9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.22, NEW RUMORE Nikon DF!

copperwire93
post Nov 6 2013, 08:21 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(devilfather @ Nov 6 2013, 12:20 AM)
Nothing to capture recently since busy with my work.. but since saw some spider try to get some photo ^^... but seem no spider inside the web..
I like this one, would be better in black and white with the yellowy highlight toning IMO. Good job! smile.gif

QUOTE(c010 @ Nov 6 2013, 06:14 PM)
Sydney spam!

Like first and the fourth. Second sky looks tad much on clarity I think.

Old stock for tonight spam.
Don't worry Ausubel, we'll survive the rain. by NurAzam, on Flickr

This post has been edited by copperwire93: Nov 6 2013, 08:29 PM
copperwire93
post Nov 7 2013, 12:22 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Nov 7 2013, 11:48 AM)
Thanks for you tips bro.

D3200 ISO setting can't fine tune to the one you suggested, from 400 straight jump to 800 IINM.

Actually yesterday i want to buy a 2nd hand D3200, almost deal adi, until i found the 'playback' button can rotate freely. After that he show me another D5100, he told me the different for 3200 and 5100 is more ISO option for 5100 and screen can rotate freely. But i check there is some scratch on the screen adi, so finally i decided to buy a new one.

Sure it can't fine tune from 1600 to 2000. But you don't have to worry, my experience of shooting events in yellow dim lights in hall, 1600 is good enough. Just need to get a proper lens like 1.8 aperture for example. And I was using 1000D with nifty 50mm 1.8 much, much older generation of DSLR.
Just need to use RAW for extra performance.

Congrats on the purchase. smile.gif

Got my landscape filters today. I'm ready to learn something new! flex.gif

This post has been edited by copperwire93: Nov 7 2013, 12:24 PM
copperwire93
post Nov 7 2013, 12:36 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Nov 7 2013, 12:30 PM)
Thanks bro. notworthy.gif

PF T.J. has point out Outdoors: ISO500-640, which i can't found in my D3200. hmm.gif

Then the bundle Nikon Nikkor 18-55mm VR Lens kit OK or not? sweat.gif
I think it's okay for learning purpose. I didn't get it though, because I bought mine separately with 35mm 1.8G because of my friends' persuasion.

In the end, I missed the experience on shooting at the wide 18mm, composing with 35mm is hard, many time I was demotivated by it. So, lesson learnt, kit lens is okay for starters like me. laugh.gif
copperwire93
post Nov 7 2013, 01:18 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 7 2013, 12:50 PM)
Starting out with a prime lens = very steep learning curve laugh.gif But of course, will learn faster too (or some will give up entirely if not determined enough tongue.gif)
Damn pro la you bro  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Not pro lah, still a noob. tongue.gif
Indeed it's challenging, many times I was disappointed after taking few shots and check them in the computer, too many failed compositions. lol! blush.gif
It's a good training though, it'll test you to get everything you wanted in the frame.
copperwire93
post Nov 7 2013, 08:16 PM

574 posts

I bought a set of this, along with other graduated filters and a square ND filter.
DSC_0814 by NurAzam, on Flickr

But it didn't work and I got vignetting effect. lol! Still need to learn about this.

But here's the spams.
By the roadside by NurAzam, on Flickr

Drowned by the clouds by NurAzam, on Flickr

This post has been edited by copperwire93: Nov 7 2013, 08:29 PM
copperwire93
post Nov 7 2013, 08:31 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Nov 7 2013, 08:26 PM)
[/spoiler]

What filter system did you use? Would be fun to play with ND8s, haha.

Hmm, the vignetting might be due to using the widest focal length, try increasing the focal length slightly and vignetting will be gone I guess? Never had any vignetting experience using square filters before ..
System? I don't know, I bought the set from gstrapinuse. I think it's P system, I don't know. Hehe!

Make sense, thanks for the tip. I'll be careful with the focal length now.

