munkeyflo
post Feb 25 2014, 10:22 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Feb 25 2014, 04:48 PM)
Upon maturity, I don't think it will be auto renewed. If I remember correctly, my last FD was deposited back into my account. I'm assuming it will be at prevailing rate if it auto renews. Too bad it only takes a maximum of 250k.
Depends on the FD promo and what you instruct it to do when you do the placement also I guess. When I placed new FD, it didn't allow me to choose and under Auto-Renewal, it states "Yes". So I assume it's gonna be auto renewed upon maturity. laugh.gif

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Feb 25 2014, 04:59 PM)
Which bank was that  hmm.gif what I know Affin Bank FD auto-renew upon maturity (according to my friend)  nod.gif
Hong Leong Mach FD

Depending on the instructions upon placement. From experience with various banks, most of the time it's auto-renew unless you specify to credit back into account when you do the placement. If you do online FD like on M2U, then can change the instructions anytime.

QUOTE(sonicbull @ Feb 25 2014, 08:52 PM)
Thanks for the reply.
Put Rm1,000 & 6 months later I gained Rm18.50 as interest. Is my calculation correct?
Yup. Mach FD is monthly interest credited into your account. So it's only RM3.08 monthly into your money box account for 6 months.

QUOTE(RO Player @ Feb 25 2014, 09:05 PM)
wow...didnt realise RM1,000 or RM5,000 wont give you much interest...thats show banks make so much money..and doesnt give much to customers...
You big player interest also go in by the thousands ma. laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Feb 25 2014, 10:30 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Feb 25 2014, 10:28 PM)
thousands per month...not per annum.. sweat.gif
Lagi bigger player. Confirm like BCC's 7 figures for sure laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Feb 25 2014, 10:44 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Feb 25 2014, 10:34 PM)
BCC sis...RM4k+ per month.. sweat.gif

MBSB - 4.8% x RM1,000,000 = RM48,000 / 12 = RM4k  drool.gif
No need work edi notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Feb 25 2014, 10:39 PM)
Dear Puan Puan & Tuan Tuan,

Wa beh tahan liao....I want to surrender without conditions.. sad.gif  [attachmentid=3868823]

Now we are peace and no more issue..ha ha..  biggrin.gif ..Thank you..
Ok ok. Change topic laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Feb 26 2014, 12:56 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Feb 26 2014, 12:11 AM)
.....then it will auto renew to board rate

Usually OCBC and UOB do not offer gift to new FD placement or FD renewal;
except new sign-up as their Premier Customer.
OCBC and UOB will auto renew at board rate, which is like below 3%. dry.gif

QUOTE(RO Player @ Feb 26 2014, 01:22 AM)
7 figure amount...definitely need 'stronger' security..

strong password.. >> 16 alphanumeric  (figure yourself)

finger print... some notebook have them... mine have it.. whistling.gif

retina eye scan... tongue.gif  some software using webcam for face identification...dunno eye got or not...
Sometimes password too strong then always forgotten. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 26 2014, 09:42 AM)
Agree that those that sent OTP is best.

Banks that need OTP for Online transfer/perform transaction that I know are Citibank, MBB, RHB and MBB for certain transactions.

Should I go get iPhone5S for fingerprint identification?
OCBC will require to key in OTP immediately after we log in, before we can access our bank accounts or do any transactions. Hong Leong Mach is like Maybank or CIMB, when you do certain transactions then require OTP.

UOB sometimes will ask for OTP, sometimes will not. Sometimes ask twice somemore. doh.gif

munkeyflo
post Feb 26 2014, 01:21 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Feb 26 2014, 01:16 PM)
please refer to post #1629, tq
There is always new and updated ways to hack. Just have to be careful la.
munkeyflo
post Feb 26 2014, 03:35 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Feb 26 2014, 03:12 PM)
Sorry, I did not mean to interrupt this discussion.

Is RM 4K income from FD per month sufficient..?
I think this depends on the individual's life style and the pattern of spending.

