> Military Thread V10, Merry X'Mas and Happy New Year

TSyinchet
post Sep 26 2013, 10:40 AM

If you wish for peace, prepare for war
1,157 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Sep 26 2013, 01:39 AM)
Any internal combustion engined vehicle can also generate smoke by injecting fuel into the exhaust system.Those small airplanes that write sky messages do it all the time. Hell,you can do to your car if you want.

Anyway,no need for tanks or the crew to dig proper trenches,just pile up an earth embankment in front of the tank can also put the tank in a hull-down position and offer good defense from attack,also a trench can be hard to reverse for a tank,an earth embankment can protect the front of the tank and if in trouble,the tank can reverse easily to another position.

But I think you all got the tactics backwards,Soviet doctrine is for full armored attack with speed and maneuverability,that's why Soviet-designed tanks are smaller,lighter and ride lower,to make a small target for enemy defences. Meanwhile NATO doctrine dictates tanks must fight defensively, that's why NATO tanks are bigger and more armored for more survivability and taller so it's easier to deploy in hull-down fighting position. So NATO tanks should be the ones fighting from defensive position and Soviet tanks are the ones charging an enemy in overwhelming numbers.

M2 Bradley hull-down position behind an earthen embankment

Difference in size between M1 Abrams (Blue) and T-90 (Red)
Err did i miss something.
I did not mention tank doctrine at my post.
And yeah nato always design their tank based on defensive doctrine.
While soviet were based on attack doctrine and spamming horde of tanks. Their warsaw pact were holding the major influence on their tank design.
Not surprise they design their tank with less protection since warsaw pact is all about nuking enemy front lines. Lolz. laugh.gif

ikmal2129
post Sep 26 2013, 11:26 AM

67 posts

Malaysia still committed to MRCA, says defence minister

Malaysia's requirement for 18 multirole combat aircraft
to replace the Royal Malaysian Air Force's MiG-29 fleet
is still ongoing, Malaysian Defence Minister
Hishammuddin Tun Hussein said on 21 September.

Speaking at a press conference during the Malaysian
Armed Forces Day parade in Kuala Lumpur, he said: "It is
ongoing but any announcement will not be at the
Ministry of Defence level as it is being discussed at the
higher level of government."

The decision to start a formal procurement process will
be made by the Malaysian prime minister and his cabinet
- a normal practice in Malaysia for large cost
government programmes.

In response to a query as to when a request for
proposals would be made, Hishammuddin declined to
give a specific timeframe, only saying, "we will announce
it at the right time".

In other developments, the Malaysian Armed Forces Day
parade saw the public unveiling of the Malaysian Army
new digital camouflage pattern uniforms along with an
under-evaluation vehicle digital pattern camouflage.

Malaysian Chief of Defence Force General Zulkifeli
Mohammed Zin said the new uniform would be phased
in, with combat units the first to transition over. He
added that the Royal Malaysian Navy and Royal

Malaysian Air Force will soon also introduce their own
specific digital pattern uniforms. Armour and
mechanised infantry officers at the parade told IHS
Jane's that the vehicle digital pattern was still
undergoing field trials and the final pattern may change.

http://www.janes.com/article/27429/malaysi...efence-minister

thumbup.gif
TSyinchet
post Sep 26 2013, 11:34 AM

1,157 posts

Interesting.
I think the announcement will be made nezt years.
Itu pun depend on economy
kulai_busuk
post Sep 26 2013, 11:34 AM

QUOTE(ikmal2129 @ Sep 26 2013, 11:26 AM)
thumbup.gif
Flip-floping. No suprise here....
azriel
post Sep 26 2013, 11:35 AM

TERREX - US Marine Personnel Carrier

KYPMbangi
post Sep 26 2013, 12:11 PM

39 posts

Military Issued Rifle in Each Country of the World

This post has been edited by KYPMbangi: Sep 26 2013, 12:12 PM
azriel
post Sep 26 2013, 04:31 PM

T-72 "TUSK" - Tank Urban Survivability Kit.

source
KYPMbangi
post Sep 26 2013, 04:50 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Sep 26 2013, 04:31 PM)
T-72 "TUSK" - Tank Urban Survivability Kit.
Still the top protection left much to be desired even for the abrams version

Probably the only tank built to withstand top attack is the latest merkava

Strike
post Sep 26 2013, 04:51 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Sep 25 2013, 09:41 PM)
this is nice to watch  smile.gif

peekabo i see u lol
heavyduty
post Sep 26 2013, 05:34 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Sep 26 2013, 09:24 AM)
Thank you. That explains it.
First i thought it was the engine start-up. As explained it was obviously a smoke screen. But why would the tank create a smoke screen in a parade and in front of a crowd where there is a lot of families with their small children watching meters away? Isn't the smoke hazardous?
That's why they used the exhaust system not the smoke launchers which are filled with RP

The air is polluted as hell already. Sucking in some extra diesel won't make a difference
MilitaryMadness
post Sep 26 2013, 06:19 PM

1,302 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Sep 26 2013, 10:40 AM)
Not surprise they design their tank with less protection since warsaw pact is all about nuking enemy front lines. Lolz. laugh.gif
hmm not sure about this....

I don't think the Soviets never had the doctrine of large-scale tactical nuclear deployment.Nearly all their nuclear assets are for long range attacks,not battlefield nuking. They rely more on a massive offensive by conventional forces. Also isn't it no-brainer that you don't nuke the place you're trying to conquer.

