127 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Bottom

The watch thread v7

TSpatryn33
post Jan 29 2014, 09:58 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jan 29 2014, 09:42 AM)
local ADs no stock for a year or so already... similarly with the 005...

heard that Panerai will be slowly replacing their base models with the P.5000 movement... can be seen in this year's SIHH the 56x models i think
Key is look outside local market.
Here is one listed 6 days ago
http://www.rolexforums.com/showthread.php?t=333991

Or check out sg
http://forums.watchnet.com/index.php?t=tre...to=631030&rid=0

With swatch group cutting back they have to use their inhouse movement
SUSRandy Marsh
post Jan 29 2014, 10:03 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jan 29 2014, 09:50 AM)
yeah... factory owner in a few countries and share market speculator sweat.gif
Wow. He/she must be making a fortune. notworthy.gif

Can you recognize this watch Stallone is wearing ? Looks so nice though.

kenji1903
post Jan 29 2014, 10:07 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Randy Marsh @ Jan 29 2014, 10:03 AM)
Wow. He/she must be making a fortune.  notworthy.gif

at first glance... looks like a Daytona... but not sure, need to ask the other sifus here laugh.gif
outpace
post Jan 29 2014, 10:31 AM

574 posts

would go for second one because of the sapphire glass.

I personally had considered EQS-1100DB-1AV at price of about RM950, Downside: not interchangeable with leather strap, heavy/ bulky/ four buttons instead of screw-in crown, it's still a beautiful watch at that price range.

Even though a lot of sifu/ big shots / big guns/ high flyers are here to after "something other than functionality" and I guess they won't deny Casio tops functionality/ price ratio chart. cheers.gif
Generally speaking, parameter left for you to compare is selling prices among merchants and I guess the difference would not exceed RM200, thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by outpace: Jan 29 2014, 10:32 AM
sniper on the roof
post Jan 29 2014, 11:18 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Randy Marsh @ Jan 29 2014, 10:03 AM)
Wow. He/she must be making a fortune.  notworthy.gif

It says right on the image name no?

Carl Bucherer Patravi TravelTec GMT
Everdying
post Jan 29 2014, 12:09 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jan 29 2014, 09:45 AM)
worth is very personal and subjective tongue.gif

a rich guy once told me, "things are not expensive, its just that you cannot afford it"
yea well its true for anything.
for some ppl even buying a rm1k seiko has no logic.
or a rm1.5k watch may be luxury already.
in the end, whatever makes you happy...no need to keep living your life based on making other ppl happy tongue.gif

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jan 29 2014, 11:18 AM)
It says right on the image name no?

Carl Bucherer Patravi TravelTec GMT
some ppl ah doh.gif rclxub.gif
Everdying
post Jan 29 2014, 12:11 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(wansirpunk @ Jan 28 2014, 10:24 PM)
Just want people opinion here....these watch consider good or overrated or not worth the price?...1st time consider buying a expensive watch here. My fav based on picture order and for me all these consider expensive watch but willing to spend if worth the price.

purpose for both casual and to work....
casio edifice a good choice.
but for work, seiko also makes solar chronographs at about the same price...and would look better in work environment.
just that they got too many damn models all look almost the same in the same price range...not as bad as edifice...but still makes choosing one quite hard.
kenji1903
post Jan 29 2014, 12:55 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 29 2014, 12:09 PM)
in the end, whatever makes you happy...no need to keep living your life based on making other ppl happy tongue.gif
well said bro, well said rclxms.gif

happy new year, leaving office now thumbup.gif

ei? sold your Seamaster already? smile.gif

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Jan 29 2014, 01:00 PM
Everdying
post Jan 29 2014, 01:03 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jan 29 2014, 12:55 PM)
well said bro, well said rclxms.gif

happy new year, leaving office now thumbup.gif

ei? sold your Seamaster already? smile.gif
ya got another seamaster tongue.gif
twho
post Jan 29 2014, 01:34 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(outpace @ Jan 29 2014, 10:31 AM)

would go for second one because of the sapphire glass.

I personally had considered EQS-1100DB-1AV at price of about RM950, Downside: not interchangeable with leather strap, heavy/ bulky/ four buttons instead of screw-in crown, it's still a beautiful watch at that price range.

Even though a lot of sifu/ big shots / big guns/ high flyers are here to after "something other than functionality" and I guess they won't deny Casio tops functionality/ price ratio chart.  cheers.gif
Generally speaking, parameter left for you to compare is selling prices among merchants and I guess the difference would not exceed RM200,  thumbup.gif
Casio is no doubt reliable, but at RM950, there's alot of choices in brand/style that you can choose from. Seiko, Orient and Citizen has alot of choices in that price range. If black pvd is what you're looking for, then Casio has more of them.
But at the end of the day, like outpace said, it depends on the discount you get. biggrin.gif

On the other hand, wanted to ask how you guys rate the Orient Ray in comparison with the Seiko Monster or SKX007?
Posted in the Seiko thread but did not get much feedback.

