LYN Cycling V9, Racing/Road bikes- Ironman Malaysia 2014

wenloong78
post Oct 13 2013, 08:42 PM

794 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 13 2013, 03:37 PM)
for RM5k.. you do have a choice... it is just whether you can accept those brands...

for a fact, i know the Swiftcarbon Ultravox RS-1 is a tad over RM5k and the Ultravox Attack is around RM3.5k... practically an unknown brand and you might not trust it but bikeradar gave it's team issue a very good rating... i know because i was just helping a friend out with his bike and this was more or less the pricing for the frames alone....

the other choices would be titanium frames like van nicholas that comes in at around RM3k++ not inclusive of the fork i think....lynskey might be tight as i remember it's around RM6k...

if KH is willing to sell the Look 586... it might go for slightly above RM5k as well... i saw it was still there as a complete bike some half a year back for around 7k if i am not wrong...

the thing is not whether you should aim for a high end alloy or low to mid range carbon... but, are you brand conscious? if you are... then carbon is definitely out of the question...

you need to look at the most unlikely places to explore some of the lesser known brands like what sunnyckh says, boardman or neilpryde at velocipede (most likely expensive, burasl costs 13k and alize costs 9k) not sure how low can the lower models go...

the next one if you want to aim branded might be scott to see if their cr1 has anything that fits you budget... it's going to be tight and the budget you have might just barely or need some topping up to cover the frame only and you have to fork out more for finishing kit...

miao's suggestion of the SL2 at bikepro is not exactly going to be any newer anyways and that is most likely what you can get if you want a branded one...

pedalspot also still has a couple of super old frames like derosa king 3 and a couple of older model merida's... try negotiate a bit and see if they can let go of the king 3 at cost price (i think it retailed for 8k during it's heyday)... or some of those merida scultura that they have which are past year frames... they won't be selling those frames cos no one will be interested in them now... and if you don't mind old stuff... i'd say... go give it a try and see...

so, you do have some question you need to clear with yourself first... branded or you don't mind...then comes the carbon or alloy question....
yeah... have been seeing quite a lot of people riding boardman recently... i think the prices might be quite attractive to them...
it's a diversion aimed at vin_ann.... we all know what he meant once vin_ann turns his back around...
life is never simple... stop dreaming...
suggest something a bit more sensible lar... it's like someone asking to buy a myvi or saga and then you suddenly pop up and say buy a ferrari...

we know u are weird lar... act weird appropriately dude...

yeah, saw the swift carbon frame at pedal spot, was offer Rm3500 for Attack model, then another question comes, high end alloy (spez Allez E) or low end carbon? some says high end alloy perform better than low end carbon, hence, scratch my head, which one to buy?

dont think will take the old model like SL2 or king 3, prefer more up to date model.

hmm....maybe should narrow my choice to boardman and specialized (allez)? if u were me, which one will u choose? high end alloy (allez), which need to wait till dont know when or less well known boardman, which i found the price and design quite attractive.

xEpicFailGuy
post Oct 13 2013, 08:57 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 13 2013, 03:55 PM)
busy fapping off in front of the monitor??? jus speculating  whistling.gif
So you were one of them too? Busy with ur tenga?
miaopurr
post Oct 13 2013, 09:30 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(wenloong78 @ Oct 13 2013, 08:42 PM)
yeah, saw the swift carbon frame at pedal spot, was offer Rm3500 for Attack model, then another question comes, high end alloy (spez Allez E) or low end carbon? some says high end alloy perform better than low end carbon, hence, scratch my head, which one to buy?

dont think will take the old model like SL2 or king 3, prefer more up to date model.

hmm....maybe should narrow my choice to boardman and specialized (allez)? if u were me, which one will u choose? high end alloy (allez), which need to wait till dont know when or less well known boardman, which i found the price and design quite attractive.

swift carbon. BUT only because allez frameset comes in size 52 the smallest. i'd get the swift attack size XXS (46)

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Oct 13 2013, 09:35 PM
wenloong78
post Oct 13 2013, 09:54 PM

794 posts

Mind to tell why swift carbon instead of boardman?
KTCY
post Oct 13 2013, 10:03 PM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Oct 13 2013, 07:24 PM)
lucky u no accept. i slept soundly until 8:30am!
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif 

i think i seriously thinking considering intentionally trying to pick up swimming....
Wah! so early? im still sleeping le! even my running also no early as this!

ada headlamp on ur bike and safety light at back? kena cover front and back!
yes. front and back light always ready biggrin.gif
wanted to start riding at 6am but raining
delay till 7am
woke up at 4.30 just to get prepare biggrin.gif
KTCY
post Oct 13 2013, 10:04 PM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

QUOTE(xEpicFailGuy @ Oct 13 2013, 10:30 AM)
Raining in Penang here.
Can't go cycle mad.gif
you from penang too ? Let's cycle together biggrin.gif
minizian
post Oct 13 2013, 11:23 PM

1,074 posts

Was wondering any Giant dealer in kl? Other than giant shop in wangsa maju and Samy in batu caves. Looked tru bbs but most don have my size xs (51.5) top tube.

