About Search engines, getting listed and maintain

TSt3ch
post May 20 2006, 10:45 AM, updated 18y ago

Validating
296 posts

TIP 1:
I have a site that has fluxuated between #1 and #5 first page spots on most search engines under various relivant keywords or phrases for quite some time, and i`ve found that just about ANY site that I link to from my FRONT PAGE (not a links page) usually get listed within a week or two.

TIP 2:
But once listed in a favorable spot, you MUST MAINTAIN that spot.

I used to own a certain marketing company that was #1 on almost all search engines under very targeted keywords and phrases.
I have since sold that business and the new owner knew nothing about maintaining a good spot, or marketing, and the site has slipped way way way down in the rankings. and all the sites that I got first page rankings have either slipped in ranking or are no longer listed.
I`ve found that my current clients sites keep their positions as long as I follow a certain formula.

Once listed, there are various little things that can be done to maintain your spot.
Heres just some of them. TRAP A SPIDER....

A. Try to keep your main page constantly updating. I found that just moving a small period around the page can do the trick. As long as the spider sees change it will report it.

B. Dont put a certain keyword too many times on a single page.
The spider will think that you`re trying to cheat and will disqualify your page and in the worst case, ban you. 3 - 4 times should be enough.

C. Dont expect a page with popups to get a top ranking. If you must add a popup, do it on some other page than your main page.

TIP 3:
Remember that a first page ranking wont make you instant money. A favorable search engine spot is just to deliver the customer to you. Your site and product should make you your money.
So make sure that your site design and product are appealing.

---------

PAGE 3 - Boonies shares his thoughts on Search Engines and how they work.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Aug 27 2008, 03:15 AM
Stupid Khor
post May 20 2006, 11:17 AM

276 posts

thanks for your info... it's so useful to us laugh.gif
but..... what about flash site then? I'm having a serious headache on how to have the spider spot my flash contents, 'coz the spider ignored my flash contents and now it's no longer listed...

izzit to make a comment like <!-- contents --> in the webpage? or make a hidden iframe with full content in the html file? or simply use meta keywords tag? I have no problem browsing my flash site with Lynx browser, but I wonder why spider couldn't browse it properly...... wacko.gif
TSt3ch
post May 20 2006, 11:28 AM

Validating
296 posts

Here`s a meta tag example for those who dont know.
It instructs the spider to visit and spider your entire site every 7 days.

Place between <head> </head>

<title>Your site title</title>
<meta name="keywords" content="Your keywords, some keywords, your site`s keywords, some key phrases, key phrases are better than key words when trying to get more targeted traffic" />
<meta name="description" content="Your site`s description and the services offered" />
<meta name="author" content="Your name" />
<meta name="copyright" content="Your name" />
<meta name="revisit-after" content="7 days" />
<meta name="distribution" content="global" />
<meta name="robots" content="all" />
<meta name="rating" content="general" />
<meta http-equiv="content-language" content="en" />
etsuko
post May 20 2006, 11:46 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(t3ch @ May 20 2006, 10:45 AM)
TIP 3:
Remember that a first page ranking wont make you instant money. A favorable search engine spot is just to deliver the customer to you. Your site and product should make you your money.
are you talking about Adsense or talking about selling the product that the owner is trying to sell on his website..?

QUOTE(Stupid Khor @ May 20 2006, 11:17 AM)
thanks for your info... it's so useful to us laugh.gif
but..... what about flash site then? I'm having a serious headache on how to have the spider spot my flash contents, 'coz the spider ignored my flash contents and now it's no longer listed...

izzit to make a comment like <!-- contents --> in the webpage? or make a hidden iframe with full content in the html file? or simply use meta keywords tag? I have no problem browsing my flash site with Lynx browser, but I wonder why spider couldn't browse it properly......  wacko.gif
if I'm not mistaken, many have said Google now spiders Flash content as well. but i guess it'll happen if you use a certain method or something. i haven't read much about optimizing Flash for search engines thus far. but this is the latest article i've found to boot about optimizing Flash for Google. smile.gif

http://www.informit.com/articles/article.a...3&seqNum=1&rl=1

urm.. I thought META tags are something Google aren't really relying on too heavily now..?

This post has been edited by etsuko: May 20 2006, 11:48 AM
TSt3ch
post May 20 2006, 11:47 AM

Validating
296 posts

other related info:

http://www.ibweb.com/blog_seo/index.php
http://www.atg.com/repositories/ContentCat...CZCGWQKAKAGOJVC
http://www.entrepreneur.com/article/0,4621,316532,00.html
http://www.buzzle.com/editorials/3-15-2005-67126.asp *
http://www.seochat.com/ *

* to be given piority to read first

This post has been edited by t3ch: May 22 2006, 11:43 AM
Stupid Khor
post May 20 2006, 11:47 AM

276 posts

wow! it helps a lot! thanks x1000000 laugh.gif
TSt3ch
post May 20 2006, 11:50 AM

Validating
296 posts

QUOTE(etsuko @ May 20 2006, 11:46 AM)
are you talking about Adsense or talking about selling the product that the owner is trying to sell on his website..?
it would be the second one
etsuko
post May 20 2006, 11:55 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

in that case, that's something I'd like to argue on.

using premade templates isn't a very good thing to use when you want to sell your product..or even promote your business professionally.
thteong82
post May 20 2006, 11:57 AM

Poor Guy
1,528 posts

Seem to be pro here.
Mind to share your site or any site that you build.
Just like to see how you optimize your site with great relevant keyword for SEO purpose.
TSt3ch
post May 20 2006, 12:15 PM

Validating
296 posts

QUOTE(etsuko @ May 20 2006, 11:55 AM)
in that case, that's something I'd like to argue on.

using premade templates isn't a very good thing to use when you want to sell your product..or even promote your business professionally.
it is about the free template given by me? for your info im nomore in web designing industry anymore.. im now working in other field. your rite about the premade templates isnt a god thing to use .. i realize it and would stop the give away.

QUOTE(thteong82 @ May 20 2006, 11:57 AM)
Seem to be pro here.
Just like to see how you optimize your site with great relevant keyword for SEO purpose.
as mention above im nomore doing it ...just a share of thougt

TSt3ch
post May 22 2006, 11:53 AM

Validating
296 posts

few SEo tips:

Search engine optimization can be difficult and confusing. Knowing this we decided to put together some tips to help you with the process. They cover everything you need to know about optimizing your web pages for the search engines quickly and easily

h++p://www.submit-it.com/subopt.htm
TSt3ch
post May 22 2006, 12:02 PM

Validating
296 posts

here good ebook to read :

h++p://www.seoiseasy.com/bonuses/SEO_MadeEasy.pdf

This post has been edited by t3ch: May 22 2006, 12:04 PM
gpyong
post May 22 2006, 02:51 PM

79 posts

i have optimized my web to be top 10 position in googles and msn, but banned in yahoo engine. Reason = over optimize my web smile.gif it is alot of way and section u must study to get it and not only through meta tag, for googles u must have a special sitemap in xml format to be craw by googles spider to get higher ranking. and alot to study....

my web www.cre8card.com under keywords
for MSN
"digital caricature" 1/296000
"digital caricature drawing" 1/296000
"caricature drawing" 2/169450
"caricature t-shirt" 2/46515
"caricature mesenger" 1/35349

for googles
"digital caricature drawing" 3/296000 (no longer there after one week since i modify the keywords)

etsuko
post May 23 2006, 11:22 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

how often do you update..?

anyway, just to let people know. Google's system is getting smarter and soon to define rankings based on existence time it's been on the web.
gpyong
post May 23 2006, 11:34 AM

79 posts

correct, googles rank a site differ from others engine, link popularity also takes effect, googles like regular update site in terms of content but not the meta and keywords. kindly add ALT text to ur link and images will help in ur ranking, include some of ur target keywords in ur ALT text too. include ur keywords about 60 words in the header and footer, googles gives highest mark for the first sentences readed in ur title and content.. i seldom udpate my site, just add on new customer drawings..
TSt3ch
post May 23 2006, 02:36 PM

Validating
296 posts

QUOTE(gpyong @ May 23 2006, 11:34 AM)
correct, googles rank a site differ from others engine, link popularity also takes effect, googles like regular update site in terms of content but not the meta and keywords. kindly add ALT text to ur link and images will help in ur ranking, include some of ur target keywords in ur ALT text too. include ur keywords about 60 words in the header and footer, googles gives highest mark for the first sentences readed in ur title and content.. i seldom udpate my site, just add on new customer drawings..
the guidline u can use including how u optimize your website with ggl click here
gpyong
post May 23 2006, 03:10 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(t3ch @ May 23 2006, 02:36 PM)
the guidline u can use including how u optimize your website with ggl click here
nice tips for optimize a web, but even u follow exactly , u won't get into top 10 listing.
after optimize ur site as follow, you are also need to:

1) identifiy ur target keywords.
2) search ur target keyword in the search engine
3) compare the competitive (number pages found)
4) study top 5 position web source code.
5) optimize based on the top 5 sites's source code.

they way of optimize may differ, some people using cheat to get top 10. but wat we means cheat doesn't means by some search engine. smile.gif

sample cheat :
1) use tiny text or invisible text. (may be baned for some search engine)
2) create a redirect page to your web, the contents (body text, title and meta) of the
redirect page is copy from the top 1 site or combination of few top ranking site
and enhance to be better than it, u may no get over that site but u may listed in
top 10 too.
3) using dynamic content. (may be baned for some search engine)
4) include more than 30 links to similar site or top site. (not in ur main page)

When our competitors numbers was too many, (over billions page found), we are force to risk our site to be banned to use some cheats in order to get listed.

TSt3ch
post May 23 2006, 03:23 PM

Validating
296 posts

the 1 big thing u should always remember in your mind (after u done with the optimizing) NEVER GET YOUR WEBSITE BANNED EXPECIALLY AT GOOGLE
gpyong
post May 23 2006, 03:39 PM

79 posts

lol. of cause, must learn from mistake. i have learn all this using try- fail and learn method. remember rapidly changing of ur source code also may be baned. Some of the statement in the optimization maybe correct, maybe wrong too, until u 've prove it.
etsuko
post May 23 2006, 04:46 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(gpyong @ May 23 2006, 11:34 AM)
if i'm not mistaken.. text links dun use ALT tags.. they use TITLE tags. the ones that use ALT are images..

anyway, lots to do in optimization. just how many are honest in doing it is another question.
gpyong
post May 23 2006, 08:16 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(etsuko @ May 23 2006, 04:46 PM)
if i'm not mistaken.. text links dun use ALT tags.. they use TITLE tags. the ones that use ALT are images..

anyway, lots to do in optimization. just how many are honest in doing it is another question.
smile.gif yeah sorry it is title tag

This post has been edited by gpyong: May 23 2006, 08:18 PM
jayhan
post May 24 2006, 09:07 PM

7 ☆ DSLR noob
2,707 posts

lolz, just test my website in google search

only manage to see my web get listed at page 7 tongue.gif
etsuko
post May 26 2006, 10:45 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

Ur missing META tags..