Average Monthly Salary for 72 Countries in the World
http://1-million-dollar-blog.com/average-m...s-in-the-world/

Average monthly income and cost of living
http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...cost-of-living/
No need to sorry sorry la, BCC biggrin.gif

Nah, don't think 4k per month definitely not enough unless one live a very simple life with no loans to pay off then probably can.
munkeyflo
post Feb 26 2014, 04:06 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Feb 26 2014, 03:50 PM)
Including Public Bank as well
Oh.. I think Top Cat and Top Goat know better...
I already used eraser to erase the line... straight also good ma... smile.gif

Aiyo... Thank you first..
Then how our 1.2 million+ government servants can survive with their salaries..?  hmm.gif
I also dunno. laugh.gif
Live a simple simple life kua.
munkeyflo
post Feb 26 2014, 11:21 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Feb 26 2014, 05:39 PM)
OTP for transaction for me is good, but those that need OTP even to view transactions really make me  sweat.gif  doh.gif
That'll be UOB and OCBC. laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Feb 27 2014, 03:22 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Feb 27 2014, 09:47 AM)
yup i am actually annoyed with Citibank, log in to see credit card transaction also susah.

OCBC too but since they revamp their rebate it has been in the cold storage biggrin.gif
I actually thought I won't be using OCBC Titanium anymore since they revamp. But mana tau I still use it quite a lot since quite lazy to charge AMEX over the weekend. sweat.gif

QUOTE(RO Player @ Feb 27 2014, 12:43 PM)
Besides BR FD which gives monthly, which other banks have it?  hmm.gif
HLB Mach gives monthly. And also Ambank if you have their Am50 plus account or something if not mistaken.
munkeyflo
post Mar 3 2014, 12:25 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Feb 28 2014, 04:26 PM)
Update on cancellation of bank card:

Cancellation of bank/debit card will not affect online account. Today cancelled one of my Maybank account that came with debit card with annual fees. It does not affect use of online account. Same for BR, the ABM last time told me the same thing on online account vs their bank card.
Any idea about HL Mach card? They charge RM8 per year for the bank card.

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Mar 1 2014, 12:32 AM)
Premier banking is really useless lah.. You think it is useful meh..?  hmm.gif
Premier banking staff always push their investment products only. Reject 1 then got they introduce another 1. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(quidnuncs @ Mar 2 2014, 02:12 AM)
hi /k, wanna ask. If i put a 50k into maybank fd, if i plan to put it for 1 month and renew monthly, how much interested would i get every month in that case?

Or any good solution for a 50k fd deposit?

Thanks in advance
Do you need the money? 1 month at Maybank board rate is only 3% p.a. If you can put it away for some time, check on some other FD promotions to earn higher interest rate.

As for calculation, I'm sure there are many websites that can calculate for you, or just make use of Microsoft Excel.

QUOTE(plumberly @ Mar 2 2014, 11:23 AM)
Doing some checking this weekend and noted that some of my FDs are missing. How do I know? I have a spreadsheet with the amount and due date. Cannot find the paper copies of the FD.

From your experience, what can I do with the missing FDs? Police report and then the bank?

FD certs missing you mean? Some bank allow me to withdraw the FD without producing the cert to them. Depends on the bank. Check with your bank to see if your other FDs are in their record or not. Usually the banks will send a monthly statement to tell what FDs you currently have in their banks.
munkeyflo
post Mar 3 2014, 12:26 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(danes007 @ Mar 3 2014, 10:10 AM)
RM50K CASH. not using for at least 2 more years. most profitable option? risk level medium. Don't need monthly income. Any suggestion please?
Read up on other types of investments if you are wiling to have higher risk.

FD is low risk only. Expect average 4% or less return p.a.
munkeyflo
post Mar 3 2014, 12:53 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 3 2014, 12:50 PM)
No idea about Mach card. Was planning to join Mach if FD due and no good promo around.

