141 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

jdreamer
post Jun 9 2006, 11:27 PM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Jun 9 2006, 10:40 PM)
ATP3 sound better that why... btw i myself prefer ATP3 than VS4121 & 251... My 251 woofer torn d, coz blast too loud it kenot tahan...
Why ATP3 sounds better ? Btw, VS2221 has SFX and Xdb functions while ATP3 doesnt wor. unsure.gif Mind tell me more about ATP3 ? Im new to all these. laugh.gif
hyyam85
post Jun 10 2006, 12:00 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(cklim85 @ Jun 10 2006, 02:55 AM)
i'm using al also..
my first al was the ada 305..
sounds great but then the woffer got some weird sound so i sell it off..
then came in my 2nd al speaker acs 48..
damn this is the best 2.1 speaker i've ever used.. sadly last years the satelit gone wacko then i give it to my sis.. muah hahah..
then i got myself al ada885.. this speaker good for movie... can produce very low bass but when listen to music, the bass is not so great anymore... it produces good mid and high sound but so so in the bass..

hehe.. that's all...
ya. the acs48 is a good one. punchy n accurate bass. mid n treble ar quite nice too. but sometimes i jus feel tat the bass is a lil too much. sometimes cover the mid n treble
zeustronic
post Jun 10 2006, 07:13 AM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

QUOTE(jdreamer @ Jun 10 2006, 12:27 AM)
Why ATP3 sounds better ? Btw, VS2221 has SFX and Xdb functions while ATP3 doesnt wor.  unsure.gif Mind tell me more about ATP3 ? Im new to all these.  laugh.gif
ATP3 got more powerful bass & able blast louder than V2221... I admit VS2221 sound slightly better but lack of bass, depend u go bass music or soft music.... for gaming or movies ATP3 still better chocie.... ATP3 one of the legend newly cameout the price around RM369 still selling like hot cakes in pc fair...
glo
post Jun 10 2006, 11:15 AM

mr.cheese
525 posts

Former user of acs45.1 here
now using CS21 and megaworks 250D
one for music, the other for movies tongue.gif

This post has been edited by glo: Jun 10 2006, 11:15 AM
jdreamer
post Jun 10 2006, 11:17 AM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Jun 10 2006, 07:13 AM)
ATP3 got more powerful bass & able blast louder than V2221... I admit VS2221 sound slightly better but lack of bass, depend u go bass music or soft music.... for gaming or movies ATP3 still better chocie.... ATP3 one of the legend newly cameout the price around RM369 still selling like hot cakes in pc fair...
If Im not into gaming, I should go for VS2221 ?
hyyam85
post Jun 10 2006, 12:54 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(glo @ Jun 10 2006, 03:15 PM)
Former user of acs45.1 here
now using CS21 and megaworks 250D
one for music, the other for movies tongue.gif
both ar also good speakers? wats the difference between those 2? y tag them as movie n music speakers? i tot u should use multichannel speakers for movies?
zeustronic
post Jun 10 2006, 01:16 PM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

QUOTE(jdreamer @ Jun 10 2006, 12:17 PM)
If Im not into gaming, I should go for VS2221 ?
suit urself buddy.... each of us got different taste... why not go find shop that have demo unit, then request for demo.... for me i not going get VS2221, i gonna get MX5021 or Klipsch Promedia GMX 2.1...

This post has been edited by zeustronic: Jun 10 2006, 01:18 PM
jdreamer
post Jun 10 2006, 02:17 PM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

My budget is only around RM200 tho. Cant get those better speakers. sweat.gif
slingswish
post Jun 11 2006, 01:22 AM

560 posts

using ATP3 the thing is that after use it for long time the power can't off ady ...when u finish turn it the light stil there
xtreme_paladin
post Jun 14 2006, 05:04 PM

73 posts

My thoughts for current ALTEC products:

These 2.1 speakers are considered to be top notch AL products:

1. FX-6021 - superb treble, good midrange, good bass, not boomy (best treble)
2. MX-5021 - good treble, good midrange, good bass, not boomy (trebles need adjustment as it can go very high)
3. CS-21 - nice treble, superb midrange, good bass (best midrange)

GT-5051 is not impressive and is definitely overpriced when comparing price to power-sound ratio. The ACS-621 and ACS-641 are also good but AL discountinued them as they problems with amp dying prematurely. The CS21 is supposed to be the successor to CS21. Both FX-6021 and MX-5021 have slight subwoofer amp hum when plugged in.

VS-4121 and VS-4221 are middle range products. VS-4121 suffers from slight subwoofer amp hum when plugged in. It has a down firing midrange meaning the surface must be hard for sound to disperse or else, as most people have complaints, the midrange disappears. VS-4221 has a very small remote and is definitely over priced for a 35W RMS. It's too shameful, AL made this too pricey, almost the same price with the superb CS-21. VS-4221 can't match the power and clarity of CS-21 rated at 110W RMS.

