○ Galaxy Nexus V24 ○, The Nexus lineage

springfall
post Oct 15 2013, 12:00 PM

Spring and fall helping Summer and winter
4,072 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Oct 15 2013, 12:50 PM)
I don't know how much warranty I have... I thought it's 2 years, but... I bought the handset somewhere mid 2012 IINM.

Normal shop can replace? Both USB and headphone? And can it be replaced on the spot, or do I need to give them my handset for a day or two? (then I'd have to wipe everything...).

@springfall: I try to do that (ok, not the muting thing, that does surprise me, but I'm not a musician). Pressure to left and right can happen when having the phone in my pocket, with the headphone plugged in.
if u dun wan wipe, u can always but the lower port (itz a one piece if not mistaken both usb and headphone jack)
then folo http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Samsung+Gal...Teardown/7182/1 and break it apart brows.gif

psst- look at step 7, itz a 2 peice doh.gif

hmm, try other headphones, if same means faultylor
i love to use right angled earphone jacks when i go jalan jalan.. but now my earphones rosak 1 side sweat.gif
now wear AT can's brows.gif

This post has been edited by springfall: Oct 15 2013, 12:02 PM
springfall
post Oct 17 2013, 10:06 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(bushyboy105 @ Oct 17 2013, 11:56 PM)
what ROM you guys using now?

I am currently using Android Revolution HD 4.3 now...

quite buggy, ever since i update to 4.2 for this version of ROM.

every things start to sucks.

Is paranoid or CM good? battery life ok?

and any rom can enhance the GPS signal?

most importantly i cant use my blue tooth headset now. sad.gif
aokp is up and good.
there is a file to flash to enhance gps, but itz somewhere in my phone and im just lazy to extract it whistling.gif
(Google can help u, flex ur hands and ask him)
-btw, i dun see the need to enhance.., just get gps test, settings clear and retract gps signal and A-OK adi.
but if u reallllly want.. u have to make me drag my dead hands to plug my phone into my computer..
bluetooth works with cata and so long ago.. u must be on some funky ARHD build that is not stable.
CM never try cuz too busy.

argghh... want that home launcher thing but no time to play phone in office cry.gif
springfall
post Oct 19 2013, 03:01 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(kazairol @ Oct 19 2013, 04:55 PM)
sorry to dig this post up but just now i turned on this phone and to my suprise its alive!
it went to the boot screen till the unlock screen, but then it shut down, battery out i guess. display still ok.

the prob now its not charging, plug the charger, nothing happen. it there a portable charger for samsung battery? wanna try it with fully charge battery see if its functioning.

me using nexus 4 ever since my galaxy nexus dead huhu.
if ur battery veli wet, and still got charge, chances it kong (short circuit)
umm u can find some1 meet up to test battery

if battery fine but cannot charge means ur charging hole sot jor (folo the guy few pages back 2gether fix)

at least u still can boot up (but since boot up then most prolly means ur hole die adi whistling.gif )
springfall
post Oct 19 2013, 10:13 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Oct 19 2013, 11:45 PM)
Nexus 5 leaked to come with 2300mAh battery.
Sporting full HD 5" screen powered by Snapdragon 800 what do you guys think about the battery ._.

http://www.gsmarena.com/nexus_5_memory_opt...s-news-7009.php
WE WANT MORE

whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
springfall
post Oct 20 2013, 01:08 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(playxboxwii @ Oct 20 2013, 02:01 PM)
Guys i havent turn on g nexus more than 5 months and when i wanna charge n use it .. This happens

Tge screen looks like this

How to solve?[attachmentid=3683017]
looks like screen calibration/wiring sot.

5 months where u put it? (damp/ humid area?)
with battery in the phone? (izzit charged?)
dropped be4?
izzit in box, atau letak buku/barang-barang atasnya?
springfall
post Oct 20 2013, 11:38 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Oct 21 2013, 01:12 AM)
woah.. then u wanna use it till death la..  flex.gif
Yes, because no sponsors... cry.gif

QUOTE(im_not_stupid @ Oct 21 2013, 01:31 AM)
who still need aviate invitation can pm me, slots available
same here.. 5 slots.
only be able to send at night hours due to work.
springfall
post Oct 21 2013, 11:47 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Oct 22 2013, 01:34 AM)
Lol went searching around, can anyone clarify this?

