For Small and Medium Business Owners v2, Come In and Share Your Biz ~

ericcc
post Apr 28 2016, 08:12 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(minde @ Apr 28 2016, 06:56 PM)
guys may I know what accounting software you are using, particularly those who are in the retail/trading sector.

Currently contemplating of getting either autocount, million or SQL as there's positive review about it; easy to use.

I'm setting up a ecommerce business where invoice will be generated automatically online through the system thus I dont think I need any invoicing module. Probably just accounting + stock.

If I'm GST registered, is this recommended ? must I create a separate GST tax invoice and deliver to the client with the actual product.
hi, you can contact me to discuss, i'm SQL dealer. yes it's easy to use and less problems.
no you wouldnt need a separate invoice if your online system can generate the tax invoice.
ericcc
post Aug 29 2016, 09:50 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(joblessman @ Aug 29 2016, 02:44 AM)
Hello,

I've been doing freelancing work for 3years now.. I've just opened up a company account. I've checked through online, it would be better off for the future to have a company account and provide salary to myself rather than having it has a personal income.

Question :
1. How should I start with documenting the accounting? The cash flows / salaries and projects? Can I start with my own, or should I get an accountant to assist from the beginning? EPF? Personal Income Tax?

Previously during freelancing, all I did was get an excel file and recorded the projects budget, dates and payment only.

Please advice. Thank you.
if you are SDN BHD now, then yes, your filing has to be proper. better get someone to help you at the background.

if you are normal sole prop / partnership, then just carry on as usual, you dont have auditor, and no need to file your financial reports with anyone. unless you register for GST then... refer above.

ericcc
post Sep 6 2016, 10:36 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(tstan8_8 @ Sep 1 2016, 10:21 AM)
GUY i am finding Calsberg or tiger distributor.
I see a lot of kopitiam got free advertising bill board from Tiger or heneken.

Any one know the detail on the free advertising board?
you can try google Fook Kee Sdn Bhd in Kepong. usually once you start ordering you can request all those things like chiller and signboards
ericcc
post Dec 12 2016, 10:12 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(oOoproz @ Dec 8 2016, 11:22 AM)
Sry my bad, is exempted from submitting tax estimation for 2 to 3 YAs for new company

Source: https://www.pwc.com/my/en/assets/publicatio...ess-booklet.pdf PAGE 19
you must have specific exemption permit from relevant agency e.g. Jabatan Kastam / LHDN, would be better. AND you will still need to submit your accounts for SSM and LHDN purposes.

otherwise, submit and pay tax like the rest of us

This post has been edited by ericcc: Dec 12 2016, 10:13 AM
ericcc
post Dec 13 2016, 09:30 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(dradormien @ Dec 12 2016, 09:28 PM)
any advice on accounting software? Plan to self do it. Open business restaurant. With GST. Currently looking for UBS. any advice all sifu?
you can contact me, i specialize in SQL Acct system. i would say overall it's easier to use and learn, for business owners. and less issues for future and gst.
ericcc
post Jan 17 2017, 11:33 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Jan 17 2017, 10:57 AM)
Hi sifu out there,

Now Im freelance and wish to register under sole proprietor.
Wanna ask is it I need to hire accountant to do my accounts or simple account record will do?

How about my income tax? Can I make my biz pay me salary? so my income tax remain as persendirian instead of ada punca perniagaan.
yes its best you have someone help you out with the full set of accounts. let me know if you need that service, i'm accounting software dealer with a pool of accountants who can help you out.

as for your tax, sole proprietor, ALL profit is your income. When you get online you will click on Business income. all other manipulation is at your own risk brows.gif
ericcc
post Feb 14 2017, 11:47 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(thenoobone @ Feb 9 2017, 05:39 AM)
Hai guys

im interested in starting food business with capital 20k

any suggested ideas to execute?

