6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

sunauto
post Jan 5 2007, 10:32 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Huh, VDH Clear Water RM74 per meter? That's crazy, for this price I could get CS122 instead. Clear Water lacks of bass, suitable for classical pieces and it's still a four star rated cable, I'm using CS122 for HT system and AL too. The bass is significantly tighter with better mids and highs. It might be an overkill but I love my AL MX5021 even though it's just a pair of pc speakers. Hahaha.

I think you're saying that ATP 3 sounds boomy right? The bass is like covered under a pillow, not the type of tight, hard hitting and well defined bass. Of course, ATP 3 is an entry level unit so we can't really expect much from it but it goes quite loud for a speaker this size. I had one last time. I guess about 8 years ago but gave them to my cousin.

The PT6021 actually have the same specs with FX6021 but I guess the enclosure is probably different or maybe better microdrivers are used but it's around RM1350 if I'm not mistaken. A bit pricey unless it sounds like audiophile quality then the price is justified.

I managed to get a chance to listen to Altec Lansing's FX5051 latest usb 5.1 speakers, the sound sadly is so so because the it lack the type of bite I was expecting from a 5.1 speakers. Not so suitable for watching movies, the dialogue is not that clear and the directional effects are quite poor. I guess I'll prefer Logitech's Z-5500 instead. The FX5051 is not available locally, my friend ordered one set from Singapore as a sample because the local distribution will be selling it soon. He's probably trying to audition a set first so because these speakers are not returnable so imagine if he ordered 10 and nobody wants them, he'll even suffer more losses. I guess besides CS21 and my MX5021, the latest AL models are a big letdown. The FX4021 wasn't that great either, the subwoofer was harsh when driven very loudly. Sounded like it's going to crack or something. Scary.... sweat.gif

QUOTE(PcWork @ Jan 5 2007, 03:32 PM)
van de hul is another brand, but much more expensive than canare. i personally tested van de hul clear water cable. doesn't really impressed me. that cable sell for RM 74 per meter. just bare cable. =P
RCA and stereo theorically no different, and IMHO 6021 sucks big time, compare to MX5021...
yay finally there's some one also owned ACS295. i have two set, one set working find, but another set, the transformer coil had burned out. no power.. =(
ACS 295 and ACS 45.1 is not even brought in by ban leong... =P not sure the company exits or not during that time.
recently i open back my ATP3 from box.. and had an listening session, and i found out that song comming out from the ATP 3 has more "plastic" sound than my recent hear speaker (even compare to an oldies sony speaker (2.0) i got from saunato.)
and people singing from ATP 3 seems like having slight running nose.. =P not sure it's damage or not, but i gived the ATP 3 to my eldest brother for gaming purpose.
through observation, the unit is working prefectly find, no cable degradation and so on.. =) not even a scratch on it.
and the PT6021 is no different with an usual FX6021 except for the universial remote control that included in the package.
sunauto
post Jan 10 2007, 08:45 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Well, I'm afraid you can't because the CS21 is using fixed connectors unless you can find someone to DIY for you, the reason I bought MX5021 was because the speaker cables are upgradeable. Anyway, the cables alone won't give you better bass, maybe a sharper and less boomy bass but definitely not a louder bass. Anyway, I've asked around for you but sadly, there no pc subwoofers available seperately that suit your musical taste. Sorry Bro, I did try asking for you.

QUOTE(narkon @ Jan 10 2007, 12:38 PM)
sunatou...can i modified my cs21 cable to cs122 cable???...
sunauto
post Jan 24 2007, 06:58 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Jan 23 2007, 12:42 PM)
owh...so better i dont pandai2 tukar dat wire...huhuhu...thanx  smile.gif

hmmmmm....pity me....bout the Home theatre subwoofer,does it sell only Sub??...i go survey many places in Perak...all shop that i went sell 1 set...

bdway thanx a lot bro Sunatao...appreciate it so much... smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif
Narkon, long time never hear from you my friend. Mana lu pergi pulak? I thought you have forgotten about us. The subwoofer I oledi ask but mostly too mahal lah, it's even more expensive than Aego M so not worth buying it unless you wanna tarik your budget more than RM1K. As for the cables, really cannot tukar lor, if MX5021 no problem lah but CS21 you need to DIY so if anything rosak, cannot claim warranty already.