And I think you might want to consider the Flash SEO Kit I posted earlier in the thread. smile.gif

cheers.
Stupid Khor
post May 26 2006, 02:03 PM

276 posts

try not to rasterize your texts in flash... I mean... convert to shape...... just import the font to the library, and leave the texts as they are...

I guess you can make some useless variables including all your contents too... for google detection I mean... hehe... well I'm really talking blindly here, never tried before, and don't really sure whether it works or not... XD
etsuko
post Jun 26 2006, 10:53 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

Anyone has the low down of making images search engine friendly..?

Wondering how do search engines spider them. smile.gif
pre
post Jun 28 2006, 05:48 PM

Nice tutorial, some search engine such as http://www.lollyhop.com require you to link to the webpage to be listed at the bottom. smile.gif
scum_bag
post Jul 10 2006, 10:48 PM

289 posts

One question, do I need to put my meta description unique for each pages in order to get higher position in Google? Right now the result for my pages are of different titles but the the same description.
etsuko
post Jul 11 2006, 10:09 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(scum_bag @ Jul 10 2006, 10:48 PM)
One question, do I need to put my meta description unique for each pages in order to get higher position in Google? Right now the result for my pages are of different titles but the the same description.
META tags don't really affect on Google as much anymore because their engine concentrates more on the quality of your content and the frequency of updates.

The other thing I noticed is also the arrangement or organization of keywords in your Meta, Title, Content flow is important. The search engine reads from Top to Bottom. The effectiveness of your Title could be better by placing Shirtless Male.. in the front before your URL.com then in your content, I think you need either more words of celebrities or shirtless males.

As I said, Google is more content concentrated unlike Yahoo and MSN. The other thing that'll be good for your website is to have it comply with website standards because tableless design is known to help a little in search engine optimization.
siaukia
post Dec 7 2006, 07:43 AM

1,491 posts

QUOTE(etsuko @ Jul 11 2006, 10:09 AM)
META tags don't really affect on Google as much anymore because their engine concentrates more on the quality of your content and the frequency of updates.

The other thing I noticed is also the arrangement or organization of keywords in your Meta, Title, Content flow is important. The search engine reads from Top to Bottom. The effectiveness of your Title could be better by placing Shirtless Male.. in the front before your URL.com then in your content, I think you need either more words of celebrities or shirtless males.

As I said, Google is more content concentrated unlike Yahoo and MSN. The other thing that'll be good for your website is to have it comply with website standards because tableless design is known to help a little in search engine optimization.
I Doubled at what etsuko said as well, if you don't want to get blacklisted from a search engine, please DONOT put hidden keywords, which most of the times you will be identified by the search engines as spam sites.

look up at this very good article to start at how Google works towards their search engine to improve search results :
Webmasters We Love You Too

I would always suggest and recommend for optimum result, is the way you organise your content inside your site, and write up the content so that it's aimed for 'human to read' (make contents of your site for human not for search engine kind of thing)

there are the few reasons why you see now sometimes on blog you never see like
...index.html....12384xsjs2lc9z/1askfdn32.html
but more things like...
...i-am-bored-today.html.....tags/travel/tips-tutorial.html

on the other side, previously by having more link exchange (traffic in-out) to other site is known to some that they can improve themselves in ranking, but beware, make sure that you do not OVERDO by also including links thats not relevant to what your content gives (not in same category), if you have a lot of links, they'll label you as spam site as well (you know, usually pr0n/spam site has lots of useless links rite)

thats some heads up i can give you biggrin.gif. main keyword...make sites for human...not for search engine.

edit :
found this : http://www.456bereastreet.com/archive/2005...s_to_hide_text/

This post has been edited by siaukia: Dec 7 2006, 07:49 AM
etsuko
post Dec 12 2006, 06:03 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

I think what I hope everyone today will do is please please pleaseeeee...

tell your friends that SEO specialists in Malaysia are not all legit.

some actually use programs that help them test keywords, websites and etc..then generate a monthly report for them. they might've paid USD500-2000+ for the software but without proper knowledge of search engines, your friends aren't getting their money worth spending RM500 a month to just apply SEO.

tell your friends that SEO is really open knowledge online for anyone to learn. the only difference is that some people know it better because they read more and have tested it on their own.

if someone makes a guarantee they can get your website in the Top # by few days or a week, ask them HOW they're doing it.

prevention is better than cure so make sure they're not using:

- invisible text
- link farms/buying of links

anyone care to add on? wink.gif
goldfries
post Dec 12 2006, 06:09 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(etsuko @ Jun 26 2006, 10:53 AM)
Anyone has the low down of making images search engine friendly..?

Wondering how do search engines spider them. smile.gif
me thinks

1. filename
2. ALT attribute on IMG tag

not sure, couldn't think of other ways to identify images.
siaukia
post Dec 15 2006, 10:17 PM

1,491 posts

i'll add more of my input as time comes and my rusty brain starts to work,
yep, i'll double on what etsuko said, where i saw a lot of sad cases where big SEO company (msia) has staff that works inside, charging ppl for the services and then quit the company and open one of their own from the knowledge they learnt...

i mean it's really quite sad but somehow i felt that the web is something we learn from each other and improve it, and i'd know people making money from things that we freely share around. well, i wouldn't want to announce the name of who is the person but i felt the same as well, as long you want your site to be improved on the PR, always remember...

design your site...for the user, not for search engine. And of course, make sure your content is relevant for the subject of the site you're doing, don't simple chunk in a bunch of unrelated stuff around and make it look like a spam site just for the sake of getting link in from other site (linkfarm). I guess usually search engine will get attracted to contents which is really 'useful' instead of just pretty. (i had this theory half proven on oneduasan)

and oh yes, on the images, let's say it's one common keyword call 'car key', if your picture literally has a car key, and inside your site's content also 'talks' about car key, you have a very higher chance for the engine to put you higher up on the list despite the filename.

This post has been edited by siaukia: Dec 15 2006, 10:23 PM
enyo
post Jan 21 2007, 01:01 PM

134 posts

I have 1 question. tongue.gif I build my site using WP. I use pop up for comments. I think it's easier to comment me that way. After reading the 1st post, should I remove my pop up comments?
pc2dj
post Feb 8 2007, 07:57 PM

60 posts

do u guys create ur websites by typing html?
i use this software dat let's me put in pictures n stuff to create my website itz called webdwarf.. cuz i dunno html..n after readin seo stuffs, i dunno how to tweak my webpage cuz dat software doesnt let me edit da html..
etsuko
post Mar 21 2007, 10:29 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(pc2dj @ Feb 8 2007, 07:57 PM)
do u guys create ur websites by typing html?
i use this software dat let's me put in pictures n stuff to create my website itz called webdwarf.. cuz i dunno html..n after readin seo stuffs, i dunno how to tweak my webpage cuz dat software doesnt let me edit da html..
The basics of SEO is optimizing your content.

Therefore, based on your target audience you need to do some research on what keywords or phrases they'd use to find what they're looking for. smile.gif

These keywords or phrases should reside in your content.

However, don't get too carried away because you should be writing for the reader and not the search engine. One's a robot the other is merely human. wink.gif
balthazer
post Mar 31 2007, 03:01 AM

44 posts

SEO doesn't work miracle over night. It takes time for your website to get listed and ranked too. What SEO does is organically enhance your website ranking in Search Engine. So don't expect to see rapid results within a days or weeks, but be patient and wait for at least a month.

Well, here is a friendly tool you can use to optimize your website.
Web CEO

It will give you some minor pointer on how you should optimize you web pages.

klgraphic
post Apr 11 2007, 03:57 PM

33 posts

SEO doesn't work miracle over night.

That's a very important point to remember. SEO is just recreating natural site growth and self promotion in its ideal form. A natural site, however good, takes time to grow. Even if you found a way to get your site to number one overnight, the search engines would ban you for it. It must take time, and if it doesn't take time, then it's not a good method.
etsuko
post Apr 11 2007, 11:59 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

They won't ban you just because it became #1 overnight.

I believe the teams of the search engines are smart enough or have implemented systems that will tell if someone has used black hat methods to reach the ranking they're at. So it's not necessarily as scary they see you jumping to #1 and they ban you. smile.gif
balthazer
post Apr 15 2007, 04:16 PM

44 posts

There are many other factors that can influence your website ranking such as daily hits, internal link to a higher Page Rank (PR) website and never the less your content.

Unlike Ad Sense, Google won't ban you if you spam or continuesly clicking on your website for hits and page view but if you DO abuse their optimization method or concept such as spamming the keywords or "inteligently" hide your keywords in the webpage background, then i guess your website will be landed in the "Sand Box".
gs20
post May 10 2007, 09:49 PM

1,685 posts

Thank you TS. It's been very useful to me.

chee_y
post Jul 5 2007, 05:06 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 12 2006, 06:09 PM)
me thinks

1. filename
2. ALT attribute on IMG tag

not sure, couldn't think of other ways to identify images.
Goldfries is on the right track, in my opinion, image search works by

* Using image ALT tag
* Using image Filename
* Using surrounding text
* Using overall page theme

By optimizing your image for Image Search (eg Google, Yahoo), your site may get better traffic and ranking. Read the article below if you are interested... biggrin.gif

Optimizing Images for Search Engines

etsuko
post Jul 14 2007, 09:23 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

Well, the only way to find out like what SEO consultants do is..

Try , Try , Try again.. smile.gif
balthazer
post Jul 18 2007, 06:07 PM

44 posts

There are more in SEO rather then inserting keywords, meta tag, alt tag, html sitemap, inserting keyword in webpage title and renaming webpage in keywords. These are just some of the optimization of the front-end of the webpages. There are also things you need to know and do in the back-end to ensure that you obtain a better ranking for your website. Two of the most important factors would be inserting a Robots.txt and a XML sitemap.

Robots.txt is an important tool if you want your webpage to be crawled correctly by search engine's crawler/spider/bots. This simple *.txt script will direct and guide search engine crawlers to craw your webpage according to your specification. You can also prevent the crawlers to craw certain page of your webpages with the Robots.txt script.

I'm pretty sure that there are a lot of robots.txt generator out there and you can always search on through the search engine and find one which fits your requirement the best.

While the XML sitemap helps to validate your website structure and content and it also helps the search engine crawler to craw better into your website. What is the difference between a html crawler and a XML crawler? Well in short we human will use the html sitemap and the crawlers will use the XML sitemaps.

If you do not know how to write/develop/insert a XML sitemap, it's easy. Just use the 2 links below and it will help you to generate your very own XML sitemap. Just fill in the specific blanks that required by them.

XML-sitemaps.com
SitemapsPal

So, at the end of the day SEO is not only about keywords and method of optimizations as there are many more to it. Methods that we don't usually see it with directly.

"SEO, more than meets the eyes" wink.gif

This post has been edited by balthazer: Jul 18 2007, 07:19 PM
ahsham
post Sep 23 2007, 06:25 PM

235 posts

A lot of SEO articles suggest putting relevant keywords into your <title> tag.

I came across a local design studio site recently:
ericanfly.com
They have a very long title filled with just keywords.
It does show up quite high in SERP,
but somehow this kind of keyword-filled title made me feel kinda "cheap" - impression-wise...
etsuko
post Sep 24 2007, 02:11 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

If you're gonna talk about local design companies..

