123 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V5

gchowyh
post Mar 17 2014, 05:23 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(lightbringer @ Mar 17 2014, 04:18 PM)
i created fixed deposit in Public Bank this morning, but the accounts are not visible in PBE online banking, it does show the money that i withdrew from my saving account to create the FD though, do i need to wait for it to appear?

because i also created fixed deposit CIMB this morning, and i can already view the accounts in CIMB Clicks
You may need to wait till tomorrow to see it. Some systems not so advanced mad.gif
It happened to me for AM Bank.
TSdavinz18
post Mar 17 2014, 05:33 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(esy @ Mar 17 2014, 03:30 PM)
... BR is probably sitting on a huge pile of money as of now -- they don't need extra money. So, BR don't need to give more interest rates for depositor to come and put more money in their banks ...
If that really true, Jibby gladly would use it for "development" purpose (via companies) hence the so-called increasing private sector loans exposure sweat.gif
wodenus
post Mar 17 2014, 06:03 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Mar 17 2014, 12:05 PM)
What is the surcharge ah? I'm only paying government tax of RM50 per card, is that the surcharge?

Yea that is the surcharge people were talking about smile.gif I'm not sure if there's additional GST too tongue.gif

wodenus
post Mar 17 2014, 06:09 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

the vacuum cleaners - only have one, it was Rm80 and it works smile.gif

microwave oven - mine is 10 yrs old, was a contest prize.

prosumer camera - not a photographer smile.gif

air purifier - air is clean enough smile.gif

and even the rug - parquet ftw.. don't need rugs smile.gif

QUOTE(Berkshire Breakaway @ Mar 17 2014, 02:36 PM)
like my case, i just present the points, why they should give me something free and they usually do. I would explain to them how much business they will lose and how stupid they would be if they don't give such a small rebate of 500 for example.

Time and effort used to explain to them all these things > free gift value. The only thing you cannot make more of is time. Time and effort must have a good ROI as well smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Mar 17 2014, 06:10 PM
Berkshire Breakaway
post Mar 17 2014, 07:17 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 17 2014, 06:09 PM)
the vacuum cleaners - only have one, it was Rm80 and it works smile.gif

microwave oven - mine is 10 yrs old, was a contest prize.

prosumer camera - not a photographer smile.gif

air purifier - air is clean enough smile.gif

and even the rug - parquet ftw.. don't need rugs smile.gif
Time and effort used to explain to them all these things > free gift value. The only thing you cannot make more of is time. Time and effort must have a good ROI as well smile.gif
yes, like i already mentioned, nothing is free
my interpretation is i get these free gift in return for the money they make out of being a good customer (not really the time i spend on the phone getting the stuff) they don't please me i leave

let's talk more on that statement of yours in bold above smile.gif
in case you had an impression that i write a short essay and try to appeal/convince to them to give me free stuff, then i wish to correct you that that is not the case. nowadays banks have partially good reporting systems that can instantly verify your claims. you just need to tell them within a 5 minute call.

is this 5 minutes too much for you? i think opening a fixed deposit accounts, parking your car, looking thru offers from all banks, trying to convince them to give a better FD rate takes more time. even the online FD application, you need to look thru and cannot do it within 1 minute.

but you may be right, everyone has their manday rate. convert your manday rate to $ per minute rate. do you earn more money or spend more worth it quality time than the amount you save? if you earn RM20 per minute then you are right. i am sorry to say i earn less than rm20 a minute. notworthy.gif i really don't mind spending 5 minutes per request (imagine the hours you're stuck in the traffic jam) and use that money to improve the quality of my life. i want to save more time, but i would rather focus on reducing the amount of time i get stuck in a jam instead. (being pound wise)
wodenus
post Mar 17 2014, 07:51 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Berkshire Breakaway @ Mar 17 2014, 07:17 PM)
yes, like i already mentioned, nothing is free
my interpretation is i get these free gift in return for the money they make out of being a good customer (not really the time i spend on the phone getting the stuff) they don't please me i leave

let's talk more on that statement of yours in bold above smile.gif
in case you had an impression that i write a short essay and try to appeal/convince to them to give me free stuff, then i wish to correct you that that is not the case. nowadays banks have partially good reporting systems that can instantly verify your claims. you just need to tell them within a 5 minute call.

