Home Landscaping, Share & Show Garden Landscaping

H2D
post Aug 28 2013, 12:03 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Aug 27 2013, 05:10 PM)
Like wooden formwork, you can choose to tear down the brick after the concrete is set. (Of course the used bricks will have no use or commercial value as it is stuck with cement/concrete. The purpose is not to save money for reuse but for nicer looking and space).

You have to decide before you build the brick formwork. because you have to add a layer of thin plywood behind the brick formwork so that concrte will not stick on to the bricks. Without a layer preventing concrete from joining the brick formwork you can never remove the brick without breaking the concrete. It stuck together like one whole piece.

Hi Stevie8,

for ur curve pond, do u use only plywood or the brick method?
H2D
post Aug 28 2013, 11:36 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Aug 28 2013, 08:00 PM)
It is easier to use brick method for curve pond, so is my curve pond using bricks backfilled with concrete.
ok rclxms.gif

so did u remove the bricks as mentioned? or u leave it there n simen the brick work??

This post has been edited by H2D: Aug 28 2013, 11:36 PM
H2D
post Sep 26 2013, 11:44 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(wenching87 @ Sep 26 2013, 08:54 PM)
Anyone have tips to diy gard3n?
fb there got local group..
u can see unty anker, even secondary school boy got huge nice garden with exotic plants..
there u can learn from them....
H2D
post Oct 2 2013, 02:45 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(windwong @ Sep 27 2013, 08:10 PM)
can we have the link for the facebook gp pls? TIA
it is called my nice garden chat....
H2D
post Oct 5 2013, 03:45 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(Kipkip @ Oct 5 2013, 10:37 AM)
So do you know where i can buy good topsoil/earth/humus/soil/mud?
My lawn  about 600 sq ft has lots of small rocks, construction sand and construction leftovers.  i have dug up almost 6 inches and looking for topsoil for turfing. Havent decided phillippines or pearl grass. Would appreciate any advice?  thank you
u go to sg buloh to get quotation..
go to hospital sgb, pass the hospital on ur right..
on ur left u will see a small road, turn into the road ( across a small bridge)
go slowly, take note of a huge sign board on ur right....

aiya i might as well post the pic here... biggrin.gif
this sign board is a list of tel# of nurseries n landscaping flers in this area of sgB,
some of them will be able to supply u the soil..
call leong nursery first, then call the rest of the # ,
if none of them can supply ( i dun think so )
or u wana get more quote... go to sgb green lane there...

ok now here is a list of nurseries n contact at sgB green lane..
compiled by Stephanie Choo.

http://mygreenfinder.blogspot.com/2009/04/...i-buloh_09.html

This post has been edited by H2D: Oct 5 2013, 03:54 PM
H2D
post Oct 6 2013, 03:46 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(Kipkip @ Oct 6 2013, 03:39 PM)
Hi H2D, I just got back from sg buloh and those people there are really helpful and know what I meant when I want to buy  soil by the lorry,; not mud or humus just soil. However there is one that's really worth mentioning. .other than you of course,  had advised me to get from hardware shop nearby especially those by the road side that have a big area or store .  It would be very much cheaper as my house is about 38 km to sg buloh.
hey, glad u went there... biggrin.gif

u mean they rekemen u to buy from hw store?

but u need quality soil for grass..

those construction material seller sells mostly sand.. afaik...
and aggregate...

some hw shop sells soil for gardening, but those are packaged....

maybe sand as top layer will be enuf for ur case... im not sure... smile.gif

This post has been edited by H2D: Oct 6 2013, 03:54 PM
H2D
post Oct 7 2013, 01:46 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(Kipkip @ Oct 7 2013, 01:01 PM)
Yes this one guy from sg b. advised me to buy from hw store the yellowish colour type soil and sand too.

As Stevie8 said I got to dig deeper and need even more yellowish type and not the packaged ones.
okie liddat... biggrin.gif

i've seen ppl use the clay soil for landscaping...
but din noe the construction material seller there got sell...
cos over here at my place they sell oni sand n aggregate...

i've seen nursery flers at sgb, order the clay soil by truck loads
and pack it themselves...

0.0327sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:15 AM