PROTON SAVVY LYN club, D4F, JB1 repair manual inside

SUSMatrix
post May 18 2007, 05:06 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ May 16 2007, 05:30 PM)
so u are saying bmw, merz, volvo which signal is on the left stupid too ?
whistling.gif
Actually, i think it's stupid too. ...Proton always wanna follow European style...why change something that most people are familiar with for years? There's really NO REASON to change the signal from right to left. It's not like it's gonna save fuel or improve performance or have a better quality car or the power window will work longer. If it does all those, then i've no objections changing it from right to left or top or bottom. But it doesn't do anything other than being an annoyance.

It'll be ok if u r used to driving a mercz or volvo etc...but will people who used to drive such high-end European car buy a 40K cheap budget mini car??? doh.gif

Think harder ler, Ploton.

SUSMatrix
post May 18 2007, 05:21 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(syahid @ May 18 2007, 05:07 PM)
savvy's sale will be a big problem after the arrival of viva, IMHO. but the AMT part is quite a big sales point.
Savvy sales is ALREADY a problem before Viva. biggrin.gif

Actually, it can still sell in it's own niche market, but unfortunately, Ploton has already lost the confidence and trust of most Malaysian. Nothing can save Ploton now short of a takeover or our $$$ (taxpayer money).

SUSMatrix
post Jul 13 2007, 11:09 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(davidmu @ Jul 9 2007, 11:24 AM)
Yes, new vendor come in, so problem is just solved!! rclxms.gif
After 20 years baru change new vendor??? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

Anyway, power window is a must along with power side mirror. Savvy lite got power side mirror or not? This is neccesary as different drivers with different height using same car gotta adjust everytime.

btw, 2nd hand 05 Savvy around RM25K only....why so cheap ar?? Maybe i'll buy a 2nd hand Savvy instead...hhmmmm....

Added on July 13, 2007, 11:16 am
QUOTE(SingleAvail @ Jul 9 2007, 05:22 PM)
- Available only in White (solid) or Black (metallic), white will only be available from September 2007.
- Only 2 front speakers (no rear speakers) 200
- 14inch steel rims (will have hub caps)      500
- No power window                                  1000
- No rear head rest                                  200
- No front fog lamp                                  200
- No luggage lamp                                    50
- No rear wiper                                        300
- No reverse sensor                                  1000
- No hood insulator                                    2000
- No alarm or immobilizer                          2000
- No rear spoiler                                      500
around rm 8000... estimates only... anyone got any comment on the prices?... pls tell me.. i wanna see if worth buying or not
For me, only the power window, hood insulator, alarm immobilizer and front fog lamp important...

Is that pricing accurate??

1000+2000+2000+200=RM5200!!!! doh.gif If like that better buy full version....

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 13 2007, 11:17 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 15 2007, 12:05 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Hmm...test drive 2 Savvy MT STD version today.

Found a few things i dun like:
(1) Power steering freakishly heavy...heavier than my old Kia Sephia despite being a smaller car??? At least 2.5 times heavier than my Myvi. But at least it's better than no power steering like Viva 850/660.

(2) Clutch and gear stick so hard??? Is this normal??

The salesman explained to me it's the old version with 15" tyre and new version with 14" tyre has better power steering. I'm trying to arrange for a test drive with the new version.

Other things i found:
(1) Engine noise is acceptable, but not as queit as a Myvi.
(2) I don't feel it's dat powerful...Myvi 1.3 feels much more powerful and smoother.
(3) Handling is good, expected from the low profile design.
(4) Vibration level is low, better than 850/660 VIVA definitely.

btw, there's discount of RM3K for STD/HI-LINE version now, so STD version is only RM37K++...

right now, i'm looking for a 2nd car and is juggling between a 34K barebone almost naked Savvy, a VIVA 1.0 manual, a 2nd hand Kelisa or a 2nd hand Savvy.

What i can see i need for barebone Savvy are:
(1) Muffler (WTF!!! Muffler pun tadak!!!)....i wonder if they re-tune ECU for the naked version? Muffler affects performance right?
(2) Alarm - otherwise, naked Savvy will be car thieves hottest pick already.
(3) Immobilizer - can we implement third party ones??
(4) Reverse sensor - wife says it's compulsory. Cannot argue.
(5) Alloy rims will be much better than steel rims. Malaysia is potholes heaven.

How much will those things cost me if i install on my own?? If too expensive, than the RM37K discounted STD seems like a better option.
VIVA 1.0 manual is also RM37K...

A 2nd hand Savvy also seems like good deal as price quite low....only RM25k to RM27K for 05/06 model....so buying new Savvy also seems like money dissapearing very fast...sweat.gif

decisions....decisions...I spent whole day today test driving Savvys and 2nd hand Kelisas!!!

