QUOTE(deviladrian10 @ Apr 27 2014, 12:08 PM)
Thanks. Rang em up and gave me a quote but ask if i can pick the blocks myself coz not too many pcs.
The makeover of my humble abode, Sharing my renovation journey
Apr 28 2014, 12:28 AM
773 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(deviladrian10 @ Apr 27 2014, 12:08 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Thanks. Rang em up and gave me a quote but ask if i can pick the blocks myself coz not too many pcs. |
Apr 30 2014, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 28 2014, 10:54 AM) maxxon Hey, chin up bro!!Really girl i dunno how u handle all the stress etc. Plumber forgot to off the masterbathroom tap. They hacked the wall for hot water piping. Contractor had made a hole for new washcabinet. Tank water was empty at that time.When the water ration was over main came full out flooded my whole downstairs right up the street. Although nothing was damaged other than the existing ceiling etc since no tiling etc had been done.. but just feel now i have a spoilt house. Cant get over the feeling. Happened over the weekend. Noticed it only Sunday evening. Meter shows about 11000 liters of water. Really salute to u. This was my first hickup and i was about to sell the house. One week didnt go see the house already. Really like no mood to care anymore. Enthusiasm of moving to first landed property of our own feeling gone. I resorted in buying a lot of tech gears to fuel my hobby that i thought i forgo cause wasting money. Was even thinking of ordering two Titan Zs. Was like why the hell we spend so much for the house when other workers etc doesnt give a crap that all this is hard earned dough... Wife actually slapped me. Lol. I see it small matter, just need to pay extra water bill (or get the contractor to pay it) and some re-work if there is any things damage. I get you, that you are more upset that the journey is now like (psychologically) 'imperfect' anymore. From my point of view, everything can be done or re-work perfectly good in contractor's hand, just some extra work. Remember, their name is 'the builder'. In my eyes, I don't mind a sub-sales house or run down property because I only imagine the image after the make over. Sometimes, you just got to ignore the messy works in the process when visualising the final image that you want. Don't bother about the perfect thingy...as we are here stripping the house almost 'naked' and the work are pretty much close to from the scratch. My journey is also with tons of hiccups (lost counts already), from the main con and from each individual vendors. It's a journey, just exactly like our life journey. Bumpy roads are unavoidable sometimes. We just need to put our focus on the desired destination and keep walking. In your case, the floor has not much issue since there is yet to be installed with any laminate or timber flooring. The plaster thingy that u mentioned is the ceiling? If like that, got to change to new plaster ceiling then. Let the contractor handle those messy work. Give it some times, I'm very sure your house will turn into a stunning beauty after the makeover. |
Apr 30 2014, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(kianchun555 @ Apr 29 2014, 08:37 PM) Hi, nice flooring. I have chosen inovar too. Paid deposit to lock their homedec price. I have no water splashing kinda problem for my master bathroom as the shower area is quite a distance from the door.Btw, I would like to know how the flooring was done near your bathroom door/entrance. I am worry that the water from the bathroom might splash out and damage the floorboard in long run. Some pictures of the area can really help me. Thanks. You definitely need to put those very good water-absorbing kinda rag outside the bathroom so that we don't wet the floor with wet feet after using the bathroom. Are you using swing door or bifold bathroom door? You got to makesure no laminate flooring inside the bathroom compound. I will show you mine when i manage to take some pics later. Also, check that the gap between the door and floor is not too big so that water won't splash out. Otherwise, you can buy some rubber strips specially design to seal the gap under the door. I remember I saw something like that in Daiso and other hardware shops... |
Apr 30 2014, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(deviladrian10 @ Apr 30 2014, 10:15 AM) Nope. din ask.. went straight to pick it up myself with an accord. You are welcome! Just sharing info.. [attachmentid=3951448] Read throughout some of the post and some other lyn forumer with their reno thread also.. been hesitating and holding myself back to start my own thread on my reno progress. thanks again for the information. Btw, i really salute you! Tortured your accord like that... |
Apr 30 2014, 07:10 PM
Apr 30 2014, 07:14 PM
QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Apr 28 2014, 11:29 AM) well dont have to be so negative. my grille guy drilled into my kitchen faucet pipe and my blood pressure shot up too. i just call my indon to settle it. pay money. the next day it;s all ok as it nothing happen. part from that, i also have other hiccups due to their overlook/ plain misplanning. my bidet outlet was hidden behind the wc water tank. tht requires hacking and tiling too. ,......not one bathroom but two bathrooms. i dunno why they so smart, do so many reno still can wrongly plan the outlet.......but they fixed that too. the indon installed my main door on the wrong side. ended up ppl can put their hand in through the window and open my wooden doorknob. but i got over it by changing the lock to be opened by key from both sides. simple cheap solution too. but got over it too. ok. maybe too long story telling, i m just saying cherish what u have. many of my friend still looking to buy landed and yearning to move from their apartments. i m one of the lucky few who did/doing...... QUOTE(S'aimer @ Apr 30 2014, 12:12 PM) Wow, like that? Then you should chase plumber to pay for the water bill since he forgot to turn off the masterbathroom tap. But yes I can understand your frustration. I have my own frustrations with my tiling contractor and his workers. They are fast with tiling but cutting the tiles need accuracy and must be a clean straight line when tiles are cut. This is my main pet peeve. Tiling workmanship is very important but what you pay for is what you get. So I think this kind of tiling workmanship is either 2nd or 3rd grade type. So end up some tiles laid against the wall look out of place and ruined my plan for a Non-Skirting floor look. Well the fact that the house's existing walls are not entirely straight including the extended areas, are 1 of the problems that contributed to the alignment of tiles. What is done is done, need to find some solutions to solve the hiccups/problems and get over it. Don't let such issues ruin your whole anticipation for your first landed property. A big applause to us all who has went thru these challenging reno process! |
Apr 30 2014, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 30 2014, 09:16 PM) QUOTE(deviladrian10 @ Apr 30 2014, 10:34 PM) Yea exactly.. Its not other members not dedicated enough.. But maxxon is going the extra mile on sharing the info n making this a very helpful thread.. Paiseh~ Paiseh~ |
May 1 2014, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(kianchun555 @ Apr 29 2014, 08:37 PM) Hi, nice flooring. I have chosen inovar too. Paid deposit to lock their homedec price. Btw, I would like to know how the flooring was done near your bathroom door/entrance. I am worry that the water from the bathroom might splash out and damage the floorboard in long run. Some pictures of the area can really help me. Thanks. QUOTE(maxxon @ Apr 30 2014, 06:59 PM) I have no water splashing kinda problem for my master bathroom as the shower area is quite a distance from the door. Following are the pictures that I just took, on the laminate flooring near bathrooms.You definitely need to put those very good water-absorbing kinda rag outside the bathroom so that we don't wet the floor with wet feet after using the bathroom. Are you using swing door or bifold bathroom door? You got to makesure no laminate flooring inside the bathroom compound. I will show you mine when i manage to take some pics later. Also, check that the gap between the door and floor is not too big so that water won't splash out. Otherwise, you can buy some rubber strips specially design to seal the gap under the door. I remember I saw something like that in Daiso and other hardware shops... ![]() Flooring near master bathroom's door (view from inside the bathroom) ![]() Flooring near master bathroom with its door closed. (View from outside the bathroom) ![]() Flooring near another bathroom's door. ![]() With the door closed. ![]() Closer look on the connection between laminate floor and tiles. The floor was initially done all the way to the end with laminate by Inovar.... Realising that the water splashes will sure damage the floorboard, i get the contractor to modify it by changing the inner part to tiles and make it same level with the laminate floor. One side of the original L-shape strip has been 'buried' in by my contractor when they make it level with tiles. This post has been edited by maxxon: May 1 2014, 12:17 AM |
May 1 2014, 03:17 AM
QUOTE(KVReninem @ May 1 2014, 03:00 AM) admire your concept of having your laundry with kitchen. but isnt it will effect your cloths? cooking,oily stuffs.. Well, I'm just gonna wash my clothes there but not drying them there... Btw, I used it this way too when I lived abroad, no issue at all... Err....and I don't think I will have an oily kitchen either.... |
May 1 2014, 03:27 AM
