PROTON SAVVY LYN club, D4F, JB1 repair manual inside

SUSMatrix
post Jul 26 2007, 02:43 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(eng98 @ Jul 26 2007, 10:40 AM)
how long is the AMT in the market already?
AMT is actually an old technology from Europe or somewhere there. Some continental car are using this. But in Malaysia, not many cars has this technology. Finding parts and people who knows how to fix it might turns out to be a prominent problem few years down the road.

Added on July 26, 2007, 2:51 pm
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 26 2007, 02:41 PM)
wah how can you say it's fake auto la. it was never claimed to be an auto la. IINM it's still considered MANUAL transmission. it's just that it's clutchless manual. it has never claimed to be an AT so i don't think it's fair to call it fake auto. smile.gif and i tested the AMT and fell in love with it.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=336488

A semi-automatic transmission (also known as clutchless manual transmission, dual-clutch transmission, automated manual transmission, e-gear, or paddle shift gearbox)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Semi-automatic_transmission
Forget the technology blah..blah. It's irrelevant. Why does people want to drive auto? Because it's easy and no clutch, good for especially lady drivers.

What's the purpose of having AMT? So simulate the same benefits of an auto transmission without the clutch and make it easy for the ladies....wtihout a real auto-transmission. U go to any proton showroom and see how the salesperson tries to market this thing to you.

Will they tell u it's semi-automaic blah blah, please refer to wikipedia yadda yadda or will they tell you "this car can drive auto and manual!!"??
wink.gif

They'll also conveniently forget to tell u it'll jerks if u try to drive it like an auto and u have to treat it like a manual...
Which defeats the whole purpose anyway.

Seriously, i see AMT as pointless, unless cost wise it can be cheaper than auto significantly or maintenance wise is cheaper than reconditioning an auto box (RM2K easily for a car like Wira...more expensive for imported cars...KIA Sephia cost RM4K to recond the damn autogear box), there's really no purpose. People who craves to drive will prefer manual...i mean what sissy will wanna drive a car with no clutch?? (just ask hypermount. tongue.gif )

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 26 2007, 02:58 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 26 2007, 03:29 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 26 2007, 03:08 PM)
my point - it's not a "fake auto" or wannabe or anything. it's still an automated manual.

you have to treat it like a manual because it's still based on manual. it's just that it has the convenience of switching gear on it's own. it doesn't defeat any purpose, it's AUTOMATED MANUAL TRANSMISSION - so do till does it's purpose for being automated.

another thing about the AMT on Savvy is that while it functions similar to an AT, it's fuel-efficient is that of an MT. smile.gif

and to say going clutchless meant for ladies isn't fair to them (ladies) either. a lot of ladies don't mind using MT (with clutch la) and to drive an auto is for convenience, manual can be damn tiring sometimes. it's not a gender thing, it's a preference thing.
Let's just say MOST ladies would prefer an auto. That's a very real fact. Heck, most people stuck in a jam would prefer an auto.

Yes, it's fuel efficient like an MT...which i think is the only good selling point. But it's simply not worth it to take the risk with oddball tech which not many people knows how to fix or god knows when the parts will become extinct or available next.

The Engine and AMT is still sourced from France according to P1 salesman.

I keep to my stance it DEFEATS THE WHOLE PURPOSE of having an easy drive like an auto but you have to drive it like a manual to avoid the jerks.

If you're willing to pay a bomb when it broke, by all means, go ahead. For me, i'll avoid potential stink bomb whenever possible. Just give me a manual car or give me a real auto. Btw, how come they don't fix a real auto in Savvy??

SUSMatrix
post Jul 27 2007, 09:03 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

ha...ha...the anti-DVVT fella who kena ownzed for his lousy CAMPRO FC is back already.
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

At least i evaluate the products on a fair basis based on my needs....unlike blind fanboy who's so jealous his CAMPRO tadak DVVT, tadak VIMS, tadak CPS, tadak nothing...

Bash all you want. I'm having fun evaluating and reseraching the cars. thumbup.gif

And please try not to pirate other people's style of writing by ending with a "you know who u are". Run out of oriiginal ideas ar?? LOL.

SUSMatrix
post Jul 27 2007, 09:40 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Pro-MX @ Jul 27 2007, 09:34 AM)
CAMPRO 1.3 adi produce more hp output than ur DVVT 1.3 la bang eventhough our FC is not that good....we still pwn u in hp output anyway  tongue.gif
Which i agreed. So?? I never said DVVT got more power than Campro.

