For Small and Medium Business Owners v2, Come In and Share Your Biz ~

LawrenceTan
post Oct 16 2013, 01:25 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(alanaw @ Oct 16 2013, 01:02 PM)
Agree. But they are charging quite expensive also. It should be enough to cover their salary. So back to the question, is this a good business to ventures for new comer?
Everyone can do well in business as long they equip with appropriate method and sufficient knowledge to analyse market and operate business in specific industry.

The question you should ask yourself is do you have the determination to learn, right channel to be trained and obtain information in specific industry and take the risk for loss your capital?
LawrenceTan
post Oct 16 2013, 05:03 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(kenneths88 @ Oct 16 2013, 02:52 PM)
Oh ok. This I am not worrying. I am just targeting people who actually believe them.  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

I will try it. Will update here later  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  Btw, thanks ghoss....
Hi Kenneths88,

I have further information and method to advise yet due to certain information are not appropriate to disclose in public thread so I had dropped you a PM for this. smile.gif
LawrenceTan
post Oct 22 2013, 11:02 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(anak kenyalang @ Oct 19 2013, 10:10 PM)
Hello guys.

Any of u guys here have an experience about water filter machine? The one u insert 20cent, get a liter of water. What's the cost for the machine, the maintanence and everything else? Most importantly, what's the profit margin?
I saw this water dispenser machine few years back in my hometown and they had gone within a year.
Personally i don't get water from there because hygiene would be a concern for me. Well for the costs & profit margin can't advise you, never really go deep into that. smile.gif
LawrenceTan
post Oct 22 2013, 11:08 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(Manuk1188 @ Oct 22 2013, 08:27 AM)
Maybe i should share mine as well.

Business Fail and Gone Wrong - Very Failed

Type of Business : Transportation of Goods (East Malaysia - Sabah)
Started Year Jan 2005 - April 2007
Capital : RM5,000 (Each Person)
Period : 2 years +

Person : 5 partner (But only 3 in the Enterprise Trading license)

Vehicle : 3 Ton Lorry (Upgrade to 6 ton Load)
Worker : 1 Driver, 1 Hookman/Assistant

Business Load all good from KK Major Town to Mostly SDK/TWU/LD - Longest is Semporna

1 Trip = RM350 for the Fuel (RM180 for 1 Way)
1 Driver = RM300 for the Food/Stay

1 Trip Load = Worth of Transportation Fees = RM 1k. (The less is RM700)
Return from Sandakan = RM300~500 Additional Goods load back to KK (But not always, Once or Twice a Month)
If from Tawau/LD = Empty

Every Week surely have 2 ~ 3 Trips.
Simple Calculation = 8 Trips per month
= RM8k ++ (if plus the SDK trip back)

Driver Salary = RM 1.5K (1 Trip RM50) Commission the more the better
HookMan = RM400 (1 Trip RM30) to accompany the Driver and Unload the Stuff

Reason Business Failed due to the Main Con/Supplier.
He acted as the King of Transportation whom can give you more or less of Goods. Meaning have to jaga him also.

How he does ?
Since i mention all the Goods are from Him. Therefore, he can select the best of high income to any transporter. So He is the one direct deal with the Customer. OF course, i also go see the Customer and offer.
But what he does, he get the Goods, pass to me to send, and received the payment within 3 ~ 7 working days.
Lama Lama, he drag and say the Customer didn't pay weekly but into Monthly.
Findout, he use the money to pay his own Lorry (He got 8 Lorry) so he use the money to move swiftly around for his own purpose.

Lama Lama, say all the Money cannot be pay. WHY ? because one of my Partners whom claim is in the Transportation Business before is handling didn't get the Black & White thing to Sign / Chop
That time i was working (Makan Gaji) n use the Salary to cover the Operation. Man, it was my very down moment.

When all partners decide to stop. 2 have left, i mean not in the Trading License. Me myself wan to revive it but failed as the other 2 doesn't want to continue. Jual the Lorry and lucky i still have my job.

From RM5,000 Capital, i have fork additional RM6,000 for the Operation, Fuel and even Driver. Because i belief if i can overcome the DOWN time, i am sure will be a hit since i see the Opportunity but i was been CON in the first place. The Business was a CON, as it was intended from the very beginning moment.

Therefore, i learn. FRIENDS is always FRIENDS. but BUSINESS is BUSINESS. and Evertyhing you do in LEGAL Business please please get it BLACK & WHITE. Sometimes friendship hurts when it comes to MONEY.
Hi Manuk, your story are really inspiring and it is a very common mistake that happened in partnership which build on FRIENDSHIP.

Every agreement or entity should get it black & white, and also for accounting. It's very sensitive when come to money which some people might not have ethical may lead to undertable transaction for all. Again, this case always happened in those partnership with 'brotherhood'.

Getting a right buisness partner is very important.

May your new venture get the right business partner & strive for your business.

This post has been edited by LawrenceTan: Oct 22 2013, 06:43 PM
LawrenceTan
post Nov 17 2013, 11:43 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(Jeck10 @ Nov 12 2013, 04:55 PM)
Hi to all sifus and everyone who are reading this, would really appreciate if you guys are willing to spend some time to read this and give some opinions/feed backs.