Sos: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1599025
partly true for 1,2,3,4
1- facebook and co. always hog data and battery
2- auto brightness eat battery and too dim cannot see (amoled more light & white more power makan)
3- kernals like franco (lolz) eat more battery than lean last time. (different variables and OC/UV get diff effects)
4- weak signal= more juice needs to be pumped to receive signal. (hence y phone hot fast during calls sometimes)

but of course.. we BUY a smartphone to do activity 1 and we need to see it clearly so brightness is a must.
if u dun wan use all this stuff, and just wan call, nokia is better.

other reasons
android is dalvic (hence need more power to run through memory etc) but gives customisability on the fly
on custom, variables are changed so much that we duno the real battery performance.
other variables are operating temperature, battery wear, usage (whether u off screen immediately or not)
use some app more frequently, dun manage ur apps/ leave all recents open, leave unessasary stuff open (gps)

nokia= king of standby. 3 weeks 1 charge.
offline mode= several months...

QUOTE(LiMi @ Oct 22 2013, 12:53 AM)
i was checking out the updated apps

seems like PGM has ccome to its last version

need to PAY for another new app (touch control) for future updates. I can pay but i feel a bit cheated sad.gif

springfall
post Oct 22 2013, 08:18 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Oct 22 2013, 10:01 PM)
Hm. With heavy use I can get around 4 hours out of the battery, so I have 2 batteries... original one and a fake original one. That usually does the trick for me. I don't like powerbanks cause the phone needs to be connected to charge... and charging takes a while. Just swapping the battery is more convenient. I only wish my next phone has a battery like in a digital camera... where you don't have to open the phone. Just open a slot and replace it. Also the phone should have a small internal battery that can keep the phone on for a few minutes, so you can swap the battery without having to turn off the phone.

My first smartphone came with 2 batteries and a charging dock that could charge the phone plus the spare battery at the same time. Very smart thinking, unlike newer phones where the battery is not even removeable! And the battery life of that phone wasn't much worse than with new phones...
i didnt know our gnexus is hot swappable, gotta try one day.
(i always remb when i flash fail then pakai battery phone will instant shut off, maybe screen off can last longer)

korean units come with 2 battery and a charger when u buy.
japanese comes with a sakura back door (fancy pancy) and
my friend also reported to me got free battery (from some seller)

HOWEVER, international units no battery and even if got, the local seller will take out and sell as replacement batt.

N4 can actually change batt, just very mafan (some1 should make a mod to attach back cover and easy battery swap)

ip4/s can change battery also but even mafan 3/5 even worse

for now sammy phones support battery cuz can sell accessories sad.gif
springfall
post Oct 22 2013, 08:38 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(nickcct @ Oct 22 2013, 10:34 PM)
But i think powerbank will do because bring 2 battery not convenient and powerbank can charger all kind of phone.  biggrin.gif
me like travel light.
1 phone left, wallet (3 cards, 1 battery and few big and small notes) on right
keys hooked

polarbear lives in my wallet (coins section)
and when needed just off swap and go

powerbank big bulky and make ur pocket fat.

springfall
post Oct 23 2013, 10:34 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Oct 23 2013, 12:14 PM)
yup. smooth no prob.  rclxms.gif
???

?? brows.gif
springfall
post Oct 23 2013, 11:17 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Oct 23 2013, 12:52 PM)
**cough**  cool2.gif

must try one day brows.gif
now arrrr'ing from some random sites doh.gif
springfall
post Oct 23 2013, 11:34 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Oct 23 2013, 01:28 PM)
Anyone managed to emulate Mifare Classic NFC cards with the Nexus? Sick of having to pay for lost access cards laugh.gif Also more convenient if it is in the phone.
if access code are in it, nope.
if no access code, then some what yes.

stuff like uni cards, bank cards, t&g cards, NRIC etc cannot.
if ur house cards got pin then cannot.
springfall
post Oct 23 2013, 12:02 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Oct 23 2013, 01:44 PM)
No pin. Just tap.
search NFC in google play and down all nfc apps.
1 of them allow recording.
and allows u to copy the details and play back.

u may also want to find another app (one of the few nfc app) to check security for the tag).

once recorded, just press playback and tap the sensor to the door.
if it give a feedback then congrast.

defcon last year launched another app that records nfc with security and plays back correctly.
but the app was taken down as it is illegal whistling.gif
(u can try finding it)
springfall
post Oct 23 2013, 12:36 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Oct 23 2013, 02:10 PM)
You mean recording the communication between the reader and the card? Mhh... need to look for that. Emulation only seems to work with the key, and I don't have it.

Do you remember the names of the apps?
nope. (dun remb cuz dun use anymore cuz all my tags are with passcodes)

it is as in
app scans and records detals
(app reads tag say poiuyt0987)

app then saves poiuyt0987 into file

when needed, app playback poiuyt0987
(phone plays poiuyt0987 to scanner 001)

there are other ways like auto launching app to play poiuyt0987 when device reads scanner 001

i discarded all links and ways cuz
1- it was illegal in my uni rolleyes.gif
2- getting the encryption is never possible for a non it dev student
3- my bank launched NFC payments through phones next year
4- itz still faster to scan my wallet than mess around (i dun lose cards whistling.gif )
springfall
post Oct 23 2013, 03:46 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Oct 23 2013, 02:47 PM)
Haha, ok. I'll have a look, thanks smile.gif

I am pretty frightened by NFC payments, seeing as the tech isn't terribly safe.
depends on ur bank actually
CC/DC cards follows by transaction.
aa on card need to match aa on atm/bank, of read bb to aa it will be fraud.
same theory goes to NFC

but lets say they stole ur phone/ cards
then see if they have backup plans like $100 limit or unexpectedly high transaction and or odd locations
also all transaction will be deemed fraud and returned back to you if u report as soon as it goes missing.