QUOTE(Aquanox28 @ Jan 23 2007, 02:19 PM)
Anyone know what type of better quality cables(which has reasonable price) that can be used to replace the MX5021's stock cables? Thanks.  smile.gif
What's ur budget? I have used Cable Talk 4 audiophile cables if that's what you want? Of course, if you want a brand new one, I'll recommend you to get VDH CS122 hybrid speaker cables, RM70 per metre, the sound quality will blow you away. Of course got other brands lah, just that I prefer VDH. nod.gif

QUOTE(Aquanox28 @ Jan 24 2007, 05:50 PM)
Anyone can help me?  smile.gif

Btw, is there anywhere else in Selangor where MX5021 can be bought around RM530 besides LYP?
hmm.gif ....... RM530? I thought it's not a problem to get them at this price because I bought mine from Gadgetzone, Penang at this price but of course, I know their ahem ...... boss lah. Try going to Low Yat lor, should be able to get it lah. I think my friend bought it from Cycom or C-Zone, I couldn't remember lah, it's either one this shop. But in Selangor, I really dunno lor. Sorry...... notworthy.gif

sunauto
post Jan 25 2007, 02:30 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Aquanox28 @ Jan 24 2007, 07:11 PM)
Thanks sunauto.  smile.gif  Btw, normally how meters do we need for the cables in total? LYP is quite far, hopefully I can get it elssewhere..  smile.gif
Well, 2-3 metres should be more than enough for you I guess.

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Jan 24 2007, 07:14 PM)
Greetings Guyz,
Reporting in for ALtec Lansing ADA305 user here wave.gif
Currently still using it .. all the way looks fine .. just that cant control the subwoofer level and speaker level using the software provided when using with Windows XP .. unsure.gif

Regards,
Hughie
Yeah, they didn't have an updated driver for Win XP. It sucks, huh? Anyway, I owned them last time, great speakers, no regrets. thumbup.gif
sunauto
post Jan 26 2007, 07:43 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

As far as I know, MX5021 only has changeable speaker cables, 2-3 years later, you won't think about LYN or AL lah, got gf already, where got time for this? nod.gif

So fast back to Uni, ar? I thought you can relax a few months then good lah. Can use the few months to do speaker research mah. laugh.gif

QUOTE(narkon @ Jan 26 2007, 03:40 PM)
Narkon, long time never hear from you my friend. Mana lu pergi pulak? I thought you have forgotten about us. The subwoofer I oledi ask but mostly too mahal lah, it's even more expensive than Aego M so not worth buying it unless you wanna tarik your budget more than RM1K. As for the cables, really cannot tukar lor, if MX5021 no problem lah but CS21 you need to DIY so if anything rosak, cannot claim warranty already.
ahahaha...im at home la...juz finish my exam...next week go back to Uni....forgot u all??..nooo....how come i forgot all the pro's la.... icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

OMG...that expensive??!!!!...huhuhuhuhu....i have to forget my dream la like dis....ahahaha...i buy sound card 1st....and maybe 2-3 more years,get new speaker... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

bout the cables,ok2...i won't DIY it... cool2.gif  cool2.gif

sunatao,in AL products,is it only mx5021 only have changeable cables???
sunauto
post Jan 28 2007, 12:43 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Well, use your finger nail to ply it open, not too difficult but when it's new, it's harder to remove, that's normal, not to worry. Without the grill, the sound is slightly better. drool.gif

QUOTE(ATI.Bob @ Jan 27 2007, 08:59 PM)
Finally got my own MX5021.. will write a mini review later.. biggrin.gif

BTW.. anyone knows how to remove the cloth grille on the sats and the sub? hmm.gif
sunauto
post Jan 28 2007, 01:14 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

The speakers need to warm up first, after a few hundred hours, the sound will be more open and the bass won't be too stiff and artificial. Believe me, you'll notice the difference, just keep on feeding it with some music and movies. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(ATI.Bob @ Jan 28 2007, 12:49 AM)
I'd try it when I'm free.. But I think i'll be leaving it on most of the times because dust might stain the drivers and the surface.. plus I don't want my friends poking the drivers out of the sudden.. bruce.gif  laugh.gif

Okay.. my initial comments on the MX5021.. just after a few hours of usage..

