125 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

The Official LEGO Enthusiast Club V16

ryucando
post Oct 3 2013, 04:32 PM

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Oct 3 2013, 04:21 PM)
the best i've received so far.

iron man war machine and 76008, 60 + 100 = 160

the customer wanna discount to 120 tongue.gif

by the way, my UK boss just sold his 41999 on ebay UK for...................390 GBP
Aiyo that is way too much liau!! need to knock the felar head!! haha looking for charity
bloodghost
post Oct 3 2013, 04:32 PM

91 posts

by the way, my UK boss just sold his 41999 on ebay UK for...................390 GBP
they thought u can earn more than 30% on lego biggrin.gif

41999 appreciate so much dy? shocking.gif
Chaud
post Oct 3 2013, 04:38 PM

1,119 posts

*wrong post

This post has been edited by Chaud: Oct 3 2013, 04:54 PM
scoop7
post Oct 3 2013, 04:42 PM

orly? mai pen rai
1,154 posts

390 GBP is good price!!
Lego_Jason
post Oct 3 2013, 04:43 PM

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Oct 3 2013, 01:52 PM)
nobody say business is easy. and i'm saying if every customer also hope for robin hood seller like urself, then nobody will be willing to spend time sourcing for it. what most sellers are experiencing nowadays is people lowballing already very low price (doesnt happen to me much coz my target market is quite different). of coz as customers, we want the best price available. but as a buyer, sometimes have to be fair to the sellers also.
unfortunately, i can tell u honestly. profit margin for my stuff is only 2-5%. sometimes rugi if the retail price turn out to be cheaper than mine. if im lucky, 8-10%. but most of the time is way below that.
margin of more than 20% only happens in dreamland

that is why alby is the boss here.
Well said bro rclxms.gif , it is unfortunate that some buyers seem to think that re-sellers are making a killing with margins like 30-40%. My story is the same as yours, what kept me going was the chance to meet like minded AFOLs as I only import sets in my shopping list. My 2013 target haul already achieved so I also slowed down on importing, let our CS king do what he do best. rclxms.gif Nobody can beat him when he flexes his muscles. icon_rolleyes.gif My wife always worry for me when I go out for COD and say it doesn't make sense to do it for such small gains. But of course when you are passionate with something, the reward is not monetary but meeting others like yourself and sharing with them. And I do enjoy caressing all those fresh brown boxes! laugh.gif

Not trying to stir up a debate or having a go at buyers... it is easy to sit back and post sarcastic remarks directly/indirectly accusing sellers of making a killing, buyers sometimes do not fully appreciate the sort of trouble a reseller has to go through to import Lego or any other goods for that matter...

Anyway, it is natural that any new "players" appearing will undercut existing sellers so in a way there is a check and balance on this situation. Perhaps 1-2yrs back the margin could be higher but definitely today it will not be so lucrative business. This is happening everywhere, not just Lego. The internet open up the world to everybody, one just have to spend a little time searching. nod.gif

Disclaimer: The above statement is not directed at anyone so please don't shoot me! tongue.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(cruiseantz @ Oct 3 2013, 03:52 PM)
hahahah, just a weekly cuci mata...not much changes thou

Picture heavy in spoiler:

Haiz... If I knew City Advent calender selling in LLM for RM99 I shouldn't bother to import myself! doh.gif

Friends advent calender probably out of stock gua? The theme is still running strong. I didn't import for my daughter as I don't find the contents interesting...

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Oct 3 2013, 04:11 PM)
Was planning sendiri masuk stock..
But now maybe I just stay wit my boring job better.. so many lowballing buyers nowadays..  want original Lego but wanna pay KO price...
Haha! Not everyone buys Lego in LYN la bro. There may still be a case for you to open shop but of course the risk will be there. More and more peeps are buying and selling stuff online but it doesn't spell the end of a physical store, you just have to get your business model right.... Whatever it is, thread carefully... icon_rolleyes.gif
Caryane
post Oct 3 2013, 04:49 PM

18 posts

Yo guys!

I've been gone for awhile, guess no one misses me tongue.gif

Just wanna say congratulations on our new home again and we seem
to be one of the fastest growing hobby thread in LYN.
Caryane
post Oct 3 2013, 04:53 PM

18 posts

Well to be fair.

Anyone can import LEGO themselves, its no military secret on how to do it and where to get it.

Its just a matter of would that person import 2 or 3 of the same sets
just to offset the shipping and end up having to go through the trouble of
selling the extra sets or they would just buy from a reseller.

So yeah, i think this statement is pretty fair smile.gif
maxilife1
post Oct 3 2013, 04:53 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Oct 3 2013, 04:43 PM)
Well said bro rclxms.gif , it is unfortunate that some buyers seem to think that re-sellers are making a killing with margins like 30-40%. My story is the same as yours, what kept me going was the chance to meet like minded AFOLs as I only import sets in my shopping list. My 2013 target haul already achieved so I also slowed down on importing, let our CS king do what he do best. rclxms.gif Nobody can beat him when he flexes his muscles. icon_rolleyes.gif My wife always worry for me when I go out for COD and say it doesn't make sense to do it for such small gains. But of course when you are passionate with something, the reward is not monetary but meeting others like yourself and sharing with them. And I do enjoy caressing all those fresh brown boxes! laugh.gif

Not trying to stir up a debate or having a go at buyers... it is easy to sit back and post sarcastic remarks directly/indirectly accusing sellers of making a killing, buyers sometimes do not fully appreciate the sort of trouble a reseller has to go through to import Lego or any other goods for that matter...

