acted as the King of Transportation whom can give you more or less of Goods. Meaning have to jaga him also.

How he does ?
Since i mention all the Goods are from Him. Therefore, he can select the best of high income to any transporter. So He is the one direct deal with the Customer. OF course, i also go see the Customer and offer.
But what he does, he get the Goods, pass to me to send, and received the payment within 3 ~ 7 working days.
Lama Lama, he drag and say the Customer didn't pay weekly but into Monthly.
Findout, he use the money to pay his own Lorry (He got 8 Lorry) so he use the money to move swiftly around for his own purpose.

Lama Lama, say all the Money cannot be pay. WHY ? because one of my Partners whom claim is in the Transportation Business before is handling didn't get the Black & White thing to Sign / Chop
That time i was working (Makan Gaji) n use the Salary to cover the Operation. Man, it was my very down moment.

When all partners decide to stop. 2 have left, i mean not in the Trading License. Me myself wan to revive it but failed as the other 2 doesn't want to continue. Jual the Lorry and lucky i still have my job.

From RM5,000 Capital, i have fork additional RM6,000 for the Operation, Fuel and even Driver. Because i belief if i can overcome the DOWN time, i am sure will be a hit since i see the Opportunity but i was been CON in the first place. The Business was a CON, as it was intended from the very beginning moment.

Therefore, i learn. FRIENDS is always FRIENDS. but BUSINESS is BUSINESS. and Evertyhing you do in LEGAL Business please please get it BLACK & WHITE. Sometimes friendship hurts when it comes to MONEY.
Thanks for sharing.

Another lesson I saw from your expereince is never let the business rely on ONLY 1 Customer or your business will be manipulated by this only 1 customer.

A successful business should always have your own core competencies, high entry barrier and able to serve the emerging market.

I am a young professional in a corporate business, glad to see people sharing experience and learn from mistakes.

Everyone makes mistakes, the thing that matters is always think about how you could do differently (how to improve it). Best wishes to you and all who is venturing into business thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by SunofaBeach: Oct 23 2013, 10:18 PM
piresthegod
post Oct 24 2013, 03:59 AM

Hi, I am interested in starting a food truck business that sell sandwiches and drinks nearby office and uni areas. Do I need special license or permit to stop my truck and sell food somewhere around KL or PJ areas? If so, what kind of license shall I apply?

Thanks for the help!
tomato123
post Oct 24 2013, 05:14 PM

262 posts

I hope someone could share some guidelines on how to start a small retail business for entrepreneur. Was looking at taking over an existing business.
What are the factors to look into while taking over an existing business?
The good parts I could come out with are saving time, renovation costs and less hassle of looking for all those things needed for to setup the shop. Besides, the seller might provide the suppliers contacts which I can save time looking for them.
However, also worry the true reason behind the seller is selling for. Is it business not doing well? not making profit? or what else?

Appreciate all the help. Thanks!
CHRISTIANLOW
post Oct 24 2013, 09:49 PM

hi, I planning open western café in klang valley ? can someone recommend which part is high tranffic ?

my café is target middle and high.

This post has been edited by CHRISTIANLOW: Oct 24 2013, 09:50 PM
PrinceHamsap
post Oct 24 2013, 10:15 PM

Legendary
1,637 posts

QUOTE(CHRISTIANLOW @ Oct 24 2013, 09:49 PM)
hi, I planning open western café in klang valley ? can someone recommend which part is high tranffic ?

my café is target middle and high.

how much you will able to afford the rental?

to answer you definitely hot area like kota damansara, bkt bintang sunway, subang, kuchai, bandar puteri puchong etc ... if your food is good then people will travel all the way just to eat yours

I am also looking forward invest an non halal american fast food restaurant
at least something to do over on sunday
mradult
post Oct 24 2013, 10:43 PM

114 posts

Really great reading real life experience of business venture, thanks for sharing! It's truly inspiring. I myself currently don't run any businesses but I'm saving up capital and hope to come out with something in future! smile.gif Cheers!
izzyuke
post Oct 25 2013, 09:20 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Oct 19 2013, 10:22 PM)
beauty shops, boutiques,
most of em accepting consignment
Ohiki
post Oct 27 2013, 12:48 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Oct 16 2013, 12:46 PM)
Depends bro ~

I currently partnered with another 2 friends . Currently all is doing the business while trying to get workers so that we can do other things .