is this 5 minutes too much for you? i think opening a fixed deposit accounts, parking your car, looking thru offers from all banks, trying to convince them to give a better FD rate takes more time. even the online FD application, you need to look thru and cannot do it within 1 minute.

but you may be right, everyone has their manday rate. convert your manday rate to $ per minute rate. do you earn more money or spend more worth it quality time than the amount you save? if you earn RM20 per minute then you are right. i am sorry to say i earn less than rm20 a minute. notworthy.gif i really don't mind spending 5 minutes per request (imagine the hours you're stuck in the traffic jam) and use that money to improve the quality of my life. i want to save more time, but i would rather focus on reducing the amount of time i get stuck in a jam instead. (being pound wise)
If they had such good reporting systems, why didn't they call you instead of wait for you to call them? also maybe you are young, Your manday rate (as you call it) gets more as you get older, everything that is in demand, gets more expensive when there is less of it. I think it is the same with life, when you are young you don't think 5 minutes is worth a lot, but when you know you are likely to be dead in 30 years, all of a sudden you don't want to waste five minutes smile.gif

Or maybe you enjoy getting them to give you stuff.. so it's like "let's see how many things I can get them to give me" lol smile.gif like you said their systems are pretty good, they know if you put in a lot of money, or if you take out a lot of money.. smile.gif you won't even have to call them they will call you smile.gif

You want different things from your bank (ie. free gifts etc.) I want to save time, so I have a bank with a pretty good online system. I actually did switch three FDs in one minute lol smile.gif anyway I just realized that, all that running around is really inconvenient and troublesome. I can't stand to see the look on the teller's face like, "why are you giving me so much work, do you know how busy I am already" lol so I don't like to trouble people for gifts and whatnot, they are quite busy already smile.gif but if they want to give them.. all gladly accepted of course smile.gif

I'd rather save 4 minutes of my time, and 4 minutes of the customer service's time.. you can see how busy they are every time you go to the bank smile.gif

Berkshire Breakaway
post Mar 17 2014, 08:11 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 17 2014, 07:51 PM)
If they had such good reporting systems, why didn't they call you instead of wait for you to call them? also maybe you are young, Your manday rate (as you call it) gets more as you get older, everything that is in demand, gets more expensive when there is less of it. I think it is the same with life, when you are young you don't think 5 minutes is worth a lot, but when you know you are likely to be dead in 30 years, all of a sudden you don't want to waste five minutes smile.gif

Or maybe you enjoy getting them to give you stuff.. so it's like "let's see how many things I can get them to give me" lol smile.gif like you said their systems are pretty good, they know if you put in a lot of money, or if you take out a lot of money.. smile.gif you won't even have to call them they will call you smile.gif

You want different things from your bank (ie. free gifts etc.) I want to save time, so I have a bank with a pretty good online system. I actually did switch three FDs in one minute lol smile.gif anyway I just realized that, all that running around is really inconvenient and troublesome. I can't stand to see the look on the teller's face like, "why are you giving me so much work, do you know how busy I am already" lol so I don't like to trouble people for gifts and whatnot, they are quite busy already smile.gif but  if they want to give them.. all gladly accepted of course smile.gif

I'd rather save 4 minutes of my time, and 4 minutes of the customer service's time.. you can see how busy they are every time you go to the bank smile.gif
first of all if you read from my reply, most banks do not have "such a wonderful system". if they do they would call you and give gifts to the top and most profitable customers and i of course might not be one of them as they would pick up that i am only after freebies. my point is, if you read again, you did indirectly hint that the time of your life is not worth the free gifts to which i pointed that the reporting systems are pretty good and you only take 5 minutes and not like 30 minutes.

anyway, you do have your priorities and have some very good points but you're mixing up with your time is money analogy here.
regardless if you're gonna be dead in 30 years or 50 years, time is time and it is valuable.
but you have to use fair judgment, unless you're dying in 3 years, you can always selectively spend some less significant amount of time like 5 minutes (which you can easily waste doing other stuff by accident)

again, i presume you're still working. the precious time of your life “wasted” working, how long do you have to work to earn a free microwave oven? you have a far judgment on what is worth it and what is not right? an every one's scale is different. there must be a balance. this is what i meant by your manday rate.