Anyway, it is natural that any new "players" appearing will undercut existing sellers so in a way there is a check and balance on this situation. Perhaps 1-2yrs back the margin could be higher but definitely today it will not be so lucrative business. This is happening everywhere, not just Lego. The internet open up the world to everybody, one just have to spend a little time searching. nod.gif 

Disclaimer: The above statement is not directed at anyone so please don't shoot me! tongue.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
Haiz... If I knew City Advent calender selling in LLM for RM99 I shouldn't bother to import myself! doh.gif

Friends advent calender probably out of stock gua? The theme is still running strong. I didn't import for my daughter as I don't find the contents interesting...
Haha! Not everyone buys Lego in LYN la bro. There may still be a case for you to open shop but of course the risk will be there. More and more peeps are buying and selling stuff online but it doesn't spell the end of a physical store, you just have to get your business model right.... Whatever it is, thread carefully... icon_rolleyes.gif
well said..

i always do like the way ur post/write comments..neutral..hahah biggrin.gif
501-Elite
post Oct 3 2013, 04:54 PM

QUOTE(maxilife1 @ Oct 3 2013, 04:53 PM)
well said..

That ! I AGREED thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by 501-Elite: Oct 3 2013, 05:59 PM
daydreaming
post Oct 3 2013, 05:19 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Oct 3 2013, 04:43 PM)

yeah, there are a lot of lowballers out there. but there are also a lot of good customers and LEGO fans, who just wish to get affordable LEGO sets for themselves/their kids smile.gif

anyway, nowadays it can b quite scary to COD and carrying so much cash around. thats why always COD in shopping malls with cash deposit machines. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Caryane @ Oct 3 2013, 04:49 PM)
Yo guys!

aiks, u r finally back from the world of Hot Toys
Lego_Jason
post Oct 3 2013, 05:21 PM

Well if that was in the west the seller will get offended with it and tell you off. Their culture not so accommodating with bargaining or request for discounts, to them is like "I published the price, you can't read meh?" laugh.gif

QUOTE(Caryane @ Oct 3 2013, 04:49 PM)
Yo guys!

Thread moving slowly in V15, need more peeps to keep spamming photos to keep up the momentum otherwise we will fall behind... unsure.gif

QUOTE(maxilife1 @ Oct 3 2013, 04:53 PM)
well said..

Hee hee. Have to be neutral otherwise I will have trouble! tongue.gif

Anyway, it is my personal opinion and not everyone has to agree. It is good to imagine yourself in a different role and see things from a different perspective. icon_rolleyes.gif

Again, I wish to stress that I wasn't targetting the comment at anyone and I apologise if I hurt anyone's feelings or stepped on anyone's toes (or fingers)... icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Oct 3 2013, 05:19 PM)
yeah, there are a lot of lowballers out there. but there are also a lot of good customers and LEGO fans, who just wish to get affordable LEGO sets for themselves/their kids

anyway, nowadays it can b quite scary to COD and carrying so much cash around. thats why always COD in shopping malls with cash deposit machines.
aiks, u r finally back from the world of Hot Toys
I think in our culture it is normal to bargain and of course sometimes you get some ridiculous offers, I don't get offended and it is just in good spirits of the negotiation process. And it is definitely common that everyone will ask around to compare prices so I am happy to give out my price knowing the potential buyer is going to shop around and most likely not come back again. That's fine with me, my goal is clear: Import sets I like and sell to people I like, ultimately the whole buying and selling process is about getting affordable Lego AND meeting new friends. This is my take anyway. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Lego_Jason: Oct 3 2013, 05:34 PM
Caryane
post Oct 3 2013, 05:24 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Oct 3 2013, 05:21 PM)
Well if that was in the west the seller will get offended with it and tell you off. Their culture not so accommodating with bargaining or request for discounts, to them is like "I published the price, you can't read meh?" laugh.gif
Thread moving slowly in V15, need more peeps to keep spamming photos to keep up the momentum otherwise we will fall behind... unsure.gif
Hee hee. Have to be neutral otherwise I will have trouble! tongue.gif

Anyway, it is my personal opinion and not everyone has to agree. It is good to imagine yourself in a different role and see things from a different perspective. icon_rolleyes.gif

Again, I wish to stress that I wasn't targetting the comment at anyone and I apologise if I hurt anyone's feelings or stepped on anyone's toes (or fingers)... icon_rolleyes.gif
Hehe consider fast since the earlier versions took years to progress.

Yeah V15 has been slow.. perhaps everyone has gotten what they want from 2013 sets hehe

my only sets left for 2013 are grand emporium, palace cinema, tree house, family house and winter village market.