I know of one who is on the #1 page of Google and has hidden keywords. I do mean literally hidden. Text white...background white.
ahsham
post Sep 24 2007, 06:11 PM

235 posts

I thought Google sees hidden keywords as spamming?
It is number one in "Don't do it" list of SEO.

etsuko
post Sep 24 2007, 09:10 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

Don't know... I'm also wondering how come Google hasn't 'ban' them..
SweetPuff
post Sep 27 2007, 11:11 AM

2,021 posts

I think the content (ie. body text) of the webpages play a part.

I'm also starting to believe search engines like google are lowering down the importance of keywords due to problems with googlefarming/googlebombing.

Keeping your html code nice and tidy should help things along too. Site traffic will play a part with how visible your site is in search engines.
ROCKEY
post Dec 12 2007, 04:10 PM

189 posts

Self Studying SEO for around 1 year. Getting listed is not hard but getting listed on the 1st n 2nd in your main keywords is hard.

Metatag keywords is important but google dont really take it as a important part. Google goes for "relevancy". Some people insert tones of keywords in metatag hoping it will make some magic to their ranking in Google. It is a wrong idea.

Google uses a bot to go through every website. So it reads like a bot reading it and find your website is related to any keywords. So, wondering how a Bot read your website, is all in the view source. Some website is visually well design, with good images and javascripts. But most of the time they dont rank really well in Google. Try to view your website source and see. Is your website is full of scripting or content, description, keywords that is relevant.

So, what Im trying to say is try to make keyword frequency and density higher in content for the keyword you decide to specify. Try to insert the keyword you decide in the TITLE, meta Description, anchor text and repeating it a few times in your content in your page.

In my conclusion, CONTENT is the KING. Good content makes traffic, good content brings backllink, just make sure your content is bot readable. When you rank well in google for certain keywords, you no need to worry about Yahoo and MSN or others SE anymore. Of course there is more stuff to do in SEO but i think content goes 1st.

Just to share my thoughts, any advice and knowledge sharing is welcomed.

This post has been edited by ROCKEY: Dec 12 2007, 04:11 PM
etsuko
post Dec 12 2007, 09:00 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

I'm actually going to blog about something I found unfair with Google. And it's related to their warning on using black hat methods. So much for worrying of getting banned.
europology
post Jul 3 2008, 04:24 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

BTW, my blog gets listed on google.com but not the malaysian google. any ideas on that? how to solve it? thx...
djzen
post Jul 3 2008, 07:55 PM

Startup life!
2,873 posts

search "google webmaster tools" and set your sites geographical location to malaysia.

but then it might not do so well in the international google site. <-- not too sure.
amerz
post Jul 10 2008, 01:06 PM

508 posts

One more thing is when you link your site make sure to use relevant name .

Proof:
Try google "Click here" and u will see that adobe is the 1st in the rank and surprisingly there is no such word "Click here" in the content.

It's bcoz a lot of website link to adobe like this Click Here to Download Adobe Reader

And one of my site page also get 1st in google search for "Smallville megaupload" bcoz of some website link to them rclxms.gif

once upon a time~

This post has been edited by amerz: Aug 2 2008, 06:19 PM
fruity
post Jul 11 2008, 04:18 PM

QUOTE(t3ch @ May 20 2006, 11:28 AM)
Here`s a meta tag example for those who dont know.
It instructs the spider to visit and spider your entire site every 7 days.

Place between <head> </head>
I'm a noob in all this. Can I use this method for my blog? Am I supposed to paste that html ?but wherE?
djzen
post Jul 13 2008, 12:25 PM

Startup life!
2,873 posts

usually around the top of your html.
between ,<head> and </head>
boonies
post Aug 24 2008, 02:56 PM

437 posts

I started this thread to share my experience and knowledge about some basic tips on how search engines value your site. As most webmasters and bloggers pay tremendous attention to Google's Pagerank, let me share some tips to work better with traffic.

To get free traffic, it's always important to know that how a search engine works. Search engines love content because people online searches for relevant content, not banners or products. They are looking for reviews, knowledge and most of all satisfaction to their searches. Ads and sales come after they are satisfied with your information that you are providing and the only way to satisfy them is to make sure you know what you are writing and making sure it pleases the audience viewing it.

When they like what you read, they will likely be more open to buy from your site because they treat you as a pro in that particular niche. So write good and provide relevant information to your visitors and you will please them. Now, by pleasing your visitors, you will also please the very thing you want to please, search engines because the search engines job is to please surfers and advertisers..not YOU.

As search engines have evolved tremendously throughout the years, they always observe and track sites with good information for their visitors. They no longer pay too much attention to your keywords (because of keyword spamming) but rather how your visitors behave when they come to your site. They also track how long do visitors stick to the site, because the longer they stay there, it shows that they are reading your content. So if your visitors come to your site and press 'back button' in 1 minute, they will define your site as unworthy or full of junk and will rank you lowly.

Get visitors to read about your site. Provide them with sufficient and good information for them to stay around and return for another visit. All these are logged by Google's alogorithm and will eventually place you on top of the list, or at least within the first top 30 pages. Why do they list you for providing good information? Simple, because Google makes money from Ads..in order for them to make money, people must click on the ads and the chances are much more higher for people that keep on returning to a site to click on an ad than just browsing through your site for a minute.

So in conclusion, want to get valued? want a pagerank? You will have to work with the search engines and not manipulate them because they know..they are worth 6 Billion USD and they have at least 500 smartest people on the planet to make sure you don't outsmart them in SEO..

thumbup.gif

frostfox
post Aug 24 2008, 03:36 PM

the end is near
1,601 posts

nice explenation
djzen
post Aug 24 2008, 03:43 PM

Startup life!
2,873 posts

its about that, plus a few more techniques to get you to the top ranks.
cassplayer
post Aug 24 2008, 03:50 PM

FFFUUUU
3,375 posts

omg imagine if u put that in ur blog post content... sure get very high traffic.... cuz everyone is going on google to search how to improve traffic...
frostfox
post Aug 24 2008, 03:51 PM

the end is near
1,601 posts

but your site may be the last when searching how to improve traffic .. therefore , no visits . stick to 1 content only
boonies
post Aug 24 2008, 03:54 PM

437 posts

I can't...my blog and site has nothing to do with increasing traffic or SEO...just want to share my research with ppl here..
cassplayer
post Aug 24 2008, 06:01 PM

FFFUUUU
3,375 posts

hmm... this research really helpful lor i think... but too bad i cant spread this news on my blog because my blog is food, event, travel... but if u allow... i would like to open a new blog and post this info so that everyone can learn from there... that's IF you allow la.... do u??? brows.gif
djzen
post Aug 24 2008, 06:31 PM

Startup life!
2,873 posts

boonies, do you want me to publish your work on malaysianhosts.com ?

it could help newbies that want to start websites.
boonies
post Aug 24 2008, 07:26 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(djzen @ Aug 24 2008, 06:31 PM)
boonies, do you want me to publish your work on malaysianhosts.com ?

it could help newbies that want to start websites.
Sure djzen..this info is for everyone..share it as you please...you can include my name there if you wanna... smile.gif
djzen
post Aug 24 2008, 07:55 PM

Startup life!
2,873 posts

sure. you got a PM.

Added on August 24, 2008, 8:04 pmThanks a lot boonies =)

heres the link if you want to take a look:
http://malaysianhosts.com/index.php/Webmas...ch_Engines.html

This post has been edited by djzen: Aug 24 2008, 08:04 PM
frostfox
post Aug 24 2008, 08:38 PM

the end is near
1,601 posts

nice...
GameFr3ak
post Aug 24 2008, 09:06 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(cassplayer @ Aug 24 2008, 03:50 PM)
omg imagine if u put that in ur blog post content... sure get very high traffic.... cuz everyone is going on google to search how to improve traffic...
Dont forget that there's a lot of competitors and I've learnt that the less competitors the better chances that visitors will click on your site.
boonies
post Aug 24 2008, 09:50 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Aug 24 2008, 09:06 PM)
Dont forget that there's a lot of competitors and I've learnt that the less competitors the better chances that visitors will click on your site.
Very correct indeed gamefreak...the more competitors in your niche the harder for you to rank top in the search engines. Therefore you should choose a niche with less competition. Researching the keyword competition first before choosing a topic to focus on..

Added on August 24, 2008, 9:50 pm
QUOTE(djzen @ Aug 24 2008, 07:55 PM)
sure. you got a PM.

Added on August 24, 2008, 8:04 pmThanks a lot boonies =)

heres the link if you want to take a look:
http://malaysianhosts.com/index.php/Webmas...ch_Engines.html
Thanks for posting my topic djzen..

This post has been edited by boonies: Aug 24 2008, 09:50 PM
goldfries
post Aug 25 2008, 01:26 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(boonies @ Aug 24 2008, 02:56 PM)
I started this thread to share my experience and knowledge about some basic tips on how search engines value your site. As most webmasters and bloggers pay tremendous attention to Google's Pagerank, let me share some tips to work better with traffic.

So in conclusion, want to get valued? want a pagerank? You will have to work with the search engines and not manipulate them because they know..they are worth 6 Billion USD and they have at least 500 smartest people on the planet to make sure you don't outsmart them in SEO..

so how does your post help with PageRank?
boonies
post Aug 25 2008, 02:06 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 25 2008, 01:26 AM)
so how does your post help with PageRank?
Oh, I am merely explaining that without the basic content, there is no way you can get a good pagerank because your pagerank comes from credible and high relevant pagerank sites that link to you.

Further to that, without good content and information, there is no way good sites with high pagerank that shares the similar niche with you will exchange links with u. You can list to a thousand directories but nothing beats a few good high PR related sites that links to you for reference unless you have information and content which they think is credible and respectable.

So, even with all the SEO efforts, i believe in reality, the best way to get ranked highly and obtain a good pagerank is always staying real. Write real and great information that everyone including visitors, search engines, advertisers and even sites that share the same niche with you like. Therefore you won't need to worry about getting good links and rated highly from other sites.

This post has been edited by boonies: Aug 25 2008, 02:09 AM
MY_DEALER
post Aug 25 2008, 04:25 PM

53 posts

To get free traffic, it's always important to know that how a search engine works. Search engines love content because people online searches for relevant content, not banners or products. They are looking for reviews, knowledge and most of all satisfaction to their searches. Ads and sales come after they are satisfied with your information that you are providing and the only way to satisfy them is to make sure you know what you are writing and making sure it pleases the audience viewing it.

When they like what you read, they will likely be more open to buy from your site because they treat you as a pro in that particular niche. So write good and provide relevant information to your visitors and you will please them. Now, by pleasing your visitors, you will also please the very thing you want to please, search engines because the search engines job is to please surfers and advertisers..not YOU.

As search engines have evolved tremendously throughout the years, they always observe and track sites with good information for their visitors. They no longer pay too much attention to your keywords (because of keyword spamming) but rather how your visitors behave when they come to your site. They also track how long do visitors stick to the site, because the longer they stay there, it shows that they are reading your content. So if your visitors come to your site and press 'back button' in 1 minute, they will define your site as unworthy or full of junk and will rank you lowly.