Mr. Anti-DVVT still kena pawned for his arrogance and ignorance, which is all that matters. tongue.gif

SUSMatrix
post Jul 27 2007, 09:49 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Jul 27 2007, 09:43 AM)
comparing FC between 1.6 and 1.3
whistling.gif

if 1.3 did drink more fuel
so
whistling.gif
Well, who's the smart aleck who challenge DVVT with ur miserable Campro FC in the first place?

Who's the annoying b****td who post nothing but anti-DVVT in nearly every post?

If not jealous, apa lagi??

Ownzed again. laugh.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jul 27 2007, 10:04 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Jul 27 2007, 09:53 AM)
why would i want a vvt engine or jealous about when the output is so low?
rolleyes.gif
Typical-lar...people like that wan...jealous mar...talk bad about something you don't have....then pretend not interested...ha-ha....typical moronic fanboy style.

Triple ownzed.

I think u better keep queit already or you'll need another id to hide ur face already. tongue.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jul 27 2007, 04:52 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Jul 27 2007, 04:47 PM)
Matrix, stop with the ownzed and fanboy.

do you live and post just to 'pwn' people? shakehead.gif
I only pawn people who rightly deserved to get pawned. thumbup.gif

Ok, let's get back to the Savvy review.

btw, been looking hi and low for more SAvvy reviews on the web...not a lot...always go back to same few.

Who's driving the new facelifted 07 version? Anybody plan to book a Savvy lite?

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 27 2007, 04:53 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 29 2007, 04:08 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Jul 29 2007, 03:01 PM)
Who gonna say, "People make mistake in Proton"? U want to say it?
The correct sentence will be "Proton make mistake."
Why cant the sentence be "Ferrari make mistake."? Rather than "People make mistake in Ferrari."
Actually..Proton didn't make mistake...they just EMBEZLE LOADS OF $$$. As in all cases everywhere, whenever corruptions are abound, quality drops like fly.......why else do you think Korea got so many buildings and bridges collapsing (less nowadays, but last time a lot)??

And they do make loads of "mistake". Just have a very nice long talk with a P1 salesman today...told me loads of stories...including how they wasted money making the wrong type of showroom which can't be used properly to store cars, lax of security, and also build dunno what somewhere all bloody useless....but then again, this is all the cronies rice bowl...

Also told me how the Saga 27K can comes about...because they've contracts with tons of suppliers to produce the parts (cronies, cronies etc etc), they have a huge stockpile of Saga parts and thus negotiated with the gov to allow them to reduce the tax somemore to clear off all the junk parts to build more junk cars. Also told me that the material used for the SAGA frame is even worst than before...super milo tin.....so if u love ur family, DON'T BUY A 27k SAGA.

The P1 salesman really honest guy-lah...he even admited the main problem with Proton is quality. I told him if u said like that also, than i better cabut!!! LOL.

Anyway, today i hope i haven't done something regretablle...just booked a standard MT Savvy as a 2nd car! sweat.gif

I've tested Viva 850, Auto 1.0 and Manual 1.0, Savvy MT pre-facelift, Savvy FL AMT and Savvy FL MT over a period of 3 weeks or so.

My wife preferred a Viva but i really feel lousy paying 37K for a Manual 1.0 viva. In terms of power, it's decent enuff and clutch is very soft, steering super light...i think it's great for ladies driver. However, i just feel the quality overall doesn't justify the price...even premium model has worst interior than my Myvi premium. Also, driving a Viva is very similar experience as Myvi...except that it's an inferior one, with louder engine (low speed still ok, highway will probably louder)...seats looks cheaper, power lesser, size smaller...it's like a downgraded Myvi......and i suspect it'll feel floaty when going pass 100km/h on the highway like a Kancil... i seriously can't say i fall in love with the Viva no matter what the ad tells me (Love Viva...yadda yadda ...yuck!!)..

So in the end it's a Savvy manual for me...my wife can take the Myvi since i do more travelling...hopefully FC will be better than my Myvi and thus save some $$$ there.

I sure hope it don't gives me problem or i'll really kena from my wife..."See! I told you not to buy Plotong Sawi!!!"....fingers double crossed... sweat.gif...must pray very hard...

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 29 2007, 04:08 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 29 2007, 07:18 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Jul 29 2007, 07:01 PM)
From Ferrari to Proton to whatever, this thread bashes for no reason.I dont think that buying Proton is not worth the money considering that Kancil is a stupider car, no offense i'm using one but i strongly believe that its a rip off but nobody complains.Its a rip off coz they should be selling one for sub 10k.

