13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

coolkwc
post Feb 15 2008, 10:15 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

As I said in the earlier thread, I prefer EQ setting rather than just let it flat, here is my Winamp EQ setting....This work nicely on my MX5021(3/5 or 7 anticlockwise fine rotate from 4/5 for both bass and treble) pairing with XtremeMusic... icon_rolleyes.gif

This might not suit ur taste, but feel free to give any feedback regarding this setting.... rclxms.gif

rolleyes.gif PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS SETTING ONLY APPLY ON AL MX5021, AS SAME EQ SETTING SHOULDN'T APPLY ON DIFFERENT SPEAKER, TRY IT AT YOUR RISK!!!!! rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Feb 16 2008, 11:10 PM
coolkwc
post Feb 17 2008, 11:56 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Big-time Dealer @ Feb 15 2008, 11:46 PM)
no one responds me.. cry.gif
plss someone tell me im in a hurry.  icon_question.gif
thanx.  biggrin.gif
Go audition urself la...I heard ATP3 before, but not ACS54 4.1, so can't tell u which one is better

coolkwc
post Feb 20 2008, 02:57 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Feb 20 2008, 08:38 AM)
hmm, just a thought
would it be appropriate to plug in the altec lansing to home tv?
icon_rolleyes.gif
Sure...just plug in to any sound source u like, as long as the TV got 3.5mm minijack...PC speaker not necessary must use with PC...If you like, u can even plug into your alarm clock icon_rolleyes.gif sweat.gif
coolkwc
post Feb 23 2008, 12:55 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(shinjun @ Feb 23 2008, 12:42 AM)
I'm much in love wif my CS21 than MX5021(coz i don't own a MX5021 laugh.gif )
LOL rclxm9.gif

Added on February 23, 2008, 12:57 am
QUOTE(domo_kun @ Feb 22 2008, 11:47 PM)
haha, cs21 is much cheaper than mx5021
going to scout around for more
thank you!
Audition the speaker urself, its important, veryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy important.... shocking.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Feb 23 2008, 12:57 AM
coolkwc
post Feb 23 2008, 01:28 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Feb 23 2008, 01:13 AM)
not many shops in LY have demo units on cs21 and mx5021
correct me if i'm wrong, though...
then u go to the shop that have tongue.gif ...
coolkwc
post Feb 23 2008, 01:30 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Feb 23 2008, 11:47 AM)
i would need an extra connector if i'm to link mx5021 to my tv, right? anyone did it before? would the sound quality be the same if it's linked to the tv? hmm. thanks!
Your TV out is RCA or just 3.5mm ministereo jack? if it is RCA, then you can buy RCA to 3.5mm stereo cable, it cheap only...sound quality depends on ur TV out, if it is bad, then MX5021 will produce same bad sound and vise-versa...

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Feb 23 2008, 01:31 PM
coolkwc
post Feb 23 2008, 02:44 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Feb 23 2008, 02:01 PM)
RCA, it got the red, white, and yellow thing tongue.gif
what do you call that? tv outputs? or rca outputs?
meaning, if i hook it up to my dvd player, then how will it be?
the quality would be as according to the dvd format?
hmm.gif
Actually u no need extra cable to do that, i just remember that MX5021 provide the RCA to 3.5mm stereo converter, just hook up the RCA cable and the 3.5mm stereo line of ur MX5021 to the converter.... nod.gif
coolkwc
post Feb 23 2008, 05:45 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(JetOoi @ Feb 23 2008, 04:29 PM)
My old ACS54 is near dead. The volume is extremely soft even I turn the knob to max. But once in a while it will "awake" for 1-2 seconds then back to low volume again. Tried with headphone it's alright so should not be sound card problem. Any expert here know is there a cheap cure for this or I should start to save money for a new 1 already? Thanks in advance for advice
Probably ur volume knob got problem...I will open and test it myself if i am u....
coolkwc
post Feb 24 2008, 03:00 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(JetOoi @ Feb 24 2008, 02:49 PM)
Opened up and see nothing wrong with the volume knob board.. Even open up the sub-woofer but found no loose connection or trace of burnt components. Suspecting the main cable (thick cable connected to right front satellite) causing the problem but no multimeter to prove it. Any suggestion/idea?
Then bought multimeter lo, cheap only ma...

