The makeover of my humble abode, Sharing my renovation journey

TSmaxxon
post Jun 4 2014, 02:24 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(MtV @ Jun 3 2014, 08:53 PM)
Hi Maxxon, your living room using cove light and two downlight only? 

how much is the track led light? mind pm me hehe
Following are the lights in the living hall:-

- A: 2pcs of LED eyeball spotlights above the sofa. That's for additional lighting when needed for reading books or papers.

- B: Plaster ceiling cove with 2 rows of T5 tubes (one row of yellow tubes and another row of white tubes).
This is the general lighting which I normally just on the yellow lights for daily activities. A row of T5 is good enough to lit up the entire living hall with soft and nice ambience. Well, i'm personally not into the squarish cove with 4 sides of cove lightings.

- C: 2pcs of 4" LED downlights for additional illumination. In fact, I seldom on these lights due to its strong intensity. The strong light beam is somehow causing stress and discomfort to the eyes even though it's warm white (3000k color temp). Will only on those lights when I need very bright lighting.

- D: 2pcs of LED eyeball spotlights to light up the wall with painting and the vent blocks.

- Generally, i love the T5 light cove and all the eyeballs lighting in the house.
- For me, no lighting source beyond the sofa and the side of TV as I do not want any light to be shined directly to the eyes while watching TV.
- for the cost of track light, pls refer page#13, post#249.

Edit: the wall lamp at the staircase near tv cabinet will only be on when I need it while using the staircase.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jun 10 2014, 02:02 PM
TSmaxxon
post Jun 4 2014, 02:27 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(chocolatewhore @ Jun 3 2014, 09:31 PM)
it doesn't even look as good as your paint. price pdf can't remember now, but for whole living room wall, kitchen wall, was about RM5k.

/heartpain
Wow, it's definitely much costly...but one thing better...yours is more original with real cement. thumbup.gif
TSmaxxon
post Jun 4 2014, 03:27 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Jun 3 2014, 06:43 AM)
Mine were given by the contractor. I've seen similar in Ga Hing but it was other brand which cost slightly under twenty. So far, been using it for around 3 weeks with no problem at all. I have shoulder length hair while my husband has very short hair. Both of us bath ourselves at least twice daily and i wash my hair once daily. The water flows very fast even that we are using 2'x2' Niro tiles for the bathroom. I'll try to take a video of its flow if I'm able to upload it here later. Will also post the update here in future when I first got my floor trap 'stuck'... so you guys gonna have an idea on how's its performance.
I took a video on the tile floor trap and its water flow. It is after a 3 weeks usage and no cleaning has been performed.
I think the flow is still ok... *pls pardon my shaky hand tongue.gif *

After that, I lifted the tile insert in the middle and found quite some hair stands were trapped around the 4 edges of the plastic base tray. I simply clean it by pulling out the hair strand. The cleaning is easy actually as the hair strands were cleared with one time pull. The amount of hair trapped that you see in the pic below are mostly mine, with a shoulder length hair.

Video took after the cleaning:

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jun 4 2014, 03:34 AM
TSmaxxon
post Jun 4 2014, 10:37 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(MtV @ Jun 4 2014, 08:59 PM)
Thanks for the reply, forgot to add, where did you bought from ? from zealess as well?  blush.gif
Those Led eyeballs, track light and downlights are from Zealless.. Where as the T5 tubes are from Yet plus.
TSmaxxon
post Jun 9 2014, 05:33 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(zoe33 @ Jun 6 2014, 11:32 AM)
yay! finally it is completed and your house is very interesting indeed!

and i wonder how is laminated flooring gonna match marble floor because my hubby wanna keep the marble floor since it is cool. well, it isn't that bad actually smile.gif

did you buy any marble to replace or you just do polishing? if you bought, where from, how much and any moq?

what is a the centre courtyard? is there any roof?

also, where and how much did you pay for the rocking toys?

