LYN Cycling V9, Racing/Road bikes- Ironman Malaysia 2014

wenloong78
post Oct 12 2013, 10:58 PM

794 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 12 2013, 09:02 PM)
is "playing kesas" some secret code for some weird stuff or wat?
he has a contact number all the time... but, you might want to think twice before engaging that contact....
no sifus here... all just a bunch of jokers...

new to cycling or have done mtb or something else prior to this?

carrera is not a very famous brand if you put it beside colnago, specialized, pina, etc... but it is nevertheless a reputable one compared to some china brands....albeit a bit pricey...

as for a budget of RM5k... the choice is fairly gonna be straight forward

1) some alloy ride with a mix or possibly full 105 group and most likely some wheel that you will find swapping in near future
2) some entry level carbon with a tiagra setup also quite likely with some wheel that you will ditch very soon...maybe slightly over 5k..

hard to tell you which specific brand and model cos there are other factors that you need to consider like whether you like the bike, the size is right?

generally, from a price point perspective... i guess it never leaves the first 2 choices which is polygon (rodalink), giant (JBS) and merida (pedalspot) as they have cheaper bikes in your budget range and yet still as reputable...

spez, pina, colnago... with rm5k... frankly... dun think about it...and you might also want to think about whether your 5k involves stuff like helmets, and accessories?

so, at this point... you have to think.. will rm5k be all you spend or will you get more serious in future and invest in some over the top bike? i always say that your first bike is always experimental...where you find your footing and how the whole cycling scene works... so, the first bike will never gonna be right no matter how you plan, test, ask for opinions because you have yet to form your own set of criteria for what you want / demand in a bike....and without that... you will just get yourself confused with differentiating opinions from many parties and the massive amount of choices will overwhelm you..

well, i like to complicate matters and blow shit up... so, if the above dun make 2 bits of sense at all because i am drunk typing now...

go visit more bikeshops
http://www.baikbike.com/bicycle-shops/
Yeah, been riding mtb for about 1 year.

I plan to assemble/customize this road bike. So already bought shimano 105 group set, pedal, campagnolo shamal wheel set and saddle. Left frame, drop bar and stem. So frame is the main concern now. 5k is for frame only but After some visits to several bike shops, like bike pro, pedal spot, KSH, specialized concept store, I found out that, 5k for frame set, is either I go for alloy like specialized Allez e5, or go for low end carbon, which kinda hard to find coz low end carbon frame usually being sold in complete bike. So as a first timer for road bike, should I go for high end alloy? Or low end carbon? Is there any good carbon frame that is less than 5k, that worth considering?

wenloong78
post Oct 12 2013, 11:00 PM

794 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 12 2013, 09:22 PM)
there's still time. try avanti shop. they are having clearance sale

https://www.facebook.com/avantimalaysia?fref=ts
Yeah,I know about it but not familiar with avanti brand, is it consider a reputable brand?

miaopurr
post Oct 12 2013, 11:12 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(wenloong78 @ Oct 12 2013, 10:58 PM)

I plan to assemble/customize this road bike. So already bought shimano 105 group set, pedal, campagnolo shamal wheel set and saddle. Left frame, drop bar and stem. So frame is the main concern now. 5k is for frame only but After some visits to several bike shops, like bike pro, pedal spot, KSH, specialized concept store,  I found out that, 5k for frame set, is either I go for alloy like specialized Allez e5, or go for low end carbon, which kinda hard to find coz low end carbon frame usually being sold in complete bike. So as a first timer for road bike, should I go for high end alloy? Or low end carbon? Is there any good carbon frame that is less than 5k, that worth considering?

u can go for spez allez around rm2k+, or there's a new old stock tarmac sl2 at bikepro, which cost around rm4k. i'd go with the spez allez

QUOTE(wenloong78 @ Oct 12 2013, 11:00 PM)
Yeah,I know about it but not familiar with avanti brand, is it consider a reputable brand?

yes. check out their sponsored athletes/teams
sunnyckh
post Oct 12 2013, 11:17 PM

177 posts

I plan to assemble/customize this road bike. So already bought shimano 105 group set, pedal, campagnolo shamal wheel set and saddle. Left frame, drop bar and stem. So frame is the main concern now. 5k is for frame only but After some visits to several bike shops, like bike pro, pedal spot, KSH, specialized concept store,  I found out that, 5k for frame set, is either I go for alloy like specialized Allez e5, or go for low end carbon, which kinda hard to find coz low end carbon frame usually being sold in complete bike. So as a first timer for road bike, should I go for high end alloy? Or low end carbon? Is there any good carbon frame that is less than 5k, that worth considering?

Boardman air 9.8 (if u like aero n speed) or SLR 9.8 (if u keen to climb more)...slightly a bit over 5k...yea just slightly...
xEpicFailGuy
post Oct 12 2013, 11:22 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 12 2013, 08:51 PM)

eating so late is fattening...

say bye to your wallet...

Yeah. Usually gain more calories instead of losing them.