This post has been edited by copperwire93: Nov 7 2013, 08:35 PM
copperwire93
post Nov 7 2013, 08:33 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 7 2013, 08:28 PM)
Grats on the purchase man notworthy.gif
With ND filters, every landscape also can shoot liao  thumbup.gif

I love the 2nd shot, with enough editing, it can be made really magical, I think you should try it  thumbup.gif
Thanks man! I'm still learning Lightroom and Photomatix, right now only know to mess with all sliders. laugh.gif

Sorry double post.
copperwire93
post Nov 8 2013, 11:26 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Nov 8 2013, 11:19 AM)
My first sunset photo. It's taken in Singapore, so instead of hills and trees and green fields, I have scaffolds and buildings.  rclxub.gif

Great one lah! Wow! I like the graduated sky from yellow sun to the blue. rclxms.gif

copperwire93
post Nov 8 2013, 12:01 PM

574 posts

Rhu Island look by NurAzam, on Flickr

Rhu trees plantation by NurAzam, on Flickr

These are all I can make for this morning shot. Planned to do long exposure but I intendedly came late at 8AM as opposed to my routine near 7AM to test that ND filter, turns out it can't stop enough light for that time. sad.gif

Looks like I still can only do the shots either at early morning or near dusk.
copperwire93
post Nov 8 2013, 12:12 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 8 2013, 12:06 PM)

I've never used ND filters before, but the photo colors seemed abit different than usual? Is it because of the filter or pp? hmm.gif

Again, your shots, if edited heavy enough, can become really magical one lei, as in like those in animations  wub.gif
I'm not sure about the first one, because I did shot with and without GND to see the difference. But, I think it's not because of filter but pp just like the second one.

I love shot No. 2, though its sad that in Malaysia our trees don't align that well as in other countries lol  tongue.gif

True this. lol! Worse too many lalang here doh.gif

I guess I shall go back to seascape and sunset than shoothing lalang. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by copperwire93: Nov 8 2013, 12:15 PM
copperwire93
post Nov 8 2013, 02:17 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Nov 8 2013, 12:33 PM)
Extreme wide angles are a problem with the Cokin. For those extreme wide angles, you need a bigger square filter that's 6 to 6.5 inches like from Hitech Lucroit or Fotodiox Wonderpana. If it's big but not properly designed to mount like the Lee filter holder, you'll get reflections. People ask why use so big and expensive square filters? Because you don't get vignetting at 14mm at full frame.
No AF-S 58mm f/1.4?  sad.gif
Yeah, increasing focal length somewhat solves the vignetting problem but what's the point of buying a wide angle lens only to use it at 20mm or so? Big square filters won't pose a problem of vignetting at extreme wide angles.
Thanks for the info. Now that explains why it's extremely cheaper than hitech and Lee's Big Stopper.
I guess it's kinda early for me to buy either those two for practice.

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Nov 8 2013, 12:39 PM)
Love them both. You are lucky to have such nice scenic backdrops.  rclxms.gif
Interesting. What are your plans after finishing PHD? Lecturing?
QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Nov 8 2013, 12:39 PM)
The second one very nice... smile.gif
QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Nov 8 2013, 12:50 PM)
Ini banyak cun bro. The shades of the clouds are still visible in between the trees. Hats off.  rclxms.gif
Thanks for the supporting comments guys! smile.gif

Really hope I can do more water long exposure soon.

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Nov 8 2013, 12:34 PM)
Once again i fall into a forum/club that full of fanboyism.  whistling.gif  1st active forum is audiophile, alot of A brand vs E brand, 2nd is FnF club, alot of V = godcar thread and T,H pawns all thread, and now here C, S vs N...and 'unfortunate' most of the time i fell into 'unfamous' category that others 'look us no up'. But i enjoy it.

Haha! Can't escape from this when we're dealing with tech products mostly. tongue.gif
copperwire93
post Nov 8 2013, 04:31 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(april @ Nov 8 2013, 03:53 PM)
hi, i just bought a D7100, a newbie to DSLR. why everytime i capture 1 image, it take such a long time to capture? even though i use the program setting. do i need to set anything?
OMG! Already have D7100, I want one! tongue.gif

If it's P mode, I think the only thing by default the camera will not set it automatically is ISO. Get to the menu and change the iso to auto if it suits you fine.

