KYPMbangi
post Aug 22 2013, 10:25 AM

39 posts

Haunted corner for sure
SUSadvocado
post Aug 22 2013, 10:29 AM

2,948 posts

That kind of length is not enough for a heavy moving vehicle to slow down, at the end of the ram is also wall & ravine?

QUOTE(hackwire @ Aug 22 2013, 12:08 AM)
i didn't know there's an emergency escape ram. it really dangerous for heavy vehicles due to tremendous braking. i experience lost of brake before but its temporary. brake is usually the main problem .
SUSadvocado
post Aug 22 2013, 10:30 AM

2,948 posts

Handbrake is the same brake as pedal brake just for the back wheels, so maybe not the brake pad but the brake hydraulics overheated?

QUOTE(jAkUn @ Aug 22 2013, 12:30 AM)
haha! agreed!
my brake overheat ady when i was downhill, before reaching the post before the roundabout at goh tong.
when i realized it, i have to downshift to gear 2, to gear 1 just to get the stall, and shift it back to gear 2, keep pressing the brakes, eventhough the grip is not totally lost, it keeps going, after the sharp S corner reaching the guard post, i pull the handbrake, wait till the bump slows us down, and i managed to stop on the left side road. wait till half an hour, test for few metres, and drive slowly. really sked during that time.

since then, i always go for mid-end, not cheap, nor inexpensive brake pad. keep my disc skimmed if bengkok.
differ
post Aug 22 2013, 10:32 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Aug 22 2013, 10:29 AM)
That kind of length is not enough for a heavy moving vehicle to slow down, at the end of the ram is also wall & ravine?
The surface is bumped and it inclines quite steeply upwards.
RoyMcAvoy
post Aug 22 2013, 10:39 AM

Going to be a grand wizard next year
1,732 posts

it's not express bus type, the bus look just like rapidkl intracity bus
zimhibikie
post Aug 22 2013, 10:41 AM

Freak of Nature
2,825 posts

lloks like quite near to where the bus I'm in nearly jatuh gaung back in 2008..
Yukieliow
post Aug 22 2013, 10:43 AM

277 posts

When going downhill happens all the time where people got jam break bcos of overheat and overuse (normal as ppl common sense use break)
Just an advice dont keep using the break but use a lower gear to drag the car and press the break on n off NOT continously.
Especially when bringing heavy load/more passenger the break pad works even harder.
The overload of the bus + the wearing out of break pad might be the main course this time.
jAkUn
post Aug 22 2013, 10:47 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Aug 22 2013, 11:30 AM)
Handbrake is the same brake as pedal brake just for the back wheels, so maybe not the brake pad but the brake hydraulics overheated?
handbrake is not the same as pedal brake, as it can throw your rear even if your car bending a lil, and lil faster.

brake hydraulics did not overheat, unless its leaking, or the brake fluid cap ayam can vaporize easily.

as for brake failure, for cheap brake pad, it cannot withstand too much heat, hence explaining the loss of grip to the disc.
"Brake fade" is a condition caused by overheating in which braking effectiveness reduces, and may be lost. It may occur for many reasons. The pads which engage the rotating part may become overheated and "glaze over", becoming so smooth and hard that they cannot grip sufficiently to slow the vehicle. Also, vaporization of the hydraulic fluid under temperature extremes or thermal distortion may cause the linings to change their shape and engage less surface area of the rotating part. Thermal distortion may also cause permanent changes in the shape of the metal components, resulting in a reduction in braking capability that requires replacement of the affected parts.

LeonTan
post Aug 22 2013, 10:51 AM

**SHINE**
2,161 posts

R.I.P cry.gif
jAkUn
post Aug 22 2013, 10:52 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Aug 22 2013, 11:43 AM)
When going downhill happens all the time where people got jam break bcos of overheat and overuse (normal as ppl common sense use break)
Just an advice dont keep using the break but use a lower gear to drag the car and press the break on n off NOT continously.
Especially when bringing heavy load/more passenger the break pad works even harder.
The overload of the bus + the wearing out of break pad might be the main course this time.
buses, trucks use air brakes. most of the major cause of air brakes failure is due to the poor maintenance.

http://www.canadianunderwriter.ca/news/put...ure/1000212839/

MAINTENANCE OVERLOOKED

Air brakes are typically used on buses, trucks, tractors and other heavy-duty vehicles; they require constant inspection and attention to ensure proper operation and performance. However, statistics show that air brake maintenance and adjustment is often overlooked.