ATP-3 is considered a good buy in terms of price to power-sound ratio. Budget price for an above-average sound clarity. ATP-3 is still better with VS-2221 in all aspect. The ATP-3 is a downfiring midrange, it needs a hard solid surface to disperse midrange or else it will loose to VS-2221 in midrange.

The others are not worth mentioning, either overpriced or sound is not spectacular compared to their price. For budget speakers with great bass and clear sound, I will choose the CREATIVE T-6060 and P-5800. Very good price to power-sound ratio, nice bass and clear sound.
AoiNatsume
post Jun 15 2006, 03:15 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

ex user welcomed here?
used to own VS4121, FX6021, MX5021, 4100

This post has been edited by AoiNatsume: Jun 15 2006, 03:15 AM
TSk_kokkhin
post Jun 15 2006, 10:06 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Jun 15 2006, 03:15 AM)
ex user welcomed here?
used to own VS4121, FX6021, MX5021, 4100
why you changed all your speaker? the models your mentioned not good meh? i m using MX5021..
TSk_kokkhin
post Jun 15 2006, 10:08 AM

83 posts

[quote=xtreme_paladin,Jun 14 2006, 05:04 PM]

2. MX-5021 - good treble, good midrange, good bass, not boomy (trebles need adjustment as it can go very high)

i m using MX5021 also... the treble is very high by using the given wire.. then i changed the wire to a lower noise and distortion wire, now it works perfectly.... even my friend who own JBL wan change to AL MX5021 also... thumbup.gif
eddychstu
post Jun 15 2006, 10:15 AM

Why so serious?
2,347 posts

FX6021 user report in! been using it for abt 1 year smile.gif

*refer my sig

This post has been edited by eddychstu: Jun 15 2006, 10:16 AM
yrh0413
post Jun 15 2006, 10:47 AM

12,214 posts

QUOTE(slingswish @ Jun 11 2006, 01:22 AM)
using ATP3 the thing is that after use it for long time the power can't off ady ...when u finish turn it the light stil there
smile.gif My aging ATP3 has been serving me very well since the day i got it (3 years ago). Main usage is on musics and i never bother to blast it. Normally i place the treble knob at middle position while the bass turned to minimum.

3 years and still going strong, volume knob is still perfect! smile.gif But then, atp3 is a bottleneck for my 0404 card; gonna say bye-bye to my beloved atp3 soon to get a pair of bookshelves.

xooper
post Jun 15 2006, 05:22 PM

215 posts

I hv Acs 48. Acs 45.1 VS4121, Atp3, Acs 44, and Acs 340..... all in service...am i AL fans?
TSk_kokkhin
post Jun 15 2006, 07:56 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(xooper @ Jun 15 2006, 05:22 PM)
I hv Acs 48. Acs 45.1 VS4121, Atp3, Acs 44, and Acs 340..... all in service...am i AL fans?
definately you are... laugh.gif
Thrust
post Jun 15 2006, 08:04 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

In my life i've just bought 1pair of AL speaker which is 45.1 Been using it for 8 years now. Kekeke tongue.gif
yEsorNo
post Jun 16 2006, 01:22 AM

305 posts

MX5021 user reported in flex.gif
mxploit
post Jun 16 2006, 03:48 AM

266 posts

Been a user of ACS54, ADA305, AM4100 and ADA885.

My opinion:

ACS54 - Subwoofer is way too small. If i'm not mistaken, it's a mere 4" driver. Satellites are okay. Sold off after 2 weeks of use. Pure crap!

ADA305 - Good and reliable speakers. Missed the time back then during the Windows 98SE and ME era where you get to synchro the settings of the speakers via the software provided. Speakers are still doing great, currently attached to my mom's computer. Had it for almost 9 years.

AM4100 - Dual driver woofers, kinda boomy but lacks the lower extension. Limitation could be due to driver size...a mere 5.25". The highs are acceptable...but lacks midbass, the same scenario as ATP3 and VS4121 which my friend owns. Took quite some time to calibrate the EQ to bring up the midbass of the VS and ATP.

ADA885 - Satellites are good, LCD is an eye-popper and gets ppl envious. Definitely of the best digital speaker back then during the 'ADA' line-up. Bass is definitely not the right kind for music, not tight...but can be corrected if you know how to play with the EQ of add-on soundcards.

Sad to say but i've retired from Altec Lansing. Recently sold my Logitech Z680 and got myself a Klipsch. Would really wanna try the MX5021 soon, for my secondary rig.

This post has been edited by mxploit: Jun 16 2006, 03:53 AM

141 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0304sec    1.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:47 PM