Worth the time ? When it's boom big sure worth it  tongue.gif

Income wise , the biz is generating around RM3k/month profit , it's operating 5 days a week / from 730pm-12midnight and it's not even very busy  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Yup after work do
Hi, notworthy.gif salute you for bravely venture into this tough job. Not all willing to work at stall standing there waiting for customers.

I hope you can give some insights /tips;
1) what license/permit to do this biz in kopitiam ?
2) you said you work in an MNC now, enough rest/sleep since you work till midnight ? tongue.gif
3) any local council like majlis come to kacau you ? Or Samseng asking for protection $$$ (watch too much drama tongue.gif )

I was thinking about road side stall like those ramli burger but it might be more hassle compare to working in a kopitiam...
TSghoss
post Oct 27 2013, 03:17 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(Ohiki @ Oct 27 2013, 12:48 PM)
Hi,  notworthy.gif salute you for bravely venture into this tough job. Not all willing to work at stall standing there waiting for customers.

I hope you can give some insights /tips;
1) what license/permit to do this biz in kopitiam ?
2) you said you work in an MNC now, enough rest/sleep since you work till midnight ?  tongue.gif
3) any local council like majlis come to kacau you ? Or Samseng asking for protection $$$ (watch too much drama  tongue.gif )

I was thinking about road side stall like those ramli burger but it might be more hassle compare to working in a kopitiam...
1) Private kopitiam no need license/permit , just need to ask the taukeh.
2) Try to arrange lor , I work 10am , then sleep 1am ,wake up 9am. laugh.gif
3) So far no lor haha. Local council no kacau unless in local council food court
Gh-x
post Oct 27 2013, 03:22 PM

475 posts

I am just curious, what do you guys think of selling furniture online & offline but without a showroom? only warehouse and office.
Ohiki
post Oct 27 2013, 03:36 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Oct 27 2013, 03:17 PM)
1) Private kopitiam no need license/permit , just need to ask the taukeh.
2) Try to arrange lor , I work 10am , then sleep 1am ,wake up 9am. laugh.gif
3) So far no lor haha. Local council no kacau unless in local council food court
hmm.gif sounds like working on shift...

No need license but need to register with Roc right ?
TSghoss
post Oct 27 2013, 03:54 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(Gh-x @ Oct 27 2013, 03:22 PM)
I am just curious, what do you guys think of selling furniture online & offline but without a showroom? only warehouse and office.
hard ler ~ people need to see before buy
QUOTE(Ohiki @ Oct 27 2013, 03:36 PM)
hmm.gif  sounds like working on shift...

No need license but need to register with Roc right ?
No need also ~ But I registered so the name is mine laugh.gif

Register also cheap cheap only less than rm100
pisces88
post Oct 27 2013, 04:03 PM

3,711 posts

QUOTE(tomato123 @ Oct 24 2013, 05:14 PM)
I hope someone could share some guidelines on how to start a small retail business for entrepreneur. Was looking at taking over an existing business.
What are the factors to look into while taking over an existing business?
The good parts I could come out with are saving time, renovation costs and less hassle of looking for all those things needed for to setup the shop. Besides, the seller might provide the suppliers contacts which I can save time looking for them.
However, also worry the true reason behind the seller is selling for. Is it business not doing well? not making profit? or what else?

Appreciate all the help. Thanks!
survey the business. look at its surroundings. go there during weekday and weekend (watch from far), dont let them know u are there. see whether got traffic and transaction. some owner say got xx,xxx business every month, but when u take over u see the actual situation. that time its too late.

SUSalexcky
post Oct 27 2013, 08:17 PM

business Sifu
842 posts

QUOTE(kangry @ Oct 22 2013, 01:50 AM)
Failed

Capital : 0
Period : 2 years +
Type of Business : Event props and Booth Contractor
Person : 1 partner (both of us can design and have knowledge on the materials and contruction techniques)
Lesson : Client company wash out with outstanding payment, unable to sustain to pay suppliers
This is a business that is easy to maintain the sales, what we did was, walk around exhibition and talk to people (give name cards). Eventually people will contact you to compare price and design. Nett profit margin is around 20%-45%

anyway im still looking for other business opportunities despite the failure of first business (which is very pain in debt but i am recovering =)). Lesson learned 0 capital doesn't mean low risk.

