The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

tehoice
post Oct 28 2013, 10:16 PM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(bg2014 @ Oct 28 2013, 09:28 PM)
are Malaya Shrimp and Palmata shrimp considered hardy shrimps like cherries?
they are even more hardy, i think... may sifu clarify...
tehoice
post Jan 22 2016, 10:24 AM

5,403 posts

hi guys, i did planted tank for years and stopped nearly 2 years ago. now breeding guppies...

and i have recently set up a nano 1ft cube moss tank..... thinking of housing shrimps...

can you guys suggest me what are the do's and don'ts?

also, i have an eye on either fire red shrimps and orange shrimps, both about the same price. can you pls share with me how difficult is it to keep fire red and orange shrimps pls? thanks! have a nice weekend!
tehoice
post Jan 22 2016, 03:15 PM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Jan 22 2016, 10:28 AM)
venturing into new field eh?  rclxms.gif

fire red and orange are not as sensitive as CRS to water parameters. but all shrimp are still sensitive to major water changes.

if u wan to breed them, ideal temperature must be maintained.

one don'ts is not to change water like the way you showed me how u changed water for your guppies  laugh.gif
yeah, thanks, try new things lor... shrimps and guppies are different, guppies i consider myself semi pro haha... but shrimps i'm totally new.

nola, don't worry, i don't plan to change water at all for my planted tank, low tech style.... but plants grow very slow lar...

QUOTE(arrow @ Jan 22 2016, 12:32 PM)
Neocaridina shrimp, take care of the KH and GH, preferable KH should be in 3-4 , GH 5-8, and tds 100-150.
PH should be in the higher range 6.8-8.0+-.
Some moss like Fissidens prefer cooler water to show nice pattern, so you need to plan what moss you intend to keep and their requirement.
Take care of the moss first before you introduce shrimps.

thanks arrow, means i will need to buy those measuring stuff to measure KH, GH, PH and TDS?
how do i improve those parameters if it's too low and vice versa. Thanks.

Yeah, I will let the moss grow first before introducing shrimps, now just only started a while.

on the site note, can i ask you guys, how bad can a rusted steel mesh in the aquarium affect the shrimps? shrimps are very sensitive to ferum, or cooper elements right?
tehoice
post Jan 22 2016, 04:43 PM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Jan 22 2016, 04:32 PM)
fixed the link. Should able to view now.
actually i put a few pieces of cherry shrimps into the tank, but they all died in few days time..... but the ottos and galaxy rasboras are perfectly fine though, any idea what's wrong?
tehoice
post Jan 23 2016, 12:07 AM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Jan 22 2016, 05:31 PM)
If you suspect the rusting metal steel mesh killing your shrimps , you can take it out and house it in a bucket with some RO water and put in together with a shrimp to test.
As there is just too many reason shrimps sudden death, although the main killer normally is pesticides/fertilizers leeched plants.
do you mean house the rusted wire mesh together with RO water to test? hmm, i gotta try, but any idea where can i buy RO water? my house don't have RO water.

i suspect this is the reason, all of them died =(
don't think so about fertilisers, i didn't dose anything at all, cycled for about 3 weeks before introducing the shrimps in to the tank.
tehoice
post Jan 23 2016, 11:07 AM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Jan 23 2016, 12:48 AM)
RO should be sold at those water filters suppliers like Diamonds, Ekans, etc etc.

i suspect ammonia could be the culprit
tank fully cycled lor. didn't feed much also, should say i didn't even feed the shrimps yet.
tehoice
post Jan 23 2016, 11:28 AM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(Bigboyz @ Jan 23 2016, 11:22 AM)
Test for copper perhaps?
maybe i shall do that....
tehoice
post Jan 24 2016, 01:30 AM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(davido @ Jan 23 2016, 06:55 PM)
Hi tehoice. 3 weeks is not cycled lol.. Some tanks can even take longer, depending on your filter. Cannot be considered safe for shrimps.
It also depends what kind of shrimps. Yamatos are tough, 3 weeks may be okay. Cherries no. 6 weeks is more like it. CRS are more sensitive.

