13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

coolkwc
post Jul 24 2007, 12:55 AM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

I am using Altec Lansing MX5021.

This speaker need a perfect match from sound card and media player in order to squeeze the THX certified bass. The frequency response of a woofer unit is mainly at between 35-50Hz, (this can tested by using SONY SOUND FORGE)....which people call "deep bass". Equalizer of many media player today can adjust as low as 63Hz only, so a good quality sound card which can adjust 30-50Hz is needed if you love those"deep bass".

For the midrange and high, the satellites are produce excess loudness between 3-8Khz(both bass and treble set to flat), it can hurt ur ears when listening to the songs which rich in electronic guitar(like songs from linkin park), but it still can be control by using the equalizer, just set those slider 3~5dB below the default will make the satellite sound better...nevertheless, i still thought it is a good speaker because it sound still can be control by the user.....

coolkwc
post Aug 22 2007, 12:20 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(JY. @ Aug 20 2007, 09:04 PM)
Any comment about CS 21, might get 1 very soon.. Can owner give some review?
If can, add RM100 to get MX5021, u wun regret one....

Added on August 22, 2007, 12:43 am
QUOTE(sunauto @ Aug 14 2007, 12:23 AM)
FX5051 one ler ....... the new model. I got the price already, it's around RM940, dunno got cheaper in KL. Checked all the price lists, none of the shops carry this model.
For me, I will buy MX5021 + 2X ATP3, RM530+RM320=RM850 for setup new standard of 6.3 system icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif rather than put 940 for 5 pieces of tiny satellite and 1 unit subwoofer only......with the setup above, u will get 6 satellite plus 3 subwoofer, 1 THX system + surround channel with subwoofer + center with subwoofer, i am sure the quality is far better than FX5051 itself.... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Aug 22 2007, 12:43 AM
coolkwc
post Aug 22 2007, 02:22 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Aug 22 2007, 01:49 AM)
Oh my god man, you can't pair like this. Satellite of MX5021 and ATP3 got big different. If you pair together, I can't imagine the result. You may get a worse result.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif u can't imagine because u r not try it...from the spec and power rating, it seems got big different, but in practical, it really works....I own a set of MX5021, i put my speaker that i am using before in the real to do the real surround job, in movie and game, no problem at all, because u only need that kind of "positioning effect".....in music, i will switch back to 2.1 configuration in sound driver, no point u use 5.1 to listen for stereo music, if not, FX5051 wun include the so-called Dual mode function which switch between stereo mode and surround mode. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
coolkwc
post Aug 22 2007, 08:25 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(xiong91 @ Aug 22 2007, 05:12 PM)
wanna ask..altec lansing gt out headphones product one?
Altec Lansing is speaker expert, but totally not for headphones, just forget about it... cool.gif sweat.gif
coolkwc
post Aug 22 2007, 08:31 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(ataris @ Aug 22 2007, 05:35 PM)
proud owner of MX5021.
What aspect u proud for???because it can show u are a rich guy??? hmm.gif hmm.gif haha, kidding only... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif I owner of this speaker too... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Added on August 22, 2007, 8:37 pm
QUOTE(PcWork @ Aug 22 2007, 08:28 PM)
no lah

i am proud owner of altec lansing IM716
hehehe
very nice
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
IM716 user Reporting in.
got it for RM 380 from walabies.
worth every single cent i paid..
Wa, rich... sweat.gif sweat.gif can u share more about this headphone???like its sound quality or something u wan to say... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Aug 22 2007, 08:37 PM
coolkwc
post Aug 22 2007, 09:25 PM

3,112 posts

Wanna ask question here...When the MX5021 first introduced actually??? Just weird about the manual b'cos printed in year 2003... hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

Added on August 22, 2007, 9:35 pm
QUOTE(xiong91 @ Aug 22 2007, 09:22 PM)
Respect Altec Lansing... great job for human's ears... will keep supporting Altec Lansing product.. but Altec Lansing IM716 headphone reli too expensive lah..RM380 for a headphone=.= ...
with this price, u can find many others brand good quality earphone adi.... sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Aug 22 2007, 09:35 PM
coolkwc
post Jan 18 2008, 03:18 PM