QUOTE(KVReninem @ May 1 2014, 03:21 AM) ah r u from the states? Not the states, but lived a few years in London. Most of the houses/flat place their washers integrated under the kitchen counter. They have only one kitchen and not many have separate laundry room. I've never seen one in the washroom yet.... usually such will laundry program will be more appropriate integrate with washroom or next to it. This post has been edited by maxxon: May 1 2014, 03:29 AM |
May 1 2014, 03:54 AM
QUOTE(KVReninem @ May 1 2014, 03:32 AM) cos London per area is expensive and small, thus their order dont see that laundry usually come with bathroom. As you can see, my space available here is nothing bigger than the Uk's. I really don't need a separate room just to put that single washer, do I?? just a view. now u r first dwell to try with such in tropics Eg here. http://www.archdaily.com/501033/northcote-...dge-architects/ see the floor plan Haha.... I'm definitely not the first one, it's such a common thing everywhere including the states... Thanks for your reminder, but don't worry for me, my past experience tells me that it gonna works perfectly fine. |
May 1 2014, 12:34 PM
QUOTE(S'aimer @ May 1 2014, 11:08 AM) In canada, they also put washer and dryer together although houses there are quite big with basements. But then I have not stepped into a flat/apartment there either so I can't assess. But in London, ya it is expensive and the area sizes in apartments are tiny. Think of a walk up building with or without lifts, it can be the size of either 1LDK or 2LDK equivalent in Japan now that I think about it. I haven't been to Canada so no idea bout there... I lived in a 2 and half storey terrace in London, visited many other houses with various sizes and setup....all with washer under the kitchen counter... Ppl just don't bother to make a laundry room while all houses actually have real massive back yard for grass and plants.... I haven't been to a bangalow to see the difference though... However, chinese food in chinatown overseas generally sucks and not worth it. Talking about food, of all places outside the HK, there are actually best Chinese food in London and Vancouver (this one I haven't been to). Reason being these 2 places live the most ppl from HK... I find the food there are at par with in Hong Kong provided that you know which restaurant to go. I can't find better roasted duck there... However, the food that I craved most when I was there were nasi lemak, roti canai, curry mee, teh tarik, etc. Ok, let's come back to Malaysia...many places that I've seen included my mum's, placed the top-loading washer very near the kitchen as well. Most of them that I've seen put it in the wet kitchen. Talking about the actual distance from the stove, there are no difference with mine except that mine is under the counter top but many of others' are 'parked' at a corner against the wall. This post has been edited by maxxon: Jun 3 2014, 07:33 AM |
May 1 2014, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(kianchun555 @ May 1 2014, 09:06 AM) Thank you so much. As my bathroom is kinda small in size with no shower screen, i will get my contractor to do the similar as your 2nd bathroom. With the tiles divider to joint to the laminated flooring with the flat profile stripes. Really a great sharing in your thread here and i believe it definitely helps me in my upcoming renovation works. You are welcome.. If you haven't done the bathroom door, pls take note of the gap underneath especially when you are using a swing door. |
May 1 2014, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(S'aimer @ May 1 2014, 01:54 PM) That is true. Singapore flats have this kind of placement where the washing machine is placed at a corner, near the sink. I think its due to the pipe outlet. I placed my washer near sink for the ease of water in/outlet as well... For me, I have a separate laundry area where I will place my washing machine and hang my laundry. The original kitchen area was really small without space for a washing machine. So I extended not only the kitchen area, I also extended to 'enclose' the existing toilet structure. So that part of the extension has a small rectangular space on the left side of the toilet structure for laundry. Right side is the extended kitchen area. For bungalows, semi-d houses in malaysia, there is a maid or utility room near to the backyard for the wash machine and laundry puposes which is convenient I suppose. Many link houses like mine were fully extended but that's not for me. I'm going to dry my clothes under the sun at the back yard. That's part of the reason I didn't fully extend the back of the house, the other reason being that I want to reserve a nice view from the window of downstairs' room. I'm reserving that room for other purposes in future. Haha...ofcoz i have been to bungalows of my relatives' and friends' in Msia... If i have the luxury of space at the backyard or have a bungalow in future , i would have put it away too at the back yard.....but still not gonna make a separate room for it though. Well, I don't see the necessary, based on my personal living lifestyle. I just load and unload clothes for washing. That's it. Nothing much that I will do on laundry. I don't spend much time and attention in doing laundry.... I'm not sure about others. This post has been edited by maxxon: May 1 2014, 02:24 PM |
