13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

MSI Gaming Notebook V.II, The Refreshed model yet more powerful!

shin2l
post Jan 27 2014, 11:18 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jan 27 2014, 11:12 AM)
Thanks for the good analysis...Illegear shop in KL? I in Kedah...This MSI or Illegear got service center nation wide? I might work in Sabah or Sarawak later... blush.gif

The PC shop boss I used to buy things here said Lenovo Y510p with SLI is a crap... rclxub.gif
Illegear warehouse in Kluang, Johor. Office in Singapore. You can contact @PrinceJ for details.

MSI service center can be referred to link below:

http://my.msi.com/service/msinewmap/

Edit: Name your PC shop boss on Lenovo lowyat thread, he dont need to do business anymore tongue.gif Y510p is not crap, in fact it is the most selling gaming unit in Malaysia (personal opinion) due to affordable (RM3999) and valuable (120% of GTX770M). Because of dual GPU, it will suffer driver issue (games compatible), micro-stuttering issue (I really dont know what), heat issue (current design need to be improved further).

This post has been edited by shin2l: Jan 27 2014, 11:25 AM
shin2l
post Jan 27 2014, 01:33 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jan 27 2014, 12:32 PM)
Last time he hard sell toshiba, then Asus ( I bought my asus from him, and he said batt spoiled after a year is normal  rclxub.gif ), last week i went there no he push MSI
Typical seller who follow angin sweat.gif , basically I dont trust what seller say, unless those who are really know about laptops.

A good guide for you is look at the units you want to buy, "molest" them until you satisfy. DO remember there is always a trade off in selecting laptop (good overall features, weak support or vice versa). Unless you are rich enough to go for Alienware. Ask yourself can you accept the tradeoff and which things you MUST have. Then easily you will find yourself which laptop you want to buy. You can start with your budget first, it is like buying a car.

For my case:

budget <RM6k (more than that really bankrupt)
overall features>support (at least not too bad, I can wait for few days when claim warranty)
high settings gaming performance (at least GTX770M, GTX780M too expensive)
I7 (4700MQ is okay and 2 yrs later I still can use for rendering)
decent cooling performance (this one is a MUST)
ram (8GB is enough, may be upgrade to 16GB in future)
SSD or HDD (prefer HDD 750GB or 1TB, MUST 7200 rpm if for 1TB, SSD currently still not too affordable)
2.1 built-in speaker (my Dell is 2.1 so I MUST have 2.1 for my next)
15.6" or 17" (I choose 17" bcs audio jack is on left while 15.6" is on right, MUST on left for my Senn can)
Weight (total weight < 6kg, save time for gym)
Sound card and driver (laptop built in always inferior to external, luckily ALC892 is not that bad and Creative SBC also do job well)
Screen (MUST matte or non-glossy, as long as I dont see my mirror then okay)
keyboard (when you spend something expensive, MUST make it backlit, SS keystorke is decent)
touchpad (MUST be good sensitivity and touch experience, though you can use external mouse, but there is always a situation you will use touchpad in future)
PSU and battery life (MUST 180W due to I7 + GTX770M and 3 hr normal use is enough)
maintenance (MUST be easy access to ram, hdd, gpu, cpu, fan)

shin2l
post Jan 28 2014, 07:24 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Jan 28 2014, 03:09 AM)
got a question... noted the power button color blinking between white n red, wat does it mean?
GPU kick in indicator

white: intel gpu kick in
red: nvidia gpu kick in
shin2l
post Jan 28 2014, 09:17 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jan 28 2014, 08:59 AM)
wow SLI intel n nvidia?
QUOTE(astria @ Jan 28 2014, 09:09 AM)
Nvidia Optimus...
Correct, it is Nvidia Optimus, if you go to Nvidia Control Panel, you will see both intel and Nvidia GPU plus another "auto select" options. Default is auto-select.
shin2l
post Jan 28 2014, 10:32 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jan 28 2014, 10:13 AM)
rclxms.gif  that will save some juice out of the battery...

which model of msi have it? only top model?
For me, if you own GT70, it will not gonna help a lot. tongue.gif

But if you own GE40 (battery can tahan 5 hrs), you may need it.

