17 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 >Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

raymondtong94
post Nov 27 2013, 01:19 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(eiqiu.24 @ Nov 27 2013, 12:59 AM)
haha sorry.. budget below 3.5K ..
based on your requirement, something fast, fluid and light can be fullfilled with SSD fitted laptops but you may need to get external hard drive for storing more data. and for your info, Acer and Dells' ultrabook lineups are pretty good so you dont need to worry much about the quality.

Samsung
Series 7 Ultra, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2999[JBL][1.46kg], 4GB, W8

Acer
Aspire S5-391-53314G12, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3499[1.2kg], W7HP

ASUS
UX31A-R4005H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920 x 1080)@RM3599[1.3kg], 4GB, W8

HP
Envy SpectreXT 13-2215TU, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM2899[1.39kg], 4GB, W8,backlit keyboard

Lenovo
IdeaPad Yoga 13, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3399, 4GB, 2 years; colors: grey/orange

prices are RRP and negotiable.
raymondtong94
post Nov 27 2013, 02:04 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(eiqiu.24 @ Nov 27 2013, 01:51 AM)
thank you so much for the fast reply.. but how about apple macbook air.. is it touch screen?? and 1 more thing.. if could my future laptop can last to 3-4 years..?
MBA isnt touch screen. what you pay for Apple is actually the premium build quality of their products.
if your laptop is well maintained, not constantly exposing it to extreme heat, then it will last long.
raymondtong94
post Nov 27 2013, 07:47 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(wavemech @ Nov 27 2013, 12:13 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - no preference.
2. Budget - 2.8k +/- 300.
3. Usage - multimedia, medium gaming, engineering software, preferred light weight
4. Preferred spec : 4th i7, nvidia gt750m DDR5 or above, 8GB DDR3 ram
5. Preferred laptop/screen size - anywhere from 14 and above
Lenovo
Y410p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5)@RM3199, 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty

this is the best you can get. price is RRP and negotiable.
raymondtong94
post Nov 27 2013, 07:49 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Neomax3 @ Nov 27 2013, 06:56 PM)
Here we go again  rolleyes.gif

1. Preferred Brand - no preference.
2. Budget - 3k to 4.5k (strictly max price here)
3. Usage - mostly gaming n multimedia
4. Preferred spec : any as long can play BF4 n CoD Ghost on 1080p high settings
5. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14" and above
ASUS
N56JR-S4018H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT760M + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 12GB, 1TB, W8.1, backlit keyboard

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GE60-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4299,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard

Illegear
RE-15, i5-4200M + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3499[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]

prices are RRP and negotiable. best if you could go for Illegear, as they are currently offering promotional upgrades for November, so you have to grab it quick. icon_rolleyes.gif
raymondtong94
post Nov 27 2013, 07:54 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(ckeong89 @ Nov 27 2013, 07:23 PM)
Hi Sifus,
i need you guys recommendation for laptop again.

1. Preferred Brand -  laptop/workstation, best i7 processor, 16gb ram and above, except acer
2. Budget - rm4.5k - 8k
3. Usage - Computer simulation (high computational consumption)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14"and above

this will be made for recommendation to research team which need the high computational requirement for simulation.  afaik, illegear brand is good but worried other in the team cannot accept it. to expedite the simulation process, very fast processor and good graphics card is required.

btw how is toshiba brand recently? i mean overall performance and build quality, does it still receive good feedback like previous few years back??

why dont you show them the specs after customization? persuading them to get Illegear is a better choice, unless you can look at this :

HP
ZBook 15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia Quadro K1100M + (1920x1080; anti glare)@RM6399, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8

Dell M4800

prices are RRP and negotiable. btw, Toshiba dont have workstation laptops. even the mighty gaming branded MSI has a workstation option but it is not available in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Nov 27 2013, 07:56 PM
raymondtong94
post Nov 27 2013, 09:31 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Neomax3 @ Nov 27 2013, 07:57 PM)
Thanks!

really appreciate it.. by the way can 750m play BF4 on high settings 1080p? If yes, that's great!  thumbup.gif
why not? by the way, actually now is 2nd batch of Y510P. now they are refreshed with the better performance GT755M.
raymondtong94
post Nov 27 2013, 09:34 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(ckeong89 @ Nov 27 2013, 09:23 PM)
Sifu raymond, i mean the toshiba brand overall performance for the laptops? last few years back, toshiba have a very good reputation (before asus and lenovo buy ibm pc). Any comment on the toshiba?

thanks for the options. other than workstations, any laptops with the spec (best i7, very good graphic card, 16gb ram and more, 14 inch and above, budget 4.5k to 8k) ??
Toshiba brand is good but the warranty service is a little flawed (IMO). however, branding doesnt determine your laptop's performance, its the hardware that determines it.

the Dell Precision M4800 (which is latest) was the best option for your old men to do a better job. they will definitely love the quadro and firepro cards in it.

