MeToo
post Jul 2 2019, 12:16 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Aug 25 2013, 06:04 PM)
Genie,

Get your bf involved...

Which part of it you need to know more?
bro not everyone can DIY rebars/concrete etc.

Last time when doing civil work, rebars are handled by skilled people... thye get paid more then general workers... sweat.gif
MeToo
post Jul 2 2019, 12:22 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 1 2013, 01:43 PM)
Most of the people life in urban house don't like garden. They just tiles up everyspace.
Not everyone.

I have about 2200sqft of "garden" space at the side of my house, not counting the front/back yard ya.

I cannot tile up the whole place otherwise it will look ridiculous.

Now damn headache how to use the area/landscape it.

ozak
post Jul 2 2019, 07:43 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 2 2019, 12:22 PM)
Not everyone.

I have about 2200sqft of "garden" space at the side of my house, not counting the front/back yard ya.

Are you just beginning? If yes, than you must count how many yrs can maintain it.

Get a garden landscaper to begin with. Try not complicated landscape for your easy maintain.
Mrs.A
post Jul 3 2019, 04:58 AM

309 posts

😇😇

This post has been edited by Mrs.A: Jul 3 2019, 05:02 AM
MeToo
post Jul 3 2019, 11:36 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 2 2019, 07:43 PM)
Are you just beginning? If yes, than you must count how many yrs can maintain it.

Get a garden landscaper to begin with. Try not complicated landscape for your easy maintain.
My wife claim she will maintain the plant.

My money's on she wont.

So.. I'm going with more rock garden, stone walking path, timber everywhere, just a few strips of low maintenance plants at the side.

Dpont need too much greenary cause there is a field right next to my house and its big and green enough
Bjorn1688
post Jul 3 2019, 01:40 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 2 2019, 12:22 PM)
Not everyone.

Build an extension to the house, problem sorted.

I know someone with a 4800sf outdoor tiled surface. Person owns a hardware shop that sells tiles though.

Can be done nicely and looks interesting especially with the way he blended in water features, usage of simulated stone and pebblewash.

MeToo
post Jul 3 2019, 02:41 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ Jul 3 2019, 01:40 PM)
Build an extension to the house, problem sorted.

I know someone with a 4800sf outdoor tiled surface. Person owns a hardware shop  that sells tiles though.

Can be done nicely and looks interesting especially with the way he blended in water features, usage of simulated stone and pebblewash.
Cannto extend the house. Strata

Gazebo or ramada is fine.

ozak
post Jul 3 2019, 02:43 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 3 2019, 11:36 AM)
My wife claim she will maintain the plant.

My money's on she wont.

So.. I'm going with more rock garden, stone walking path, timber everywhere, just a few strips of low maintenance plants at the side.

Dpont need too much greenary cause there is a field right next to my house and its big and green enough
You will see alot later. Everyone like to start with big garden lawn and many plant. Slowly each of the house start to tile it up the garden. You know the reason.

Another problem with field or empty land in front or next to your house. The weed seed blow from there. You will notice your garden weed grow very fast. More frequent to maintain.

MeToo
post Jul 3 2019, 03:00 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 3 2019, 02:43 PM)
You will see alot later. Everyone like to start with big garden lawn and many plant. Slowly each of the house start to tile it up the garden. You know the reason.

Another problem with field or empty land in front or next to your house. The weed seed blow from there. You will notice your garden weed grow very fast. More frequent to maintain.
No grass, will be astro turf, minimum flat greens. Thats why I need someone to design it...

A swimming pool would have solved all my problem... but although the startup cost is around 70k and not too expensive, the maintenance might be a headache.

Also... we have a club house (with olympic size pool) around 1.5KM from my house...

This post has been edited by MeToo: Jul 3 2019, 03:00 PM
chiakaivalya
post Jul 14 2019, 10:37 AM

13 posts

What an incredible series of posts stevie8! Although I don't dare to build an entire pond yet, I've always wondered how it's done and now I know... one day I might consider making something small smile.gif Should post this in a separate topic or a blog for more people to see. Thanks!!!!

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Aug 25 2013, 12:02 AM)
This is also another easy part assuming you have dig the hole for the pond something like this:
[attachmentid=3597363]

The base has to be at least 6 inches thick. 8 inches is ok, anything thicker than that is a waste of concrete and effort. If you need to run bottom drains along the base from one end to another you either dig drains and lay the pipes on in it or you can just leave it on the ground but make the base thicker at about 8 inches.

