Home Landscaping, Share & Show Garden Landscaping

H2D
post Aug 28 2013, 12:03 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Aug 27 2013, 05:10 PM)
Like wooden formwork, you can choose to tear down the brick after the concrete is set. (Of course the used bricks will have no use or commercial value as it is stuck with cement/concrete. The purpose is not to save money for reuse but for nicer looking and space).

You have to decide before you build the brick formwork. because you have to add a layer of thin plywood behind the brick formwork so that concrte will not stick on to the bricks. Without a layer preventing concrete from joining the brick formwork you can never remove the brick without breaking the concrete. It stuck together like one whole piece.

Hi Stevie8,

for ur curve pond, do u use only plywood or the brick method?
stevie8
post Aug 28 2013, 08:00 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Aug 28 2013, 12:03 AM)
Hi Stevie8,

for ur curve pond, do u use only plywood or the brick method?
It is easier to use brick method for curve pond, so is my curve pond using bricks backfilled with concrete.

This is a diagram of a brick wall with backfilled concrete. The backfilled acts as support for the brickwall and therefore compacting is not utmost important. Also, you can back fill as you lay the bricks than pouring the backfilled concrete after completion of building the brick wall.

As you know brick is rectangular, long and edges. Laying the bricks as it is give the surface has too rough edges, impossible to be smooth out during plastering. To have a smoother curve cut the brick into two using a circular concrete saw. You will now have shorter bricks which give you smoother curve and making plastering easy. You need only to cut a line on one face and use hammer to break them into two. I lined up the bricks on the ground some 10 to 20 pieces at a time and cut all of them at one go. That is cut a roll of bricks at once than cutting one by one which is time consuming.

H2D
post Aug 28 2013, 11:36 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Aug 28 2013, 08:00 PM)
It is easier to use brick method for curve pond, so is my curve pond using bricks backfilled with concrete.
ok rclxms.gif

so did u remove the bricks as mentioned? or u leave it there n simen the brick work??

This post has been edited by H2D: Aug 28 2013, 11:36 PM
stevie8
post Aug 29 2013, 11:27 AM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Aug 28 2013, 11:36 PM)
ok  rclxms.gif

so did u remove the bricks as mentioned? or u leave it there n simen the brick work??
No removing the bricks, left the bricks there and plastered it then waterproof it with Sika top.
escargo75
post Sep 26 2013, 03:38 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Aug 29 2013, 12:27 PM)
No removing the bricks, left the bricks there and plastered it then waterproof it with Sika top.
Hi Stevie8,

You cannot be serious doing all this all by yourself? You must have learn to do this else I doubt anyone who have never done this before can do it. Also I think those landscaping company can "chap lup" cause you all dIY. I will not do it myself unless I want to handle the after effect. Getting professional landscaping expert is a better choice and if you have such a big garden, why so stingy on spending?

wenching87
post Sep 26 2013, 08:54 PM

277 posts

Anyone have tips to diy gard3n?
H2D
post Sep 26 2013, 11:44 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(wenching87 @ Sep 26 2013, 08:54 PM)
Anyone have tips to diy gard3n?
fb there got local group..
u can see unty anker, even secondary school boy got huge nice garden with exotic plants..
there u can learn from them....
windwong
post Sep 27 2013, 08:10 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Sep 26 2013, 11:44 PM)
fb there got local group..
u can see unty anker, even secondary school boy got huge nice garden with exotic plants..
there u can learn from them....
can we have the link for the facebook gp pls? TIA
stevie8
post Sep 30 2013, 12:05 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(escargo75 @ Sep 26 2013, 03:38 PM)
Hi Stevie8,

You cannot be serious doing all this all by yourself? You must have learn to do this else I doubt anyone who have never done this before can do it. Also I think those landscaping company can "chap lup" cause you all dIY. I will not do it myself unless I want to handle the after effect. Getting professional landscaping expert is a better choice and if you have such a big garden, why so stingy on spending?
Hahaha... there is no joke, seriously I DIY the whole thing all by myself the first time. the landscaping will not chap lup cause got people like you ma.

Also, there are people who can afford but will not spend or spend less, that is one of the ways how to accumulating money. It is not called stingy but more appropriate to be called spend wisely. A dollar spent is a dollar gone forever. A dollar saved is another dollar gain in 10 years, double your money in investment/savings.

Stingy means buy cheap things that dont last or got no class and then have to buy again using low quality things for life. Wise spending for example is buy good quality things that last and when broken get it repaired or DIY repairing yourself. Of course not all things are like that. Example cars cannot last whether cheap or expensive. Things like shoes yes, can last 3 to 4 times longer but need repair and care as time pass to last even longer each time you get it repaired. Yes, take care of your shoes! Dont walk on muddy wet places, use the right shoes for the right activities, care and repair when see sign of wear, not wait till totally broke off.