Get visitors to read about your site. Provide them with sufficient and good information for them to stay around and return for another visit. All these are logged by Google's alogorithm and will eventually place you on top of the list, or at least within the first top 30 pages. Why do they list you for providing good information? Simple, because Google makes money from Ads..in order for them to make money, people must click on the ads and the chances are much more higher for people that keep on returning to a site to click on an ad than just browsing through your site for a minute.

thumbup.gif
good and nice explenation
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
magdalene2008
post Aug 25 2008, 04:46 PM

71 posts

WOAH!! Good post!

Content is King FTW! (and link is Queen..)
goldfries
post Aug 26 2008, 12:37 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(boonies @ Aug 25 2008, 02:06 AM)
Oh, I am merely explaining that without the basic content, there is no way you can get a good pagerank because your pagerank comes from credible and high relevant pagerank sites that link to you.

Further to that, without good content and information, there is no way good sites with high pagerank that shares the similar niche with you will exchange links with u. You can list to a thousand directories but nothing beats a few good high PR related sites that links to you for reference unless you have information and content which they think is credible and respectable.

yes. actually my post was so that you could elaborate more on this part for the benefit of others. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(boonies @ Aug 25 2008, 02:06 AM)
So, even with all the SEO efforts, i believe in reality, the best way to get ranked highly and obtain a good pagerank is always staying real. Write real and great information that everyone including visitors, search engines, advertisers and even sites that share the same niche with you like. Therefore you won't need to worry about getting good links and rated highly from other sites.
righto!

case in point, i only did basic SEO on goldfries.com and i don't do search engine submissions and blog-hopping at all, yes you see even the many posts in the site has PR3!

actually la, I've written quite a few articles on this kinda things last year (if anyone ever noticed)

some people worry about PR so much but their PR end up usually being on index page only. smile.gif

anyway, i would like to add that DO NOT discount keywords.

you're right about good content BUT just in case anyone thinks about forgetting about SEO and ignoring keywords - think again. Some articles are not grand but it so happens having the right keyword, it alone can bring you much benefit.

I got a lot of people visiting my site from searching EEE PC and ASUS EAH3650 tongue.gif
boonies
post Aug 26 2008, 12:44 PM

437 posts

Yuppers keywords are very important too..you need to find the right keywords that are in demand but low supply and then write good content about it. As for blogs like your case, it's important to chase the current trend to get maximum exposure..
goldfries
post Aug 27 2008, 12:50 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

anyway, what you posted is true BUT it remains true to Google IMO. cos Google has analytics.

for search engines like Yahoo and MSN - they don't have anything to track visitor behavior as good as Google. smile.gif furthermore Google uses like few hundred variables when it comes to ranking search results.
udang
post Aug 27 2008, 01:20 AM

29 posts

nice post..thanks!
actually i've got doubt on how search engine especially Google do the ranking on Bahasa's websites...do anyone has any useful information on this?
i am doubtful how can the google rank our website(which is in bahasa malaysia) because it can only read by the malays(include brunei, singaporean, indonesian and malaysian only).i meant there's only small population here from part of the world? ?|
goldfries
post Aug 27 2008, 01:25 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ehh. isn't it just words? smile.gif
udang
post Aug 27 2008, 01:52 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 27 2008, 01:25 AM)
ehh. isn't it just words? smile.gif
sori..i should mentioned it clearly in my previous post..
i meant that Google pagerank..how they're gonna rank us based on our website's usability to the world peoples?our website wrote in Bahasa wat?
i think this matter also happened to the most visited Bahasa's website in Malaysia which is Utusan Malaysia's website (according to alexa.com). they only earned GooglePR=6.i personally dont think it's good enough for da malaysian.. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by udang: Aug 27 2008, 01:52 AM
goldfries
post Aug 27 2008, 02:15 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(udang @ Aug 27 2008, 01:52 AM)
i meant that Google pagerank..how they're gonna rank us based on our website's usability to the world peoples?our website wrote in Bahasa wat?

Google PAGERANK and Google SERP (search results) are different things.

from my understand, whatever language you use - it's still a word - computers don't understand language, they only understand words. so it still works the same way.

look for "anwar malaysia permatang pauh" <=-- all non English words and it'll still going to rank the way it does for "obama america election 2008". smile.gif

QUOTE(udang @ Aug 27 2008, 01:52 AM)
i think this matter also happened to the most visited Bahasa's website in Malaysia which is Utusan Malaysia's website (according to alexa.com). they only earned GooglePR=6.i personally dont think it's good enough for da malaysian..  shakehead.gif

Alexa and Google are totally different.

You must understand first how Alexa rank is derived and how Google PR is derived.

Google PR is about how people link to you. so in this case, how many Malaysians you know link to Utusan? smile.gif Compare that to how people around the world link to sites like CNN, which is PR9? smile.gif

Google PR has nothing to do with # of visitors. it's about # of links going to it.
udang
post Aug 27 2008, 02:31 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 27 2008, 02:15 AM)
Google PAGERANK and Google SERP (search results) are different things.

from my understand, whatever language you use - it's still a word - computers don't understand language, they only understand words. so it still works the same way.

look for "anwar malaysia permatang pauh" <=-- all non English words and it'll still going to rank the way it does for "obama america election 2008". smile.gif
Alexa and Google are totally different.

You must understand first how Alexa rank is derived and how Google PR is derived.

Google PR is about how people link to you. so in this case, how many Malaysians you know link to Utusan? smile.gif Compare that to how people around the world link to sites like CNN, which is PR9? smile.gif

Google PR has nothing to do with # of visitors. it's about # of links going to it.
wah..thanks for make it clearer for me! smile.gif
i've got useful discussion on this early morning notworthy.gif
boonies
post Aug 27 2008, 02:59 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 27 2008, 12:50 AM)
anyway, what you posted is true BUT it remains true to Google IMO. cos Google has analytics.

for search engines like Yahoo and MSN - they don't have anything to track visitor behavior as good as Google. smile.gif furthermore Google uses like few hundred variables when it comes to ranking search results.
Dear Gold,

Yeah it's very true that it's mainly based on Google's Search Engine Criteria but if you haven't noticed that Yahoo! is using Google's Search Technology and MSN is not a big and popular search engine because there aren't that much users compare to Google and yahoo. Therefore, if you rank well in Google, you have the upper hand. As there is also no way to keep up with Google's ever changing alogorithm the best way is to keep your content real and find the right keywords to write. SEO is also important, but just keep it to the minimal and focus on your quality of the site.
goldfries
post Aug 27 2008, 03:10 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(boonies @ Aug 27 2008, 02:59 AM)
Yeah it's very true that it's mainly based on Google's Search Engine Criteria but if you haven't noticed that Yahoo! is using Google's Search Technology and MSN is not a big and popular search engine because there aren't that much users compare to Google and yahoo. Therefore, if you rank well in Google, you have the upper hand.

i don't recall anything about Yahoo using Google's search technology. AFAIK Google's technology are patented. Do you have any source that I could have a read at? For all i know, they have their own algorithms.

actually la, my point is just to highlight that the monitoring of visitor is only capable to be done by Google, that also only if you have Google Analytics installed.

otherwise, traffic details are just based inside the webserver.

because not everyone know how it works. they like your post but they may draw an assumption that all engines work the same.

Ranking well in Google is good because they're THE search engine most people use now, Google replaced the word "search engine" too. smile.gif

QUOTE(boonies @ Aug 27 2008, 02:59 AM)
As there is also no way to keep up with Google's ever changing alogorithm the best way is to keep your content real and find the right keywords to write. SEO is also important, but just keep it to the minimal and focus on your quality of the site.

for me, so far I don't bother much on SEO. just the basic. I focus almost all effort on content alone. smile.gif which probably why my visitor increase is slower, mostly rely on people to spread the site.
boonies
post Aug 27 2008, 03:53 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 27 2008, 03:10 AM)
i don't recall anything about Yahoo using Google's search technology. AFAIK Google's technology are patented. Do you have any source that I could have a read at? For all i know, they have their own algorithms.
Dear Gold, yes you are correct that Google and Yahoo does use their own algorithms but they both use very similar technologies as Yahoo used Google's search engine before they acquired they own search technology in 2004 but at the present moment they are still quite identical. Take a look at this article a few years back..

http://searchenginewatch.com/showPage.html?page=3314171

You are correct about Google Analytics...i might get it installed in my site one day..1 question..do you have analytics installed on all your pages?

This post has been edited by boonies: Aug 27 2008, 04:05 AM
goldfries
post Aug 27 2008, 04:19 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(boonies @ Aug 27 2008, 03:53 AM)
Dear Gold, yes you are correct that Google and Yahoo does use their own algorithms but they both use very similar technologies as Yahoo used Google's search engine before they acquired they own search technology in 2004 but at the present moment they are still quite identical. Take a look at this article a few years back..

http://searchenginewatch.com/showPage.html?page=3314171
ouhh technology changes a lot on 4 years leh.

thanks for the article though.

the thing is their servers are seperate and algorithm changes, and database being not related - the results sure will vary a lot. smile.gif

QUOTE(boonies @ Aug 27 2008, 03:53 AM)
You are correct about Google Analytics...i might get it installed in my site one day..1 question..do you have analytics installed on all your pages?

you haven't? oh dear, you should.

I'm sure google, having all those data, would use it for their purpose.

I'm actually surprised that despite your insightful sharing, you're not doing it yourself! biggrin.gif

Yes, i have it on ALL my pages (at least 5 blogs right now) and almost all my clients.
boonies
post Aug 27 2008, 11:17 AM

437 posts

i tot they have a cookie that monitors users action after they make a search in their engines..gosh gonna implement it later
goldfries
post Aug 27 2008, 11:54 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

cookies are limited la. if cookies so powerful, then waffor Google made Analytics? smile.gif
kding2
post Sep 5 2008, 07:11 PM

1,007 posts

Well...does writing 100 hundred article help to rank my site?

Just wondering..
kurtkob78
post Sep 5 2008, 11:24 PM

Do your best
3,833 posts

is free site get to be listed in google ? I just make my own site about 3-4 days ago. Does it take long to be listed ?
aindejeje
post Sep 13 2008, 05:59 PM

EDA MASTER
820 posts

QUOTE(t3ch @ May 23 2006, 03:23 PM)
the 1 big thing u should always remember in your mind (after u done with the optimizing) NEVER GET YOUR WEBSITE BANNED EXPECIALLY AT GOOGLE
what makes or website BANNED? icon_question.gif
boonies
post Sep 14 2008, 01:59 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(aindejeje @ Sep 13 2008, 05:59 PM)
what makes or website BANNED?  icon_question.gif
If you try to stuff keywords...or make your keywords same color like your background...write nonsense or just add thousands of links..that will get you banned..and a lot of other reasons.
aaron1kee
post Sep 14 2008, 09:38 AM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

How to check my site keywords? Or maybe editing it?
antudegil
post Sep 23 2008, 11:12 PM

147 posts

one question, if we get caught and banned from google, how we can unban our self and reindex back?
SUSMNet
post Oct 20 2008, 09:23 AM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(antudegil @ Sep 23 2008, 11:12 PM)
one question, if we get caught and banned from google, how we can unban our self and reindex back?
Yes you can reindex but it do take some time depend on your case.
If your case is serious,maybe it take yrs.
Normally it will take 3 month only

This is call sandboxed by google
KiDkillER
post Oct 20 2008, 10:22 AM

The Home Builder
1,517 posts

It's depend how long Google takes..my PR had been slapped by Google last month..I did sent them an email for reconsideration..but there is no action yet..but I understand because it's not only my letter..there are thousand or million of site that need them to reindex..