thanks in advance (and for sharing your journey)
I just polished the floor. It is indeed very nice and it's actually one of the thing that I'm glad that I didn't change it. The stepping feel is so nice, cooling and smooth without tiling grouts. Mine is in very light beige/peachy tone, hence it matches nicely with any colour of interior including wood pieces. However, there are many marble floor in other places are grey in color (light or dark grey). If it is a grey marble, the color selection (including wall color and furniture) must be very careful...otherwise it will easily turns into an aunty's house.... Personally feel that all tones of marble floor must avoid interior wall with green or light blue tone. hmm.gif

About the centre courtyard:
There is a double volume void area in the house which I call it centre courtyard. It's not entirely covered with roof so that it gives a good ventilation to the house. There is my next project to plant a tree there and cover its entire floor area with pebble stones.

Centre court, view from living room

Views from the window of master bedroom. This window and upper floor sliding door were done in the renovation but not from the original layout.

View from the courtyard.

Will PM you about the rocking toys.. wink.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jun 9 2014, 05:36 AM
TSmaxxon
post Jun 10 2014, 01:35 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(limhm1 @ Jun 9 2014, 01:52 PM)
Maxxon, very "chun" leh your house !!! Beh tahan man ..... It's very tastefully done.
Thanks bro! You really long time no 'pou tao' in LYN huh!? brows.gif
You know what? I had the new-bed-syndrome like you eh....can't sleep well for the first few days...the bed is too high...kekeke~ tongue.gif

QUOTE(Hoo @ Jun 9 2014, 01:56 PM)
Very nice...  thumbup.gif
I like the air-well area!
Lovely...
QUOTE(MANSTIR @ Jun 9 2014, 02:53 PM)
love this lamp....  rclxms.gif nice ones lah..
QUOTE(zoe33 @ Jun 9 2014, 06:13 PM)
Nice. There is just so much you can do to that area smile.gif will wait for pics of the area once 'completed' !
Thanks guys for the compliments! Will show more pics later. smile.gif

TSmaxxon
post Jun 11 2014, 02:31 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(mitmivec @ Jun 10 2014, 03:04 AM)
pm me too

also the electrician quotation which i cant find haha
PM-ed as per requested.

QUOTE(mitmivec @ Jun 10 2014, 10:12 PM)
By the way friend of my brought the same unit at your area for 1.15M in jan 2014... great investment..
Oh really? is that exactly the same design which your friend bought? if it is, your friend has got it pretty cheap... My neighbour (who has also the backyard facing the big park) is now listing for sale at RM1.4mil. It is a generally basic house with fully-extended kitchen. Another unit with slightly more renovation listing for around RM1.5mil.

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 10 2014, 07:22 AM)
You have brought renovation to another level. Love your detail and design.
Thanks for the compliments! smile.gif
it's not perfect but it is a home sweet home built with blood and sweat....Now I can join the post-reno-pocket dry-club. tongue.gif

QUOTE(limhm1 @ Jun 10 2014, 07:27 AM)
Heee. You will soon get used to it. From CNY till now, I have never spent overnight in my old hse. The weekend is just too short for me. Now I need to start sourcing for the CCTV and ask my contractor to do small garden at the back of my kitcken. Initially my mum said no need and I said sudah bayar woh then she said nevermind lah. Then all in a sudden she asked me last week when the contractor will be starting his job ?? I was like  rclxub.gif
Haha....I've only get use to the new bed after a week... tongue.gif
Parents are like that, they don't want their children to spend money...
Show us your backyard garden when done, k? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(amy_tan @ Jun 10 2014, 09:49 PM)
Thanks for the update on the wall and congrats on moving in to your lovely new home! Loving that suar wood coffee table also. Costed a couple of RM'000 I'm guessing?
Thanks! The coffee table itself is kinda small actually, less than 2k..