I worked in f&b line before this(my choice), studied overseas and came back, worked a couple years in reputable restaurants, and just recently quitted. The reason I quit is because its taking too much of my time, tiring, health become worse, no time for family and so on. I can't see myself continuing in this situation for long, the passion slowly goes of when problems kicking in.

I went on to take a course to be a certified ACE(American Council on Exercise) Personal Trainer, and currently waiting for the exam results. Sports have always been in my life, and I would want my future to be related to sports/fitness/health as well.

And then I have a thought. Since I play badminton with my high school friends sometimes, why not I provide them free coaching/training(I'm a former state player). I think it's a good way to build stronger relationship with friends and even networking.

And then slowly from word of mouth/friends introduced, if there's  group of ppl who wants to improve their health overall, I will start conducting maybe boot camp style fitness sessions, for free, or minimal cost I don't know yet. Because I was thinking that maybe there are many ppl out there who would like to do some exercise, but doesn't want to pay the premium price, and I'm just trying to make things happen for them, or as a way to contribute to the society.(don't know why already thinking of contributing to society even before I earn money, maybe read and saw a lot of news on bad things happening on other ppl, made me feel that even that I'm not rich but I'm already very much luckier than many other ppl out there).

And later on when I'm known by more ppl, I will take in personal training clients, but this I will charge because it's like one on one and the programme is specially designed for each different individual.

My reasons/objectives for all this is to know more ppl, make more ppl know me, build a big network, contribute to society, and leave something for ppl to remember about me when I'm not here anymore*touchwood, or like ppl say, creating legacy.

So could you guys give some feed backs and opinions regarding this, do you think this is workable? Or will I be bankrupt even  before I start earning money? Is this not practical at all? Thank you in advance...smile.gif
Please do not feel shame on charge client for your service. If you got a method to improve other people health or improve player skill, then don't feel ashamed to take money from your client. You can expand your network and meet friend in this way too, in fact this is better. You able to filter those trying to take advantage & less value people.

Feed yourself before you can contribute to society. If you barely support your minimum living expenses, improve your income before you want to contribute to society.

This post has been edited by LawrenceTan: Nov 17 2013, 11:47 PM
LawrenceTan
post Dec 3 2013, 04:06 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(kenneths88 @ Dec 3 2013, 01:06 PM)
I guess I seen this kind of story before from sifu sifu from this thread. Partnership, got to be very careful.

Btw, direct family like Father & Son is ok as we don't look at $$ too tightly  biggrin.gif
Provided son or father are not a gambler. I have a friend his father was a gambler, after they make some money his father start to have the habit to gamble again and in the end company wind up as well.

my advice is try to not hook up with any family members especially in business if possible, even though hiring a relative is a trouble also. You put your family relationship in steep when allocate workload, increase wages and firing if the person is not good.
LawrenceTan
post Dec 3 2013, 04:10 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(dragontongue88 @ Nov 29 2013, 08:50 PM)
Hi want to share something here for those who are very green and unfamiliar with business (like me). Here's what I learnt, the hard way, when trying to contact suppliers:

1. If your capital is small, and you are likely to make small orders when purchasing wholesale, a lot of suppliers will choose to ignore you cause you are simply not worth their time. Sad, harsh, but understandable...  sad.gif

2. If you email them using a generic email (i.e. hotmail, gmail) they will ignore you as they don't think you are a serious businessman. Your email may even get caught in their spam filter.

3. The biggest thing: Finding out the price you need to pay for wholesale products. Now to us laymen, if you want to sell a product, surely you must have a price for it. The prices are like holy grails to suppliers, they keep it very close to their chests and would never reveal their wholesale prices easily. Most suppliers would like proof that you are a genuine businessman before revealing their wholesale prices, such as business registration.

So here is the conundrum, you are trying to do a business research, trying to determine if a particular business is profitable and worth investing in. So you would like to know the cost of goods to estimate potential profits. But suppliers would generally ignore you unless you are a registered business with a business email address aka serious customer. It doesn't make much sense for a person to register a business, only to find after obtaining price quotations that he/she doesn't find the profit attractive enough to pursue the business. So you end up caught in a Catch-22 situation.  rclxub.gif

Solution? I'm not sure I have any.... How to avoid email being ignored? Perhaps phone calls to suppliers are harder to ignore. brows.gif Or save up till you have a large capital, then wave it in front of the faces of those suppliers to show that you are a potential big customer, then maybe they will be more cooperative.  laugh.gif

For me, I'm going to give up trying to start a video games selling business for now. Perhaps I'll try looking into a business that requires lower capital, low value goods.... Or maybe services based business. Save up more money in the near future. So yea, a hard lesson I learnt which I want to share to those who are looking to enter into the business world. I wasted time, energy and also embarassed myself in the process of learning this lesson. But at least I didn't lose any money.  laugh.gif
Thanks for your sharing dragontongue88, I believed it will help a lot of fresh individual who like to kickstart a micro trading business.

