101 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Official Windows Phone 8 Discussion Thread! V3, Manually Flash your Lumia 920 with Amber

s7ran9er
post Sep 19 2013, 10:49 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 19 2013, 10:11 AM)
Samsung Ativ S should have Amber also.
http://mobilesyrup.com/2013/07/12/microsof...indows-phone-8/

One thing for sure, 720 does not have Double Tap to Wake feature because of hardware limitation. Since ATIV S has better hardware, just not sure whether it has DTTW or not.

Having used Zeiss len, I would agree with you. Those Zeiss has to be used to believe.
Hmm... AFAIK, the "amber" update has always been a slice of nokia's touchup on GDR2's update. Perhaps I am wrong?

WPcentral's #amber tag doesn't show anything on Samsung ATIV S and Samsung ATIV S's tag didn't show anything about amber either.

You may read these links for your references:

http://www.wpcentral.com/tag/amber
http://www.nokia.com/global/windows-phone-amber-update/

And about the double tap on 720, it's a shame really but do expect a rumored dual sim slot 720 to be reveal. laugh.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 19 2013, 11:30 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Sep 19 2013, 10:49 AM)
Hmm... AFAIK, the "amber" update has always been a slice of nokia's touchup on GDR2's update. Perhaps I am wrong?

WPcentral's #amber tag doesn't show anything on Samsung ATIV S and Samsung ATIV S's tag didn't show anything about amber either.

You may read these links for your references:

http://www.wpcentral.com/tag/amber
http://www.nokia.com/global/windows-phone-amber-update/
This is how I understood it.

WP8 and Amber are provided by Microsoft so it's not a Nokia exclusive. So all WP8 should have Amber.

s7ran9er
post Sep 19 2013, 11:39 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 19 2013, 11:30 AM)

WP8 and Amber are provided by Microsoft so it's not a Nokia exclusive. So all WP8 should have Amber.
The exact name should be GDR2 by Microsoft but Nokia calls it Lumia Amber. smile.gif
justchris
post Sep 19 2013, 12:35 PM

123 posts

Microsoft provide GDR2 (FM radio, etc)
but Amber is GDR2 + Nokia own Software improve (double tap awake, glance screen, etc)

GothFebrio
post Sep 19 2013, 03:42 PM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

nope, Its like this

Microsoft WP8 RTM -> GDR1(aka Portico) -> GDR2 -> GDR3 -> WP8.1

Nokia PR1.0 -> PR1.1(came with portico) -> PR1.1.5 -> PR2.0(Amber (came with GDR2)) -> PR??(Bittersweet Shimmer(should be with GDR3))

other manufacturers have their own firmware.
mf_yamato
post Sep 19 2013, 04:04 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Sep 19 2013, 03:42 PM)
nope, Its like this

Nokia PR1.0 -> PR1.1(came with portico) -> PR1.1.5 -> PR2.0(Amber (came with GDR2)) -> PR??(Bittersweet Shimmer(should be with GDR3))

true dat.

like droid custom rom la..
all based in ics,jb, gb
but each dev give their own name for his/her custom rome..
same as what happenning now..

Amber is customed for nokia only, based on GDR2 updates..

itu aja....
fsjaya
post Sep 19 2013, 10:43 PM

103 posts

hi, may i get some info fr l720 users, when i make call the whole screen 'black out', meaning i don't get to choose to tap any options. i can't end call or turn on speaker phone. i can only see the taps when i press briefly power button for 2x. is my phone software problem?
tq.

ahnien
post Sep 20 2013, 01:08 AM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(fsjaya @ Sep 19 2013, 10:43 PM)
hi, may i get some info fr l720 users, when i make call the whole screen 'black out', meaning i don't get to choose to tap any options. i can't end call or turn on speaker phone. i can only see the taps when i press briefly power button for 2x. is my phone software problem?
tq.
anything blocking the ambient sensor??
wat type sp u using?
fsjaya
post Sep 20 2013, 07:20 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(ahnien @ Sep 20 2013, 12:08 AM)
anything blocking the ambient sensor??
wat type sp u using?
tq for replying. problem solved. the s.protector blocked the proximity sensor, i cut off the upper part a bit, and it's ok liao. found the tip fr google.
hmwgbworld
post Sep 20 2013, 02:14 PM

3,375 posts

I have bought a Lumia 620, do i need to register the phone warranty myself?
If need, and how? please kindly guide as I'm new to smartphone biggrin.gif .
yap1992
post Sep 20 2013, 09:06 PM

96 posts

Is here maps reliable in malaysia?
300thecat
post Sep 20 2013, 11:50 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(fsjaya @ Sep 20 2013, 07:20 AM)
tq for replying. problem solved. the s.protector blocked the proximity sensor, i cut off the upper part a bit, and it's ok liao. found the tip fr google.
you using the nillkin brand SP?
JasonWilton
post Sep 21 2013, 01:40 AM

1,068 posts

lol Nokia sponsered KevJumba!

ajay67
post Sep 21 2013, 08:59 AM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(yap1992 @ Sep 20 2013, 09:06 PM)
Is here maps reliable in malaysia?

yep

weirdguy
post Sep 21 2013, 09:40 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(JasonWilton @ Sep 21 2013, 01:40 AM)
lol Nokia sponsered KevJumba!

I am actually looking forward for its In-Video statement that "This Video is Entirely shot with Lumia 1020"
But I am wrong. Nevertheless, still a great video to watch.
JasonWilton
post Sep 21 2013, 09:58 AM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ Sep 21 2013, 09:40 AM)
I am actually looking forward for its In-Video statement that "This Video is Entirely shot with Lumia 1020"
But I am wrong. Nevertheless, still a great video to watch.
kinda impossible, when OIS kicks in, DSLR quality still and will always be the winner.
OIS makes it wobbly thus you will know when it is shot with the NL1020 or a SLR nod.gif
weirdguy
post Sep 21 2013, 10:09 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(JasonWilton @ Sep 21 2013, 09:58 AM)
kinda impossible, when OIS kicks in, DSLR quality still and will always be the winner.
OIS makes it wobbly thus you will know when it is shot with the NL1020 or a SLR  nod.gif
True,
Lol, it just me - somewhere my heart wants that statement though it is obviously not.

The video is obviously SLR Quality especially the night shots.
s7ran9er
post Sep 21 2013, 10:30 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

It could be a RED or any cinecam, the dynamic range is just so good!

Video not sponsored by Nokia, but AT&T and that's what they like to do every time. They did approached WongFu to do a series of interactive drama with Lumia phones.
David900924
post Sep 22 2013, 09:34 AM

Crypto Master
1,269 posts

any1 have a list of GDR3 updates on? or videos about it?
-ahtiang-
post Sep 22 2013, 10:24 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Sep 19 2013, 03:42 PM)
nope, Its like this

Yes this is correct. Amber and Bittersweet Shimmer are Nokia branding of update which is released by Microsoft via GDR2, GDR3 and etc.
Microsoft code named their Windows Phone major releases with the alphabet 'o' at the back for all of them e.g., Mango, Portico, and Apollo for WP8.1

101 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:24 AM