And Viva 660 should only cost 15 k.Then its worth it.
Kancil still ok ler...at 23k...but Viva are overpriced...if all the VIVA range off by 4K, then it's more acceptable.

Paying 44K for an auto "premium" that looks ridiculously and feels ridiculously cheap is nuts. VIVA premium should not exceed 40K....low end 24k...then it's considerable.
And Kancil 660 should be phase out like other kancil as well.

SUSMatrix
post Jul 29 2007, 11:38 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jul 29 2007, 11:34 PM)
None, not a single one....yet.
Good to hear... sweat.gif How many months is ur sis car??

My wife company's Iswara...power window KO in 1 month and all sorts of cranky problem...
SUSMatrix
post Jul 29 2007, 11:47 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Jul 29 2007, 11:39 PM)
Well, they're not the new generation of Protons under d new MD right???

Added on July 29, 2007, 11:42 pm
Wah! Good to hear... thumbup.gif
Even my Bro's new City have problems when 1st take car...
Rattling noise behind steering wheel, scratched glove box door, water stain on whole car, loose seatbelt cover near door pillar...  sad.gif
Water stain?? Roof leaking?? Wooo....serious problem...

btw, i plan to demand a car wash on the Savvy when taking the car to check water leak....anybody done that when taking ur new car?
SUSMatrix
post Jul 29 2007, 11:54 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jul 29 2007, 11:50 PM)
still quite new, only about 2 months plus, but travel a lot.... mileage about 4k already. flex.gif
very fuel economy also.
What's ur average FC in km/litre? drool.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jul 30 2007, 08:56 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Jul 30 2007, 12:01 AM)
No one mentioned that the roof was leaking...  sweat.gif
It's like the stain where u don't wash your car for very long time and always park under hot sun...
U'll see the dark lines on your body paint when u wash your car...
Hehe...5 speed semi auto...sure la!
ha-ha...i thought water got inside and stain the car. doh.gif

Anyway it's like that wan if u don't take care of your car paint...once dirty must wash quickly. If left under the sun to burn, will kena unwashable marks...

Last time my old Sephia kena mango juice as mango drop from the tree...cannot remove the stain at all. blink.gif

Probably i didn't take care to wash it off immediately until i notice too late liao...

Added on July 30, 2007, 9:40 ambtw, is it true that interest rate for Proton loan is fixed at 3.88%?? Can nego with bank ar? Any ideas?

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 30 2007, 09:40 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 30 2007, 10:13 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jul 30 2007, 10:07 AM)
I roughly get about 80km for RM10 I guess. But it sure quite fuel saving compare to my B16A which is about 60km for RM10.

RM10 = 1.91liter
Fuel used for both cars = Shell super
RM10 for 80km, RM10=10/1.92=5.2 litre

80km/5.2litre=15.38km/l , which is quite good.

You rev kaw kaw or what? smile.gif

I'm expecting at least 15km/l with the Savvy. Since i can achieve 13.x km with my Myvi, i think that is possible...otherwise gotta go SC complain already!!
SUSMatrix
post Jul 30 2007, 05:52 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Jul 30 2007, 04:46 PM)
Congrats on ur purchase Matrix  rclxm9.gif lol never thought we would be working together to find, solve issues of Savvy.

My savvy is now over 40 000 km, 4 months to go it will be going to be a 2-year old car...plan to change to fully synthetic oil and stopped going to my authorised EON SC branch - if I wanna claim anything before the warranty ends at 50k km or 2 years - I still could claim cos I'm a familiar face at the same SC - they didn't check the service book if wanna claim a faulty part..

It's a very reliable car, I was going againts the mainstream and advises against getting the car initially - it's like 10 to 1 for not getting tyhe car..

Done many long distance trips, RM50 woth of fuel for a 500km trip - I clocked 2000km in less than a week.. FC for highway is 19-20km/l, town drving 15km/l..now it's still going strong - and the power windows are still working - every day wind up and down the windows - both sides..

I haven't change my spark plugs yet cos not cheap like RM16 per piece, my tyres botak already 20% thread left ( stock tyres and rims), brakes still ok - maybe coming new year going to change it.

My Savvy MT 2005 is RM28 000 not bad considering a 3-year old kelisa GX was at the same price OTR before 1st NAP price reduction.
Ha..ha...err...but i hope i don't have any issues to solve...i'm not car techie like you....i'm car idiot....