TSmaxxon
post Jun 11 2014, 02:43 AM

773 posts

There are too many switches at home which they really put my no-longer-good kinda memory on the test... Bought a label-printing machine and got all those 'piano keys' sorted! This is so that I don't look like an ever-learning-idiot to keep 'trying and errors', EACH and EVERY TIME~ sweat.gif

haha...I've got the spot light spelled wrongly...but just too lazy to re-take picture on the corrected ones...

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jun 11 2014, 02:44 AM
TSmaxxon
post Jun 11 2014, 03:27 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(Hoo @ Jun 11 2014, 03:22 AM)
How much & where to buy the labeling machine?
I bought it at Popular book store, less than RM40 as they have a promotion on this model (Casio brand).
It is indeed very useful, to label the storage containers, filing, and even on the stationery for kids.
TSmaxxon
post Jun 11 2014, 03:37 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(Hoo @ Jun 11 2014, 03:32 AM)
Cool, thanks.
Still awake at this hour.... Hehe!
Welcome! Going to bed soon... tongue.gif
TSmaxxon
post Jun 12 2014, 12:11 AM

773 posts

I've just tried this out to clean my laminated floor. Bought them in Daiso. I'm very happy with the products looking at its result despite the cheap price.

A packet of dry tissue and another is a wet tissue. (RM5 each)

The stick with adjustable length cost RM5 and the flat mop head was also RM5.

This was the dry tissue used for getting rid of dust and fallen hair. Look at the dirts and hair collected! thumbup.gif

The wet tissue was used after the dry ones...

TSmaxxon
post Jun 12 2014, 03:57 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(mitmivec @ Jun 12 2014, 02:34 AM)
not sure but its the first phase ara .. 8 year also almost buy it at 380k haha that time alicia atilia are going for 580 and 700

but end up in Kelana jaya

1.4 for basic is quite expensive.. BU now going for 1.6m for 22x75...

one thing for sure on property is buy and wait for price to go up instead of wait to buy and wait for price to go down hahah....

also 3 tip for buying property is Location Location And Location
Mine is actually the second phase next to the first phase houses.. smile.gif
I have viewed around 9 unit of dsl in ara (several different phases and designs) before I placed my deposit on this ones...

TSmaxxon
post Jun 12 2014, 04:04 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(zoe33 @ Jun 12 2014, 10:59 AM)
you can actually use it 4 times! smile.gif

i prefer the cosway ones over the daiso's. cosway's better in quality and wipes cleaner. try it wink.gif

super useful invention. hehe
Oh...thanks for the tips! Will try the cosway's too.. thumbup.gif
TSmaxxon
post Jun 12 2014, 04:06 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(d_scientist @ Jun 12 2014, 02:29 PM)
Hi there... how high is your kitchen top yea? how did u fit a front loading inside? thanks
The overall height of counter top is around 900cm. You may refer post#643 on how did I fit in the washer.
For the in and outlet piping consolidated under the kitchen sink, pls refer to post#909.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jun 12 2014, 04:12 PM
TSmaxxon
post Jun 12 2014, 11:38 PM

773 posts

I'm not into fengshui measurement. I'll consider those fengshui aspect which is on safety, health, flow of chi and psychology-comfort but not too particular on these measurements. Actually, these measurements are just a common "standard" old time ppl set for everyone to follow... The measurement just follows the average height of asian women...
As I'm a bit taller than the average lady, so i'm fine with that height... smile.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jun 12 2014, 11:39 PM
TSmaxxon
post Jun 13 2014, 05:32 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(aku_ker @ Jun 13 2014, 02:30 AM)
HI Maxxon,

For the kitchen cabinet led strip light do you buy yourself or provided by the kc installer? May i know where you buy it and how they hide the power adapter in the kc?
I bought the LED strips and the driver myself at House of Lighting Puchong (available in most lighting shops, i bought it there as I was happened to be around that area) and it was installed by my contractor's electrician.