This does not apply in malaysia, so We should be scared.
even default atm is RM3000 withdrawal limit, if kena fraud, bank not liable. and u rugi 3k..
sometimes terminate card also take several minutes over phone sweat.gif
springfall
post Oct 23 2013, 09:52 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(nickcct @ Oct 23 2013, 10:39 PM)
Anyone using BBM? Just notice it open for android.
using it, okoklah, like no friends..
forever alone feeling since first few..
read /k/ alot using too but all spam sweat.gif

@nickcct waiting sucks but doesnt matter cuz no1 uses it whistling.gif
gonna w8 all my friends get then only use.
to me currently sign in still a memory and battery hog so disable and uninstall laugh.gif
springfall
post Oct 23 2013, 10:27 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Oct 24 2013, 12:20 AM)
the funny thing is that, it say incompatible to my Gnex icon_idea.gif
srry, not sure why, but perhaps u delete cache for the app or in web u delete all ur device and reconnect.

cuz i know they do selective region launch too so ur region might be messed up so it shows not avaliable

QUOTE(nickcct @ Oct 24 2013, 12:11 AM)
Notice that the wakelock is so so many. i uninstalled it.  rclxub.gif
yeeesss!
cannot tahan.. 1 hour eat 2 hours battery
uninstall till they patch things and also
the permanent notification that bbm is connected is just annoying

@djlah, bbm /k/ got diffrent groups brows.gif
which 1 u join brows.gif

got a special page for typical /k/tards posting brows.gif pictures
but yeah only few pple now gt bbm sweat.gif
springfall
post Oct 24 2013, 10:56 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Oct 24 2013, 10:39 AM)
those anyone still in waiting list, just register your email then force closed, will bypass it.

update:
BBM thread feedback doesn't work...
not sure if works, but i registerd wayy earlier

but never boot since yesterday cuz drain (waiting update)

QUOTE(navilink @ Oct 24 2013, 11:25 AM)
so this BBM thing is like a Whatsapp or Wechat? then no bother to use it..

hmm i rather surf the kopitiam thread using browser instead tongue.gif i dunno, never like BB stuffs.. very office-ly and heard my colleagues swearing how buggy it was..

anyway i was looking for an app with Altimeter and Barometer readings.. any recommendation? didn't know my Nexus got pressure sensor, cool!
whats app reveals ur hp number and name, and spam others in ur contact to join

bbm is nickname and pin code,

whatsapp is not free for ip users so u can make bbm for ur parents to sms them since itz free

i use altvario paid, and this hehehe

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Oct 24 2013, 11:54 AM)
bbm not my cup of tea ...until currently la.... future dono, but foresee this platform will not be success like iOS  / Android...
this no os lar.. itz chat.. to to be like ios/droid?

bbm /k/ is ungoverned means got lot of unrestricted content brows.gif

QUOTE(kuance @ Oct 24 2013, 12:27 PM)
Guys, i need some help here... there is something "weird' happen to my phone...

previously if i open both my wifi and data. whichever wifi is available (automatic connect if available), it will connect to the wifi. and whenever i leave the place(home/workplace), my data will automatic fire up when the wifi is out of range.

But for now... both my wifi and data open. data is ON. then when i go back home for example, it wouldnt connect to wifi automatically, it still runs on my data. ONLY if i OFF and then ON back on the wifi... it will only connect to the wifi.

What is happening here?? anyway, im using PA + fancy now...

previously when i first use catalysm wont like that... but then it start to have this problem, then i tot i flash to PA and do a clean flash clean install will do the job done. but who know, it stills the same...

any idea sifu?
change rom, ditch PA whistling.gif

restart phone yet?
springfall
post Oct 24 2013, 11:00 AM

4,072 posts

any1 here tried prey?

just like cerberus but free whistling.gif
(1 device free)
springfall
post Oct 24 2013, 11:30 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(kuance @ Oct 24 2013, 01:15 PM)
I dont really know how to type in the search engine for such issue.... "saved wifi not auto connecting" ??haha
my bet is rom settings.
there are settings to delay scan time etc to save battery and or default data>wifi
sure u set properly?

or just PA bug issue.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0541sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:06 AM