32 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

ASUS P525, PPC phone. Official LYN Club

TSTerrasmark
post Aug 30 2006, 03:40 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(Terrasmark @ Aug 11 2006, 01:41 AM)
Almost everyday after I'd discovered the P525 & subsequently creating this thread, I've tried to've sweet dreams of the P525 by thinking of it every night before I go to sleep, but to no avail. sad.gif  Then, out of the blue last night, my wish came true, even though I'd forgotten exactly how the dream went, tongue.gif  but it was definitely about the P525. Later during the day, I went to pick up a copy of the New Straits Times. As I flipped the pages of the Tech & U pullout hoping to find good news on the upcoming Pikom PC Fair, my hope was realized...
Hello, fellow forumers. It seems that I'd yet another dream of the P525 again last night. biggrin.gif It seems that after I've a P525 dream, something concerning the P525 appears / happens during that day. This time, instead of flipping through The New Straits Times, I flipped through The Star's In.Tech instead. Guess what?

THE P525 FEATURED IN THE STAR'S IN.TECH / TECHCENTRAL!!! shocking.gif

A feature article on the P525 appeared in the paper! drool.gif Here's a link to the article on The Star Online's TechCentral:-
1) The Star Online: TechCentral: Home User: Asus goes Windows Mobile

I'm not a superstitious person. I don't intend to be one. But after what'd happened from my dreams, though I don't believe in the existence of premonitions, what I'd experience, I can't deny shakehead.gif <insert The X-Files theme here... tongue.gif >. I know, I know what y'all think. Y'all think that I'm just being too excited bout' the P525 coming. True, I'm excited. But if that's the case, I should've had P525 dreams every night. Instead, I only've them when news bout' the P525's bound to appear during those particular days! blink.gif

OK, OK. Enough bout' my dreams. Back to the main topic here. From the article above, the final paragraph states that "the P525 is available immediately for RM 2588". shocking.gif Is that true? As far as I know, the P525's only available, the earliest by the 1st Sep. due to the delay in its shipping. Furthermore, the authorized dealer who handles my pre-order of the P525 hasn't called me regarding its availability. I wonder where did the writer sourced the info from. If that's really true, I guess it's another round of scouting for the P525 at the local com. / mobile device stores. Once again, keep your eyes open for the P525, fellow forumers. cool.gif

BTW, my dream last night was bout' me finally owning a P525 biggrin.gif & opening its box to reveal the very small (as in Nokia 6100 small tongue.gif ) P525 & a 1GB miniSD card taped together with a 64MB microSD card to the box. blink.gif Weird...

Now, if only I can dream of the next lottery no. .... brows.gif

QUOTE(nevland @ Aug 29 2006, 05:58 PM)
i think the more they delay this product, the more people will jump into other products, esp when more and more 3g pda are offered in the market.
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Aug 29 2006, 10:57 PM)
agree with Nevland. They are losing business and potential buyers to DOPOD and O2 even though on paper their performance has been rated the best of the lot. They should confirm a date and release it but unfortunatly the best time I feel which was PC-Fair a few weeks back has long passed.
To be honest, nevland & julchin_09, I feel the same way too. Market trend-wise, it's hurting ASUSTeK. But once again, not everyone has wallets big enough for a RM 3000 / more PDA phone. Budget conciousness's what controls a buyer from over-endulgence/expenditure beyond their limits. Furthermore, UMTS (3G), HSDPA (3.5G) / higher isn't everyone's necessity yet. True, it's a good investment for the future. But until they're stable, competitive & affordable enough, I rather utilize a Wi-Fi hotspot (which's broadband, BTW) than to bear the current sky-high cost of data transfer provided by our mobile service providers (read: Money minded little emperors moneyflies.gif ). IMHO, investing in a solid device overall that complements your own needs' wiser than complementing / following the social trend for the sake of "not being left behind" / "being one with the common".

More link(s) on the P525:-
1) CNET Australia: Reviews: PDAs & GPS: ASUS P525

More review(s) on the P525:-
1) Digit-Life.com: ASUS MyPal P525 GSM Communicator
aeiou228
post Aug 30 2006, 12:54 PM

5,867 posts

Just discovered this thread. I think this is the PDA phone that i m looking for.

Terrasmark, I enjoy reading your post, very detail, and like reading story book. Are u a writter ?

Ok, i wanna grab this P525, anyone interested in my 2 mths old Dopod 818pro offer me by PM. SIS warranty 10 mths + I GB SD + everyhing in the box.

TSTerrasmark
post Sep 1 2006, 11:36 PM

81 posts

Hello, fellow forummers. I'm back bearing great news & a big smile on my face. biggrin.gif He he... You thinking what I'm thinking? brows.gif May I formally announce that...

THE P525'S FINALLY AVAILABLE IN M'SIA!!! rclxm9.gif

Yes, ladies & gentlemen. After more than 3 1/2 months of waiting... & waiting... & waiting... & "waiting for elephants to fly", tongue.gif the P525's finally here! The 1st M'sian customer has been found & that person happens to be a member of MyPDACafe (MPC) (not yours truly, BTW happy.gif ). A round of applause, fellow forummates! rclxms.gif

BTW, here's a link to the thread on MPC:-
1) MyPDACafe: ASUS P525 (PPC Phone. Available NOW!)