First impressions of the speakers to me was how big and impressive the whole set looks, although it wasn't that big if u really measure it.. maybe I just wasn't used to seeing big speakers or probably it was placed next to other dwarf-lings.. laugh.gif

Onto test drive.. using my own Acer TravelMate 3202XCi laptop.. currently still using the onboard AC'97 sweat.gif  for testing purposes.. due to my weekend break from school.. the speaker will be paired with PSC805 real soon..  whistling.gif

Played a few MP3's, FLAC and CDs.. techno/electronic music sounds different on the Altec when compared to my old Edifier X600 boomer.. the bass is more taut/tight.. but I can get used to that..  nod.gif But some tracks does sounds nicer and have a more controlled bass compared to X600 bass (I know it's unfair to judge by these two, but that's what I've had before MX5021.. tongue.gif) while some tracks the lower end seems to be less noticable and the mids/highs are just sharp.. nice, but can be annoying after long period of listening. unsure.gif

Tried some oldies CDs.. they just sound clear and nice.. with emphasis on the vocals.. can't really comment much coz they're oldies.. and they sound they sounded just like what it should sound.. (whatever that means..) laugh.gif

Rock songs seems to be a little too harsh on the MX5021.. some of the softer snares seems recessed into the background (maybe recording error?)..

All in all, I'd prefer to have the treble turn a little less than half of the max.. and bass at the level 3-4.. but turned up to 5 when I need the oomph..  thumbup.gif
The bass produced gives more low end thump than a hum.. and with so much power under the hood, I didn't notice it was already so loud (can hear the bass and vocals clearly outside my room and downstairs) that my ears started to get a little painful just with 2-3/5 volume levels.. (Windows settings at ~50%)..

and the sound stage is really nice.. compared to X600.. and watched an episode of DVD-quality Happy Feet, the bass doesn't kick in in places that X600 starts to hum.. but in scenes like the part where mumble was alone and attacked by the seals (was that a seal? laugh.gif), the low thumps are really nice.. and vocals are very clear.. almost too sharp (initially with the treble turned a little too high) that I still had to leave the treble not more than 3 steps..

Will continue using it for a while and unite it with PSC805 soon  laugh.gif

more comments coming soon..  icon_rolleyes.gif
sunauto
post Jan 30 2007, 11:37 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Dun say like that lah, not pro or what lah, just that I spend a lot of time auditioning such speakers. As for 2.1 and 5.1 systems, if your preference is only straight stereo music, you shouldn't get a 5.1 systems as most 5.1 systems don't sound so great for normal music listening, if you're more into games and movies, you can consider getting a 5.1 system.

If you're looking for a good 2.1 system, so far I prefer AL MX5021, Aego M and Klipsch 2.1, these three are strong contenders for 2.1 systems. As for 5.1 systems, the best I've heard is Logitech Z-5500. I have't listened to AL FX5051 though, will give it an audition soon.

QUOTE(narkon @ Jan 30 2007, 07:12 PM)
u are not interupting bro...u are welcome to give a comment and ideas for me... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

wat u say is very true....thats y i said to bro sunatou in his own opinion...coz he is pro, he know more than me and maybe his opinion suite for me... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

bout the 5.1 speaker....true wat u say...my fren got 5.1 speaker and the wire are so2 messy...combine with computer wire....like breeding pit for mouse....ahahaha  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

1 more question, is the sound of the speaker much more better i mean more clearer if got tweeter(dunno the spelling)??..
sunauto
post Jan 31 2007, 09:38 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Jan 31 2007, 11:26 AM)
weee...dun mad at me ya... biggrin.gif

eventhough u say not pro,i will always say u r pro...huhuhuhu....ok2...thanx for the info... brows.gif  brows.gif

i think next 2 year i will buy dat Aego M....and combine it with my cs21...huh...sure my apartment will shake like hell.... rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

bdway sunatao,can u give me a web dat sell the subwoofer??...if can get the price list is more better...in lowyat got sell Home theatre r??
I don't have the website for subwoofers, you need to get the catalogues from the shops directly and yeah, it's free, no need to worry. I guess if you're getting Aego M, I wouldn't recommend you to use with CS21 because both are in the same league. If you want the whole apartment rattle, better get Klipsch. That one got more low end kick. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(miliardo83 @ Jan 31 2007, 09:00 PM)
Is it lowyat plaza got CS21? Where?
Cycom or C-Zone should have it. smile.gif
sunauto
post Feb 1 2007, 12:07 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(miliardo83 @ Jan 31 2007, 10:46 PM)
Thanks for ur info...

Why Altec Lansing didn't get any awards? Or i am wrong?
Awards are not that important. Logitech Z-2300 won a few awards but most of the forumers here dislike the sound so it's pretty subjective, we should be the ones deciding whether it is a good buy or not as no two person has the same musical taste. For example, if person A used classical music, person B used rock music and person C used jazz music to audition the speakers, three of them will have a different conclusion because no speakers can handle all musical sources that well. That's why the awards won don't really mean anything to me.