You need some bricks, rebar (reinforced steel bars), rebar mesh, rebar ties (thin steel wire to tie the rebar together), pliers for tightening the rebar with wire.
[attachmentid=3597395] [attachmentid=3597396] [attachmentid=3597397]

[attachmentid=3597399] [attachmentid=3597400]

1st, level the ground
2nd, optionally, compact the ground/soil using a brick by lifting the brick and throw flat on the ground one area at a time. Do not forget to wear gloves.
3. spread bricks all over the the bare base 2 to 3 feet apart. This is to make sure the rebar or rebar mesh not touching the soil and sit on the bricks.
4. Cut to size the rebar mesh cover the whole base to be concreted. Lay the mesh on the bricks. Tie the rebar meshes together with steel wire using the pliers making 2 turns is sufficient and try not moving them unnecessary. Make very sure the rebar or rebar mesh not touching the side soil walls and soil ground. (All rebars must be concealed in the concrete not exposed to air or soil. When rebars are exposed they get rusted and rod away into inside of the concrete and the concrete becomes weak).
5. Cut rebars to 4 to 5 feet longs and bend them into "L" shape. Tie the bottom side of the "L" to the rebar mesh and the other standing along all the edges (walls). Then using other rebars tie all the "L"s together so that is stand straight. These rebars are for the side walls connecting the base after the base have been concreted poking out along the sides of the base.

Now, you are ready to pour the concrete mixed.

As you can see, the brick is 3 inches thick on its flat side and when your concrete is 6 inches thick, the rebar mesh will be at the middle of the concrete.
Greenskeeper P
post Aug 2 2019, 01:44 AM

Probation

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 3 2019, 03:00 PM)

No grass, will be astro turf, minimum flat greens. Thats why I need someone to design it... 

A swimming pool would have solved all my problem... but although the startup cost is around 70k and not too expensive, the maintenance might be a headache.

Also... we have a club house (with olympic size pool) around 1.5KM from my house...

Firstly, I am a newbie in this forum.

Hi, all taikos mellow.gif

I am a landscaper. Hope to help you to solve your headache. Think that you might have done some survey, so, i'm just some giving some ideas for you to consider.

You may consider artificial grass for your garden, no maintenance at all and normally covered with 8 years warranty for UV discoloration and degradation, then u can save most of your maintenance cost ady. Next, choose the plants for your garden wisely. There have plenty of less maintenance plants in Malaysia, however, it depends on your house sunlight direction and ground condition. It can be designed as a less maintenance garden and think your wife will love to have it. Actually most of the plants used/designed by developer's project are mostly more or less the same, because they try to avoid headache also in future maintenance, so their consultant will design the lanscape based on the actual site condition.

Also, actually there are few brands of ready made glass fiber swimming pool/fish pond available in malaysia which provides 10 years warranty to cover leaking and its system. It has less problem compare with RC swimming pool or pond which tends to leak after years, because of concreting not done properly or waterproofing issues.

And, maintenance cost for your landscape area only (Estimate ard 2000sqft and not include pool/ponds) is nearly around RM800/month at my opinion. If you keen to know more, hope to discuss with you further for your garden design. mellow.gif

Lastly, here is some photos which done by us and think it might give u some ideas for less maintenance landscape design

https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxaGJ.md.jpg
https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxmDB.md.jpg
https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxZBZ.md.jpg
https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxgCn.md.jpg
https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxUbG.md.jpg
https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxN6c.md.jpg
MeToo
post Aug 6 2019, 12:19 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(Greenskeeper @ Aug 2 2019, 01:44 AM)
I am a landscaper. Hope to help you to solve your headache. Think that you might have done some survey, so, i'm just some giving some ideas for you to consider.
You may consider artificial grass for your garden, no maintenance at all and  normally covered with 8 years warranty for UV discoloration and degradation, then u can save most of your maintenance cost ady. Next, choose the plants for your garden wisely. There have plenty of less maintenance plants in Malaysia, however, it depends on your house sunlight direction and ground condition. It can be designed as a less maintenance garden and think your wife will love to have it. Actually most of the plants used/designed by developer's project are mostly more or less the same, because they try to avoid headache also in future maintenance, so their consultant will design the lanscape based on the actual site condition.
Also, actually there are few brands of ready made glass fiber swimming pool/fish pond available in malaysia which provides 10 years warranty to cover leaking and its system. It has less problem compare with RC swimming pool or pond which tends to leak after years, because of concreting not done properly or waterproofing issues.
And, maintenance cost for your landscape area only (Estimate ard 2000sqft and not include pool/ponds) is nearly around RM800/month at my opinion. If you keen to know more, hope to discuss with you further for your garden design.  mellow.gif 
Lastly, here is some photos which done by us and think it might give u some ideas for less maintenance landscape design

Nice work there.

Are those actual wooden decking?