Congrats on your purchase. Welcome to the club. thumbup.gif
copperwire93
post Nov 8 2013, 04:55 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(april @ Nov 8 2013, 04:50 PM)
now i tried auto mode in out door, 100, f5.6, ISO auto, still it take ages to capture 1 picture...anything i miss out?
You mean the green auto? hmm.gif
copperwire93
post Nov 8 2013, 08:03 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(april @ Nov 8 2013, 05:30 PM)
how do i know i switch to timer mode?
when i tried to capture 1 picture will fully press the button, then i will notice my view finder will become dark, then it take a while...then only got "click" sound

if i use compact camera, once i press the button, then the image will be capture

do i dun understand what actually is the problem
Must be total havoc for you. tongue.gif
I think it's best to read the manual first. I don't think it's faulty. You just need to control shutter speed, iso and aperture, but you need to learn about these basics first.

If it's still slow outdoor, I think it's because there are less light depending on where you're shooting. For example, if you're focusing your lens to the someplace in shade, the shutter speed will drop because there is not sufficient light for it to capture quickly.

Same goes with compact, if it's less light it will capture with slower shutter speed but it's not as slow as DSLR because it's consumer kind of camera, it will 'care' less about the quality but rather capture for user demands who want it fast and convenient, thus consequently resulting image blur.
copperwire93
post Nov 8 2013, 08:07 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Nov 8 2013, 08:04 PM)
This one can consider bogel bokeh or not? blush.gif

Bogel bokeh, yep.

If the subject is in focus and anything but it blurred, it's bokeh. icon_rolleyes.gif
copperwire93
post Nov 8 2013, 08:30 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Nov 8 2013, 08:19 PM)
I shoot in 55mm, f/5.6, ISO 400. A priority mode.

In this case, what's the different should i expected if i use let say f/20 for shooting? icon_question.gif
The background should be much clearer if you're using smaller aperture. That said however, it depends on the distance too. Say I was using f/22 on my UWA, but I was close to this subject, it is in focus while the background a little bit blur.

I went thru many modifications in Lightroom with the pressure of getting my lappy froze. lol! This is all I can do.
Sailed in sunset by NurAzam, on Flickr

This post has been edited by copperwire93: Nov 8 2013, 09:52 PM
copperwire93
post Nov 9 2013, 11:14 AM

574 posts

SPAM! innocent.gif

copperwire93
post Nov 9 2013, 11:24 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Nov 9 2013, 11:21 AM)
Guys, normally when u shoot, which white balance profile used? Use according to environment, or use auto, or use preset?

I noticed that for auto white balance, white colour temp is varies for each shots. Sometimes cool, sometimes warm, even the object and lightning condition is same.

If I want the natural white colour which is same as the real environment that i want to shoot, which option should i choose?
I use daylight white balance outdoor regardless of weather condition. Because with it, I can recover the white balance again if it's shady weather through RAW mode and lightroom.

When indoor shooting events, I stick to AWB or pre AWB settings. Shoot RAW for best WB recovery, icon_rolleyes.gif
copperwire93
post Nov 9 2013, 11:35 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Nov 9 2013, 11:30 AM)
What software u use to touch up the RAW file? ViewNX2 is just for viewing, i read online, normally they convert it to TIFF and edit in photoshop, did you do so?

For white balance, yeah, i like daylight white balance so much, from my handphone cam to compact cam, i always use this option.

How to use PRE AWB? I click on the option and it ask me to capture and white and grey picture. rclxub.gif
I use Adobe Photoshop Lightroom mostly. If you have Adobe Photoshop CS6, also can do this with its Adobe Camera RAW.
I edit it directly from Nikon's format NEF and convert it to JPEG when I'm done with my editing.

You need a grey card for Pre-AWB. When indoor, take out your grey card, choose pre AWB option, and then point your camera to the grey card and shoot. Now, the camera can neutralize the WB according to the indoor condition and lighting based on the grey card.

This is because, the camera can only see grey or whatever I forgot that tutorial.
Here:

copperwire93
post Nov 9 2013, 11:44 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Nov 9 2013, 11:39 AM)
How to define the grey card is precisely gay 'grey'? Or any i-think-is-grey card will do? hmm.gif
Just any normal grey to your eyes would do I suppose. Need to experiment otherwise especially if you're using JPEG shooting. I used a portion of grey icecream box. It works! lol!

Sometimes, it just not accurate but pick the closest white balance you can get later reedit in Lightroom.

This post has been edited by copperwire93: Nov 9 2013, 11:46 AM

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.3870sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:12 PM