So..be patient and just wait..
SUSMNet
post Oct 20 2008, 11:33 AM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(aaron1kee @ Sep 14 2008, 09:38 AM)
u can use this to check your keyword http://www.keywordbox.com/
amerz
post Nov 24 2008, 07:47 AM

508 posts

Weird referring site status...
how come Malaysiakini become a referring site to my stupid blog sweat.gif

onlinediyguy
post Nov 24 2008, 09:32 PM

QUOTE(amerz @ Nov 24 2008, 07:47 AM)
Weird referring site status...
how come Malaysiakini become a referring site to my stupid blog  sweat.gif

WOw...impressive. Did your site appear in Malaysiakini.com ?
Looks like you get a lot of traffic from Malaysiakini .
lankutu
post Nov 25 2008, 01:43 AM

603 posts

because you put malaysiakini link into your blog...then malaysiakini will look at your trackback...then they put your post link into their MKINI IN BLOGS..it also happen to me last time smile.gif

This post has been edited by lankutu: Nov 25 2008, 01:45 AM
GirlyBoy
post Nov 26 2008, 02:05 PM

17 posts

Hi, I have made a website http://www.downloadanything.50webs.com

Can someone please tell me a fast, simple and FREE way to get it listed in Google? Your help is very much appreciated, thanks. smile.gif
onlinediyguy
post Nov 26 2008, 11:02 PM

QUOTE(GirlyBoy @ Nov 26 2008, 02:05 PM)

Can someone please tell me a fast, simple and FREE way to get it listed in Google? Your help is very much appreciated, thanks.  smile.gif
Hi GirlyBoy,

I saw your same post repeated many times in this forum...
Please STOP spamming the forum.

There are many ways you can promote your website the ethical way without spamming

TQ

KiDkillER
post Nov 27 2008, 10:53 AM

The Home Builder
1,517 posts

Can someone please tell me a fast, simple and FREE way to get it listed in Google? Your help is very much appreciated, thanks.  smile.gif
Please search over in this forum or ask Mr.Google b4 you want someone to help you. Don't spam in all the thread about your blog okay? Later people kick you out.. sweat.gif
willer
post Jan 7 2009, 10:06 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(thteong82 @ May 20 2006, 11:57 AM)
Seem to be pro here.
HaHa..i just promote my site and start doing SEO on 30-Dec-2008, still taking experience form "shifu" here.
now it reach 500 (peak) visitor per day. but still quite low ranking. sometimes i also headache cus my site is a result page which got "nothing" more other then result for searche engine bots.... haha!!

however i like yahoo most, it care most about the page title and keywords in ur meta tags.... which it list me at 2nd in first page for "malaysian 4d result"

yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif

http://result.4d88.com/index.php

Added on January 7, 2009, 10:15 pm
QUOTE(aaron1kee @ Sep 14 2008, 09:38 AM)
put ur site in here : smile.gif

http://checkpagerank.ws/

This post has been edited by willer: Jan 7 2009, 10:15 PM
yakob
post Jan 20 2009, 04:16 AM

28 posts

another one: prchecker.info
lifeplayer
post Feb 1 2009, 02:46 PM

1,374 posts

it is very easy to get listed at google search, submit your article to either digg or ezine will get indexed within two days. The problem is you hardly get list at the top of SERP if you not working on those sitemap, keyword, mata tag, content etc
hankaze
post Feb 9 2009, 04:44 PM

90 posts

ngeh....seo is small matter...just made of touching on your web@blog headline then the sitename & domain....finish..

google search engine

http://www.google.com.my/search?hl=ms&q=go...&meta=&aq=f&oq=

keyword: Gold Secret of warcraft

3nee search engine

http://www.3nee.com/search.php?query=gold+...craft+&www=true

and more...don't index your page too much...google dont like it coz this year, about 1 million websites build every month....around world...
segaraga
post Feb 16 2009, 09:55 AM

281 posts

just use adword.....and get the relevant keyword of your site
lifeplayer
post Feb 16 2009, 08:25 PM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(hankaze @ Feb 9 2009, 04:44 PM)
ngeh....seo is small matter...just made of touching on your web@blog headline then the sitename & domain....finish..

google search engine

http://www.google.com.my/search?hl=ms&q=go...&meta=&aq=f&oq=

3nee search engine

http://www.3nee.com/search.php?query=gold+...craft+&www=true

and more...don't index your page too much...google dont like it coz this year, about 1 million websites build every month....around world...
Gold Secret of warcraft result different from my search engine, which is your URL?
Besides, 4 phrase keyword is easy. If you can make your website at the first place with keyword "warcraft", then only can get traffic

SeeD
post Feb 26 2009, 03:49 PM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

I got 2 posts ...
One posted at 2nd Feb, another posted at 14th Feb.
The 14th Feb one is listed in google, the 2nd feb one isn't. What's wrong ah ?
lifeplayer
post Feb 26 2009, 04:44 PM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Feb 26 2009, 03:49 PM)
I got 2 posts ...
One posted at 2nd Feb, another posted at 14th Feb.
The 14th Feb one is listed in google, the 2nd feb one isn't. What's wrong ah ?
Dont really understand what you mean.....
SeeD
post Feb 26 2009, 06:20 PM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

blink.gif
It means what I meant !
I made two posts. The latest posts is listed in google but the previous post (second latest) isn't listed in google.

So I was wondering why.
lifeplayer
post Feb 26 2009, 06:45 PM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Feb 26 2009, 06:20 PM)
blink.gif
It means what I meant !
I made two posts. The latest posts is listed in google but the previous post (second latest) isn't listed in google.

So I was wondering why.
Huh? how you know it is not listed? mybe it is just not listed at the top but after 100 pages
SeeD
post Feb 26 2009, 08:28 PM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

QUOTE(lifeplayer @ Feb 26 2009, 06:45 PM)
Huh? how you know it is not listed? mybe it is just not listed at the top but after 100 pages
The title has more than 7 words. Most of the time it will return as first result if I search the title of my post.

EDIT: Nevermind, today google listed the page. Thanks for the prompt reply.

This post has been edited by SeeD: Feb 26 2009, 08:29 PM
vckloong
post May 20 2009, 01:06 PM

128 posts

Hi guys,

Just to offer my two cents here.

If you want to have the Google spider to visit your site often, you may actually list it in Facebook with the http:// in front of your domain so that the spiders, who visit Facebook often to index or save new content into the Google listing database, will always find a link to your website, and save your updated content frequently. This is so that you will be able to share more fresh content and for you to have more rankings on the Search Engine Results Page.

Hope this helps.
hankaze
post May 20 2009, 04:09 PM

90 posts

hehe...

since im using flash on certain my sites, my rank on search engine going down...huhu...

very bad...

anyway my sites name already list on google suggest.... wink.gif

http://www.google.com/webhp?complete=1&hl=en

haha...

hey dude(vckloong)...

u pro right??why don't u open ur own coaching for free at here??

vckloong
post May 20 2009, 05:49 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(hankaze @ May 20 2009, 04:09 PM)
hehe...

since im using flash on certain my sites, my rank on search engine going down...huhu...

very bad...

anyway my sites name already list on google suggest.... wink.gif

http://www.google.com/webhp?complete=1&hl=en

haha...

hey dude(vckloong)...

u pro right??why don't u open ur own coaching for free at here??
coaching for free? how ah...? means lowyat invite people to a place then i coach ah?

Please let me know how to do it yeah.

I will continue to share here and PM me if any of you need more advice yeah.

Of course, I have a seminar coming up at http://www.sales2marketing2.com yeah.

More than willing to contribute to this forum more often and also to learn from your guys yeah. Thanks also for your compliments hankaze. Hope we can hook up offline some time.

Cheers.
blackflam
post May 30 2009, 02:39 AM

183 posts

Sorry, this is probably an off topic question. I don't know which topic should I post under.

You see, I just created my new site http://www.manyholes.com and I was looking for ways to gain more traffics. I've submitted the link to various 'dodgy' directories, hoping to get more exposure. Is that correct way to do? My website is a gallery of forwarded emails, and that is suppose to be a 'niche'? Is there any good directories you guys reckon, or simply just sign up ALL the directories I see available? I wanted to gain EXPOSURE, and could not rely solely on keywords cause the site is mostly image based, tagging every picture is impossible. On top of that, I wanted my site to expose at South East Asian country only. Is that possible?

Please shed some advice here.
lifeplayer
post Jun 6 2009, 07:42 PM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(blackflam @ May 30 2009, 02:39 AM)
Sorry, this is probably an off topic question. I don't know which topic should I post under.

You see, I just created my new site http://www.manyholes.com and I was looking for ways to gain more traffics. I've submitted the link to various 'dodgy' directories, hoping to get more exposure. Is that correct way to do? My website is a gallery of forwarded emails, and that is suppose to be a 'niche'? Is there any good directories you guys reckon, or simply just sign up ALL the directories I see available? I wanted to gain EXPOSURE, and could not rely solely on keywords cause the site is mostly image based, tagging every picture is impossible. On top of that, I wanted my site to expose at South East Asian country only. Is that possible?

Please shed some advice here.
Freakly speaking, directory dont helps much on generating traffic. what you mean that you could not rely solely on keywords cause the site is mostly image based? Image can get good ranking at google image search too, one of my health blog is getting about 15 UV from image search daily (My health blog has very less image). And cant you put ome description on the images?

Finally, it is possible to expose your site at South East Asian country only. You just need to focus on SEO

leaps&bounds
post Jul 1 2009, 12:53 AM

QUOTE(vckloong @ May 20 2009, 05:49 PM)
coaching for free? how ah...? means lowyat invite people to a place then i coach ah?

Please let me know how to do it yeah.

I will continue to share here and PM me if any of you need more advice yeah.

Of course, I have a seminar coming up at http://www.sales2marketing2.com yeah.

More than willing to contribute to this forum more often and also to learn from your guys yeah. Thanks also for your compliments hankaze. Hope we can hook up offline some time.

Cheers.
thanks a lot for the contribution ...
william_lee
post Jul 28 2009, 01:28 PM

13 posts

For SEO, you could get tips on these sites: http://www.copyblogger.com/ or http://www.seobook.com/blog
jazdmarkets2
post Jul 28 2009, 05:32 PM

this is good contents for maintaining the page rank and popularity of the sites.......
can u tell me why use the robots.txt in the sites.
william_lee
post Jul 28 2009, 05:45 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(jazdmarkets2 @ Jul 28 2009, 05:32 PM)
this is good contents for maintaining the page rank and popularity of the sites.......
can u tell me why use the robots.txt in the sites.
robots.txt allows you to tell the search engines what parts of your site they have access to and should try and index.

For example, if you have a section of your site dedicated to showing your clients some samples etc, which you don't want Google to find, then you can use robots.txt to do that.