Yeah i know... its so pathetic that i didn't even get tree house and family house yet.
cruiseantz
post Oct 3 2013, 05:28 PM

117 posts

willing seller, willing buyer....i love COD cause it not just biz, but to know fellow "kakis" too :-)
wintzen
post Oct 3 2013, 05:43 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(cruiseantz @ Oct 3 2013, 05:28 PM)
willing seller, willing buyer....i love COD cause it not just biz, but to know fellow "kakis" too :-)
Agreed! Met some really nice sellers too, like one that sold me CMF S3 and S7, a friend from bro ilfort, and Jason and a few others...good to talk about Lego once in a while.
faish888
post Oct 3 2013, 06:00 PM

Just my 2 sen worth....

Very interesting opinions from both buyers and sellers. If I remember my Economics 101 course, it all boils down to demand and supply which drives market prices. Both buyers and sellers here need each other. Without buyers or little profit, there would no (or less) sellers. Without sellers here, there would be less buyers as we'd all need to buy from retail . So we support each other as buyers and sellers, and we need each other to co-exist and spread the Lego posion. biggrin.gif

Also, do we really need a Robin Hood for Lego? Lego is not a cheap hobby nor is it an essential part of life (some may disagree with this statement). Robin Hood steals from the rich and gives to the poor, yet this thread is for Lego taikuns... hmm.gif

IMHO many of us here are both buyers and sellers. Many buyers will eventually start re-selling on part-time basis to subsidize their hobby. It's the same with other hobbies like HW, HT, SS, watches, antiques, etc. Similarly, I started buying Lego for my kids and myself, then learned from some sifu's here on the art of importing and re-selling to support our Lego addiction, and then noticed that some of my early buyers also followed the same path eventually. tongue.gif

Lego_Jason
post Oct 3 2013, 06:35 PM

Let's get back to Lego discussion and sharing our hobby. wub.gif

Has anyone heard any news on the next Modular Building?? It is customary to release one Modular Building each year so Lego has been very quiet on the next one... Or is it just me who has not been following the news or rumour mills? hmm.gif

I'm also hoping for a new Power Function train too... wub.gif
Mr. Alby
post Oct 3 2013, 06:38 PM

128 posts

[quote=cruiseantz,Oct 3 2013, 03:52 PM]
hahahah, just a weekly cuci mata...not much changes thou

[/quote]
I hate you !.... tongue.gif
Cant wait to go there for the waterpark opening this month... rclxms.gif

[/quote]

[quote=Caryane,Oct 3 2013, 04:53 PM]

[/quote]

[quote=Lego_Jason,Oct 3 2013, 05:21 PM]

[/quote]

[quote=faish888,Oct 3 2013, 06:00 PM]

[/quote]

You 3 sir say it wisely... thumbup.gif
Thats why I always send my friends to cari you guys. You guys hardly say anything inconsiderate to other reseller. Hats off to you guys.

In other news, I'm waiting for this reseller to update with more news & gossip girl stuff at his FB page... sleep.gif
Mr. Alby
post Oct 3 2013, 06:40 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Oct 3 2013, 06:35 PM)
Let's get back to Lego discussion and sharing our hobby. wub.gif

Has anyone heard any news on the next Modular Building?? It is customary to release one Modular Building each year so Lego has been very quiet on the next one... Or is it just me who has not been following the news or rumour mills? hmm.gif

I'm also hoping for a new Power Function train too... wub.gif
I thought release next year? the parisian restaurant...
Im already suck into modular world... tongue.gif
maxilife1
post Oct 3 2013, 06:40 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(faish888 @ Oct 3 2013, 06:00 PM)
Just my 2 sen worth....

Very interesting opinions from both buyers and sellers. If I remember my Economics 101 course, it all boils down to demand and supply which drives market prices. Both buyers and sellers here need each other. Without buyers or little profit, there would no (or less) sellers. Without sellers here, there would be less buyers as we'd all need to buy from retail . So we support each other as buyers and sellers, and we need each other to co-exist and spread the Lego posion. biggrin.gif

Also, do we really need a Robin Hood for Lego? Lego is not a cheap hobby nor is it an essential part of life (some may disagree with this statement). Robin Hood steals from the rich and gives to the poor, yet this thread is for Lego taikuns... hmm.gif

IMHO many of us here are both buyers and sellers. Many buyers will eventually start re-selling on part-time basis to subsidize their hobby. It's the same with other hobbies like HW, HT, SS, watches, antiques, etc. Similarly, I started buying Lego for my kids and myself, then learned from some sifu's here on the art of importing and re-selling to support our Lego addiction, and then noticed that some of my early buyers also followed the same path eventually.  tongue.gif
apa yang penting????

KERJASAMA!!! biggrin.gif
Mr. Alby
post Oct 3 2013, 06:47 PM

128 posts

who else is going for the waterpark?
Im going that weekend....and the week after...!

Splash me with water if you see me there. But please dont spit ok... laugh.gif

125 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:08 PM