SUSMatrix
post Jul 15 2007, 07:37 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Jul 15 2007, 03:32 AM)
Can feel the difference when comparing those P2s and Savvy? Low profile tyres not only contributing to good handling, chassis rigidity, suspension setup and design also make much difference... I feel the steering is properly weght - not too heavy or light..The hard clutch, stiff gear shift, heavy steering s a normal trait - it helps a lot in high speed cruising,..feels good and doesn't feel lembik and sissy like the P2 gearshifts.

Standard alarm also thieves can easily hack in, that normal standard alarm usually cost more or less RM100 only, branded 2-way alarm and immo like the Viper cost from a couple of hundreds, quite affordable.

The reverse beep beep sensor is actually very cheap--RM50 you can get at any accesory shop.
Hi-Line has ABS, SRS arbags and EBD.

Added on July 15, 2007, 3:35 amStill some ignorant pomen thought savvy's rear wheel is badly misaligned, the -ve camber helps in cornerng. 

rear wheels look like this from behind.
/--\
Yep, can feel the difference and frankly not very impressed with Savvy so far. Good handling and even performance is not that important for me as long as it's not like low cc auto car (VIVA 1.0 Auto simply no power, Kelisa 1.0 auto much, much more powerful, but then, Savvy didn't even dare to have auto..AMT don't count)...and so far the pick up isn't that impressive, i was expecting better.

High speed cruising not important also for me. All i need is a 2nd car for town driving, fuel efficient, reliable and cheap enuff. Furthermore, no point cruising highspeed on highway with Savvy since so small and can't fit in the rest of the family and stuff comfortably for a holiday, which my Myvi does nicely.
If it wasn't becoz of the promotion and price cut, i don't think i'll consider a Savvy at all (not to mentioned there's already 2 1.3cc Myvi in the family...getting another Myvi for my 2nd car is...weird!!! LOL).

And pleez ler, quit the bias rambling about P2 being sissy becoz ur savvy got hard cluth and gears!! Bias comments ain't gonna help. P1 salesman told me these are common complaints of Savvy that's why new version is suppose to fix it. doh.gif
btw, Myvi 1.3 clutch and gears is not lembik as u claim at all, just nice. VIVA is lembik though. Have u even drive those cars?? doh.gif

So anyone know how much a muffler and alloy rims gonna cost me? I think that's the most expensive stuff left out in bare naked Savvy.

btw, anyone got problem with Savvy fusebox? Read in some forums users encountering wrong wiring problems and blown a couple of fuse box in older 05/06 batches.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 15 2007, 07:48 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 15 2007, 12:25 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Jul 15 2007, 10:23 AM)
the heavier steering is for handling purposes. it feels very planted and very solid.

what defines power for you? i personally think that the savvy's power is adequate.

come on lah, you're only paying like, less than RM40k? what sort of power do you expect?

i'm sure it's more powerful than the myvi anyways. and yes, i've driven both.
Yes, the power is adequate, but just not up to expectaction from all the hypes from Savvy fanboys....

To each his own, i think Myvi are more powerful than the Savvy anyday.

But that is not important in this case, I'm more interested in the cost of the parts that's left out in the naked Savvy.

Muffler, alarms, alloys rims and 3rd party immobilizer(if available)...will it set me back RM2K or more??
SUSMatrix
post Jul 15 2007, 12:33 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Jul 15 2007, 12:27 PM)
if u remove the rims from the above, it should cost u way less then RM 1k
I think bare naked Savvy got steel rims...according to the datasheet provided by P1 salesman.

Steel rims ok or not? Will it dent easily compare to Alloy rims?

Added on July 15, 2007, 12:34 pm
QUOTE(hypermount @ Jul 15 2007, 12:19 PM)
Nerd got it spot on...P2's manual gearstick is too long, the solidness feel sn't there. I've driven ALL P2's cars except Rusa.

I think Matrix was the one who complained about the LHS signal stalk lol..

Fusebox is not the major problem. I burnt my room light fuse when DIY the ignition key ring. Shows the backup electrical system works fine preventing the ECU from being fried.
Yes, the LHS sucks. If it's cheap enuff though, i can overlook it. But that doesn't mean it doesn't suck. LOL.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 15 2007, 12:34 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 16 2007, 08:59 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Jul 15 2007, 11:56 PM)
If comparing manual, yes. If comparing auto - EZi vs AMT, EZi tends to saturate on the 3rd gear with hi rpm, while having the overdrive gear useless in adding more speed should it upshift. AMT will have a little more punch here.