Also i would like to share this info for those who are interested on CAR RENTAL business, please refer to the website below,

http://wahiabdrashid.com/287/menubuhkan-sy...at-kereta-sewa/

not an easy process for the licensing, and risk management part.
Event biz is good income, but how much min capital need to start up?
anak kenyalang
post Oct 28 2013, 09:41 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(LawrenceTan @ Oct 22 2013, 11:02 AM)
I saw this water dispenser machine few years back in my hometown and they had gone within a year.
Personally i don't get water from there because hygiene would be a concern for me. Well for the costs & profit margin can't advise you, never really go deep into that.  smile.gif
My main target is not local, but foreign workers (Bangla, nepal, indon) since they don't have much time to boil water, etc. etc.. If the business can generate around RM300 per month, I would be more than happy.

So anyone have any contacts on the water machine, or better, any idea or information regarding the business, kindly contact me. Thanks. smile.gif
TSghoss
post Oct 28 2013, 01:13 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(alexcky @ Oct 27 2013, 08:17 PM)
Event biz is good income, but how much min capital need to start up?
Enough money to pay the suppliers .

Else you have to pay first .
jpaul
post Oct 28 2013, 02:25 PM

479 posts

Hi all,

Currently I am working on a proposal to provide project consultation service to one of the company. The project duration is estimate 9 months to complete.

I would like to take this opportunity to setup my own business by providing services to the market and slowly carrying some products and expand the business. I am not worrying the work scope because I am actually doing it in my day-to-day full time job.

Here my questions:-
a) Should I ask the company hire me as part time contractor with fix fees?
b) Should I register a new company and sell my service to the company by charging them time and material?
c) Any other suggestion ?

viruz019
post Oct 28 2013, 05:20 PM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

Hi all,

Just sharing out my business, (Not running in Malaysia but calculate based on it's rate)

Type of Business : CyberCafe
Work Time : Mostly 24 hour (close when there's no customer)
Budget : +/- RM100k

Profit : Depends, ranging from RM1k-RM4~5k.

Pros:
i) Easy to manage if you got a trusted worker.
ii) No need to spend so much effort in managing the cafe.
iii) If you have computer knowledge background, can save a lot in technical fees.

Cons:
i) Too many competitors.
ii) Profits range gap is too far. (Lots of reason which affects this such as school holidays)
iii) High investment with "not-very-satisfying" income.
iv) Thefts (stealing PC parts), Ragers (destroying the equipment) and maintenance

Am now moving into finding new business, was wondering if anyone have a good suggestion biggrin.gif
pi3r4w
post Oct 28 2013, 07:39 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Oct 28 2013, 05:20 PM)
Hi all,

Just sharing out my business, (Not running in Malaysia but calculate based on it's rate)

Type of Business : CyberCafe
Work Time : Mostly 24 hour (close when there's no customer)
Budget : +/- RM100k

Profit : Depends, ranging from RM1k-RM4~5k.

Pros:
i) Easy to manage if you got a trusted worker.
ii) No need to spend so much effort in managing the cafe.
iii) If you have computer knowledge background, can save a lot in technical fees.

Cons:
i) Too many competitors.
ii) Profits range gap is too far. (Lots of reason which affects this such as school holidays)
iii) High investment with "not-very-satisfying" income.
iv) Thefts (stealing PC parts), Ragers (destroying the equipment) and maintenance
Am now moving into finding new business, was wondering if anyone have a good suggestion biggrin.gif
where is ur biz exactly?i was aiming to open cc too.. sweat.gif
schizzow
post Oct 29 2013, 02:26 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Oct 16 2013, 11:25 AM)
Since the first thread is already over the limit , I decide to open v2 after asking permission from edyek.

This is a place for people to share their questions regarding on running their on small /medium biz or other inquires .

It's ok to ask on how to run a MLM / Direct Selling but please don't spam/promote it here.

My background , currently working in a MNC while selling burgers at night  laugh.gif
Oh, you're the DAYUMM Burger dude! Awesome, and thanks for the LANSI burger cake yo (and V2 lol).

133 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:46 PM