Wanna get something to replace my 54mm top tube which is too big for my 170 height. lol rclxub.gif

Anyone of you concern about bb30 on their bike, certain shop tell me to stay away as it will creak

This post has been edited by minizian: Oct 13 2013, 11:24 PM
miaopurr
post Oct 13 2013, 11:25 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(wenloong78 @ Oct 13 2013, 09:54 PM)
Mind to tell why swift carbon instead of boardman?
OPPSSS SORRY! i got the question wrong!!!

"maybe should narrow my choice to boardman and specialized (allez)?"

but which boardman?
miaopurr
post Oct 13 2013, 11:28 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Oct 13 2013, 11:23 PM)
Was wondering any Giant dealer in kl? Other than giant shop in wangsa maju and Samy in batu caves. Looked tru bbs but most don have my size xs (51.5) top tube.

Wanna get something to replace my 54mm top tube which is too big for my 170 height. lol rclxub.gif

Anyone of you concern about bb30 on their bike, certain shop tell me to stay away as it will creak
why u wanna go with XS? shouldn't u be on size S?

i'm 160 on 518 top tube horizontal, 100 stem

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Oct 13 2013, 11:50 PM
minizian
post Oct 13 2013, 11:30 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 13 2013, 11:28 PM)
why u wanna go with XS? shouldn't u be on size S?

i'm 160 on 518 top tube horizontal, 100 stem
s which is 53.5 top tube is abit too long for me. That why i prefer something shorter than 53.5. I usually go down one size from the recommended suggestion. The problem is most shop is not honest and more keen to clear of their stock then giving honest opinion on what size you should ride.

This post has been edited by minizian: Oct 13 2013, 11:31 PM
wenloong78
post Oct 13 2013, 11:49 PM

794 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 13 2013, 11:25 PM)
OPPSSS SORRY! i got the question wrong!!!

"maybe should narrow my choice to boardman and specialized (allez)?"

but which boardman?
boardman (slr9.8) or spez (allez E5)?
miaopurr
post Oct 13 2013, 11:51 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Oct 13 2013, 11:23 PM)

bb30 is okay. the prob is, frame manufacturers tend to not adhere to the tight tolerance of bb30 requirement. that's why it creaks. one solution is to use PF30 bb.

BSA/ISO is still the safe bet, but not many manufacturer still make their frames with this type of bb. most have taken the pressfit approach. like it or not.

given the choice, i'd take BSA/ISO
miaopurr
post Oct 13 2013, 11:52 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(wenloong78 @ Oct 13 2013, 11:49 PM)
allez. because i don't like integrated seatpost
minizian
post Oct 14 2013, 12:07 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 13 2013, 11:51 PM)
bb30 is okay. the prob is, frame manufacturers tend to not adhere to the tight tolerance of bb30 requirement. that's why it creaks. one solution is to use PF30 bb.

BSA/ISO is still the safe bet, but not many manufacturer still make their frames with this type of bb. most have taken the pressfit approach. like it or not.

given the choice, i'd take BSA/ISO
I am considering either giant TCR slr or Caad 10. I prefered giant cos it using pressfit 86 but did not have my size in xs when i visited the two dealer mentioned earlier. For caad they do offer my size (not sure if dealer offer that) but I am worried bb30 as my stuff are gxp. Not sure if any converter i can use to convert bb30 to gxp. rclxub.gif Wanna go custom route but stainless steel and titanium are quite pricey for those good quality race-able frame to complement my carbon bike

This post has been edited by minizian: Oct 14 2013, 12:08 AM
xEpicFailGuy
post Oct 14 2013, 12:23 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 13 2013, 10:04 PM)
you from penang too ? Let's cycle together biggrin.gif
Where did you cycle this morning?
I'm a bit young here bro sweat.gif
miaopurr
post Oct 14 2013, 12:32 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Oct 14 2013, 12:07 AM)
I am considering either giant TCR slr or Caad 10. I prefered giant cos it using pressfit 86 but did not have my size in xs when i visited the two dealer mentioned earlier. For caad they do offer my size (not sure if dealer offer that) but I am worried bb30 as my stuff are gxp. Not sure if any converter i can use to convert bb30 to gxp. rclxub.gif Wanna go custom route but stainless steel and titanium are quite pricey for those good quality race-able frame to complement my carbon bike
here's a solution for ur bb30/gxp rclxub.gif

http://wheelsmfg.com/products/bottom-brack...m-brackets.html

tcr slr... proprietary seatpost. me no like.

why do u prefer pf86 rather than bb30? pf86 does not require tolerance as stringent as bb30. and what does that tell you?