Actually, Nvidia gpu will use a lot resource only you run heavy task (gaming), normal use such as listening song, surfing wont use that much resource

If you use battery, just make sure you disable some unnecesary programs and go for power saver mode, this can save a lot power too. But all this based on assumption that you dont gaming using battery.

QUOTE(astria @ Jan 28 2014, 10:18 AM)
lol, as a matter of fact, top models dun come with it (well at least not mine)...

i dun really mind... not sure abt now, but last time the driver was really haywire...
If I am not mistaken, ASUS G750JX dun have it either.

Now the driver is very stable, but annoying for me the light keep changing from white-red-white red, i just use Nvidia GPU as default, settle rclxms.gif
shin2l
post Jan 28 2014, 10:55 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jan 28 2014, 10:50 AM)
So meaning is for gaming purpose need to detach the battery n run on AC alone
MSI is a little special, it has the feature called NOS, which draws power from battery under extreme heavy load condition where exceeding the limit of PSU (say PSU is 120W, but system requires 130W, so 10W is drawn from battery)

Of course, if you have AC so you can detach battery unless you want to activate NOS

Quote from MSI GT intro:

Automatically apply more power to boost CPU and Graphics performance!

NOS is the MSI unique feature to use Hybrid Power design, combined with CPU Boost from Intel, GPU Boost from NVIDIA graphics and Cooler Boost 2 from MSI special design, this feature could brings much more performance enhancements to over 10% or even more.
On MSI GT series gaming notebooks, when the system total usage power is over the maxima limitation of 180W adaptor supply, NOS will auto turn on automatically to apply more currents and watts to support GPU to keep the boost work. It could let user get 10% more benefits on benchmarks and gaming performance.
When the battery capacity is less than 30% or the power consumption of system request goes under the maxima limitation of 180W, system will turn off the NOS automatically and back to normal mode.

This post has been edited by shin2l: Jan 28 2014, 10:56 AM
shin2l
post Jan 28 2014, 11:03 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jan 28 2014, 10:58 AM)
people said using the battery along with AC will make the battery spoil faster...my ASUS battery dead maybe due to that...

but my office dell, I always use AC with battery attach, for 2 years liao, no issue of battery not tahan...still can give me 2 hours usage...
I would say battery quality varies with everyone, good practise is always detach or disable charging when full charge or not in use.

I have DELL, my battery worn out 40% after 4 years, I was quite lucky with the battery. Normally for battery, warranty is 1 yr, so after 1 yr, pls take care.

If you want to check worn out %, you can install a software called CPUID HWmonitor, it can measure temperature too for CPU, GPU, motherboard, HDD

This post has been edited by shin2l: Jan 28 2014, 11:04 AM
shin2l
post Jan 28 2014, 01:16 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(shirogiwaaa @ Jan 28 2014, 12:34 PM)
i want to ask , i want upgrade ram in MSI ge 40, will it void warranty ?
depends on the person who do the upgrade job.

you - void
authorized msi seller - pass
msi service center - pass
other than above - void
shin2l
post Jan 30 2014, 09:31 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(SuperVelocity @ Jan 29 2014, 05:44 PM)
Fn + F3 also cant zzzz nvm just stick with gaming mouse will do.

Besides that MSI dont have switch off screen function?

Like so little hot key at my keyboard from MSI only.  tongue.gif
MSI does have, but not sure your model has or not.

There is a screen turn off function on G panel
shin2l
post Jan 30 2014, 03:03 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Jan 30 2014, 02:36 PM)
a question for all those using window 8... in comparing to my old acer running on window 7, window 8 on GS 70 update (confiriguring the window) take very long time... was it the same for other or just me?
If you download a lot of large files (800MB~above), normally take whole day (6 hrs~above, tested with my DELL 1555 and GT70)
shin2l
post Jan 30 2014, 06:58 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Jan 30 2014, 04:35 PM)
i dun think the dl patch do big... hmm.gif
will observe some more than...
Oh, if you look at the update history then you will know what exactly updates you download.