In my knowledge only NATO subscribed to that strategy.NATO forces would only need to defend from any forces that made it through after tactical nukes blow away any large Soviet forces coming in,all the nukes that it would take to stop the massive soviet forces with NATO's more limited numbers. If in the process Germany became a nuclear wasteland,that's too bad la biggrin.gif

aztechx
post Sep 27 2013, 09:27 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

Digital camo on an MKM would be interesting... drool.gif

By the way..sometimes i feel like facepalm tembus kepala also not enough when i read things like these

This post has been edited by aztechx: Sep 27 2013, 09:37 AM
zimhibikie
post Sep 27 2013, 09:34 AM

Freak of Nature
2,825 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Sep 27 2013, 09:27 AM)

By the way..sometimes i feel like facepalm tembus kepala also not enough when i read things like these
username twitter pun dah macam gampang laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
nefashu
post Sep 27 2013, 09:35 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Sep 27 2013, 09:27 AM)

Pass my shotgun please.

MKM is one of the best is South-east Asia. However I can bet the maintenance is a nightmare since lot of part come from different country
waja2000
post Sep 27 2013, 11:05 AM

137 posts

Chinese firm wins Turkey's missile defense system tender

ISTANBUL | Thu Sep 26, 2013 5:23pm EDT
(Reuters) - Turkey on Thursday chose a Chinese defense firm CPMIEC to co-produce a $4 billion long-range air and missile defense system, rejecting rival bids from Russian, U.S. and European firms.

The Turkish defense minister announced the decision in a statement.

Turkey, which is a member of the NATO military alliance, has no long-range missile defense system of its own, but NATO has deployed the U.S.-built Patriot air and missile defense system there since 2012.

The winning Chinese FD-2000 system beat out the U.S. Patriot, Russian S-400, and French-Italian Eurosam Samp-T to win the contract.

Raytheon Co (RTN.N), which builds the Patriot missile system, said it had been informed about the Turkish decision and hoped to get a briefing soon. It said there were 200 Patriot units deployed in 12 countries, including Turkey.

"NATO has long supported the system, deploying Patriot in five aligned countries and, in 2012, providing a requested Patriot deployment to Turkey. Given this strong performance, we hope to have an opportunity to debrief and learn more about this decision," Raytheon spokesman Mike Doble said.

Defense Minister Ismet Yilmaz's statement also said a contract to produce six corvette ships by Koc Holding (KCHOL.IS), Turkey's biggest conglomerate, had been cancelled.

A contract to build two ships would be awarded to the Turkish naval shipyard. The construction of four remaining ships will be put out to tender later, Yilmaz said.

Koc Holding was recently accused of backing the 1997 military overthrow of Turkey's first Islamist-led government, sending the firm's shares tumbling on fears of a deepening vendetta against the country's secular business elite.

The Turkish government launched a probe into the taxes of Koc energy firms in July, weeks after criticizing one of the family's hotels for sheltering protesters during anti-government unrest that rocked several cities over the summer.

http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/09/26/...E98P19S20130926

note: china firm win tender with USD 3.0 Billion.

azriel
post Sep 27 2013, 11:11 AM

Indonesia Security Preparation to Host APEC CEO Summit.

Indonesian special navy forces personnel stand to attention during security preparations on September 26, 2013 in Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia. Indonesian military and police personel are making security preparations ahead of the 2013 APEC Leaders Summit, to be held from 1-8 October 2013.

Indonesian soldiers look on during security preparations on September 26, 2013 in Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia. Indonesian military and police personel are making security preparations ahead of the 2013 APEC Leaders Summit, to be held from 1-8 October 2013.

Indonesian soldiers prepare weapons during security preparations on September 26, 2013 in Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia. Indonesian military and police personel are making security preparations ahead of the 2013 APEC Leaders Summit, to be held from 1-8 October 2013.

Indonesian military personnel march during security preparations on September 26, 2013 in Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia. Indonesian military and police personel are making security preparations ahead of the 2013 APEC Leaders Summit, to be held from 1-8 October 2013.

source
TSyinchet
post Sep 27 2013, 11:24 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Sep 26 2013, 06:19 PM)
hmm not sure about this....

I don't think the Soviets never had the doctrine of large-scale tactical nuclear deployment.Nearly all their nuclear assets are for long range attacks,not battlefield nuking. They rely more on a massive offensive by conventional forces. Also isn't it no-brainer that you don't nuke the place you're trying to conquer.

In my knowledge only NATO subscribed to that strategy.NATO forces would only need to defend from any forces that made it through after tactical nukes blow away any large Soviet forces coming in,all the nukes that it would take to stop the massive soviet forces with NATO's more limited numbers. If in the process Germany became a nuclear wasteland,that's too bad la  biggrin.gif
Seem like you have not read about warsaw pact. Though only 30 documents of it have disclassified.
They have come out with a war simulation "7 days to the river of rhine"

Several kniwn nuke target would be vienna, verona, munich, stuttgart.
lucifer_666
post Sep 27 2013, 11:35 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Sep 27 2013, 11:11 AM)

thats one long mag. how many rounds are in?
Naskah
post Sep 27 2013, 11:43 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Sep 27 2013, 11:11 AM)
Indonesia Security Preparation to Host APEC CEO Summit.

fuu refer to the mag size i think the threat is imminent!

This post has been edited by Naskah: Sep 27 2013, 11:44 AM
SUSsoundsyst64
post Sep 27 2013, 11:51 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

QUOTE(lucifer_666 @ Sep 27 2013, 11:35 AM)
thats one long mag. how many rounds are in?
got mag for 60 and 100 rounds
http://www.surefire.com/mag5-60.html
http://www.adsinc.com/high-capacity-mag-m4...6-cal-100-round

This post has been edited by soundsyst64: Sep 27 2013, 11:52 AM

125 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0299sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:34 PM