Thanks mate
i agree - start small, dont bother with store

invest in a well-designed booth setup and look for events, convo, etc

this way your cost can be well-managed, restricted to your daily rental and wages if any.

what food and beverage, up to you, what you enjoy doing and eating. korean style snacks perhaps?
ericcc
post Feb 14 2017, 01:21 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Feb 14 2017, 01:04 PM)
Selling chicken rice. Really.
i agree. easy to make, guaranteed sales. everyone likes it.
ericcc
post Mar 4 2017, 12:56 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(Alex.Jy @ Mar 4 2017, 01:10 AM)
Hello guys, I not sure whether this is the right place to ask this kind of question, but if it's wrongly posted and it's a thread for my solutions it will be a million thanks for point it out for me.

Here's my question, 5years ago I had operated construction field business by using ENTERPRISE (ABC CONSTUCTION) company, so it went well and last year 2016, I had registered SDN bhd with the exact same name (ABC CONSTRUCTION SDN BHD).

For that I want to convert my enterprise business to SDN bhd and for sales part it all went well since I just change company to bill customer. However, til this date the problem came. There are some machinery asset under loan I n ENTERPRISE bought in 2014/15 which is still eligible for capital allowance in 2016, but due to enterprise got no revenue/profit anymore, there will be no capital allowance for the ENTERPRISE. And my SDN BHD got no assets yet.

Now my SDN BHD is due for audit and it's quite high amount of profit due to I using SDN BHD to pay for the loan while the asset is still in ENTERPRISE, may I know is there any solutions for me to claim or best option for my scenario?

Is it possible I make a transfer ownership of asset from enterprise to SDN BHD to claim capital allowance?

By 2016, my freelance accountant asked me to do this
ENTERPRISE : monthly repayment 5,000.00
SDN BHD : pay for the monthly repayment 5000.00 and treat it as rental. But both of my company are gst registered. So it's like paying gst to government for nothing.

Any sifu here mind do me a favor and help with this? I'm really desperate for any kind of solutions as I'm not experienced in accounting knowledge. MILLION THANKS!!
this is a question for your auditor and company secretary. they will know what to do. probably need a Resolution saying the asset is being used by the Sdn Bhd. something like that.
ericcc
post Mar 19 2017, 01:23 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(SSblack @ Mar 13 2017, 06:53 PM)
Hi guys, need some advice for the accounting, currently I'm planning to start up a small construction company, is there recommendation for simple account courses to attend?? And is it possible to sort out the gst with some convenient account software?? No budget to hire an account admin
you can contact me for SQL Accounting system. we do plenty of construction companies. easy to use, made for non-accountants
ericcc
post Apr 18 2017, 09:19 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(soohwei @ Apr 13 2017, 10:37 AM)
Hi, sorry to interrupt.
I'm working in Kotra KL, a Korean government trade agency.

Currently, there is a Korean Company who asked us to help them look for the master franchise to meet up with them while they are in Kuala Lumpur for the Franchise International Malaysia 2017.
E.g. Berjaya owns Starbucks license in Malaysia. They are looking for company with the role like Berjaya.

You may view the company profile here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6J06AUMu2...UVFVGotdlE/view

Thank you.
My client is Nathan's Famous, PM me if you want to have discussion with them
ericcc
post Mar 1 2018, 09:24 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(missysleepy @ Feb 28 2018, 10:40 PM)
hi sifu,
is it compulsory to register business license for putting up small stalls in flea market or farmers market which does not operate daily business ? Ocassionally only. I came to know that many of these stalls didnt register, are they consider illegal too and they do run their business in some bazaars held weekend in the shopping mall.
i'd think the more important thing is, declare the income and pay tax (if applicable)

but ya technically any business should be registered with SSM. its only RM80, can have your fancy branding too. and things look more legit with your customers as well.

ericcc
post Apr 3 2018, 08:47 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(dradormien @ Apr 3 2018, 12:56 AM)
Hi guys, need your advice. Currently I am looking for hr+payroll software. Staff roughly around 30 (mixed Malaysian and Indonesian). Looking for friendly user. Thanks for suggestion!
you can contact me, I do SQL payroll system. easy to use and up to date with current govt regulations.
I will PM you

This post has been edited by ericcc: Apr 3 2018, 08:48 AM
ericcc
post Apr 3 2018, 08:01 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(ehwee @ Apr 1 2018, 11:26 AM)
Plantation is not a low risk for me, a lot of unforseen business nature are not within our control especially natural and pest disasters plus our government ever changing policy on foreign worker and minimum wages.