Also, you could use robots.txt to tell all the search bots to come and search your whole site (which they will do anyway over time)
beellion
post Jul 30 2009, 12:45 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(t3ch @ May 20 2006, 10:45 AM)
TIP 1:
I have a site that has fluxuated between #1 and #5 first page spots on most search engines under various relivant keywords or phrases for quite some time, and i`ve found that just about ANY site that I link to from my FRONT PAGE (not a links page) usually get listed within a week or two.

TIP 2:
But once listed in a favorable spot, you MUST MAINTAIN that spot.

I used to own a certain marketing company that was #1 on almost all search engines under very targeted keywords and phrases.
I have since sold that business and the new owner knew nothing about maintaining a good spot, or marketing, and the site has slipped way way way down in the rankings. and all the sites that I got first page rankings have either slipped in ranking or are no longer listed.
I`ve found that my current clients sites keep their positions as long as I follow a certain formula.

Once listed, there are various little things that can be done to maintain your spot.
Heres just some of them. TRAP A SPIDER....

A. Try to keep your main page constantly updating. I found that just moving a small period around the page can do the trick. As long as the spider sees change it will report it.

B. Dont put a certain keyword too many times on a single page.
The spider will think that you`re trying to cheat and will disqualify your page and in the worst case, ban you. 3 - 4 times should be enough.

C. Dont expect a page with popups to get a top ranking. If you must add a popup, do it on some other page than your main page.

TIP 3:
---------

PAGE 3 - Boonies shares his thoughts on Search Engines and how they work.
thumbup.gif Very good information... rclxms.gif

GaminPro
post Aug 4 2009, 09:22 PM

310 posts

Nice info will try me best =]
Bizmind
post Sep 24 2009, 12:03 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(t3ch @ May 20 2006, 12:15 PM)
it is about the free template given by me? for your info im nomore in web designing industry anymore.. im now working in other field. your rite about the premade templates isnt a god thing to use .. i realize it and would stop the give away.
as mention above im nomore doing it ...just a share of thougt
Why do you work in other field?
Is it that what you did before didn't promise your a stable income?

And I also I would like to express my pov here.
For me, we all want to do all the stuffs like, "submit to search engine", "keywords selection", etc
are only for making our site traffic increase rapidly. What if someone didn't do any of that and just
sharing his/her contents consistently (maybe about 2 years) about famous niche? Will the person's
site pull great amount of visitors?
Terel
post Oct 13 2009, 10:20 AM

136 posts

I've just launched my site yesterday and submitted it to google, jayde and yahoo. Any idea as to why its not being listed? The site's add is at klangvalleymortgage.com
lifeplayer
post Oct 28 2009, 01:18 AM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(Terel @ Oct 13 2009, 10:20 AM)
I've just launched my site yesterday and submitted it to google, jayde and yahoo. Any idea as to why its not being listed? The site's add is at klangvalleymortgage.com
Just check on your site URL, it is indexed
http://www.google.com.my/#hl=en&q=http%3A%...dfae64698fb827f
amirsyazi
post Nov 23 2009, 10:22 PM

QUOTE(Terel @ Oct 13 2009, 10:20 AM)
for any new site you wante to be index in 1 day..you can have to submit your url to social bookmarking site like propeller or digg.From my past experience....don't forget to ping your url too tongue.gif
just my 2 cents tongue.gif
playerseeker
post Dec 1 2009, 08:38 AM

630 posts

i just search....my site havnt got indexed yet

http://whatthiswhythat.com

just launch last weekend....but surprising i already have 1 reader subscribe to my feed.....

i'd take it slow but get a lil nervous that my site still havnt indexed yet....

sorry but guys guys...please see this post....wonder whether you guys know about it or not...i hope it's not too late yet

http://edmundloh.com/2009/11/shift-in-inte...g-1st-december/

This post has been edited by playerseeker: Dec 1 2009, 10:57 AM
etsuko
post Dec 1 2009, 08:11 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Dec 1 2009, 08:38 AM)
i just search....my site havnt got indexed yet

http://whatthiswhythat.com

just launch last weekend....but surprising i already have 1 reader subscribe to my feed.....

i'd take it slow but get a lil nervous that my site still havnt indexed yet....

sorry but guys guys...please see this post....wonder whether you guys know about it or not...i hope it's not too late yet

http://edmundloh.com/2009/11/shift-in-inte...g-1st-december/
Good riddance to internet marketing. Especially the ones containing blasting out spam to catch a 0.1% conversion.
playerseeker
post Dec 1 2009, 10:35 PM

630 posts

hi guys..i've did some searching in the net about robot.txt

i found the generator and it generates out there

# robots.txt generated at http://www.mcanerin.com
User-agent: *
Disallow:
Disallow: /cgi-bin/

meaning i allow all the spider go to my website??or i need something like
"user-agent:googlebot
allow:/"

and can some one teach me how to write the proper robot.txt command

something like

User-agent:
Disallow:
Allow:/*

jenny91
post Dec 2 2009, 01:00 AM

32 posts

hi,may i know where can submit to free search engine?for who can share pm me.thanks a million! smile.gif

This post has been edited by jenny91: Dec 2 2009, 01:01 AM
e[X]treme[Z]
post Dec 2 2009, 10:54 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Dec 1 2009, 10:35 PM)
hi guys..i've did some searching in the net about robot.txt

i found the generator and it generates out there

# robots.txt generated at http://www.mcanerin.com
Disallow:
Disallow: /cgi-bin/

meaning i allow all the spider go to my website??or i need something like
"user-agent:googlebot
allow:/"

and can some one teach me how to write the proper robot.txt command

something like

User-agent:

Allow:/*
This will do if you want all spiders to index all your pages.

Allow: /
wirelessdude
post Dec 18 2009, 12:18 AM

594 posts

QUOTE(jenny91 @ Dec 2 2009, 01:00 AM)
hi,may i know where can submit to free search engine?for who can share pm me.thanks a million! smile.gif
Forget about submitting to search engines - it's a waste of time.

Just get links to your website from established and frequently crawled websites like lowyat.net, e.g. add the link in your signature. You can also add your site in Google's Webmaster Tools.

Websites are indexed in batches so there maybe a lag. Google also use different servers for the search results so you have to wait slightly longer for it to be reflected on all their servers.

To check which pages are indexed, just go to Google and enter into the searchbox "site:yourdomain.com" (without the quotes).
goldfries
post Dec 18 2009, 01:05 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yeah, nowadays no need to submit already. smile.gif

the spiders will find you instead.
lifeplayer
post Dec 24 2009, 04:43 PM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 18 2009, 01:05 AM)
yeah, nowadays no need to submit already. smile.gif

the spiders will find you instead.
I agree that search engine submission is totally wasting time.
Not only nowadays but since last time. If want to submit, just submit the sitemap
mybeautysolution
post Jan 6 2010, 12:35 PM

So now, what is the bes method to get page go to 1st page in google? i submitted my blog, but then still didn't go to 1st few page sad.gif.
apamise
post Jan 6 2010, 08:06 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(mybeautysolution @ Jan 6 2010, 12:35 PM)
So now, what is the bes method to get page go to 1st page in google? i submitted my blog, but then still didn't go to 1st few page sad.gif.
Search "site:your.blog.domain" on google and you'll make it to the 1st page. Else, you have to compete with millions other websites out there. What makes you so sure that your blog deserves to be shown on the 1st page when the competition is overwhelming?
yuhahai
post Jan 7 2010, 09:09 AM

Does any one here using free domain like co.cc? I submited to google about 4 day then I recheck everyday seem that my site have not yet been list in search engine whether if google baned co.cc? hmm.gif
apamise
post Jan 7 2010, 06:30 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(yuhahai @ Jan 7 2010, 09:09 AM)
Does any one here using free domain like co.cc? I submited to google about 4 day then I recheck everyday seem that my site have not yet been list in search engine whether if google baned co.cc? hmm.gif
It might took longer than 4 days. It can be a week, 2 weeks, etc. Be patient.

You make a blog on blogging tips but you don't know something as basic as that. How ironic. yawn.gif

This post has been edited by apamise: Jan 7 2010, 06:56 PM
lifeplayer
post Jan 15 2010, 03:41 PM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(yuhahai @ Jan 7 2010, 09:09 AM)
Google search dont bother about the extension, and they also dont bother whether it is paid or free domain. They will index your site as long as it is original and SEO friendly
leyley
post Jan 15 2010, 09:03 PM

2,096 posts

Still trying to make my site go up at least front few page. Heard some SEO companies out there can do the job but the charge is kinda high sad.gif
e[X]treme[Z]
post Jan 16 2010, 05:23 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(leyley @ Jan 15 2010, 09:03 PM)
Still trying to make my site go up at least front few page. Heard some SEO companies out there can do the job but the charge is kinda high  sad.gif
Liek everything in this world, there are no free lunch... brows.gif What is your budget? If you want PM me your keyword and I see what I can do.
trafficbuilder
post Jan 19 2010, 10:22 PM

172 posts

Still trying to make my site go up at least front few page. Heard some SEO companies out there can do the job but the charge is kinda high  sad.gif
I have found one that impose a small one-time fee as like US$8.99.Is that cheap?
After submitted,they will show you a full report within 48hrs.

This post has been edited by trafficbuilder: Jan 19 2010, 10:23 PM
lifeplayer
post Mar 27 2010, 12:20 PM

1,374 posts

It is depends on the keyword. No any graduatee from those SEO company
I can simply make it up to the first page for those non-popular keyword
Franly speaing, if you want to work on SERP, suggest you go for the long tails keyword, which can give you better result and targeted traffic

This post has been edited by lifeplayer: Mar 27 2010, 12:21 PM
wussadotcom
post Mar 29 2010, 12:50 AM

Computer Engineer
660 posts

QUOTE(trafficbuilder @ Jan 19 2010, 10:22 PM)
I have found one that impose a small one-time fee as like US$8.99.Is that cheap?
After submitted,they will show you a full report within 48hrs.
Most probably an auto generated report using a software. And it will be just a report on your current site. SEO work involves a large budget dependingg on your keyword and competitor
lifeplayer
post Mar 30 2010, 04:19 PM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(wussadotcom @ Mar 29 2010, 12:50 AM)
Most probably an auto generated report using a software. And it will be just a report on your current site. SEO work involves a large budget dependingg on your keyword and competitor
This kind of report can find online, there are many SEO site provide this kind of data for free.
And this is call in-page SEO, it is important and necessary to go for it
spirinellio
post Mar 30 2010, 06:32 PM

dont just concentrate on in-page. off-page is equaly if not more important
spa[w]ntaneous
post May 5 2010, 03:04 PM

Everyday is a dog's day...
601 posts

QUOTE(enyo @ Jan 21 2007, 01:01 PM)
I have 1 question.  tongue.gif I build my site using WP. I use pop up for comments. I think it's easier to comment me that way. After reading the 1st post, should I remove my pop up comments?
Actually with the new google speed requirements for ranking, having your comments as popups is a good idea as it reduces the load time of your page wink.gif

Added on May 5, 2010, 3:07 pm
QUOTE(lifeplayer @ Mar 30 2010, 04:19 PM)
This kind of report can find online, there are many SEO site provide this kind of data for free.
And this is call in-page SEO, it is important and necessary to go for it
It also depends on what you intend to do with the site in the first place. If your site is just for one time promotion then there is no need to waste such money...
Else if you use your site to promote your products/content daily then it is a good idea but also need to see what is your budget and ROI on that...

