For Small and Medium Business Owners v2, Come In and Share Your Biz ~

tstan8_8
post Mar 14 2017, 11:10 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 13 2017, 09:50 PM)

Thank you for the advice. In intend to go for partnership instead of Sdn Bhd. Is what you wrote valid for partnership as well?

A few other questions, if you do not mind answering.
1. Name of business. For partnership, is there a fixed format to register a name? I understand we are allowed to use our name, and no approval needs to be sought, but I would prefer to avoid using my own name for privacy's sake. Can I use ABCD Trading or ABCD Enterprise - assuming both names are not taken up yet?

2. Am I allowed to use a name which has been taken, if the name has no Sdn. Bhd or Bhd?

3. How do I check for name availability? I googled and came across a few websites that allow us to check for available names, or something like that. An example is name check. Is this legit? It has similar appearance as SSM official website.

4. Company rubber stamp/chop - what is the requirement in terms of the appearance? Does it need to say, ABCD Trading or will a logo suffice?

Thank you very much.
No matter how you change the name of the company, at the end your freelance accountant still need to refer your supplier invoice do the account? am i wrong?

Go SSM website search for name of company.
tstan8_8
post Mar 15 2017, 08:10 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(irene_star982 @ Mar 11 2017, 10:25 PM)

anyone here wanting to start chicken rice shop or kiosk??

I want to enter into this business but do not know how....

any idea from all sifu here??

PM me if you have something related to this matter.

thank you in advance....
??
tstan8_8
post Mar 15 2017, 08:12 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 14 2017, 01:23 PM)
Thank you for the advice. Much appreciated.
I use my own name to buy the goods, hence suppliers do not know my shop name.
Thank you for your suggestion.
you use yr own name to buy the good. Then your own name under sole propritor status.
At the end your sole propritor account who is going to prepare?
Maybe you prepare yrself, wonder why yr principal account still need freelance account to prepare?

tstan8_8
post Mar 20 2017, 12:42 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(wildrestark @ Mar 20 2017, 09:56 AM)
hey guys, im trying to start up a small roti booth selling some of the traditional roti benggali . there's quite a good demand for this kind of soft bread. I plan to expand a bit by distributing the loaves to more resellers or kedai runcit. usually, how do i provide commisions for them? do i state the commisions myself and propose to them or they will decides?
They do it on consignment manner.
tstan8_8
post Mar 27 2017, 04:24 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Mar 27 2017, 02:12 PM)
To all small biz owner,

I just startup my small biz and its went quite ok. However , as a biz owner and just starting up, I worked 7 days a week and I reached the limit of burn out. Yes, i know i should take a day off in a week, but sometimes in own biz.... you just cant went off like that.
So, how do you guys cope up with it when you all just start it up?

I mean steps, strategy , system etc etc
good luck
tstan8_8
post Apr 12 2017, 04:44 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(missysleepy @ Apr 10 2017, 11:49 AM)
hi sifu,

i want to get some advise on my doubts on finding a partners to share the capital to runs a bakery.
If i have found someone who wish to partner with me, first question is how much it takes to put a sum as capital right?

do we determine the figure of running this business first then only we breakdown into shares by percentage? Or do we starts with how much money one willing to fork out?

And when we do an accounting, i have my own equipment and he has his equipment. do i need to ask the accountant to provide the breakdown according to owner or should it be accounted as company assets?

im not sure what are the things that should be negotiated so that there will be no misunderstanding when separated. thanks for the advise.
This 1 you need to consult your lawyer, both need to have black and white agreement.
Lawyer will value and made an agreement on your NBV fixed asset and capital.
tstan8_8
post Apr 12 2017, 04:45 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(dkhk88 @ Apr 10 2017, 10:13 PM)
hi all sifus

would like to ask whats is the difference of Limited liability partnership, conventional partnership and sdn bhd ??

would like to know more about taxation part.
http://www.ssm.com.my/en/LLP-AboutLLP
tstan8_8
post Apr 12 2017, 04:47 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(tonYe @ Apr 12 2017, 03:43 PM)
Hello, fellow entrepreneurs. I'm currently considering on investing in 3D printing equipment. Just wondering if anyone here has any advice or experience to share? Is it worth the journey and what can you print that people would bother buying these days?
Most of the time i buy banner from printing company to advertise my business.
tstan8_8
post Apr 14 2017, 07:55 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(missysleepy @ Apr 13 2017, 11:40 PM)
Hence, regardless of who owns the equipment, it's going to be under the company if it's in sdn bhd title. the risk one has to take if comes to separation of business. How much do i need to pay the lawyers for drafting out a letter for the partnership deals and regulations? Is it a lot ?
Your company so small. Are you sure wan to do in Sdn Bhd. U have to spend Audit fee, account fee, secretarial fee, tax fee.
If sdn bhd, u may calculate the asset and capital own, secretarial agent will do the appropriate % of share to u.