Everdying
post Jan 29 2014, 01:49 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(twho @ Jan 29 2014, 01:34 PM)

On the other hand, wanted to ask how you guys rate the Orient Ray in comparison with the Seiko Monster or SKX007?
Posted in the Seiko thread but did not get much feedback.

u got the only feedback that mattered.
4r36 monster > skx > ray.
outpace
post Jan 29 2014, 02:55 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 29 2014, 12:09 PM)
some ppl ah  doh.gif rclxub.gif
had been raised by "philosophical" members many times , but still I press the "LIKE" button. thumbup.gif

My guess is there is no need to doubt, show me one watch that, at RM950, that "functional" Casio rules, unless auto/ mechanical watch is preferred (as many do).
one sub RM1k metal analog watch that has
AR coated Sapphire*,
100m water resistant,
good lume,
long life span (Tough Solar doesn't need to change battery at least),
perpetual calender,
1/1000 chronograph,
world time,

*I rated this high

a lot of the above mentioned can be done with handheld gadget, so decision after all is more of sentiment value and social status one wanted to be perceived as, easy to say who cares, but a lot of us do care.

It sounds a bit vulgar, for a matter of fact, there are a lot sifu are here to discuss and appreciate the fine quality watch making and history behind them. thumbup.gif
like what it say no watch is too cheap or too expensive to discuss

This post has been edited by outpace: Jan 29 2014, 03:10 PM
sniper on the roof
post Jan 29 2014, 03:04 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(outpace @ Jan 29 2014, 02:55 PM)
had been raised by "philosophical" members many times , but still I press the "LIKE" button. thumbup.gif

My guess is there is no need to doubt, show me one watch that, at RM950, that "functional" Casio rules, unless auto/ mechanical watch is preferred (as many do).
one sub RM1k metal analog watch that has
AR coated Sapphire*, 
100m water resistant,
good lume,
long life span (Tough Solar doesn't need to change battery at least),
perpetual calender,
1/1000 chronograph,
world time,

*I rated this high

a lot of the above mentioned can be done with handheld gadget, so decision after all is more of sentiment value and social status one wanted to be perceived as, easy to say who cares, but a lot of them do care.
Slightly off topic but I think I'll be worried if I were Casio. There's a good likelihood that their primary sellpoint of having most feature per buck will go the same way as pre-quartz accuracy being a sellpoint with smart watches being in the scene.

ps: Tough Solar still has a rechargeable battery that will eventually wear down AND more expensive to replace compare with a simple quartz watch with a 10 year battery life using standard batteries.
outpace
post Jan 29 2014, 03:20 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jan 29 2014, 03:04 PM)
Slightly off topic but I think I'll be worried if I were Casio. There's a good likelihood that their primary sellpoint of having most feature per buck will go the same way as pre-quartz accuracy being a sellpoint with smart watches being in the scene.

ps: Tough Solar still has a rechargeable battery that will eventually wear down AND more expensive to replace compare with a simple quartz watch with a 10 year battery life using standard batteries.
Good point, I personally looking at the COGITO smart watch, won't be long before they all come with Sapphire/ 100 meter WR.

khchong81
post Jan 29 2014, 04:43 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(Randy Marsh @ Jan 29 2014, 09:22 AM)
RM16k to RM22k for a watch ?!

Is it really worth it ?  blink.gif
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jan 29 2014, 09:45 AM)
worth is very personal and subjective tongue.gif

a rich guy once told me, "things are not expensive, its just that you cannot afford it"
For me, watch represent my journey in career. From Casio calculator digital watch > Swatch chrono > Seiko Criteria > Oris William F1 > Mont Blanc

All just to pamper myself
Jason
post Jan 29 2014, 08:56 PM

6,358 posts

City Chain is carrying Seagull. Interesting. 15% discount only.
Everdying
post Jan 29 2014, 09:34 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jan 29 2014, 08:56 PM)
City Chain is carrying Seagull. Interesting. 15% discount only.
iirc hang thai was distributing seagull last yr...wonder if they gave it up.
TSpatryn33
post Jan 29 2014, 10:14 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jan 29 2014, 03:04 PM)

Casio quartz has 10 yr life
Others like Ronda is a mix bag, range from 25 mths to 10yrs. Eta too like 2-4 yrs, guess they only focus on mech.
My tag old quartz only does 2-3 yrs.
Timex intelligence quartz is like 5 yrs
Jap quartz are really efficient many miyota mvt are rated for 10 yr.

U are right on solar, Casio tough solar still has some ways to go. Some ppl report changing battery on the 7th yr. might as well do quartz

This post has been edited by patryn33: Jan 29 2014, 10:20 PM
Patek
post Jan 29 2014, 10:16 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 29 2014, 09:34 PM)
iirc hang thai was distributing seagull last yr...wonder if they gave it up.
yeah, i saw this on my way back from office today at KLCC.

This is the mark 16 that my friend wanna sell. he already sold the bracelet n offering me the watch for RM8k only. drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
TSpatryn33
post Jan 29 2014, 10:22 PM

3,940 posts

Get it!
So u doing what to replace the missing bracelet?
Don't say u carrying it like a pocket watch

Getting a iwc 18mm deployment clasp is like rm2-3k

This post has been edited by patryn33: Jan 29 2014, 10:27 PM

127 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:00 PM