Before the kitchen cab installation, the electrician need to get the power supply wires ready.
Point A: dropped down from plaster ceiling for the led driver.
Point B & C: power supplies for the led strips, to be concealed into the wall and wires come out at these 2 points.

The kitchen cab installer will then pull the wires (at point A) through and into the cabinet so that the driver can be hidden inside the cabinet.

The driver.

The driver was inserted into this box.

The driver box was installed at point A.

The LED strip (sellable in meters)

LED strip installed under wall cab.

P/s: The LED strips is one of the thing that I'm glad I did. It really helps to provide enough brightness especially when i'm doing washing at the sink, particularly washing vege, washing rice and some cutting task near the sink.
The light source on the ceiling is not enough as it is behind us and we have casted our shadow in front of ourselves...

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jun 13 2014, 07:08 PM
TSmaxxon
post Jun 13 2014, 03:55 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 13 2014, 09:16 AM)
maxxon,

what quartz top are you using? any brand?
did you cabinet maker use a piece of plywood to support the counter top?

I've no idea what's the brand. No brand wan I presume... tongue.gif
They put a layer of MDF board underneath the quartz top, like following pic.
Not sure if plywood is better or otherwise, here's what Wiki says,
"MDF is generally denser than plywood. It is made up of separated fibres, but can be used as a building material similar in application to plywood. It is stronger and much more dense than particle board."

TSmaxxon
post Jun 13 2014, 07:02 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Fazab @ Jun 13 2014, 05:34 PM)
Hm....your installer did the usual way. But it should be OK as long as you do not stand, sit or press down hard on the overhanging edge opposite the washing machine.

Problem with stone tops is that they have very little flexural strength, cannot flex, meanng that if you bend them even a tiny bit, they break. Most stone slabs are of at least 20mm thickness, and can be used without a plywood subtop if well supported by the frame of the cabinet.

In your case you have a 6" (?) overhang on one side, and this is the weak point. If you have big size guests and they sit-lean on this edge, your heartbeat may quicken. Or little children climbing up on and swinging from the edge.

So it good practice that your installer added what look like a piece of  standard 18mm MDF for extra support.
I would have preferred a marine-spec plywood of 18mm. Plywood are more resistant to bending.
The installer guy, quite big guy about 90kg demo by hanging and swinging himself (with two hands support on the over-hanging top). It didn't move a bit or even shake a little at all....so, i think it's no prob for a kid to sit on it, but ofcoz i don't dare to try sit or stand on it lar.... Pressing it definitely no prob... smile.gif
TSmaxxon
post Jun 14 2014, 02:54 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(aku_ker @ Jun 14 2014, 02:26 AM)
Thks maxxon for the detail explanation.Btw the cover come with the driver or u bought it separate ly?
You are welcome. Actually i took those pics during installation and wanted to put up a sharing, but due to lack of motivation, i skipped it... and i've actually skipped quite some things since then...however, feel like abit motivated to do some sharing lately.. tongue.gif

The box was given by the electrician... Yup, normal electrical shop has that. Not those electrical shop who sell tv and fridge though, but those shop who sell wires, pipes and switches... smile.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jun 14 2014, 05:48 AM
TSmaxxon
post Jun 15 2014, 04:26 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(kokmengng @ Jun 15 2014, 04:06 PM)
Do you mind to share what application/software you used for the polka dots? I like the way you did it and especially to indicate the lighting points i.e which pairs are to share or loop. 😊
Huh!? Can't believe got ppl interested in the polka dots app i used... laugh.gif Coz i see others' are so pro and I sometimes malu to show mine... tongue.gif

If you are using iOS, you may look for an app called "you doodle plus". It's super easy to draw from scratch or like what I did, just draw on a photo/picture. Although it can't draw very technical drawing, but polka dots with free-hand can be done in just minutes.... As long as the drawing is able to be comprehended well by the contractor, I'm happy and do not wish to spend much time on those drawing.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jun 15 2014, 04:28 PM

23 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 >Top

0.0480sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:41 AM