But still stucked at 45kg ohmy.gif

Wallet is still fine for now haha. Just go look see look see today.
wenloong78
post Oct 12 2013, 11:23 PM

794 posts

Abou the specz Allez e5 frame, was told that 2013 version no stock Liao and not sure when the 2014 version will come( the sales person told me sure will come, is matter of time only)

Have u been the avanti clearance sale? Saw any frame set that less than 5k that worth considering?

miaopurr
post Oct 12 2013, 11:30 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(wenloong78 @ Oct 12 2013, 11:23 PM)
Abou the specz Allez e5 frame, was told that 2013 version no stock Liao and not sure when the 2014 version will come( the sales person told me sure will come, is matter of time only)

Have u been the avanti clearance sale? Saw any frame set that less than 5k that worth considering?

no. don't plan to buy anything at the moment.
lilredridinghood
post Oct 12 2013, 11:55 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 12 2013, 09:02 PM)
is "playing kesas" some secret code for some weird stuff or wat?
he has a contact number all the time... but, you might want to think twice before engaging that contact....
no sifus here... all just a bunch of jokers...

new to cycling or have done mtb or something else prior to this?

carrera is not a very famous brand if you put it beside colnago, specialized, pina, etc... but it is nevertheless a reputable one compared to some china brands....albeit a bit pricey...

as for a budget of RM5k... the choice is fairly gonna be straight forward

1) some alloy ride with a mix or possibly full 105 group and most likely some wheel that you will find swapping in near future
2) some entry level carbon with a tiagra setup also quite likely with some wheel that you will ditch very soon...maybe slightly over 5k..

hard to tell you which specific brand and model cos there are other factors that you need to consider like whether you like the bike, the size is right?

generally, from a price point perspective... i guess it never leaves the first 2 choices which is polygon (rodalink), giant (JBS) and merida (pedalspot) as they have cheaper bikes in your budget range and yet still as reputable...

spez, pina, colnago... with rm5k... frankly... dun think about it...and you might also want to think about whether your 5k involves stuff like helmets, and accessories?

so, at this point... you have to think.. will rm5k be all you spend or will you get more serious in future and invest in some over the top bike? i always say that your first bike is always experimental...where you find your footing and how the whole cycling scene works... so, the first bike will never gonna be right no matter how you plan, test, ask for opinions because you have yet to form your own set of criteria for what you want / demand in a bike....and without that... you will just get yourself confused with differentiating opinions from many parties and the massive amount of choices will overwhelm you..

well, i like to complicate matters and blow shit up... so, if the above dun make 2 bits of sense at all because i am drunk typing now...

go visit more bikeshops
http://www.baikbike.com/bicycle-shops/
Caad10! Matte black!

Btw, nooooo....don't think so far, life is simple

QUOTE(joyformidable @ Oct 12 2013, 09:02 PM)

yay, finally have a proper groupset! cool2.gif  icon_idea.gif wub.gif
Jealous

miaopurr
post Oct 12 2013, 11:56 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 12 2013, 11:55 PM)
Caad10! Matte black!

Btw, nooooo....don't think so far, life is simple
caad10 only comes as complete bike
lilredridinghood
post Oct 12 2013, 11:56 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

Scott addict
miaopurr
post Oct 12 2013, 11:57 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 12 2013, 11:56 PM)
Scott addict
wenloong78
post Oct 13 2013, 12:04 AM

794 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 12 2013, 11:55 PM)
Caad10! Matte black!

yeah, cannondale is a very good choice but they only sell complete bike. too bad.... sad.gif
wenloong78
post Oct 13 2013, 12:08 AM

794 posts

QUOTE(sunnyckh @ Oct 12 2013, 11:17 PM)
Boardman air 9.8 (if u like aero n speed) or SLR 9.8 (if u keen to climb more)...slightly a bit over 5k...yea just slightly...
chrisboardman from bike elementz? heard of this brand before but not sure if reputable or not.

can u give some opinion about this brand? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

arkana
post Oct 13 2013, 12:33 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 12 2013, 11:56 PM)
Scott addict
Just want to share my "Addict 10" been riding this babe for 2 months ... 👍

sunnyckh
post Oct 13 2013, 12:35 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(wenloong78 @ Oct 13 2013, 12:08 AM)
chrisboardman from bike elementz? heard of this brand before but not sure if reputable or not.

can u give some opinion about this brand? icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

Personally feel it is worth coz at this price can get their own brand top carbon frame...others reputable brand top range frame need 5 digit la wei...n I not gonna help to advertise for that bike shop so better go have a look by yourself...this pic is to poison u...

wenloong78
post Oct 13 2013, 12:42 AM

794 posts

QUOTE(sunnyckh @ Oct 13 2013, 12:35 AM)
Personally feel it is worth coz at this price can get their own brand top carbon frame...others reputable brand top range frame need 5 digit la wei...n I not gonna help to advertise for that bike shop so better go have a look by yourself...this pic is to poison u...
thanks for the opinion, will do some research it.

Btw, nice bike in the picture, yours? biggrin.gif
sunnyckh
post Oct 13 2013, 12:44 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(wenloong78 @ Oct 13 2013, 12:42 AM)
thanks for the opinion, will do some research it.

Btw, nice bike in the picture, yours?  biggrin.gif
Yup, bought from there also...
miaopurr
post Oct 13 2013, 12:48 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(sunnyckh @ Oct 13 2013, 12:35 AM)
not really. u can get an s-works frameset with 4 digit price tag. or a top end giant frameset. scott addict, 4 digit price tag.
lilredridinghood
post Oct 13 2013, 12:56 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 12 2013, 11:57 PM)
frame? ok....sowee
Xirality
post Oct 13 2013, 02:14 AM

12,176 posts

Is fixie bike fall under this thread? Plan to get one. Budget 300 to 400