3,112 posts

To Jimmy Auw:
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif Why u mod ur MX5021? Why u open ur satellite? Why u open ur subwoofer? Why u snap all those pictures? Why u exposed the ugly truth? RM500 paid for poor electronic part inside, this truth is clue, i don want to believe, i don want to believe... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
coolkwc
post Jan 20 2008, 10:27 PM

3,112 posts

just saw the skydriver MX5021 modding...I saw the removed dust shield of ur satellite, the shield was glued original,right? and wanna ask u whether got listened to the "original" MX5021 or not? How the sound compared to the so called "cut cost" version of MX5021? because sometimes said it is cut cost product just judging in term of the numbers of electronic component used inside is not fair(The earlier version is 3-way crossover, latter version 2-way)....because i saw the earlier version of MX5021 satellite midrange drivers are flat at center, the redesign of crossover maybe due to changes of that drivers...
coolkwc
post Jan 22 2008, 12:14 AM

3,112 posts

no THX certified? U means the THX logo is "cheating" is it? sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Jan 22 2008, 12:15 AM
coolkwc
post Jan 22 2008, 09:13 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Jan 22 2008, 01:14 AM)
Read SkyDriver 's replied.
Of course i read before i replied, actually my question is for skydriver's... blush.gif
coolkwc
post Jan 23 2008, 01:01 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Jan 22 2008, 11:33 PM)
Ermmm RM750 a year ago...got it from JB...the seller said warehouse sale...dunno.... sweat.gif
JB Landmark ah?

Added on January 23, 2008, 1:23 am
QUOTE(jaylhw1 @ Jan 23 2008, 12:56 AM)
Anyone pls tell me which to choose, i have three subwoofer speaker in my mind (altec lansing fx 4021, edifier S2.1m and edifier c3),i had tested all these three speakers, but not sure to buy which.

Altec lansing fx 4021

pros

Sound quality is good(clear than edifier s2.1m and c3),
bass is not bad (the performance is between c3 and s2.1m)

Cons

No warranty for all alter lansing subwoofer speakers if distorted.

Edifier S2.1M

pros

Excellent bass performance(best among three)
Warranty is still valid if distorted(edifier)

Cons

IS not clear if playing a slow song.(worse than the other two subwoofer speaker)

Edifier C3
Pros

song is not as clear as alter lansing fx 4021( but still acceptable,better than S2.1M in this field)
With remote control
2 input
Amplifer
EIDC (prevent sound distorted)

Cons

The bass is too low
Song is not clear as altec lansing fx4021.

I usually use my subwoofer speaker in listening song, and gaming.

I do not need too much of bass, but the bass of C3 is too low. Altec lansing fx 4021 has the bass level which could satisfy me. Edifier S2.1 M has the most excellent bass compared with the other two.

I intend to buy altec lansing, but there is no warranty if distorted, this is why is still doing the consideration.

The bass of s2.1m is fantastic. but not clear, i try to play some slow song, but some instruments sound can not be listened clearly, and it is the weakness when i listening to slow song.

Help!!!

I want a sound-clear subwoofer speaker , and bass level in the middle level??
which should i choose.should i choose altec lansing??
Quite confusing of the word u use...wat means by "if distorted"? Sound will distorted if the bass level or the volume set too high, sure no warranty...
Confused on this sentence also...."Altec lansing fx 4021 has the bass level which could satisfy me. Edifier S2.1 M has the most excellent bass compared with the other two"....really don know what u means, for u, which subwoofer produced the bass u want?

Actually in this class of speaker u need to compromise between Good bass and clear vocal, and usually u need to adjust the equalizer to get the sweet spot of the speaker....

For these three speaker here, i had listened to the Edi S2.1M and C3 before...i vote for S2.1M....

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Jan 23 2008, 01:30 AM
coolkwc
post Jan 23 2008, 01:48 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(jaylhw1 @ Jan 23 2008, 01:37 AM)
There is stil the least chance of sound distortion even if i dont tune it to the max volume due to length of period of me using it.

What i meant was that the Altec Lansing FX4021 has the bass effect that synchronizes with the music well. That itself has already satisfied me. However, Edifier 2.1M has the best bass effect of all three.