Mach is a diff animal as compared to other banks.  biggrin.gif
Yea. Mach is a totally different species. laugh.gif

They say the bank card is for me to take out cash from my money box account. I wonder if large amount, can get a cashier order from their outlets or not. I doubt online transfer can transfer out large amount also.
munkeyflo
post Mar 3 2014, 01:23 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 3 2014, 12:58 PM)
I read before from here that you can get banker's cheque from HL banks. But not sure the details about the withdrawing  between HL Mach and HL banks.  biggrin.gif
Ooh. That makes sense if can get banker cheque from HL banks over the counter.
From what I understand, it's still an account under HL bank, just different type of SA account only. Will wait 6 months later and see how it goes. biggrin.gif
munkeyflo
post Mar 3 2014, 02:05 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Mar 3 2014, 01:39 PM)
I agree.
Premier Customers are always targeted by Premier Banking RM to promote their investment
products.

But after reading Captain's post #1707, I realized that Premier Banking facilities sometimes
are useful if we have a change to make good use of them, like FREE lounge access.
cash back at selected restaurants and etc.

Captain's Post #1707 on Page#86:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2953389/+1700
As I know, If the joint account FD cert is missing, all names under the FD cert must present in the bank in order for bank to produce another new FD cert.

Regular FDs, excluding e-FDs

Affin, BR, MBSB do not mail FD monthly statements.

Not sure about AM Bank, if I remember correctly, they did not mail me monthly statement couple
years ago.

OCBC, UOB, Citi Bank, RHB, Public Bank, CIMB, Hong Leong will mail monthly statements.

Not sure about KFH since never put money there.
Standard Charter can send monthly statements via email.
Am I missing any banks?
Yup. If one is not interested in investment products, then just have to know how to reject them. Otherwise, will feel regret if they kena sweet talk by the pretty RMs to lock up their money for years. laugh.gif

Nowonder, I've not bank with BR and MBSB. Yea, Ambank and Affin do not mail monthly statements. The other banks as you've stated do. Standard Chartered will send hard copy too if you did not register online banking with them.

KFH do not mail monthly statements for FD either, they will mail a letter like a confirmation for FD placement and that's it.
munkeyflo
post Mar 3 2014, 02:33 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 3 2014, 02:25 PM)
It depends ............ Those with 7 figures one will have no problem, right ?  tongue.gif
BCC really have to come out with new account liao. We all won't forget the 7 figures laugh.gif

QUOTE(herc @ Mar 3 2014, 02:31 PM)
i missed boat for Mach FD promo, so looking for short term alternative lo..

like our M'sia First Lady, i start saving since I were born! LOL
It seems like it's pure FD with no other CASA whatever tricks. Alright for short term FD I guess.
munkeyflo
post Mar 3 2014, 04:34 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Mar 3 2014, 04:30 PM)
Best FD product for 5k fund? hmm.gif
5k won't have much difference in interest. Whichever also alright if you ask me. 3% or 4%, difference in interest about RM50 only per year.
munkeyflo
post Mar 3 2014, 05:02 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Mar 3 2014, 04:41 PM)
6 months or 12 months is fine.
Affin bank board rate 3.6% for 12 months then.
munkeyflo
post Mar 5 2014, 11:52 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Mar 5 2014, 12:41 AM)
Let's say if one member can put minimum RM 50K, get 50 trustworthy members, then can
get total 2.5 million or more. Then we talk to banks to see which bank can offer better FD rate.

Let's say if AM bank agrees to offer 4.30% for 3 years, then we will make an arrangement
to go to the bank on the same day. All members are not allowed to say hello to each other
in the bank.

But all members cannot play a fool lah,..once promised then all of them have to do it accordingly..
Hm, sounds like a plan. But it's the internet, and it's still hard to gain trust over the internet. One can promise but don't do it later also you have no way to contact them.

Money is also a sensitive issue. sweat.gif
munkeyflo
post Mar 5 2014, 01:07 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Will it work if we deposit in different branches?
munkeyflo
post Mar 5 2014, 01:31 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Mar 5 2014, 01:14 PM)
For example, if you are in KL, then you deposit your money in one the KL branches, if munkeyflo is in
Sarawak, then she deposits her money in one of the Sarawak branches, and etc..
I'm not in Sarawak. laugh.gif

But like BR, you all discussing different branch giving out different rates. Do you think the bank will agree if we deposit in different branches?

QUOTE(RO Player @ Mar 5 2014, 01:17 PM)
woman and money = two sensitive issue also.. sweat.gif
Woman + Money = huge issue LOL laugh.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:42 AM