Not sure about chili plantation thou
Agri should be good nowadays. Chilli definitely, less space high yield but yeah there can be disease etc.

You can look into fish farming - it's 3-dimensional gold-mine if you ask me. but same risks.
ericcc
post Apr 19 2018, 12:23 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(imran85 @ Apr 19 2018, 11:56 AM)
Hi Guys,

Just checking for businesses registered as sole prop Enterprise. What would be the required filings and when are they necessary? Tried to look for answers but not sure if Sdn Bhd requirements are the same for Enterprise.

Hello Boss

Sole Prop no requirement to file any returns and pay personal income tax, if applicable. just pay annual renewal fee. Unlike PLT, that one need to do annual filing of income. No need for auditor.

Hope that helps.

This post has been edited by ericcc: Apr 19 2018, 12:24 PM
ericcc
post Apr 19 2018, 04:12 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(imran85 @ Apr 19 2018, 03:32 PM)
So how? Just do accounts and submit? Then personal tax fill in Form B instead of what is normally filed?
1) If your tax category is self-employed then declare income and pay tax

2) If category is employed, there is a section for 'Other income', and pay tax on total income less any PCB deducted at your monthly salary

Any which way, you pay pay pay
ericcc
post Jun 4 2018, 08:38 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(user1234567890 @ Jun 2 2018, 10:17 PM)
Thanks for the answer.
It is mainly a Chinese majority, matured and old business area. I see all kind of business here. Don't know what is lacking, maybe hardware shop 五金店?But it is not suitable for upstairs 1st floor.

I am actually thinking to run as distributor / supplier / logistics business. To act as a middleman to supply stuff to the business nearby. But don't what product and don't where to start.
already got some printing business here, quite dominant some more.
1) Stationery business with delivery - but perhaps high competition and low margins

Questions to ask yourself, include, What is your own interests, you can build on your hobbies and interests. Interested in cars, you can supply aftermarket items. The scope is wide and it is all up to you. Enjoy your work and it will be much easier.

2) Ask your daddy for advice.
ericcc
post Jun 27 2018, 04:44 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(shahrul09 @ Jun 27 2018, 03:47 PM)
Can someone help with this.

Do one have to pay and register with lhdn if the sole prop that he setup doesn’t even last for a year?
Means he close the company acc and SSM before the one year period?
All income is taxable, so you must make sure you have account with LHDN, then pay at year-end or monthly payments depending on how they decide to take your money from you.
ericcc
post Nov 21 2018, 03:44 PM

216 posts

More control over payment procedures required. Two directors' approval at least.

This fella working with the vendor? Gotta look at that possibility. No point buying and keeping too much inventory.
ericcc
post Dec 9 2019, 09:31 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(starman14 @ Dec 8 2019, 08:49 PM)

Glad that I stumbled on this thread. Hope to get opinions from you guys about walk-in laundry service . Do you guys think that it still can compete with the self service laundry? I plan to ooen the service in low-middel class town in Kedah. Did some survey on location, got one that interest me. Nearby got education centre, srrounded by middle class and kampung, got one walk-in laundry already and 2 self service laundry. Shop location con not facing main road,  pro is ample parking space and easy access.
It is OK. i talk to my friend doing this, he said the bulk of his business is from B2B - restaurants, hotels - for their laundry requirements. Plus your target will be ppl who want full service like fold and iron. or Dry clean.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0891sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:41 AM