Added on February 24, 2008, 3:01 pm
QUOTE(domo_kun @ Feb 24 2008, 12:59 PM)
announcing a proud owner of AL MX5021!
rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
so happy oh...satisfied or not? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Feb 24 2008, 03:01 PM
coolkwc
post Feb 24 2008, 10:21 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Feb 24 2008, 04:06 PM)
yeah, very
it works perfectly playing DVDs on my PC, well, at least, to my likings la
as for music, if the bitrate is pretty low, then the sound quality would be really bad
no complain on the treble, though, at least not that i can found, now
have yet to try it out on my home tv and the dvd player
honestly speaking, this pair of speakers are really good, very satisfy with it
and it really shake up my room, even when it's on to the 4th led
thanks for all the suggestions and tips, ya!
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
Honestly as MX5021 user too, the movie is sound good without any adjustment...but i strongly advise do some EQ tweaking when listen to song, the performance of tweeter just shadowed by the midrange and bass...but depends on ur taste, if u feel good in default,then is OK. nod.gif
coolkwc
post Feb 25 2008, 12:00 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Feb 24 2008, 10:36 PM)
give me some advice la
i play mp3 with winamp
cannot use the preset settings at all
have to adjust by myself until it sounds okay
haha, how about you guys?
go to C:\Documents and Settings\ur accout name\Application Data\Winamp and open the "winamp" config file to edit the "eq_data" to 32,42,39,32,32,44,43,26,25,27 .....instead only using this, i also using "electri-Q" to boost the frequency beyond 16kHz and 40-55hz....u can see here...http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/296768/+1320

Maybe u will think the tweaking are too aggressive especially the bass and treble part...but the treble is just smooth after this tweaking thumbup.gif ...this works on me, u can try it...just set your own EQ if u don't like it.. nod.gif

EDIT: forget to tell u that i listen 80% chinese song and only 20% english song, so this setting is most suitable to chinese song... doh.gif

Added on February 25, 2008, 12:02 am
QUOTE(kc_soo @ Feb 25 2008, 12:00 AM)
Hey guys~~
need some help here~~
My ADA 885 got abit problem~ sometimes dont have sound while playing music/drama~ look like cant received the input signal or else~
any shops or pro technician can intro to me??

I love this speaker because its sound still superb even i have used it for 6 years~ i dont wish to throw it away~ pls help~

from soo
Ur input "3.5mm stereo line" changeable or just fix at the speaker? Maybe the input line give u this problem...

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Feb 25 2008, 12:11 AM
coolkwc
post Feb 25 2008, 12:22 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(kc_soo @ Feb 25 2008, 12:14 AM)
it is changeable ~~ i will get a new cable and try as soon as possible before i get another speaker~ lol~
thankx for your concern and recommanded~ any other possible reasons for my speakers?

from soo
U try to swing the cable when u playing sound, if the problem occur, then is ur cable problem....but if not, then save ur money for the cable...
coolkwc
post Feb 25 2008, 12:43 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(kc_soo @ Feb 25 2008, 12:25 AM)
i tried unplug and plug in again with little swing when it went no sound~
but no works~ so this consider cable problem ??

from soo
U try swing it when ur speaker got sound biggrin.gif ...
coolkwc
post Feb 25 2008, 01:01 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(kc_soo @ Feb 25 2008, 12:57 AM)
yeah~ just tried~ no any effect happened when i swing the cable when the speaker playing music~
headache~~  rclxub.gif

from soo
Then this not the cable problem lo...maybe ur sound card problem? hmm.gif just plug ur speaker to other source to see whether got problem or not...
coolkwc
post Feb 25 2008, 01:42 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(kc_soo @ Feb 25 2008, 01:38 AM)
oya~ haha~ blur till forgot the easiest method... aiks~
i will use the mp3 player to test the speaker whole night~
thankx for your remind~ vahn87~

from soo
That means u are not go to sleep tonight? lol rclxm9.gif
coolkwc
post Feb 25 2008, 01:51 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(kc_soo @ Feb 25 2008, 01:47 AM)
sure will sleep~ but will keep checking whether the speaker problem or mp3 player not running when it no sound when i am awake~
HAHA biggrin.gif ,test tmr la, as u said the problem occur randomly, maybe it no sound after u fall sleep and got sound when u awake... rclxm9.gif
coolkwc
post Feb 28 2008, 01:11 PM

3,112 posts

Added on February 27, 2008, 8:19 pmoh, by the way
some of the guys here complained of the treble
and some suggestions saying to change the cable?
change what cable?
sweat.gif

[/quote]

Change the original satellite cable...original satellite cable are too long and too thin, not good for audio...even change to RM2.50 per meter "cheap" wire can hear the difference...

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Feb 28 2008, 01:12 PM
coolkwc
post Feb 28 2008, 06:48 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Feb 28 2008, 01:36 PM)
original satellite cable as in which one?
the black and red cables connecting each of the 2 speakers to the subwoofer?
Ya, u are right.... rclxms.gif
coolkwc
post Feb 29 2008, 10:43 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Feb 28 2008, 10:08 PM)
you have a picture of how yours look like?
thicker and shorter?
eh, longer better maaa
so, i can place the speakers further a part
no?
I not change yet, my friends change it and i hear the difference...he use the cheap cable only, RM2.50 per meter and he bought 2m only...if u want to use long wire, then choose the thick enough cable...
coolkwc
post Feb 29 2008, 06:03 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Feb 29 2008, 05:36 PM)
umm, umm
if got pictures, it'll be more than helpful, bro
ehehehe, a bit hard for me to imagine
takut kena con, actually
sweat.gif
Sorry i don't have camera, can't provide u picture....i can tell you the cable my friend used is "transparent", can see the copper inside...Nvm, u go to the audio shop and ask for it, then u won't be con...

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0528sec    1.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:10 PM