tstan8_8
post Apr 14 2017, 07:57 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(altan @ Apr 13 2017, 11:53 PM)
Does this work the same for selling services to your own company? E.g. Say I am a director of my own Sdn Bhd and I provide freelance service (lets say some art project) to my company. So after I deliver the service I pay myself using company funds. Does it work that way?
As long as you declare your personal income tax.
tstan8_8
post Apr 14 2017, 07:58 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Apr 13 2017, 11:43 PM)
usually for separation, u will ask the other half of the partner to buy back the shares at agreed price before the business starts. if the other partner reject, then can sell to 3rd party/investor.

yes equipments, furnitures, all under sdn bhd. if u own some of the equipments, u can sell it to your sdn bhd at an agreed price ( discuss with ur partner). 

er not sure how much the lawyer charge, but if u have many clause and terms, then will be expensive. if just a standard agreement, wont cost alot. usually u can ask your company secretary for advise. You need to find a company secretary to set up your Sdn Bhd anyway
I not sure this 1 need lawyer. Secretarial department should know how to do right?
tstan8_8
post Apr 17 2017, 03:44 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(petirbuas @ Apr 17 2017, 03:41 PM)
As with any official matters, at least smart casual. Shoes, long pant/jeans and polo.
-.-''

QUOTE(fullframe17 @ Apr 17 2017, 12:05 PM)
Wooo goin ssm to register company. Whats the dress code at kl sentral ssm to register new sole prop?
Wear tudung ya.
tstan8_8
post Apr 18 2017, 08:05 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(petirbuas @ Apr 17 2017, 04:08 PM)
Don't quite get it. Its normal to wear such attire if we go to government or corporate office isn't it?
Granted usually SSM don't give rats ass about this. Its just more profesional.
Same as u go imigration register yr passport.
tstan8_8
post Apr 19 2017, 11:36 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(fullframe17 @ Apr 19 2017, 10:28 AM)
Planning to start a partnership  sole prop (not sdn bhd) is there any bank accounts that does not incurr us much fees? It seems like evry mth need pay fees for bank account
I tot got apply internet banking only need to pay monthly fee
tstan8_8
post May 23 2017, 07:57 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(hokamwah1973 @ May 22 2017, 03:35 PM)
PM details.
How was the tin walk out. i wan to know also!~
tstan8_8
post May 26 2017, 09:08 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(khloh1166 @ May 25 2017, 02:59 PM)
hi guys, i'm starting a small retail business on September this year. now looking for software to open invoices and do some book keeping. i don't know which to buy, can suggest me pls. thanks.
UBS , AUTO COUNT, SQL, MYOB.
Small Small retail - UBS
Small retail - SQL
tstan8_8
post Jun 5 2017, 03:07 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Jun 2 2017, 06:13 PM)
It's illegal to even sell it in pasar malam. Just that usually the trademark owners couldn't be bothered to go after the small fries. But who knows one fine day if your pasar malam business got raided & all those years of evading became pointless. The amount of penalty you have to pay may be higher than whatever you've earned over the years.

Even though you may be selling genuine ones (sendiri import from overseas), the local authorized distributor can come after you too for illegally selling.
Most of the time people go for main distributor.
Example if apple suing samsung.

tstan8_8
post Jun 6 2017, 12:20 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(H.K. Lee @ Jun 5 2017, 07:37 PM)
Guys, say my company is getting less and less liability soon..is there anyway I can buy a commercial property getting into debt, and achieve tax advantage?
Commercial properties are not yr nature of business. No tax advantage added.
tstan8_8
post Jun 21 2017, 01:54 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(Ryannate @ Jun 19 2017, 05:41 PM)
I have a friend from Hong Kong who wanted to setup a company with me. My question is if the business turnover about 1 mil, do I need to register gst while setting up the company?
What's the taxation % for foreigner?
Set up company in malaysia ?under Sdn Bhd? turn over for a year 500k above already need to register.

What's the taxation % for foreigner?
there will be a withholding tax
https://toughnickel.com/personal-finance/Qu...d-Non-Residents
tstan8_8
post Sep 4 2017, 08:49 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(glauncher @ Aug 23 2017, 06:42 PM)
Hi guys, i have a sole proprietor business, just wondering if anyone knows if it's ok to pay my business expenses with personal credit cards? Will I get into any issue like income tax because i am planning to pay 15-20k per month of expenses there. Thanks
U do a proper account.should not be a problem.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1261sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:20 PM