On the other hand,  Edifier C3 has the worst bass effect among all 3.
Only too high volume and too much bass will "distort" ur subwoofer, distortion won't affected by the length of period u use...
"Edifier C3 has the worst bass effect among all 3",then u just throw away from ur option list la, why u need to consider it....
Now only leave FX4021 and S2.1M...Altec Lansing speaker seldom spoil in normal used, because it just only moderate power amp inside,not like high power Creative Gigawork which easily break down due to overheating,so no need worried about the warranty, just choose the sound u want....
coolkwc
post Jan 23 2008, 02:17 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(jaylhw1 @ Jan 23 2008, 02:00 AM)
do u think fx 4021 is ok? u try this soound system be4??Is mx 5021 better than 4021??
i haven't try it before, i am now using MX5021...FX4021 more expensive than MX5021...but in this thread, people prefer MX5021 in RM500-600 price range...I think u better listen to the MX5021 first...

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Jan 23 2008, 02:25 AM
coolkwc
post Jan 23 2008, 02:57 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(jaylhw1 @ Jan 23 2008, 02:29 AM)
4021 is around rm 400 wor...is cheaper than 5021.. the sound of 5021 is not that clear right( treble)?

Added on January 23, 2008, 2:31 am4021 is only rm400 wor...is cheaper than 5021, i also tried 5021 be4, it bass effect is nice , but the sound not clear right?
RM400+? where u get that price?i saw the price list from pczone of lawyat, FX4021 cost RM595, 10 more than 5021....

MX5021 very good in low bass extension, and the mid range full and rich, but the high frequency a bit less...but it isn't problem for me, I won't trust any default sound on ANY SPEAKER, i only use WINAMP to listen song, i just tune the equalizer to compensate the lack of high frequencies, 12-16khz i raise 4dB, 3-6khz pull down 2dB, this adjustment is enough to reproduced the "crisp" treble...MX5021 is tunable, really....

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Jan 23 2008, 03:10 AM
coolkwc
post Jan 23 2008, 02:11 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(SkyDriver @ Jan 23 2008, 01:11 PM)
personally, MX5021's bass is very blurry, unlike klipsch GMX-A (the bass is punching clearly).

adjust the EQ means you spoilt the song composer's setting, who used few hundred thousands in editing equipment.
"adjust the EQ means you spoilt the song composer's setting", this is common phrase i heard so much time...but please keep in mind that unless u are using the EXACTLY same speaker as the composer, if not equalizer tuning is unavoidable...of course must know how to tune, if not really will spoilt it (if u tried or saw the audio system used in performance purpose, NO ANY of them are flat in EQ, impossible)
coolkwc
post Jan 25 2008, 11:36 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(TaQ @ Jan 25 2008, 04:07 PM)
the bass of mx5021 ... sounds like a Hi-Fi system of a HUGE audio setup ... very similar to a system of 20 years(ya VERY OLD) at my home town which has a record player on top 2 cassset player.. needle dail radio tuner, amp and etc layer by layer and wif 2 speakers and in which IF the whole set is placed close together is the size of a big computer table

IMHO it tries 2 emulate sounds which is similar to those systems givng it depth and thats why the bass sounds the way it is very different from the puncy "upfront" bass that most pc systems have ... the difference is that the treble tend to be rather piercing sharp and sounds unnatural or it will hv 2 be rather flat to blend in with the bass.... cause its a 2.1 system... if it was a 2.0 system the sync would be much better blend i think

belive me or not ... set ur speaker treble to 2 dots and bass to 2 dots and turn the volume up to a reasonable sound so that u can hear it clearly outside the room where ur speakers r placed and u will feel that it sounds like a system which is much bigger than the mx5021 BUT at treble at 2 dots ... u lack the crisp clear highs and the different levels of it which u get from most female vocalist sad.gif

Added on January 25, 2008, 4:09 pmthe pak sound ... try removing ur sound card and reinstall it ... or maybe ur mobo gila gila d

try diff slots also
QUOTE(SkyDriver @ Jan 25 2008, 08:59 PM)
personally, the subwoofer of MX5021 is totally suks when i compare it with klipsch gmx's subwoofer. (darn blurry bass from mx5021).