I experienced cherry deaths at over a month. At first I also thought it was copper, but in the end its due to new tank syndrome..
thanks. i will see. now coming to 2 months ady. I will see what i can do. thx. i did planted tank long ago, many things also forgot ady. now only breed guppies. lol..
tehoice
post Feb 3 2016, 09:47 AM

5,403 posts

hello all,

just sharing my new friends in the tank. quarantine them in the mini room for a short period of time to observe them closely.

previously, the casualties was due to the rusted wire mesh, now retie the moss back with new mesh.... all the shrimps are doing okay, fingers crossed.

sharing some of the other shrimp pics below.

tehoice
post Feb 3 2016, 10:19 AM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Feb 3 2016, 09:59 AM)
wah banyak high grade itu crs  brows.gif  brows.gif

btw bro where u get your plants from? or u selling too?
that crs cost RM45 per piece bro, i also dunno how to grade them......
which plants? plants in which pic?
tehoice
post Feb 3 2016, 11:40 AM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Feb 3 2016, 10:41 AM)
all the plants lo hahaha

crs graded by their color. the less red they have on their back the higher grade they are. i think more of like a feng shui / typical cainis lucky thing i think... i dont really understand why. never bother to find out laugh.gif
lol bro, not just only that.... not really too....
those mosura, wine red, etc are crazy in price.
200-300 per ea. i need to learn how to keep the cheapest first before touching those. but i will get there.
tehoice
post Feb 3 2016, 11:51 AM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Feb 3 2016, 11:42 AM)
haha, the higher grade the more sensitive they are to water parameters. good luck brah! yes, mosura price are insane
price here super insane only. i buy from taiwan, a lot cheaper. interested? wanna buy? hahaha... brows.gif
tehoice
post Feb 3 2016, 03:24 PM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Feb 3 2016, 01:10 PM)
brows.gif  brows.gif

my current setup is good for neos only. if put crs i dunno can survive o not  laugh.gif

how cheap can u get for OEBT?  brows.gif  drool.gif  icon_idea.gif
lol, depends on what grade you want also geh... but no la, i'm not going to buy any of those la.... i'm still more into guppies. lol...

QUOTE(Bigboyz @ Feb 3 2016, 01:29 PM)
Nice shrimps and plants. Wire mesh wasn't stainless steel?
i think the old one, is not stainless steel, it got rusted a bit after a while in the water...

This post has been edited by tehoice: Feb 3 2016, 03:25 PM
tehoice
post Feb 3 2016, 04:21 PM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Feb 3 2016, 04:16 PM)
guppies easier to manage indeed laugh.gif
this 1 will also cost me a bomb, so don't want to dive into this first, now just keep neocardina shrimps for fun first...
tehoice
post Feb 3 2016, 04:33 PM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Feb 3 2016, 04:28 PM)
i have already spent quite a bomb already on this  sweat.gif

spend more down the line then i will kena bombed myself  laugh.gif
a lot means how much for you?
i'm preparing few thousands for the right set up and live stocks to start with....
tehoice
post Feb 3 2016, 04:47 PM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Feb 3 2016, 04:37 PM)
a lot (for me) means 4 digit figures to go into a hobby which i just started and not viewing it with an intention of monetary profit in return  laugh.gif
hobby is supposed to be done with full passion.... i know monetary terms is also important, but if you can afford why not?

limiting it would potentially cut short the fun, passion and interests....

i spent thousands when i bought my camera, i spent about 2k when i first goes into planted tank, i spent about 2-3k in guppies (set up + live stocks).
maybe another 2k for shrimp only tanks, if i want to.
tehoice
post Feb 3 2016, 06:32 PM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Feb 3 2016, 04:59 PM)
yes, hobby is passion indeed.

for me i'll take it slow, dont wanna rush. learn step by step  blush.gif
too slow, passion will die... need to keep the fire going brows.gif
tehoice
post Feb 4 2016, 10:07 AM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Feb 4 2016, 07:59 AM)
dont poison me liaoooooo  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
lol.... you clearly not enough tanks la... time to expand already! hahaha....
tehoice
post Feb 7 2016, 01:39 AM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(Bigboyz @ Feb 6 2016, 06:53 PM)
Btw where u got your plants from?
which plants are you talking about?

i only have mini christmas moss and coral moss in my tank now though.
tehoice
post Feb 8 2016, 02:04 AM

5,403 posts

QUOTE(Bigboyz @ Feb 7 2016, 08:07 AM)
The last pic with plants. What happen to them?
bucep. but not my tank, taken from shrimp garden....

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 06:48 PM