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Nov 27 2013, 09:34 PM
raymondtong94
post Nov 27 2013, 09:36 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(AxeFire @ Nov 27 2013, 07:44 PM)
1.Any Brands
Dell Inspiron 7000 series? I like its build (like Mac) but its heavy
alternative?

2.RM around 3.5k

3.Usage : multimedia work using adobe programs Ps Il Id Ae... Some latest games at decent frames and graphics settings at least mid - high

4.Screen Size: 14/15 inch not sure if bigger screen is worth the weight sacrifice

5.Weight : around 2.5kg? less is better

6. Touchscreen is great but not a must I can still get wacom drawing tablet for touch use
this is another that best fit Inspiron 15 7000 but performance is a little weaker (due to the DDR3 graphics card)

Acer
V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8
raymondtong94
post Nov 29 2013, 09:08 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(ashx @ Nov 28 2013, 11:03 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - Any
2. Budget - RM2.5k Max
3. Usage - lite photoshop (photographer wannabe), streaming and daily word processing. Probably lite gaming as well e.g Sim 3.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - at least 14"

It's for my wife. She just wants to edit photos, do some work, stream music/videos e.g netflix. And once awhile sim 3 lol.

Some things that could sway me is the warrany. Always loved Dells. I wonder with this budget, it could include SSD? Previous notebook was a pain for my wife when it starts to bog down with a 5k rpm HDD.

Thanks for the help!
Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049

HP
Pavilion 14-N059TX, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099[2.03kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; colors: silver/black

Lenovo
Z510, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs, color: white

prices are RRP and negotiable. for the SSD, just get an aftermarket upgrade. 128GB RM300+/-, 256GB RM600 +/- icon_rolleyes.gif
raymondtong94
post Nov 29 2013, 09:11 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(shanjuen @ Nov 28 2013, 11:13 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - Any
2. Budget - RM1.5k Max
3. Usage - SPSS, Excel statistical data analysis, streaming and daily word processing,
4. Preferred laptop/screen size -any but light weight is preferred

Dell
Inspiron 14-3437, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1399[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1549

this is the only one that best fits your requirement.
raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 01:54 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(aristotletan @ Nov 30 2013, 10:40 AM)
can let me know where you get this price?
every famous IT retailer are selling the SSDs around this price range. note the point +/-
goods one will be around 400 though.
raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 01:56 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Poison-artz @ Nov 30 2013, 09:18 AM)
1.any brand except Acer.
2.rm2000
3.internet,movie,play lite game.
4.14inchi
5.must be lite,no heavy(less that 1.5kg)*
6.ssd .
7.with or without os.
no matchable option for you within this price range. however, you may consider this :

Dell
Vostro 5470, i3-4010U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, 3-cell
raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 02:07 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Nov 30 2013, 10:28 AM)
1.) VOSTRO 5470 5470-20452G-DOS – 14” / i5-4200U / 4GB / 500GB / GT740M 2G / DOS
2.) Inspiron 7437 Ultrabook - 7437U-2065SG-W8 – 14” / i5-4200U / 4+2GB RAM / 500GB + 32MSSD / HD4400 / W8
3.) Inspiron 7537 - 7537T-2067SG-W8 – 15.6” Touch / i5-4200U / 4GB + 2GB RAM / 750GB / HD4400 / W8

anyone know how long those 2 battery can last?
the ram/hdd upgradeable?
how the screen?
for inspiron 7437, is there any model the screen is FHD with IPS?
thanks.
we dont know how long can the battery last or you might need to check internet reviews. however, i can tell you based on the specs.
the Inspiron 7437 has the best battery life but upgrade ability is less compared to the other 2.
Vostro 5470's battery life is okay and its the lightest among these 3.
Inspiron 7537 has average battery life (could last about 4-5 hours).
all these 3 models, the screens are tip-top in colour quality but my winner goes to Inspiron 7437 and 7537.