usually "security update", "framework", check whether you install Microsoft office or not, much longer
shin2l
post Jan 31 2014, 12:11 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(lemonish @ Jan 30 2014, 11:57 PM)
Hye guys,  blush.gif

I was surveying for mid/low-end gaming laptop with budget of RM2500+/- and found this GP60.
Compared it with some other laptops (of 15.6") and also read some reviews on it too.
seems that I preferred the i5-4200M processor more than any other i7-4500U.

anyway,
one thing puzzling my mind is this,

from This Link,

it says that the

and is quoted from the 'graphic card' section of the review.

my point is,
is the Malaysia's GP60 version has the same 64-bit to the GPU connection?
and it certainly will throttle the performance right?

anyone can clear this out?
any GP60 user maybe  unsure.gif
Happy Chinese New Year

Yes, Malaysia GP60 is equipped with 64bit variant of GT740M (someone ask before)

You can confirm by yourself to look at demo set (Nvidia control panel)

Also, you can consider Z510 (I5 + GT740M) also
shin2l
post Jan 31 2014, 11:16 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(lemonish @ Jan 31 2014, 11:04 AM)
ah too bad.
then will the performance be throttled by that much?  hmm.gif
Happy Chinese New Year!!  biggrin.gif
Hmmm, I am not sure about that. Specifically, it is not throttled down but limited performance compared to 128 bit version.

You can find all the model with GT740M using ctrl + F in lowyat catalogue v4, then look for notebookcheck review for GPU-Z snapshot.
shin2l
post Jan 31 2014, 12:51 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(lemonish @ Jan 31 2014, 11:57 AM)
found it thanks!  notworthy.gif
You are welcome, which model is with 128bit gt740M? (curious to know)
shin2l
post Feb 2 2014, 12:25 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(UserU @ Feb 1 2014, 11:52 PM)
I'm curious to find out too. Planning to own the GP60 20D 475MY, but the details of the GT740M isn't revealed.
The fastest way is look on demo set either at lowyat plaza or digital mall, then go to nvidia panel to find out, but high possibility is 64 bit variant for gt740m of GP60 2OD 475MY
shin2l
post Feb 2 2014, 10:09 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 2 2014, 09:23 AM)
shows 64-bit + DDR3 here: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-MSI-GP...k.106525.0.html

juz ask the seller for a quick screen cap of GPU-Z...

and that's y i never liked NV's mid end GPU... cutting costs way too much...
If the seller only sell sealed box, so there is no chance to crop GPU-z image, may be their customer can help.

xxxx

@astria

during old time your GTX570M is fermi based right? Is this the same chasis as GT60/70?
shin2l
post Feb 4 2014, 02:08 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(ravemaster @ Feb 4 2014, 01:52 PM)
hi guys, a question...i just got a msi gt70 running on 1tb hard disk..and planning to change it to a msata SSD (i think mine support msata)..
i also read up there are two kinds of drive, which are boot drive and primary hard drive...now if i am to change/add a SSD, should i replace the 1tb hard disk with the SSD? or just plug in the SSD on the boot drive?
i have not open the lappy and all my question are based on my curiosity..planning to change/add a SSD end of this month..any feedback would be appreciated..thanks
I also want to upgrade to SSD in future, so come to learn something.

Based on my google research, you can either swap original HDD to SSD OR install another SSD/msata SSD on the msata SSD bay.

You can refer to the picture attached before you send to MSI authorized shop/service center to upgrade

shin2l
post Feb 6 2014, 09:08 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(SuperVelocity @ Feb 6 2014, 10:11 AM)
What is G Panel?
look at the snapshot

shin2l
post Feb 14 2014, 10:03 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Feb 14 2014, 08:30 AM)
urs is which model already a?
GT70 2OC smile.gif
shin2l
post Feb 15 2014, 09:08 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(StarXing @ Feb 15 2014, 07:26 PM)
So not recommended ? Doesn't the 2 cooling fan helps ? Or if i game in air-conditioned room + a cooling fan
Then your electricity bill shoots up gao gao, want better cooling from MSI, only GT series can do that, but not for mobile user.

13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0381sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:27 PM