Since ur car already running on mineral previously, will it harm the engine if go synthetic? I understand from my previous mechanic that as the car gets older, no need to use full synthetic oil. I'm buying the 5 years warranty to be on the safe side, only extra RM2xx. Sure worth it.

Better change ur tyres ler...not safe already!!!

How much did u pay when u buy ur Savvy?? Or do you mean u pay RM28K for ur Savvy(2nd hand)?? The resale value of this car will sure be low...but i look at the bright side ler...it's only 3xK and won't be able to drop more than a KIA....LOL.

btw, is the cabin sound loud when doing > 100km/h? I think have only go max 60 km/h during test as it was jam on the LDP highway. Maybe need ur advice on padding and sound proofing if neccessary.

Hopefully, from what the P1 salesman told me, the SAGA and WIRA will be discontinue and the Savvy will represent the P1 low-end budget market. Seriously, WIRA makes no sense at 4xK when all the brand new Gen2 Sedan is at same price.

If like that hopefully the Savvy still can continue for another few years at least.

(PS: My old Sephia...power window 7 years zero problems....not a bad car....too bad it sucks petrol and a recond auto gearbox will cost me RM4K....i gave up and decided to buy a new car...quite sad really, still miss it. cry.gif ).

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 30 2007, 06:03 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 30 2007, 06:12 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Jul 30 2007, 05:57 PM)
So u bought the savvy? thumbup.gif
Just hope u wont be so bias later.
I was never bias to begin with, just pointing out the facts. Even P1 salesman tells me all the Proton problems. So P1 salesman is biased?? whistling.gif

Just because i bought a Savvy doesn't means i've automatically have high regards for Proton. It just so happen for my budget and for my situation, i found the Savvy a more attractive option than the Viva.

Just hope i don't have regrets 3 years down the road...

sweat.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jul 30 2007, 09:21 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Jul 30 2007, 06:16 PM)
Lol..i'm not saying that. Just i found that sometimes u praise ur myvi so sky high laugh.gif
Well, i hope u enjoy with ur savvy.
Myvi is indeed worth praising. Why not? Loads of space, quiet engine, pick up power, decent FC, comfortable. I luv my Myvi!!! wub.gif

Added on July 30, 2007, 9:30 pm
QUOTE(PureGeek @ Jul 30 2007, 06:16 PM)
how much did u pay for ur savvy?.,.. did u buy the lite version?
No. The lite version...alarm pun tadak... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

I took advantage of the 3K discount offer supposely ends this month (who knows...maybe next month Savvy got permanent price drop...u know Plotong lar)....so i bought the standard version at around 37K+, it's only about 3K+ more than the Savvy Lite.

Consider this...the Alloy rims ( 1K? Maybe can trade in ur Steel rims with Savvy Lite), Alarm (RM500?), 2 power windows (RM500? Not sure), spoiler (RM500?), nice color paint (RM2K!!! Lite only comes with crappy black and white), reverse sensor etc...maybe these items alone will cost ya 1.5k to 2k already at least even if u don't count the paint. Might as well get the full set and you can claim warranty if something goes haywire.

If there's no discount, i'll sure take the Savvy Lite coz RM7K is significant and i dun need that much to get the critical accesories.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 30 2007, 09:30 PM
SUSMatrix
post Aug 1 2007, 04:46 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Aug 1 2007, 04:42 PM)
Savvy Lite <--- prime for autocrossing.
Huh? What does that means? rclxub.gif
SUSMatrix
post Aug 2 2007, 10:43 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(god_of_cookery @ Aug 1 2007, 10:46 PM)
i heard cimb rate is the lowest at 2.75%
Wah!! So cheap meh? Is there any conditions? Or is it only for civil servants?

Added on August 2, 2007, 10:50 am
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 2 2007, 10:43 AM)
Wah!! So cheap meh? Is there any conditions? Or is it only for civil servants?
Just called em....3.9% ler for 7 years.....higher than most which is 3.88%.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 2 2007, 10:50 AM
SUSMatrix
post Aug 3 2007, 12:55 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(python_king @ Aug 3 2007, 10:24 AM)
anyone know the LOAN INTEREST RATE for Savvy now?
3.88% / 9yrs ?
3.88% is for max 7 years. 9 years maybe 4.1% or higher.

btw, i read in classified that the discount for SAvvy(and a few other Proton) is now RM4K!!! WTF! I call up one of them to check and they confirm RM4K discount!!

I'm going to call another dealer and if confirm, i'm gonna bug my dealer to match the discount!!!! vmad.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0515sec    1.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:17 AM