for the 7437, there are no full HD with IPS models. all Dell's laptops comes with their own TN panel technology called True Life but the colour quality is almost the same as an IPS screen.
raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 08:29 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(deadboy 164 @ Nov 30 2013, 12:00 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Asus, Tosiba, Dell
2. Budget: RM 2000
3. Usage: Watch Movie, Web surfing, movie streaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: -
5. Personal preference: HDMI port, light weight
QUOTE(Woopy_901 @ Nov 30 2013, 08:23 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Asus, lenovo or dell
2. Budget: RM 2000-2300
3. Usage: Watch Movie, Web surfing, movie streaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14" and above
5. Personal preference: thin and light weight (this is the main factor im looking for)

thanks guys!
Dell
Vostro 5470, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1899, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, 3-cell

this is the only best option to fit your usage. price is RRP and negotiable.
raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 08:38 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(serjtankian57 @ Nov 30 2013, 05:09 PM)
Sifu appreciate if you could help me  notworthy.gif

1. Preferred Brand: Asus, Dell
2. Budget: RM 2500
3. Usage: gaming full spec if possible (FIFA & FM)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: the bigger the better?
5. Personal preference: HDMI port, light weight
the bigger the laptop, the heavier the laptop. the thinner the laptop, the more heat the laptop will trap. since the games you mentioned is not performance hungry, an integrated graphics can even do the job much more better. anyway, your options :

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049
Vostro 5470, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2249, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, 3-cell

ASUS
K451LB-WX071H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199, 4GB, 750GB, W8
A550CC-XX530H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT720M@RM2099[2kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; colors: black/red/white
S550CB-CJ102H i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499, 4GB, W8

however, you might consider Lenovo ones :

Lenovo
Z510, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs, color: white

prices are RRP and negotiable. use the remaining budget to extend the warranty to 3 years on-site. icon_rolleyes.gif
raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 08:54 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Judecat @ Nov 30 2013, 07:31 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Anything, last choice Acer.
2. Budget: About 3.5k. Max 4k.
3. Usage: Gaming (Bioshock Inf, etc.), PS, AE, Il, movies and internet surfing.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14/15 inches. Lightweight with good battery life and cooling system. Touchscreen maybe but I'm getting wacom so if not, it's alright.

My last one was Vaio and it was really great and lasting but I'm aware Vaio is pretty expensive sweat.gif At first i thought of getting Mac Pro but don't know if good for gaming.

Thanks smile.gif
when we talk about cooling system, it is the best to get a thick laptop but it might be heavier. thinner ones look compact and easy to hold but thinness can trap lots of heat, which may result to uncomfortable usage after long hours (if no sufficient cooling was provided, might ended up hardware damage). and to advice, dont get touchscreen laptops, they are very useless and you might dont even use it after you purchased it.
for the screen, it is best if you could go for IPS screens or 90% NTSC gamut screens, since it is useful for your PS and Illustrator works. the laptops that have average screen colour quality to the best :

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

Illegear
RE-15, i5-4200M + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3499[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]

ASUS
N56JR-S4018H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT760M + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 12GB, 1TB, W8.1, backlit keyboard
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte)@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard

Acer
V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8

raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 08:57 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(ha12am @ Nov 30 2013, 08:28 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - Lenovo, Dell or Acer maybe
2. Budget - RM1800
3. Usage - Bit of gaming(fifa14 most probably), web surfing, watching  movies and student use
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - at least 14"

looking for the best one that worth the money.. hope the sifuss here can guide me wink.gif
Dell
Inspiron 14, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699 [1.99kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8.1SL@RM1899
Inspiron 15, i5-4200U + AMD HD8670M @RM1699[2.25kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell, Linux; W8.1SL@RM1899

Acer
E1-472G-54204G75k, i5- 4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 750GB, W8
E1-472G-54204G50, i5- 4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

Lenovo
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB, W8
G500S, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 09:17 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 1 2013, 09:03 AM)
how much the re-sellers like your face  tongue.gif 
to add, some resellers dont give cheaper price by just the face, some judge it by the tone of the customer (my type). if you sounded angry towards them, maybe you dont get the desired price. laugh.gif
raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 10:26 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Judecat @ Dec 1 2013, 10:10 AM)
Thanks for the reply  notworthy.gif

Lightweight is important to me, preferably around/< 2kg cause my Vaio is 2.7kg and it's really heavy to carry around sweat.gif Looks like my only option is Acer V7-582PG-74508G52k, it has great specs, FHD screen and lighter than the rest but I've bad experience with Acer before, it broke in <2 years so I don't know how reliable to go with it now  unsure.gif
Acer's quality is pretty good recently, especially their ultrabook lineups.
raymondtong94
post Dec 1 2013, 04:31 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(aristotletan @ Dec 1 2013, 10:44 AM)
ya so please show me any of them. just one will do. what I concern is the '-' sign, not '+' sign. I don't care with the brand and performance also. Thanks  biggrin.gif
if you ask me about it, i will just say it is a short form for 'around'. i messed up the affix.

17 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 >Top

0.0475sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:04 PM