I find wooden structures in Msia weather abit of a hassle.. not to mention cengal dont come cheap...

As for spending RM800/mth to 'maintain' the garden, i think thats way beyond what i'm willing to pay. I understand some nursery is charging per trip maintenance (3 guys a couple of hour) RM3~400.

as for a pool, decided against it, its only for multi millionaires and I dont think i qualify yet. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by MeToo: Aug 6 2019, 12:20 PM
struggleofnewbie P
post Nov 17 2019, 12:47 PM

Probation
26 posts

You may consider artificial grass for your garden, no maintenance at all and  normally covered with 8 years warranty for UV discoloration and degradation, then u can save most of your maintenance cost ady. Next, choose the plants for your garden wisely. There have plenty of less maintenance plants in Malaysia, however, it depends on your house sunlight direction and ground condition. It can be designed as a less maintenance garden and think your wife will love to have it. Actually most of the plants used/designed by developer's project are mostly more or less the same, because they try to avoid headache also in future maintenance, so their consultant will design the lanscape based on the actual site condition.
And, maintenance cost for your landscape area only (Estimate ard 2000sqft and not include pool/ponds) is nearly around RM800/month at my opinion. If you keen to know more, hope to discuss with you further for your garden design.  mellow.gif 
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxaGJ.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxaGJ.md.jpg </a>
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxmDB.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxmDB.md.jpg </a>
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxZBZ.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxZBZ.md.jpg </a>
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxgCn.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxgCn.md.jpg </a>
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxUbG.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxUbG.md.jpg </a>
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxN6c.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxN6c.md.jpg </a>
Hi, do you mind giving me some information on turfing? I am a qs student and on my assignment for price analysis. Normally price for grass is RM/sqft but if I want it to be in RM/m2, is the price higher since i did some conversion. The coverage of turf is different for each method? Our tutor required us to get spot turfing and close turfing unit rate per m2. I have did some research on the price but I am not very sure about it. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
Art13 P
post Mar 11 2020, 09:53 PM

Probation

QUOTE(junhaussen @ Jul 30 2013, 01:17 PM)
I found that many in here are focusing on Interior Design of their homes, but not much talk about exterior design of your lovely house.

Reason of starting this thread is to gather some landscaping information for learning from Q&A on ideas, concept and design for Malaysian. There are many information that I could found by googling but most of the readings and design are Western, very less of Asian or Malaysian in specific which I found not really applicable sometimes.

I think Landscaping needs more attention for homeowners especially If you are Landed property owner. I believe One of the many reason of having a landed house is the yard space for family activity. Those who have owned house with side yards or gardens should make use of the space as useful as possible.

To me, space outside the house, i.e side-yard, back-yard, front-yard, garden should be a place for family to enjoy and relax. I feels wasted if those space are left unutilized, because we pay every single inch of the property.

I hope I can get more support in this thread... while more of you will post in comment, photos and ideas.

If you are looking for some readings check out some of these that I found on web recently.

Ideas and photos:

Sunset.com - landscape ideas - worldwide
Landscaping - Worldwide

Local Landscaping article:
Garden Landscape Malaysia

Hope these will help you understand more on Landscaping!

Why Hire Professional Landscaper

Share more of your landscaping project here!!
I believe many gardening and landscaping sifu here will able to share.

Thanks. biggrin.gif
Artificial Grass

therosey
post Dec 15 2020, 12:11 PM

21 posts

<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxaGJ.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxaGJ.md.jpg </a>
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxmDB.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxmDB.md.jpg </a>
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxZBZ.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxZBZ.md.jpg </a>
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxgCn.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxgCn.md.jpg </a>
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxUbG.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxUbG.md.jpg </a>
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxN6c.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/08/02/5gxN6c.md.jpg </a>

Hi, mind to contact me for your company info? Been looking for a landscaping company to give quotation on my new home. Thanks. My email is theroseyy @gmail
ngaisteve1
post Sep 26 2021, 11:15 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

Hi I'm looking for simple landscape services for my condo. Anyone to recommend?
KLKN_Views
post Sep 27 2021, 10:45 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Sep 26 2021, 11:15 PM)
Hi I'm looking for simple landscape services for my condo. Anyone to recommend?
there are so mny companies out there. you can checkout rapscape (also known as rent a pot lanscape), they does some bful landscaping works. but extremely pricy. I suggest you DIY, you can adjust however you want.
drbone
post Feb 9 2022, 08:43 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(therosey @ Dec 15 2020, 12:11 PM)
Hi, mind to contact me for your company info? Been looking for a landscaping company to give quotation on my new home. Thanks. My email is theroseyy @gmail
Managed to contact them?

17 Pages « < 15 16 17Top

0.0438sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:16 AM