**i'm not comparing the power of the output, but the sound quality...

sound card : prodigy 7.1
front speaker : MX5021
rear speaker : GMX
setup (setting) : clone 4-way form out 1, 2
Blurry bass? Need Puncy upfront bass? Then i think other than klipsch GMX, the bass from AL VS4121 should suit ur both taste...just guess only... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Jan 25 2008, 11:39 PM
coolkwc
post Jan 26 2008, 11:33 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Jan 26 2008, 10:51 AM)
I think they means the MX5021's bass not tight enough ?! But VS4121 totally out of this, its bass seems like the woofer box got one big hole  sweat.gif
Guess wrongly?! sweat.gif
coolkwc
post Jan 27 2008, 08:51 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(TaQ @ Jan 27 2008, 03:59 AM)
hm... a friend who stays a few rooms away on my campus has a vs4124 and i personally felt the bass sounds better den my mx5021 infact i find the overall sound is better due 2 the small room size ... but my mx5021 at home ... now dats another different devil biggrin.gif

SkyDriver Yes i know d "HIT" of d bass more like a proper "thud" rather then a mild "thud(blur/aftereffect)thud(blur/aftereffect)thud" which makes is muddy ... but i felt it gets depth from there as well.

and as i said earlier 2 match up with the bass u wil need to lower down ur treble .. else it sill sound frekishly wierd with extra thin and sharp highs and the "muddy" bass ...

lowering the treble 2 match the "muddy bass" it will produce an effect which i found in many speakers which is many more times more expensive and larger 2.0 systems ... of course mx5021 is nothing compared but ... at least the feel is there... warm soothing ... "tame/mild/chil out sound" with sometimes 2 much emphasis on d mids on certain tracks ...@.@

try plug in a headphone on the headphone jack and den remove it it will sound very "thin" like common pc speakers then.

IMHO ... IMHO
QUOTE(SkyDriver @ Jan 25 2008, 08:59 PM)
personally, the subwoofer of MX5021 is totally suks when i compare it with klipsch gmx's subwoofer. (darn blurry bass from mx5021).

**i'm not comparing the power of the output, but the sound quality...

sound card : prodigy 7.1
front speaker : MX5021
rear speaker : GMX
setup (setting) : clone 4-way form out 1, 2
Yap, in the same hostel, vs4121 bass sound really can spread further distance compare with MX5021, but i don't feel that bass sound is better than MX5021..

personally i don't agree with lowering the treble furthermore because i feel that the treble "not so clear" or "not crisp enough" in default unless u are watching movie, but i do agree that the bass "thud(blur/aftereffect)thud(blur/aftereffect)thud" make the bass effect more depth and undirectional, with proper placement of the subwoofer and some EQ tweaking(i still stand on my point that EQ tweaking is unavoidable icon_rolleyes.gif ), u can't determine the bass direction precisely and the bass is just coming from all the direction, it is not "upfront", so it is not "puncy" for some people...

but for me the "muddy/blur/continuous" bass between two hit is somewhat a "connector" on it, the bass is continuous...so this is just the taste matter of different user, this is not because AL wrongly design this kind of "suck/muddy,blur" bass, i define it as "soft bass", many hardware review said it is revolution redesign of the woofer unit and totally different from previous model which well known as "bass boomer", so don't said MX5021 bass is suck just because compare to the puncy bass u like, is unfair, they are just two kind of totally different design...need puncy/upfront bass? just go for klipsch GMX or logitech Z-XX00 series or maybe...tight/solid/puncy car audio... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Jan 27 2008, 09:09 PM
coolkwc
post Feb 15 2008, 09:38 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(yOuNg$tEr @ Feb 15 2008, 12:14 AM)
Hey guys..just wanna know...
is the ATP3 still available in the market?
how much is it now?
This speaker still hot after released so "LLLLLLLLong" time.....yap, u can find it easily....price RM160-180....not recommended shakehead.gif
coolkwc
post Feb 15 2008, 09:51 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ Feb 15 2008, 09:50 PM)
yaya....better get vs4121
ATP3 vs VS4121....Better go for ATP3....VS4121 not recommended shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Feb 15 2008, 10:16 PM

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top