But as far as I am concerned it is all because I like to DIY and happiness is when you see your "project" completed and enjoy. Money of course being considered. Why pay 10 times more when you can DIY and save the money for other priorities and investment. There are other priorities like holidays vacation, buying big tv, having new hod and hop, etc. Having a pond is no saving, there are cost attached to it like electric bill minimum RM80 a month, maintenance of the pond, fish food, feeding and caring for the pond, etc. If you don't have a pond you need not spend these monies but life has no much meaning when you cannot get what you dream to have in your life and you live only once and that is not more than 100 years.

I am a diyer and see I also diy my pergola for the first time, thing I never did before, click below link, yet another money saved!

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2641338

This post has been edited by stevie8: Sep 30 2013, 12:10 PM
Noregrets
post Oct 1 2013, 09:36 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Aug 27 2013, 08:25 PM)
Yes, that is hell lot of work, worst than digging.  rclxms.gif
Just call sampah king. They will bring you the metal container and remove when full.
They charge RM 150 per container.
ycs
post Oct 2 2013, 11:07 AM

4,233 posts

Stevie8
what wood you use for the small deck next to the pond?
stevie8
post Oct 2 2013, 02:00 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Oct 2 2013, 11:07 AM)
Stevie8
what wood you use for the small deck next to the pond?
That deck rotten already after a year. It was some broken furniture wood picked from street something like a shelf Ikea type. Think it was for indoor use. And now the new deck seems to last even without paint. This new deck wood was also picked from the street. It was a beach chair someone throw and left in on the side of the road for months and I picked it up put in my car and drove home. It was a chair like the picture below and as expected it last can take sun and rain. Sometimes you just get something for free. Actually you can make money out of rubbish, already there are ppl became super rich from rubbish! The world richest self made woman Zhang Yin of China is a recycle tycoon, buy scrap paper from US and sell in China. A man's waste is another woman's wealth! Think before you throw... sweat.gif

ZhangYin

This post has been edited by stevie8: Oct 2 2013, 02:22 PM
H2D
post Oct 2 2013, 02:45 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(windwong @ Sep 27 2013, 08:10 PM)
can we have the link for the facebook gp pls? TIA
it is called my nice garden chat....
Kipkip
post Oct 3 2013, 06:23 PM

192 posts

Can anybody share information where to buy soil for grass by the lorry? Thank you in advance
stevie8
post Oct 4 2013, 09:26 AM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(Kipkip @ Oct 3 2013, 06:23 PM)
Can anybody share information where to buy soil for grass by the lorry? Thank you in advance
You don't get soil by lorry load. You get mud. By soil I mean humus.
Kipkip
post Oct 5 2013, 10:37 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Oct 4 2013, 09:26 AM)
You don't get soil by lorry load. You get mud. By soil I mean humus.
So do you know where i can buy good topsoil/earth/humus/soil/mud?
My lawn about 600 sq ft has lots of small rocks, construction sand and construction leftovers. i have dug up almost 6 inches and looking for topsoil for turfing. Havent decided phillippines or pearl grass. Would appreciate any advice? thank you

This post has been edited by Kipkip: Oct 5 2013, 10:43 AM
H2D
post Oct 5 2013, 03:45 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(Kipkip @ Oct 5 2013, 10:37 AM)
So do you know where i can buy good topsoil/earth/humus/soil/mud?
My lawn  about 600 sq ft has lots of small rocks, construction sand and construction leftovers.  i have dug up almost 6 inches and looking for topsoil for turfing. Havent decided phillippines or pearl grass. Would appreciate any advice?  thank you
u go to sg buloh to get quotation..
go to hospital sgb, pass the hospital on ur right..
on ur left u will see a small road, turn into the road ( across a small bridge)
go slowly, take note of a huge sign board on ur right....

aiya i might as well post the pic here... biggrin.gif
this sign board is a list of tel# of nurseries n landscaping flers in this area of sgB,
some of them will be able to supply u the soil..
call leong nursery first, then call the rest of the # ,
if none of them can supply ( i dun think so )
or u wana get more quote... go to sgb green lane there...

ok now here is a list of nurseries n contact at sgB green lane..
compiled by Stephanie Choo.

http://mygreenfinder.blogspot.com/2009/04/...i-buloh_09.html

This post has been edited by H2D: Oct 5 2013, 03:54 PM
michaelzolt
post Oct 5 2013, 04:32 PM

83 posts

Wow..respect!! DIY koi pond!
michaelzolt
post Oct 5 2013, 04:34 PM

83 posts

Anybody deal with Hua may sdn Bhd before..
ethenies
post Oct 6 2013, 12:44 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Aug 21 2013, 12:27 PM)
This was my diy pond when it was just completed and water test.
[attachmentid=3592303]

Added some deco with rocks and some young koi
[attachmentid=3592314]

So pleased and happy seeing the young koi begging for food
[attachmentid=3592317]

Colourful, free, peace and happiness koi enjoying their new home
[attachmentid=3592324]
This is so impressive!! And your explanation is so clear!!
I still need a lot of time to earn to buy a landed property... But I will save this page in my computer.

salute notworthy.gif

17 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:20 AM