May 2 2014, 02:08 AM
QUOTE(S'aimer @ May 1 2014, 04:49 PM) We never know what a bungalow in Uk will look like inside. Err... Unobstructed view is what I'm after...that's why I've actually been struggled whether to stay in condo or landed... Chosen the latter for the convenience of parking, loading and unloading stuff from car...At least your backyard looks good with an unobstructed view. My backyard is facing the backyard of the opposite house so no view to look out. Just came back from visiting my new place and sigh... More problems came up, the floor drain pipe upstairs and downstairs clogged. The big pipe (connects to upstairs) in common toilet downstairs is leaking. I'm not too pleased because we just did plaster ceiling in the house everywhere. Btw, I saw before you bought a fanco fan and alpha fan? How are they working? Do both fans use fan hook? Same here, had issues with manhole pipe clogged, minor leakage, plumbing miss-planning, etc... Hang in there bro, it will all worthwhile your hardwork and sleepless nights when it's all done. The alpha fan actually performs better than fanco's as the latter is slightly shaky when it turns on to top speed. Fanco fan just need normal "U" shape fan hook while Alpha's need an additional support on top of the ceiling as it uses U bracket. |
May 2 2014, 02:13 AM
QUOTE(rtacabinet @ May 1 2014, 07:24 PM) Renovation is necessary in today's life. If you do not renovate your home interiors or exteriors then you loose elegance of your house. It has become a status symbol to equipped home with latest technology and trends. Latest technology and trends need lots of moolah bro... Most important is to get things and designs to suit our very own living style. This post has been edited by maxxon: May 2 2014, 02:13 AM |
May 2 2014, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(S'aimer @ May 2 2014, 12:46 PM) The alpha fan can be fixed to the plaster ceiling or not? Well I am having a headache looking at the costs even more. QUOTE(a.n.d.y @ May 2 2014, 01:17 PM) I think all fans requires the hook to be plugged into the concrete ceiling and hung down through your plaster ceiling... If not mistaken, normal fan hook can just be installed on the metal support structure which hold the plaster ceiling board. (You may want to double check with the plaster ceiling guy or electrician on this). For the Alpha fan, it's not using normal fan hook but it comes with a big U bracket. Just show your electrician and plaster ceiling guy the bracket, they know what is the support structure to be installed, of course to be hidden and covered by plaster board.Plaster ceilings are very weak...u can even punch through with your fist...never ever recommended to hand your ceiling fan unless u wana see real life Fruit Ninja |
May 2 2014, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(a.n.d.y @ May 2 2014, 02:14 PM) hhmm..the metal support I've seen for plaster ceiling is just an aluminium strip screwed (using a 2 inch screw) into the concrete ceiling...and the plaster boards are supported with alot of these aluminium strips... I checked with my husband who is very sure that the fan hook is just installs on the metal structure, but the area with fan will be enhanced with stronger support structure compared to other area without a ceiling fan. You got to tell your contractor in advance if you have heavy pendant light or chandelier, they got to add strength to the inner metal structure as well. My contractor did that for one of my pendant light.I doubt it will be able to support the fan...especially those shaking ones...hehehe Or there are new methods I do not know of.... This post has been edited by maxxon: May 2 2014, 02:32 PM |
May 2 2014, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 2 2014, 02:54 PM) Good point on the cover part. Will relay. This is the same one right they use for outdoor ponds etc?? As for me it just doesn't look 'nice' (looks abit uncle/aunty's hse No sitting area. Just wondering should i or not. Reason y i dislike the idea is cause of dirt. The guy who drew my house plan once put in 2 pendant lighting points (at the car porch) in the drawing. I asked him why is that so... He said for lantern mar... I was like, "errr....no thanks....". Later I knew why is he assuming the need of lanterns... He is a Klang guy.. Most chinese house in Klang with 2 red lanterns... A 2 way socket is essential but make sure the area is covered under the roof. If wanna use for pond or outdoor garden lights must lay armor cable (water proof). |
May 2 2014, 04:15 PM
| Change to: | 0.0452sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:16 PM |