QUOTE(narkon @ Feb 1 2007, 12:11 AM)
ok2....after ur survey,wat brand is the chipest????....i wanna go to survey in melaka and seremban....ahahhaha...if got lots of money,i buy both and combine all...hahahaha  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
AL atp3 got the awards i think... blink.gif
Honestly, if you want a good sound and a bass heavy subwoofer, it will definitely cost RM500 to RM900 for a good pair of 2.1 speakers. It won't be cheap. The best is for you to audition the speakers personally because being expensive doesn't mean that it is necessarily better. You'll be the judge of that.

sunauto
post Feb 7 2007, 01:13 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

The price is the same for both colours but the white one is extremely rare these days, most of the shops in my area are selling the black colour, the price is around RM530 if you know how to nego kaw kaw with the shop. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Faint @ Feb 7 2007, 02:03 AM)
Oic, WHT means white color!
Can i know now how much for a new MX5021?
black color and white color are same price?
sunauto
post Feb 7 2007, 01:29 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Black one is nice but of course, easy to kena finger prints too if you're not careful but they have included a cloth for you to wipe the speakers. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Faint @ Feb 7 2007, 01:27 PM)
Oh, thanks for ur information!!!!
I prefer black color coz its include clothe grille rclxms.gif
With this, i think spekaer will not easily get dirty!!!
sunauto
post Feb 7 2007, 10:39 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Wah, I never seen these speakers before, looked kinda crude looking to me. shakehead.gif

QUOTE(Faint @ Feb 7 2007, 10:16 PM)
I think this speaker was ordy not available in market right?
sunauto
post Feb 14 2007, 08:13 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Narkon, it's not lacking of bass actually for the price range, better sounding speakers will cost more but for the price, CS21 is really a good buy. You can't get other speakers at that price range that sounds as decent as CS21. Be happy with it, CS21 ain't too bad. If you're wanna change the subwoofer, I dun think it's feasible b'coz of the price involved, it's better to get another better set of speakers if you need to spend a fortune on a better subwoofer.

QUOTE(narkon @ Feb 14 2007, 03:35 PM)
nice...got alot of CS21 user... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

but bout the bass...u say it is strong????....hmmm....doubt about it... sweat.gif  sweat.gif
sunauto
post Feb 27 2007, 09:21 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Aquanox28 @ Feb 16 2007, 05:25 PM)
In need of help here. I'm thinking of changing the speaker cables in my MX5021 but I'm unsure of which type of cable to buy. I saw some speaker cables selling for RM2.60/m at ACE Hardwares. I also heard of those much better quality cables like Canare, which also cost much more. The question is, is it worth it to opt for the those better quality cables or should I just get the Rm2.60/m cable from ACE Hardware? Thanks  smile.gif
Try going to CMY Audio in Sungei Wang, those QED speaker cables are a good match for your MX5021. I'm using VDH while my brother is using Audioquest speaker cables for his MX5021. Yeah, we're using the same model, mine is black in colour, his white in colour. tongue.gif

QUOTE(narkon @ Feb 21 2007, 06:58 PM)
weeeeeee......thats y i said now i like d speaker alot dy.....LOL....  tongue.gif

dun marah2 me ya...sory2... biggrin.gif
No lah, don't say like that lah, where got marah-marah. Maybe your CS21 belum warm up yet, that's why you feel the bass not deep enough. That could be the reason. My MX5021 was the same, when I first bought it, the sound was harsh and restrained but it's a lot open now and the bass moves very tightly. Everything just nice. thumbup.gif
sunauto
post Feb 28 2007, 12:57 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Err you mean this, Altec Lansing PT6021?
http://techgage.com/article/altec_lansing_pt6021

I guess that's the latest Altec Lansing speaker in the market right now. Not sure about upcoming new models and of course, I would love to see more new models. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(kInOzAwA @ Feb 27 2007, 10:14 PM)
what's up folk? anything news about Altec Lansing upcoming speaker stuff?
sunauto
post Mar 1 2007, 11:40 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

As for Penang price, the lowest I bought for my MX5021 is RM530. I heard that the price went up a little as the supplier is running low on stocks. Another disturbing rumour is that MX5021 is gonna phased out, not sure whether it's true or not, maybe you guys can shed some light.

QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 1 2007, 11:30 AM)
This is KL price?
My location is Ipoh
sunauto
post Mar 1 2007, 06:01 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 1 2007, 12:04 PM)
Phased out?
Really mou? In ipoh, d lowest price is RM530 too..
When u bought this speaker?
If RM530, can buy lah ..... it's probably being replaced by FX4021 now because many shops stop selling MX5021 already. Better 'fai tee' buy one if you are really interested to get one. Later only FX4021 is available then charm ..... the sound is doh.gif

QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 1 2007, 12:25 PM)
i ady test and compare FX6021 and MX5021
testing without equalizer, sound direct come from a cd-rom

- treble 5021 is better than 6021
- bass 6021 is better than 5021
- but 5021 's bass is totaly powerful and heavy than 6021 somemore 5021 is THX certified

So i choose 5021, act right now i haven buy this speaker yet coz i still comfusing wanna buy which speaker between Altec MX5021 or other THX certified speaker...

And also hope u all guys can leave ur golden opinion or suggestion.
Anyone know d upcoming speaker of altec lansing?
I think terbalik already, 6021 treble is sharper and the bass is softer, underpowered. 5021's bass is harder and deeper but not as sharp as 6021. Got pros and cons here but for gaming, 5021 is more better. The bass is really explosive.

QUOTE(ATI.Bob @ Mar 1 2007, 12:34 PM)
priced was hiked up a little.. in Sarawak, it's retailing around rm600++.. sweat.gif

about the phasing out of MX5021's.. there's a slight chance that is PROBABLY true..
check the US altec lansing site (http://www.alteclansing.com/product_details_MX5021_OOS.asp) and see the MX5021 page, you'll see it's out of stock at the moment..  whistling.gif  probably it's just out of stock, or they'll discontinue it eventually and replace it with the FX4021 models? shocking.gif  doh.gif

and just for all Altec fan boiz.. The CS21 is most PROBABLY already being phased out.. so grab one while u still can..  sweat.gif
If replaced by FX4021, that's crazy as the FX4021 never sounded as good as MX5021, that will be a disaster for Altec Lansing unless it's because their royalties to pay THX for using their logo is up. Funny thing, CS21 still got a lot in Penang and is still selling very well.

QUOTE(Aquanox28 @ Mar 1 2007, 05:03 PM)
Er, how much are your cables..?  sweat.gif 

Btw, I some how feel that the bass is not good enough. When I play some bassy songs, the bass is some how not tight enough, and the bass sounded like it broke. Hope you know what I meant.  laugh.gif I'm wondering how to improve on that.  icon_question.gif
The cables are RM8 per meter for Cable Talk 3 ones, RM18 per meter for the QED ones, my VDH CS122 Hybrid retails at RM70 per meter (might be higher now as I bought it a few years back the British Pounds wasn't that high at that time). The cables are costly but will solve the boomy and cracking bass sound. It's b'coz that the ori cables are inferior. Of course, the choice is yours choice but I've upgraded mine and the sound is a lot better now. If you're on a tight budget, the Cable Talk, QED or even Audioquest ones are a fine pick, you can ask around.

sunauto
post Mar 2 2007, 11:26 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(jtcs87 @ Mar 1 2007, 07:34 PM)
MX5021 is better than FX6021 tat is a fact... Bt nw Altec retailer jz focus on FX6021 only... Why? Gain more profit? icon_rolleyes.gif
Most shops are stucked with FX6021, even the shop I bought from asked me to buy FX6021 when I wanted MX5021, luckily, I didn't fall for that trap, they even tried to push it to me at RM620. So desperate. doh.gif

QUOTE(DotA 5.84C -AR @ Mar 1 2007, 07:42 PM)
altec lansing new product really tend to more and more worse already, no matter the look or the sound quality. i am so disappointed, why they can't find a better engineer or designer to push up their quality like last time?
Worse? No lah, it doesn't apply to all Altec models, maybe you're disappointed in the latest models like the FX4021, right?
sunauto
post Mar 3 2007, 11:58 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Wah, FX4021 also considered bass heavy speaker? The sound is very mild only wor and more expensive than MX5021, not a really value for money if you ask me. Anyway, Altec and JBL are from the same company so Altec's choice of speakers not your type, you can go for those JBL speakers too like Creature II. drool.gif

QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 3 2007, 02:09 AM)
I think since d FX6021 release, the rest of d latest altec speaker all still same like b4, just focus on to design a heavy bass speaker like 4021 with dual coil subwoofer.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:44 AM