This post has been edited by spa[w]ntaneous: May 5 2010, 03:07 PM
AnimeAsia
post Sep 1 2010, 01:10 AM

358 posts

Refering to the screenshot, you can see that beneath the main page link, there are several other links of the site shown in google result. What is that called and how to achieve it? Thanks.
apamise
post Sep 1 2010, 02:03 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(AnimeAsia @ Sep 1 2010, 01:10 AM)
Refering to the screenshot, you can see that beneath the main page link, there are several other links of the site shown in google result. What is that called and how to achieve it? Thanks.
It's called "sitelinks".

Here's the quote from Google Webmaster Tools:
Sitelinks are completely automated, and we show them only if we think they'll be useful to the user. If your site's structure doesn't allow our algorithms to find good sitelinks, or we don't think that the sitelinks are relevant to the user's query, we won't show them. However, we are always working to improve how we find and display sitelinks.

lifeplayer
post Oct 13 2010, 08:11 PM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(spawntaneous @ May 5 2010, 03:04 PM)

It also depends on what you intend to do with the site in the first place. If your site is just for one time promotion then there is no need to waste such money...
Else if you use your site to promote your products/content daily then it is a good idea but also need to see what is your budget and ROI on that...
On-page SEO is necessary, and it not necessary to spend money it just to make your website search friendly. It is just simple work
Chuckiekey
post Nov 11 2010, 06:22 PM

Chuckie Cotton
1,502 posts

Sitelink...another interesting thing to explore.
WoodyAllen
post Jan 14 2011, 02:47 PM

108 posts

SEO is about never ending of improvement, google changes their algorithm every now and then. besides, google like new content, and not old contents.
kineticsem
post Mar 2 2011, 08:51 PM

38 posts

SEO is not a one off thing. With Google changing its algorithm almost every quarter, webmasters need to constantly update their sites. Generally, high quality white hat linkbuilding are useful to get you up the search results. But you need good content in order to have effective linkbuilding.

Added on March 2, 2011, 8:52 pmI just realised my post is very similar to the one before, oops.

This post has been edited by kineticsem: Mar 2 2011, 08:52 PM
Wholleymolley
post Apr 2 2011, 10:29 PM

19 posts

Hmm .. after reading on this thread, I have decided that my site is not search engine optimized so I just go to my posts and changed keywords for almost all of them ...

so now ... I just wait ?

How should i proceed from here ? haha help !
lifeplayer
post Apr 4 2011, 02:37 PM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(jejaktrend @ Apr 3 2011, 05:23 PM)
Hey guys I want to know how those seo company work.. on page optimize i think no need 1 year time, just wonder their off page technique, they build links everyday? not boring? lol~
on-page SEO basically take weeks to few months depends on how big the website. Off-page SEO is long term work, link building only a partial of off-page SEO, my friend
dragynraken
post Apr 24 2011, 09:44 AM

28 posts

thumbup.gif
I gotta agree this notworthy.gif
Inside The Box
post Apr 26 2011, 07:46 PM

27 posts

If you're using Wordpress, try installing the All In One SEO pack plugin to your website/ blog.

It will allow you to add meta descriptions, titles and tags to each and every page/ post on your site.

This is called on-site SEO and in Malaysia, it actually works very well - I think Google really likes Wordpress rclxms.gif

Of course you have to keep in mind that the content on your page has to match what you've placed in the All In One SEO pack or Google won't find it relevant enough to rank highly.

Remember that some niches are much more competitive than others (try Web Design MAlaysia or Web Hosting Malaysia) and that it'll take constant work to get ranked well in those niches.

ninjawin
post May 1 2011, 09:30 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(Wholleymolley @ Apr 2 2011, 10:29 PM)
Hmm .. after reading on this thread, I have decided that my site is not search engine optimized so I just go to my posts and changed keywords for almost all of them ...

so now ... I just wait ?

How should i proceed from here ? haha help !
just optimize your new post biggrin.gif
gs20
post May 3 2011, 11:33 PM

1,685 posts

I notice something abnormal today. Check out my Analytic graph:
Notice the trend that happen for past 2 days. The hits that Google brought in shoot up from average 900+ to nearly 4k.

Yesterday I notice it shoot up to 1.5k I thought maybe it's due to the holiday / labor day, but that pattern maintain til today.

What went wrong exactly? I didn't do much changing on that site.
ninjawin
post May 9 2011, 08:43 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ May 3 2011, 11:33 PM)
I notice something abnormal today. Check out my Analytic graph:
Notice the trend that happen for past 2 days. The hits that Google brought in shoot up from average 900+ to nearly 4k.

Yesterday I notice it shoot up to 1.5k I thought maybe it's due to the holiday / labor day, but that pattern maintain til today.

What went wrong exactly? I didn't do much changing on that site.
congrats. u got analytics or webmaster? u can actually track the top keywords.

sfpkent
post May 10 2011, 03:24 PM

The world has changed so much. Now not only optimized on your website. You need to build a online virtual community, reputation management and work with social media marketing.

Search engine optimization is not the most important marketing strategy anymore, while a lot of people making money thru social networking site, e.g Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, etc.

And it depends on what your company about. If your market is more to youngster, according to study, young people spend more time on Facebook rather than search engines. So engage your customers thru social networking is even more important for the company rather than SEO.

gs20
post May 13 2011, 02:43 PM

1,685 posts

QUOTE(ninjawin @ May 9 2011, 08:43 PM)
congrats. u got analytics or webmaster? u can actually track the top keywords.
The pattern still maintain til today (and still increasing at a slower pace. Just yesterday it hit a new high @ 5.6k uniques).
According to Analytic the traffic consist of 4000+ keywords, most of them from the long tail keywords.
At the same time, the bounce rate shoot up to 80% sad.gif, Average time spent on site 1 minute sad.gif

badminto
post May 13 2011, 02:59 PM

Faster is good..
706 posts

Wow..that really helpful..thanx a lot biggrin.gif
Inside The Box
post May 19 2011, 07:47 PM

27 posts

Wow great conversation going on here on SEO and rankings.

I've always been an advocate of SEO and getting a great ranking and maintaining your rankings over an extended period of time. After all, search engine traffic is free, what more could you ask for?

But one thing I've noticed now a days, especially with Facebook exploding onto... the movie screens (haha) is that with a good social media strategy, you can get alot of traffic very fast, building up a user base for a website in no time at all.

So does that mean SEO is not as important as it used to be (I personally don't think so). What are your opinions?
lifeplayer
post May 24 2011, 01:18 AM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(Inside The Box @ May 19 2011, 07:47 PM)
Wow great conversation going on here on SEO and rankings.

I've always been an advocate of SEO and getting a great ranking and maintaining your rankings over an extended period of time. After all, search engine traffic is free, what more could you ask for?

But one thing I've noticed now a days, especially with Facebook exploding onto... the movie screens (haha) is that with a good social media strategy, you can get alot of traffic very fast, building up a user base for a website in no time at all.

So does that mean SEO is not as important as it used to be (I personally don't think so). What are your opinions?
i agree that social media are providing fast and huge traffic but it might be in short term, and those traffic are not targeted enough compare to SEO. I still prefer natural traffic, SEO or PPC traffic is always the best
30katz
post Jun 30 2011, 02:59 PM

29 posts

How will the Google + affect the seo ?

http://www.autobizz.com.my/forum/forum/Gen...e-Facebook.html
nivlanauk
post Jul 1 2011, 10:40 AM

307 posts

Does joining or not joining keywords matter?
For example I'm renaming my Image, "FrasersHill". Will search engine still able to interpret it as "Frasers Hill"?
apisv2
post Jul 2 2011, 08:12 PM

dont forget to insert <h3>heading</h3> at the top post before u start posting blog entry laugh.gif
wirelessdude
post Jul 6 2011, 09:20 PM

594 posts

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Jul 1 2011, 10:40 AM)
Does joining or not joining keywords matter?
For example I'm renaming my Image, "FrasersHill". Will search engine still able to interpret it as "Frasers Hill"?
The search engines are smart enough these days, so it doesn't matter. However, you should use "-" just to be extra safe, e.g. frasers-hill.jpg
kento
post Aug 3 2011, 08:24 PM

The Ronin
640 posts

unique contents & link building biggrin.gif
lifeplayer
post Aug 3 2011, 09:52 PM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(wirelessdude @ Jul 6 2011, 09:20 PM)
The search engines are smart enough these days, so it doesn't matter. However, you should use "-" just to be extra safe, e.g. frasers-hill.jpg
It doesn't really matter, both of themare fine
kinccc
post Dec 12 2011, 11:14 PM

109 posts

nowaday search engine to me = google

if you can't find what you want in google, will ever another search engine get the thing you want?

i will prefer the answer is a yes.
optimoptim
post Dec 30 2011, 10:02 PM

92 posts

This is really helpful. Thanks for the share.
I agreed that getting top five positions in google search results will help to get good ranking in other search engines too.

dteacottage
post Jan 13 2012, 12:38 AM

hi...

recently i've created a website and already in the web hosting...i tried to search for my website name in google but it seems that google doesn't return any result at all....do i need to setup anything to get my website listed ah??

thanks!!
lifeplayer
post Jan 18 2012, 07:06 PM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(dteacottage @ Jan 13 2012, 12:38 AM)
hi...

recently i've created a website and already in the web hosting...i tried to search for my website name in google but it seems that google doesn't return any result at all....do i need to setup anything to get my website listed ah??

thanks!!
what is your website URL?
altcom
post Mar 29 2012, 04:37 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(dteacottage @ Jan 13 2012, 12:38 AM)

For newly setup website, Google has implement sandbox to reduce site ability to get rank. To escape from sandbox, you may need to get quality backlink and constant release fresh content.

Logic behind, if all new site easily get rank, the search query will become not relevant to searcher.
abundance88
post Apr 16 2012, 04:45 PM

With so much changes in the SEO landscape like the downgrading of private blog networks, what are your top 3 favorite link-building strategies to get your site rank high? Or do you do a lot more to get link diversity?