Having best of both world (manual + auto), I think AMT is quite good for city driving. Plus it is quite fuel efficient. Just that Savvy is a little rough on the engine noise.
Yep, i drive manual mah. Myvi Auto of course lose to Savvy AMT/Manual. But i dare not touch AMT...3 years down the road and it kaputs...and nobody but Proton got the parts and knows how to fix it (hopefully, finger crossed)......and even if it's fixable...it might cost u a nuclear bomb....i'm sticking with manual.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 16 2007, 09:07 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 16 2007, 09:06 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(haze @ Jul 15 2007, 05:21 PM)
hehe no need to turn this into a bashing thread. I think its a good decision that matrix wants to buy a savvy for a second car. The savvy is a great car in my opinion.

Dont worry about the LHS being weird ull get used to it like after 3 minutes in the car. hahaha.
Yeh lor. I'm on a fact finding mission to make a car purchase decision, yet some fanboys seems all green eyes and wanna start a war when the negative points are highlighted... doh.gif

Anyway, right now still haven't decide yet. Kepala pening already. Wife not very in favour of Savvy and i don't intend to spend too much on cars since money is better off put to work elsewhere.

Shopping for 2nd hand Kelisa also headache, have to go to used car dealers and check the cars...somemore scared the engine no good lah, flooded lah etc etc.

Now thinking of VIVA 660...maybe need to test drive this model. At least, it's a new car and not have to worry about things like repairs and buying a 2nd hand car lemon. Also heard some good fc reports on Viva 1.0 auto premium....can go 16.5km/l for an auto car city-driving!!! But there's still not enough statistic to make a conclusive result.

Added on July 16, 2007, 9:13 am
QUOTE(tifosi @ Jul 15 2007, 08:37 PM)
Wow, again P2 vs P1 is involved. Based on what Matrix said, i dont think savvy suits you. Getting a kelisa may be a much better choice. RHS, more power to weight ration compare to savvy and not so heavy clutch.

2k is enough to get muffler, alarms, alloys rims and 3rd party immobilizer if you dont go for the expansive one.

Blaming on LHS is just stupid. It just takes a few minutes to adjust to it. I had seen many wajas, neo and gen-2 using thier signals and meanwhile alot of myvis dont bother to put their signals too. It is down to that person actually.
Thanks for the tip that means the bare naked Savvy will ends up nearly 36K. Like that better off with Savvy STD version with discount at RM37K liao....which is comparable to a VIVA 1.0 SX price.

Added on July 16, 2007, 9:27 am
QUOTE(eng98 @ Jul 15 2007, 02:31 PM)
i think u should consider urself another a myvi and is not weird becoz u think myvi is best in its class (Local K-car series).....  and myvi clutch is indeed... lembik if u complain the savvy clutch hard u try gen2 clutch and see.... serious... i dun think u should consider savvy at all.... from all ur comment u doesn't like savvy.... i think beside myvi kelisa is best for u...
Dunno ler.....at least get a different car mah...same car very boring liao...LOL. Already there's a MYvi in hometown...if i buy a 3rd Myvi, can start Myvi club liao... tongue.gif

Did u try Myvi 1.0 or Myvi 1.3?? Myvi 1.0 clutch is lembik like Viva, but Myvi 1.3 is nothing like that, just nice. Maybe because Myvi 1.0 and Viva use same 3 cyclinder engine explains it, while Myvi 1.3 is different engine.

Gen2 is a no-no. So many problems reported, even salesman ask me not to buy!! doh.gif Low re-sale value, high fc and the cascrated CAM"PRO" engine without the Pro. No thanks.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 16 2007, 09:27 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 16 2007, 12:23 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Jul 16 2007, 12:19 PM)
guys, what the difference with the merdeka promo savvy lite? any downturn in acccesories whatsoever?

for rm34k i think it is a steal...
I also think the same initially, but if u install balik a few of those critical things, better off buy the STD version at RM37K.
SUSMatrix
post Jul 16 2007, 01:19 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Jul 16 2007, 12:39 PM)
got all the info needed at previous pages...tq for the update guys...

white savvy with r3 bodykits is sexy guys...if comes in white rims even better...

but with the introduction of lite series can we ask for the accessories that are not included to be included and we pay for the xtra.
No. Already asked P1 salesman the other day. With less accesories(especially NO POWER WINDOW), means less problem for Proton... tongue.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jul 16 2007, 02:18 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(eng98 @ Jul 16 2007, 01:55 PM)
some ppl really will buy the same becoz he think is reliable and its satisfy.... so y not another same car... smile.gif