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Oct 14 2013, 12:49 AM
butthead
post Oct 14 2013, 12:55 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 13 2013, 06:27 PM)
if u count the comma "," as a figure
it's the standard in decimal lar.... it's not counted...

QUOTE(wenloong78 @ Oct 13 2013, 08:42 PM)

ok, look at it this way.... which point of the high end alloy are they looking at which claimed to perform better than low end carbon? stiffness wise.. i can say it might be sitting on the fence but the benefit of the doubt is given to the carbon rigs to be stiffer... comfort wise, carbon has the ability to absord road buzz better given it is properly designed... so, with doubts that it's not... it could just only be as worst as the alloy frames are...

and as i said earlier... depending on whether you look to own this roadie long term or short.. you have to take into the equation that alloy fatigues over time while carbon is stated to almost or never have any fatigue issues... this is hard to gauge as it is stuff that takes years to tell...

frankly... the e5 is the top tier in alloy and given it's prepped to use 30mm axles is an excellent platform as an alloy performance bike and especially one to be used in crit racing like the caad10... will it outmatch the lower ranged carbon like attack??? that is hard to tell (for me if i were to tell you the truth, it's all assumptions at this point) without asking someone who actually owns it...

pardon me for focusing on the swift because this is the only so called cheap carbon frame that i have been researching on recently for a friend of mine... the attack frame if swift is straight forward with this uses the T700s Toray carbon which i doubt is purely T700s construction and it should have been mixed with other stuff... but primarily T700s

the RS-1 on the other hand that comes out of the same mold as their top tier u-vox Ti uses a slightly higher grade T700s and T800s mixture....looking at the spec sheets from toray

T700s
http://www.toraycfa.com/pdfs/T700SDataSheet.pdf

T800s
http://www.toraycfa.com/pdfs/T800SDataSheet.pdf

it shows the T800 carbon cloth is about 13% stiffer than the T700s and about 20% odd stronger...the only thing that is better is the Ti which uses T1000 carbon which is the same stiffness as the T800 but stronger...

http://www.toraycfa.com/pdfs/T1000GDataSheet.pdf

i am no expert in carbon but if my understanding is right.. the RS-1 actually makes quite a balanced purchase for it's price compared to attack where it should theoretically be stiffer and it still has the features from the top tier Ti like the seat stays and brake bridge, and box section head tube...

as for boardman... hard for me to tell cause they dun expose much technical information on it and you can only rely on reviewers and feedback from owners...

and just to clarify all this, i have never ridden any one of them and i am just speculating this things based on paper... best if you can sneak a ride from an actual owner and try to feel the difference yourself...

not trying to sell the swift to you.. but there is always something better waiting outside...

QUOTE(xEpicFailGuy @ Oct 13 2013, 08:57 PM)
Busy with ur tenga?
it's a secret...

QUOTE(wenloong78 @ Oct 13 2013, 11:49 PM)
boardman of course if you can afford it and without considering the support factor.... the only worry as i say is that the dealer gets blown off and then you find trouble with something related to the frame...

spez will be here to stay for long...

This post has been edited by butthead: Oct 14 2013, 01:06 AM
butthead
post Oct 14 2013, 01:01 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 14 2013, 12:32 AM)
here's a solution for ur bb30/gxp  rclxub.gif

why do u prefer pf86 rather than bb30? pf86 does not require tolerance as stringent as bb30. and what does that tell you?
is there still frames that runs bb30... most have moved onto pf already lar i think...

and if pf86 is already being considered? why not pf30 and make sure of stiffer and lighter cranks? but, it's pointless to say this cos it's dictated by the frame that one likes...

miaopurr
post Oct 14 2013, 01:13 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 14 2013, 01:01 AM)
is there still frames that runs bb30... most have moved onto pf already lar i think...

and if pf86 is already being considered? why not pf30 and make sure of stiffer and lighter cranks? but, it's pointless to say this cos it's dictated by the frame that one likes...
dunno la. i'm still on threaded and will still look for a threaded option for the next frame
butthead
post Oct 14 2013, 01:16 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 14 2013, 01:13 AM)
dunno la. i'm still on threaded and will still look for a threaded option for the next frame
there is always adapters...

it's not a worry if you just want to stick to your shimano 24mm spindles... as for BB creaks.... to hell with it.... even normal threaded bb creaks... can't be too bothered to be annoyed by it.. if you are lucky, you get one that stays quiet until the day you pawn it off...else, god bless...

126 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:06 AM