124 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V18, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

meon55
post Oct 14 2013, 09:50 AM

226 posts

Hey guys, I just had my VIP 5 unifi transfer from my old place at Kajang to my new place at PJ. They have replaced the old "black modem" to the new "silver modem".

This is what I am experiencing at the moment :-

(a) Torrenting in PJ area is crap. Back in Kajang, I was hitting at speed speed of 500kbps but now, speed is 20kbps or less. Is it normal?

(b) Connection is giving me a lot of headaches. The wireless service at my ground floor is good but things become worst when im upstairs. Connections is slow even though i have a full bar signal. I am using Channel 11 and with my Macbook Air.

Any advise? Or i need to get myself a homeplug?
seme
post Oct 14 2013, 05:57 PM

27 posts

yeah. agree with you mein55. unifi in kajang rocks! maybe not many people here using it yet.
djhenry91
post Oct 14 2013, 06:39 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(meon55 @ Oct 14 2013, 09:50 AM)
Hey guys, I just had my VIP 5 unifi transfer from my old place at Kajang to my new place at PJ. They have replaced the old "black modem" to the new "silver modem". 

This is what I am experiencing at the moment :-

(a) Torrenting in PJ area is crap. Back in Kajang, I was hitting at speed speed of 500kbps but now, speed is 20kbps or less. Is it normal?

(b) Connection is giving me a lot of headaches. The wireless service at my ground floor is good but things become worst when im upstairs. Connections is slow even though i have a full bar signal. I am using Channel 11 and with my Macbook Air.

Any advise? Or i need to get myself a homeplug?
chg ur router to other brand tht can support unifi or buy homeplug..

about torrent stuff..is all about seed
my location at kota damansara full of unifi user yet still can get max speed
WoSHiMickeY
post Oct 14 2013, 08:44 PM

81 posts

Hi there new user of Unifi 5mbps here. They provided me the L7 router but it seems like not good for gaming. Before switching to unifi, I was a streamyx 4mbps user. I play dota2 with average of 20-40ms while using the 4mpbs connection.
But after I switch to Unifi my latency drops to average of 90-110ms while playin dota2.
Is it the L7 router problem?
Any sifu here can recommend me to change a router.
FauxHawk
post Oct 14 2013, 08:46 PM

<3
1,340 posts

Hey guys, anybody have any problems with the IPTV? Mine has been showing the satellite dish for the last 3 days. Internet connection also went wonky 3 days ago, but now okay already.
djhenry91
post Oct 14 2013, 09:09 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(WoSHiMickeY @ Oct 14 2013, 08:44 PM)
Hi there new user of Unifi 5mbps here. They provided me the L7 router but it seems like not good for gaming. Before switching to unifi, I was a streamyx 4mbps user. I play dota2 with average of 20-40ms while using the 4mpbs connection.
But after I switch to Unifi my latency drops to average of 90-110ms while playin dota2.
Is it the L7 router problem?
Any sifu here can recommend me to change a router.
about the latency is can confirm is steam server problem since duno which big patch..

if u want chg router there is two brand can support unifi which is Asus and TPlink..
u can go lowyat there find..
abec
post Oct 14 2013, 09:14 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Oct 14 2013, 09:09 PM)
about the latency is can confirm is steam server problem since duno which big patch..

if u want chg router there is two brand can support unifi which is Asus and TPlink..
u can go lowyat there find..
agree with u.. its happen after the big patch..b4 this ping around 40ms..now ping around 90ms but it still stable.
djhenry91
post Oct 14 2013, 09:16 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

ya..stupid steam server..and patch also so many bug wan
chopin
post Oct 14 2013, 09:23 PM

234 posts

hi all sifus,

I just got unifi installed. The wireless router given is L7 NR2000 (DIR-614):

Product Page: DIR-614 Hardware Version: A1 Firmware Version: 1.05TM

I know that I need to some settings to make it secure and to optimize it for better wifi performance. I bumped into the following link that's very excellent but it is for DIR 615:

6 Things To Do when you got your Unifi Wireless Router D-Link Dir-615

I'd like to know if there is any similar site for DIR-614? It would be a great help! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by chopin: Oct 15 2013, 06:19 AM
WoSHiMickeY
post Oct 14 2013, 09:42 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Oct 14 2013, 09:16 PM)
ya..stupid steam server..and patch also so many bug wan
lol but when i use 4mbps streamyx the ping is average 20-50ms.
Now unifi 80-100++ ms damn.
btw what router u use?
djhenry91
post Oct 15 2013, 12:55 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

tplink 1043nd if not wrong got 3 antenna and one usb port

WoSHiMickeY
post Oct 15 2013, 01:16 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Oct 15 2013, 12:55 AM)
tplink 1043nd if not wrong got 3 antenna and one usb port
how's the average ms while playing dota2

djhenry91
post Oct 15 2013, 01:31 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

before new patch out..
54ms - 84ms
after tht stupid patch out
84ms - 114ms
chopin
post Oct 15 2013, 06:41 AM

234 posts

hi all sifus,

I just got unifi installed. The wireless router given is L7 NR2000 (DIR-614):

Product Page: DIR-614 Hardware Version: A1 Firmware Version: 1.05TM

I know that I need to some settings to make it secure and to optimize it for better wifi performance. I bumped into the following link that's very excellent but it is for DIR 615:

6 Things To Do when you got your Unifi Wireless Router D-Link Dir-615

i have no problem assigning the login password, and have also changed the SSID name and wifi sec. key. But, I have problem finding where to do these:

4. Enable WAN to LAN Firewall

5. Block WAN Ping Responce, Block FTP, Block Telnet and what so ever.

6. Change Wireless Bandwidth Frequency to 20MHz

the interface of DIR-614 and DIR-615 is quite different.

I'd like to know if there is any similar site for DIR-614? It would be a great help! notworthy.gif
changchingyew
post Oct 15 2013, 10:45 AM

Got IPv6 on Streamyx 4Mbps here in Penang with my routing running latest openwrt.org Barrier Breaker snapshot

zzzz52
post Oct 15 2013, 11:24 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

I think that TM is disconnecting people who is using torrent as I'm getting multiple DC when I start torrent. Finally I disconnect the PC that is using torrent and there is no more DC. Are you guys having the same issue? Then we would need to use VPN for this case.
abec
post Oct 15 2013, 12:00 PM

135 posts

mine dont have ipv6 connection. is it auto enable ?

i dont have any problem torrenting.
earthcrystal
post Oct 15 2013, 01:00 PM

293 posts

What is the pros and cons of using ipv6?
Thank you.
KennyKB
post Oct 15 2013, 02:48 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(zzzz52 @ Oct 15 2013, 11:24 AM)
I think that TM is disconnecting people who is using torrent as I'm getting multiple DC when I start torrent. Finally I disconnect the PC that is using torrent and there is no more DC. Are you guys having the same issue? Then we would need to use VPN for this case.
No disconnection problem with torrenting using unifi on my side.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Oct 16 2013, 04:28 PM
Krieger22
post Oct 15 2013, 08:49 PM

72 posts

I've been getting DNS name resolution errors from the stock Unifi DNS servers recently, so I've been looking into changing DNS servers on the router.

My question is: Is it still possible to use Google Open DNS on the DIR-615 router with v7.17 firmware? I've heard from some other posts here that you can't do so from v7.15 up, but it's a 136% resolution speed increase according to Namebench...

124 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:12 AM