SEO is a lot of work...
my-logitech
post Apr 17 2012, 07:32 AM

58 posts

very useful info , thanks a lot
BlackWoods
post Jul 10 2012, 11:43 AM

Dark Knight
2,152 posts

Cpanel now has SEO optimization service, do it and it will at least help a bit, and it's free. smile.gif
GaYoon
post Jul 23 2012, 12:30 AM

71 posts

Does anyone know how long it takes for search engines such as google, yahoo and bing to index my blog? I can't remember when I submitted my blog to search engines. Must have been 1 or 2 months already but the only traffic that I get is from google only. cry.gif

A Blogging Journey with Icyvirgorox

asellus
post Jul 23 2012, 12:33 AM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(GaYoon @ Jul 23 2012, 12:30 AM)
Does anyone know how long it takes for search engines such as google, yahoo and bing to index my blog? I can't remember when I submitted my blog to search engines. Must have been 1 or 2 months already but the only traffic that I get is from google only.  cry.gif
A Blogging Journey with Icyvirgorox
Submit your website sitemap to Bing Webmaster Tools so that it can be reliably indexed. Bing doesn't have your website yet.
GaYoon
post Jul 23 2012, 10:53 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ Jul 23 2012, 12:33 AM)
Submit your website sitemap to Bing Webmaster Tools so that it can be reliably indexed. Bing doesn't have your website yet.
Thank you thank you....but how do you know bing doesn't have my site? I mean I remember I submitted my site to bing(not really sure about it). Maybe my site is still in the waiting list to be indexed? If I submit my blog to bing and yahoo again, will they block/ban my blog?
Nemesix
post Jul 24 2012, 06:32 AM

nice sharing, thanks SEO it's essential for websites ranking!
asellus
post Jul 24 2012, 07:29 AM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(GaYoon @ Jul 23 2012, 10:53 PM)
Thank you thank you....but how do you know bing doesn't have my site? I mean I remember I submitted my site to bing(not really sure about it). Maybe my site is still in the waiting list to be indexed? If I submit my blog to bing and yahoo again, will they block/ban my blog?
http://icyvirgorox.blogspot.com/ is your website?

Then searching Bing with that URL doesn't yield any result, while it does with Google.
lifeplayer
post Jul 24 2012, 10:33 AM

1,374 posts

The search engine will not block/ban your site for the search engine submission. By the way, search engine submission is not necessary at all, the search engine is smart enough to index the new site
nano28
post Aug 25 2012, 10:07 PM

850 posts

I no longer use ping service for my site. I believe google will give u more seo score if they find your site through referral.

That's just what I believe. And I don't really know whether it's true or not.
lifeplayer
post Aug 26 2012, 01:42 AM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(nano28 @ Aug 25 2012, 10:07 PM)
I no longer use ping service for my site. I believe google will give u more seo score if they find your site through referral.

That's just what I believe. And I don't really know whether it's true or not.
Ping is just tell the search engine that you are updating your site. It is not necessary if your site is not new site or have good amount of backlink.
Wayne Liew
post Aug 26 2012, 10:40 PM

33 posts

Hi GaYoon, there is really no need to submit your blog to search engines. As they crawl the web and the links, they will index your website accordingly.

Even if you submit your blog to them, all you are doing is actually getting your website into search engines, which do not mean that your blog will rank for keywords. Thus, you won't be getting a lot of traffic too.

Yahoo and Bing tend to take longer to index websites as compared to Google. This is also the case if you are trying to rank for certain keywords on these search engines.

Hope the explanation above helps. smile.gif
nyuc
post Nov 7 2012, 11:30 AM

22 posts

I've created this FREE SEO DIY site due to not many good SEO course available locally. Even though it was created two years back and has not been updated since then, but most info is still very relevant for today webmaster.

For those interested, can visit www.seomalaysia.co.

This post has been edited by nyuc: Nov 7 2012, 11:31 AM
gregghawes
post Nov 8 2012, 07:18 PM

455 posts

Bing/Yahoo are much slower with indexing/ranking sites, its much quicker to build backlinks to your site rather than submit to search engines for indexing. If a page doesnt have backlinks all search engines see it as not important.
nyuc
post Nov 13 2012, 11:07 AM

22 posts

For Bing SEO, worthy reading:

http://www.searchdiscovery.com/blog/seo-fo...ng-differences/

http://www.highervisibility.com/blog/how-s...ared-to-google/

Enjoy the reading smile.gif
GaYoon
post Nov 13 2012, 04:17 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(gregghawes @ Nov 8 2012, 07:18 PM)
Bing/Yahoo are much slower with indexing/ranking sites, its much quicker to build backlinks to your site rather than submit to search engines for indexing. If a page doesnt have backlinks all search engines see it as not important.
QUOTE(Wayne Liew @ Aug 26 2012, 10:40 PM)
Hi GaYoon, there is really no need to submit your blog to search engines. As they crawl the web and the links, they will index your website accordingly.

Even if you submit your blog to them, all you are doing is actually getting your website into search engines, which do not mean that your blog will rank for keywords. Thus, you won't be getting a lot of traffic too.

Yahoo and Bing tend to take longer to index websites as compared to Google. This is also the case if you are trying to rank for certain keywords on these search engines.

Hope the explanation above helps.  smile.gif
Thank you gregghawes and wayne for the info. My blog is receiving some traffic from bing and yahoo already. I'll heed you advice and build more backlinks. smile.gif Thanks!
xueen
post Nov 16 2012, 03:49 PM

29 posts

Need your advise. I have a blog, and need to promote thru SEO. I found that google search engine can easily find my blog's post, without doing anything.

But when I search thru yahoo, only 1 post I can search out. I really don't know how make it appear on yahoo search engine. Anybody can help?
yeoyl
post Dec 1 2012, 08:53 PM

102 posts

Nice post.
lifeplayer
post Dec 4 2012, 04:20 PM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(xueen @ Nov 16 2012, 03:49 PM)
Need your advise. I have a blog, and need to promote thru SEO. I found that google search engine can easily find my blog's post, without doing anything.

But when I search thru yahoo, only 1 post I can search out. I really don't know how make it appear on yahoo search engine. Anybody can help?
That's happen to most of the site, especially your site is new site. The yahoo index the new post/page slower compare to google
sleyer
post Dec 31 2012, 09:53 PM

829 posts

can i know which one the rite keyword for seo

harddisk-westen-digital

or

hardisk_westen_digital

??
sleyer
post Jan 8 2013, 02:49 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(sleyer @ Dec 31 2012, 09:53 PM)
can i know    which one  the rite keyword for seo

harddisk-westen-digital

or

hardisk_westen_digital 

??
any one ? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
kctan290
post Mar 21 2013, 02:33 PM

pm pls
BlackWoods
post Mar 30 2013, 11:53 AM

Dark Knight
2,152 posts

QUOTE(sleyer @ Jan 8 2013, 02:49 PM)
any one ?  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
hardisk_westen_digital < this one
whyteaz
post May 11 2013, 12:03 PM

281 posts

I want to ask a question here,
How many of you think that is possible to organize a SEO competition and how many of you would join?
nicregi
post May 11 2013, 03:56 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(whyteaz @ May 11 2013, 12:03 PM)
How many of you think that is possible to organize a  SEO competition and how many of you would join?
Very possible if you want to do so. Why not joining? No harm at least for me and eStudioWerk.com

tongue.gif
whyteaz
post May 11 2013, 05:12 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ May 11 2013, 03:56 PM)
Very possible if you want to do so. Why not joining? No harm at least for me and eStudioWerk.com

tongue.gif
Thank you so much for your reply, this make me feel that I m not crazy having such idea....lols

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

nicregi
post May 11 2013, 05:56 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(whyteaz @ May 11 2013, 05:12 PM)
Thank you so much for your reply, this make me feel that I m not crazy having such idea....lols

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Haha...you are most welcome smile.gif
MalaysiaCarPlate
post May 13 2013, 03:23 PM

116 posts

thanks for the awesome article!
mirakim89
post Dec 3 2016, 03:09 AM

Nice tipsfor newbie like me..

Myfakta

This post has been edited by mirakim89: Dec 3 2016, 03:10 AM
himajateki
post Dec 17 2016, 03:08 PM

23 posts

Very Nice Information. It will help a lot of people who are in the Digital Marketing field.
Su-Ez
post Mar 28 2017, 12:33 PM

35 posts

hi, i dont know where to ask but this might be related about searching and finding.. is there a way to find all comments made by a specific user on Youtube? i try using google operator like this "user" site:http://youtube.com/all_comments but it didnt work.
kelvin_87
post May 28 2017, 02:48 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(Su-Ez @ Mar 28 2017, 12:33 PM)
hi, i dont know where to ask but this might be related about searching and finding.. is there a way to find all comments made by a specific user on Youtube? i try using google operator like this "user" site:http://youtube.com/all_comments but it didnt work.
I don't think you can search the user comment because the comments are never index by the search engines...
synergyxyz
post Jun 28 2017, 03:07 PM

We provide free consultations for SEO and digital marketing.
visit us at: http://synergyxyz.com

TomSins P
post Apr 30 2020, 07:37 PM

Probation

There may be a big competitiveness of the keywords that you use. There is always some big websites that get the majority of the traffic, but you can still try to go upper if your website has a blog, Perhaps s0ome of your articles may appear in People Also Ask box.
MikeJason77 P
post Jun 15 2020, 01:44 PM

Probation

I honestly never thought it would be necessary to use an article writing and essay writing service so soon. Time was running out and I had no choice, but I was pleased with their workessaywriter.org
ladycooper
post Feb 1 2023, 09:45 AM

944 posts

What is Subdomain? Subdomains vs. Subfolders for SEO
https://www.exabytes.my/blog/subdomains-vs-...olders-for-seo/

FlierMate4
post Feb 3 2023, 06:18 PM

Validating
90 posts

QUOTE(ladycooper @ Feb 1 2023, 09:45 AM)

What is Subdomain? Subdomains vs. Subfolders for SEO
https://www.exabytes.my/blog/subdomains-vs-...olders-for-seo/
Thanks for sharing, I always confuse between subdomain and subfolder, because when I create subdomain in CPanel, it also creates a subfolder.
Pikichu
post Jun 23 2023, 12:36 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(whyteaz @ May 11 2013, 12:03 PM)
How many of you think that is possible to organize a  SEO competition and how many of you would join?
It is nearly impossible to get a fair starting point to compete.
Do you compete on website position or webpage position on Google?
If website is page 100 but top page is at page 3 then how to compete with various positions?

Then the type of content on the website and page are different.
If your page talks about your family but suddenly compettion you post about EPL football. Isn't that cheating?
What if your competition starts reviewing pornhub offerings and beat your EPL ?

Good also do not come cheap.
So starters can google some basic about search engines and fulfill those requirements. Make a check list.
When you decide to hire a SEO specialist, that list lets you decide what service can they offer beyond list.
HexPhoenix
post Jul 3 2023, 12:50 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Jun 23 2023, 12:36 PM)
It is nearly impossible to get a fair starting point to compete.
Do you compete on website position or webpage position on Google?
If website is page 100 but top page is at page 3 then how to compete with various positions?

Then the type of content on the website and page are different.
If your page talks about your family but suddenly compettion you post about EPL football. Isn't that cheating?
What if your competition starts reviewing pornhub offerings and beat your EPL ?

Good also do not come cheap.
So starters can google some basic about search engines and fulfill those requirements. Make a check list.
When you decide to hire a SEO specialist, that list lets you decide what service can they offer beyond list.
You replying to a 10 years old question? blink.gif

BTW, the way they usually did in the SEO competition:

Either given a product - the one with the most commission from selling that product wins it.
Given a set of keyword - the one who ranks it the fastest wins it.

On how to achieve it; black hat, white hat, grey hat, depends on the competition and the one who organize it themselves.

Not common these days anymore. Maybe there are some in closed knit SEO circles/communities. But in the open?

People prefer FB Ads, Google Ads, TT more. Faster way to make money nowadays.
abmawie
post Jan 10 2024, 04:36 PM

142 posts

This post has been edited by abmawie: Jan 10 2024, 04:37 PM

0.1208sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:26 PM