Starting a business is not an easy task, you require marketing,financial,legal,accounting,inventory,sales knowledge to run a business. Plan a financial budget and manage your own risk is the key to minimize your rish to failure. thumbup.gif
LawrenceTan
post Dec 3 2013, 07:29 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(Donphatz @ Dec 3 2013, 05:16 PM)
Agree. But as im new in biz and my partner are 3-4years experience in biz he tend to push me around. For few months i can tolerate but as time past, i was not able to be patience. Im willing to let go the biz and wanted to sell my shares. Best part is my partner think that when i sell my share he should get 50% of the money i got. Although got no B&W saying that, he still thinks this is a norm in biz.
You should tell him rubbish. you sell the shares which belong to you why must he share the money with you? also you should let him know, Ideas is cheap without execution. Executor/contributor deserve more than a words or ideas.
LawrenceTan
post Dec 5 2013, 01:25 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(victorwan @ Dec 5 2013, 12:17 PM)
Hi all,

I am planning to open a Sports Shop in a shopping mall.

Any advice on this business?

Thinking for a 1000sq ft area to sell merchandize such as Adidas, Nike, Puma etc. sport products.

Worth to do ?

Any supplier can introduce?

Worthy to do it or not it depends on your local market demand.
Does your town people active in sports? How many pontetial consumer in your market who need sports equipment? How many competitor in your town? If yes does the demand high enough to fit the supply? There are several question you have to answer it and conduct a market survey before you spend your money on it.

Supplier side...hmmm... there are seveal distributor in Malaysia for the sport equipment and some home-grown brand. You have to spend some times to do your homework, most of them you may find their contact number or email online.
LawrenceTan
post Dec 5 2013, 01:28 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Dec 5 2013, 11:40 AM)
So for your biz after u put up website, how much increase in business?

Thx.
If you are offline business, a website act more like a branding & marketing stuff.

At least before people deal with you they can actually find out who are you & what you do. You gain trust from automated marketing and sales will come from you. If you intend to gauge the conversion through website, do a after sales survey from your consumer where do they find you. That is one of the metric for you to find out.
LawrenceTan
post Dec 5 2013, 07:49 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(victorwan @ Dec 5 2013, 04:19 PM)
Thanks for your reply.

The shopping mall is in Cheras area near middle income residential areas.

And currently, there is no other similar shop. Only 1 shop but they are selling sports shoes only.

Mostly selling those sports equipment involved Malaysian sports such as Badminton, Football, Hockey, Squash, Sepak Takraw etc.

Not sure the demand high or not but still doing research now.

Found a lot of supplier or distributor in the Internet but wanted to get some good and trustable one from here.

Thanks for your feedback.
Ya is good to do a simple survey to check whether fit your demand or not. Student are one of your potential customer to look for. They are more willing to invest a good quality sets of equipment for the sports.

Good luck for your venture bro ! thumbup.gif
LawrenceTan
post Dec 6 2013, 10:57 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Dec 6 2013, 07:30 AM)
Hi Lawrence, Yeah- I want to get the company out there. Nowadays I ask friend to recommend, they straight ask for website. If you don't mind, can you PM to me your company website? Thx
What did you ask them to recommend you?

I had replied you in PM however if you are expect build a website and double your sales i will say it is too optimism.
Brand are accumulate are scalable, as the time growth and proper management it will illustrate greater benefit from marginal utility, eventually it will benefit to your business.

This post has been edited by LawrenceTan: Dec 6 2013, 11:00 AM
LawrenceTan
post Dec 19 2013, 11:15 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(WeidiSWEDEN @ Dec 17 2013, 07:44 PM)
Hey folks,

I'm an expatriate here in Malaysia and for the past four years that I've been here I always wanted to start a business with the same quality/style that you can find in my home country and set it up in a booming environment with an upscale atmosphere. I've finally finished a business plan and found a perfect location, now the few things that remains are funding.

What is the best way to go about grants up in the 30-60k area, does anyone have experience with this? My business partner is Malay if that makes any difference (probably does shakehead.gif ). So far about half the funding needed has been secured and we are currently looking for a final investment.

This thread has been extremely informative, thank you everyone!  Will definitely update on how the progress is going.
Malaysia startup ecosystem isn't that active compare to developed countries, however with the 2014 budget announcing and our prime minister had launched few grant for bumiputera to advocate more of them to involve in business.

So you are seeking angel investor in traditional business it might be very difficult unless you got the connection & had run, tested your market-product fit also with business model. Looking for government grant as startup capital is the better choice but it might much more below your expectation.
LawrenceTan
post Dec 27 2013, 10:33 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(coklatua @ Dec 26 2013, 11:45 AM)
Firstly I am a total noob about doing business.
Me and my cousins decide to open a hobby shop.
We have identified possible supplier for our items and currently searching for suitable shop lot to rent.
My question is regarding about register the business license.
Where should I go to register my business license? SSM or Majlis Perbandaran?
And when should I register? Before open the shop or after open the shop?
Register your company at SSM. You should register before you operate it. Don't you need business entity to purchase from your supplier? smile.gif

0.0872sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:16 PM