Brake malfunction accounted for 56.6% of out-of-service violations cited during roadside inspections. This was followed by lights (11.1%), loading (9.3%) and tires/wheels (8.5%), according to a 2004 study by the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA), a Washington, D.C.-based association of state, provincial and federal officials that administers and enforces motor carrier safety laws in Canada, Mexico and the United States.

It's not surprising, then, that air brake deficiency is cited as one of the major factors in truck crashes, according to the 2006 Large Truck Crash Causation Study, conducted by the U.S. Department of Transportation's (DOT) Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

In the category of "all trucks involved in crashes nationwide by specific factors," the study shows that brake deficiency was cited in 37,000 (or 26% of) vehicle crashes. This compares with crashes resulting from prescription drug use (26%), travelling too fast for conditions (23%), weather-related factors (14%), fatigue (13%), aggressive driving (7%), jackknife events (5%), cargo shift (4%) or engine, fuel system or exhaust deficiency (1%). It should be noted that multiple causes could be cited for a single crash.

It's unclear whether these crashes could have been prevented with proper air brake maintenance, but maintenance is only part of the picture. Industry surveys repeatedly determine that truck drivers and mechanics need more education and awareness of how air braking systems operate and how to inspect and maintain them.

Mech Warrior 6
post Aug 22 2013, 10:57 AM

343 posts

deswai some cars install parachute to reduce speed and increase drag...

oh waii..
jAkUn
post Aug 22 2013, 10:58 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(Mech Warrior 6 @ Aug 22 2013, 11:57 AM)

oh waii..
imagining buses with loads of passengers, downhill, cornering, with parachute behind.. hmm.gif
grumpydrive
post Aug 22 2013, 11:00 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(taiko8148 @ Aug 22 2013, 10:15 AM)
Ya, some of the bus provide seat belt but not compulsory to wear it.

Taxi also, always from KLIA to KL. those taxi drive like F1. When i wear seat belt, the driver said 'tak payah pakai kot' tak saman punya!'
I said wtf man, i wear it for safety, not to avoid saman.
Sometimes their taxi's seat belts also like rosak one - does not retract properly and hang loose around/along your body. sweat.gif
EternalC
post Aug 22 2013, 11:02 AM

Take what you can, give nothing back
845 posts

QUOTE(Mech Warrior 6 @ Aug 22 2013, 10:57 AM)

oh waii..
alang alang pasang wing saja le

will auto deploy when going off ground

jet engine behind boost lift off

pundex
post Aug 22 2013, 11:14 AM

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 22 2013, 10:05 AM)
got seat belts also no use. enforcement problem

ask yourself if every bus provided with seat belts, how many will wear them ?
I fasten them everytime im on a bus at genting
Scare the ammoshaf out of me everytime i travel by bus going down from genting
EternalC
post Aug 22 2013, 11:15 AM

Take what you can, give nothing back
845 posts

i insist on taking taxi up and down. no way i'm gonna take a bus. worst also i take van, nothing more.
shinkawa
post Aug 22 2013, 11:18 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

QUOTE(Mech Warrior 6 @ Aug 22 2013, 11:57 AM)

oh waii..
then pasang drop hook for emergency brake
Mech Warrior 6
post Aug 22 2013, 11:18 AM

343 posts

QUOTE(jAkUn @ Aug 22 2013, 10:58 AM)
imagining buses with loads of passengers, downhill, cornering, with parachute behind..  hmm.gif

it's gonna be like james bond movie.. brows.gif

QUOTE(EternalC @ Aug 22 2013, 11:02 AM)
alang alang pasang wing saja le

will auto deploy when going off ground

jet engine behind boost lift off
eh this idea not bad..!
instead of slowing down..jst pick up speed and by pass all those serowpoke cars../
goot one! i rike!
Mech Warrior 6
post Aug 22 2013, 11:19 AM

343 posts

QUOTE(shinkawa @ Aug 22 2013, 11:18 AM)
then pasang drop hook for emergency brake
aiseh...u ppl really gooding yo!
from take off to halt also figure out liao...

now need to look for engineers/mechanic to do that..
sigs4yo
post Aug 22 2013, 11:20 AM

takziah

69 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » 

0.0170sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:33 PM