i earn a microwave faster than talking to customer service sometimes than 5 minutes working. can i buy hundreds of microwaves by doing it repeatedly? no, it is not like your job where you work 8 hours. but my point is, the 5 minutes is justifiable.

just like how you spend 5 minutes to track coupons for sale the next time you goto the store.
i do agree with your points of wasting the time of the customer service - to be frank i enjoy talking to them and they seem happy to me (although they may not) so i don't really care.

HJebat
post Mar 17 2014, 08:28 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(esy @ Mar 17 2014, 03:30 PM)
... BR is probably sitting on a huge pile of money as of now -- they don't need extra money. So, BR don't need to give more interest rates for depositor to come and put more money in their banks ...
Bole share share how you know the bolded part ka?
HJebat
post Mar 17 2014, 11:46 PM

1,035 posts

BCC, how do you intend to "mend" the two distinct camps between PIDM & non-PIDM members?

If we decide to place FD with BR, then apa macam with those who indicated that they prefer PIDM institution?
esy
post Mar 18 2014, 07:34 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Mar 17 2014, 08:28 PM)
Bole share share how you know the bolded part ka?
... I use the word probably which i am just assuming only ...

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Mar 17 2014, 05:33 PM)
If that really true, Jibby gladly would use it for "development" purpose (via companies) hence the so-called increasing private sector loans exposure  sweat.gif
... yup, I would personally think that way also cause as far as I understand household and personal debt is quite high ...

This post has been edited by esy: Mar 18 2014, 07:34 AM
MGM
post Mar 18 2014, 09:17 AM

18,433 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Mar 18 2014, 07:14 AM)
So, apa pasal you post sini dalam FD thread? hmm.gif

I suggest you post in Jobs & Careers section biggrin.gif
Probably thinking that there are many millionaires in this thread hence potential investors?
Azurika
post Mar 18 2014, 09:23 AM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Mar 18 2014, 07:14 AM)
So, apa pasal you post sini dalam FD thread? hmm.gif

I suggest you post in Jobs & Careers section biggrin.gif
Obviously a dupe account to create awareness and promotion smile.gif
HJebat
post Mar 18 2014, 11:51 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(esy @ Mar 18 2014, 07:34 AM)
... I use the word probably which i am just assuming only ...
If you're a shareholder of BR, help me pose my question to them during the AGM brows.gif
TSdavinz18
post Mar 18 2014, 03:44 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

what posting u all talking about? what promotion? dupe account? hmm.gif rclxub.gif
Berkshire Breakaway
post Mar 18 2014, 03:52 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Mar 18 2014, 03:44 PM)
what posting u all talking about? what promotion? dupe account?  hmm.gif  rclxub.gif
i checked on it this morning as well
it looks like one the mod has removed the post (an possible banning the user)
TSdavinz18
post Mar 18 2014, 03:55 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(Berkshire Breakaway @ Mar 18 2014, 03:52 PM)
i checked on it this morning as well
it looks like one the mod has removed the post (an possible banning the user)
No wonder I got "lost", the posting have been removed blush.gif
TSdavinz18
post Mar 18 2014, 04:15 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

it's already deleted by MOD because not related to this thread rolleyes.gif
sandkoh
post Mar 18 2014, 04:24 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Mar 18 2014, 04:15 PM)
it's already deleted by MOD because not related to this thread  rolleyes.gif
yes.that person looking for biz partner.MOD active here???

FD, no new offerr???
TSdavinz18
post Mar 18 2014, 04:29 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Mar 18 2014, 04:24 PM)
yes.that person looking for biz partner.MOD active here???

FD, no new offerr???
I think so hmm.gif

Currently not much "interesting" FD promo..
Berkshire Breakaway
post Mar 18 2014, 05:21 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Mar 18 2014, 04:29 PM)
I think so  hmm.gif

Currently not much "interesting" FD promo..
queue up for ASW2020 lah...

123 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:46 AM