OK. Seeing that it's immediately available for RM 2480 from the distributor themselves, Phone Star Communications Sdn. Bhd., it doesn't come with the Bluetooth headset supposedly stated from the brochure. Hmm... No wonder the authorized dealers who handle our pre-orders said that it'll only be available (with the Bluetooth headset & 1GB miniSD card) early next week.

For the contacts & address of Phone Star, do visit their website / go to Post #1, Page 1 of this thread. cool.gif

This post has been edited by Terrasmark: Sep 2 2006, 12:18 AM
strongbaby
post Sep 2 2006, 12:01 AM

164 posts

wooo...

they take trade in ? lol
zahar
post Sep 3 2006, 06:59 PM

38 posts

RM2480 is expensive for a non3G, nonEDGE phone, IMHO.
ResQ
post Sep 3 2006, 09:35 PM

1,039 posts

yeah .. but how about the battery? ihad use asus p505 .. wah the battery so **** maa
DigitalKL
post Sep 3 2006, 09:46 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(zahar @ Sep 3 2006, 06:59 PM)
RM2480 is expensive for a non3G, nonEDGE phone, IMHO.
its not just a phone but a pda phone. so how much is the cheapest 3G, Edge, PDA Phone?

zahar
post Sep 4 2006, 12:11 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Sep 3 2006, 09:46 PM)
its not just a phone but a pda phone. so how much is the cheapest 3G, Edge, PDA Phone?
No idea how much that'd be, or even if there's one with exactly this form factor. So hey, knock yourself out and get this. smile.gif

This post has been edited by zahar: Sep 4 2006, 12:14 PM
julchin_09
post Sep 4 2006, 01:25 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Sep 3 2006, 09:46 PM)
Well that depends if you're looking for a Symbian based 3G Pda/phone or a WinMobile 3G Pda/Phone.

SE P 990i(-/+RM3K) is Symbian 3G, Motorola A1000(<RM2K, Newer Model coming out) is also symbian based 3G. DOPOD 838 PRO(RM32xx) & 900(>RM3400) are WinMobile based 3G pda/phones.
strongbaby
post Sep 5 2006, 03:36 AM

164 posts

finally, got it on my hands yesterday. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
ibu1980
post Sep 5 2006, 03:38 AM

Senior Citizen
598 posts

wow.. how is it man.. good?biggrin.gif
julchin_09
post Sep 5 2006, 10:11 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Looks good from the pics.
bioweapon83
post Sep 6 2006, 12:44 AM

1,201 posts

digitalkl and strongbaby,

Faster do a review .... smile.gif
julchin_09
post Sep 6 2006, 02:54 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Do include more pictures of the device. The brushed metal design looks good and though the leather casing is ordinary, at least it has the Brand Logo on it unlike the DOPOD ones...
johnnyxt
post Sep 6 2006, 08:58 AM

308 posts

so...anyone saw thus baby at the retailers yet? Probably gonna give Low Yat a try during lunch time...
DigitalKL
post Sep 6 2006, 09:35 AM

1,360 posts

mini-summary

miniSD - problem with the card itself. cannot detect by the pda or my laptop

camera - the camera seems slow to me. once after i pressed the shutter, you cant move for like 2 to 3 seconds and it also takes awhile to save. All in , it takes at least 5 seconds from press of shutter to see the results.

sound - ringtones and message tones seems not loud enough for me.

battery - even for a non-heavy user like myself, the battery seems to deplete at least 40% to 50% in half a day. but i have to say that i have not run out of battery yet in any single day. maybe my observation is inaccurate.

keypad - i have to get used to the joystick been there between 2 and 5. when i sms, if too fast, will kena the joystick.

other than that, everything is good.

here is a picture taken by the p525 - http://img.photoamp.com/i/oKD53N.jpg

This post has been edited by DigitalKL: Sep 6 2006, 09:38 AM
johnnyxt
post Sep 6 2006, 01:40 PM

308 posts

Ok. Just stoked out Low Yat. Most of the shops on the ground floor carry the P525.

Unfortunately, some are out for a quick buck (or uninformed)... they asked for RM2588 WITHOUT the bluetooth headset. So becareful...

Had a nice experience with PDA Expert. The sets were still new in the box when I approached them and they had no qualms opening one and letting me setup and feel the device. But they mentioned the headset and the miniSD card (probably due to the defect issues) has not arrived and will call me next week when it comes if I buy now. Decided that I can wait...(unless I can't which means I'll be back there tonight! Hahaha).
DigitalKL
post Sep 6 2006, 01:43 PM

1,360 posts

whats the best price so far?
julchin_09
post Sep 6 2006, 01:49 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

The colours of the pic look good enough though it was a bit blur here and there.
johnnyxt
post Sep 6 2006, 02:15 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Sep 6 2006, 01:43 PM)
whats the best price so far?
Same all round. Think it's agent controlled...probably will bargain for some free stuff when I buy it though.

BTW, here are the agent's quotes on their distributors in Low Yat (by email) for those intending to buy there. This is the list from Phonestar (I don't own them!)

1. The Brilliant(O2 Zone) : Lot No G-K2, LOW YAT 03-2143 6446 (The PDA Expert Shop I went to)
2. Phone to Phone Sdn Bhd : 1-K13, LOW YAT 03-2141 9959
3. APRIL COMMUNICATION : lot 1.53AB, LOW YAT 03-2148 9918

This post has been edited by johnnyxt: Sep 6 2006, 03:42 PM

32 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:18 PM