Yeah if want to buy gen2 now should wait for the facelift model, once facelift model out the old model price will be drop dead... darn.... but tok about power u should try the power 1st b4 comment about it.... even it suck on low end but when power come den u will know smile.gif and yeah.. gen2 is not a economical car... so better stay out if u want something light on petrol....

and the clutch.... i drove the 1.3 manual.. haven't try the 1.0 but i tried kelisa 1.0 manual i think is around there kua since 2 also 1.0... both gear also the same to me lol

and 1 more advice is.. since u are not really on the favour of any car above, savvy u wife dun really like, myvi got edi den kelisa u scare condition is not good.... y dun try a 2ndhand jap car yes is old but some toyota are realiable wert (i see it in my with own eyes, until now no problem reported a corolla SEG AE101)... since u got the budget of 20k and above smile.gif
Yep. I've also considered 2nd hand Toyota SEG 96/97...very hard to find also. But i've seen old Toyota corolla last time, even after 7 years..damn powerful and comfortable. thumbup.gif But usually old car will makan minyak rite?
SUSMatrix
post Jul 17 2007, 12:41 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Few question to Savvy owners:
(1) Do you follow the 10,000km maintenance schedule or do u do earlier? It seems like most if not all Renault engine cars recommended for 10,000km intervals....however, as some of u might know, in Bolehland we use imported cheap plak petrol while Petronas dig all the high-grade good stuff and sell it overseas. The P1 salesman even share with me story of a certain Benz model which use diesel but fails in our market as too much problem due to cheap dirty diesel that don't meet standards. It's more likely ur oil filter, engine and everything else will get dirty faster due to low grade petrol (regardless of which petrol station). So in that sense, can we trust the 10,000km interval recommended which is base on good petrol in the west...? sweat.gif

(2) The salesman also tell me it uses "normal" engine oil. So what is normal? Mineral or Semi-synth?? What engine oil does P1 gives for ur service?

btw, just to share some funny story:

The other day i was test driving a Savvy at one showroom...u know what, the gear knob is missing. So i ask salesman what happened....it seems like a lot of potential "customers" are actually petty thieves who took off small-small item from the car....so they simpan all the small removable items from the car.... doh.gif ...Just what the heck does anyone want to steal a gear knob for?? Replacement for a joystick to play video games??? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jul 20 2007, 09:06 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Jul 19 2007, 08:07 PM)
I heard they got this promotion ... about RM33000+ for manual savvy and RM36000+ for AMT version ...
There's also a 3K discount for STD version...meaning RM37K for Manual version...but i think offer ends this month...next month will become permanent price...LOL.

Anyway, it's only 3K+ than bare naked 33K+Savvy. Still considerable especially if u want alloy rims, alarm, spoiler and power windows. The other stuff are quite cheap me thinks. At least if u buy STD u get warranty for those above items. If u passang ur own alarm, reverse sensor, power window blah-blah...later got problem, no warranty...worst if some other problem, then they said u modified ur car and screwed up their wiring...no warranty.....quite risky.
sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 20 2007, 03:54 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 25 2007, 08:56 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Yeah...fugly spoiler...Urrghh...The stock spoiler is enuff and nice looking already.
SUSMatrix
post Jul 25 2007, 03:17 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Top range(highline) is still around RM42 to RM43K with the 3K discount.

Std range drops to 36/37K from 39/40K.

But the promotion ends this month...supposely lar...maybe next month that'll be the standard price for STD and Hi-Line.

I can see Proton quote "Due to overwhelming response to the Savvy Hi-line and STD last month, Proton is now making this price permanent to pass the benefits to all our loyal customers!! Plus you'll get vouchers to drink coffee at our Service Centres!!! ".....hee..hee.

SUSMatrix
post Jul 25 2007, 04:14 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(karmakid @ Jul 25 2007, 04:03 PM)
hmm, for rm40k for high range savvy...worth buy..definately better compare to viva... if space is not an issue, i would say it's a even better deal compare to myvi...
No ler friend. Hi range is still 42/43K (already discounted price). Before discount is 45/46k. Sorry if i didn't state too clearly. smile.gif

Anyway, if u bought Myvi 1.3 okay mah. If 1st car, the extra space will become handy. If i only buy one car, i won't consider Savvy at all coz just too small. For 2nd car can consider lor.

It's either i'm gonna book a Savvy or a Viva by end of this month....sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 25 2007, 04:17 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 25 2007, 05:19 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Jul 25 2007, 05:04 PM)
Who said Savvy AMT comes with 5 Speed???

refer pic attached --->
I think you'll get bash very soon from hypermount and azuma, our local proton fanboyz....

Anyway, I do believe the AMT is 5 speed...after all, it's just a ROBOT inside doing the clutching for ya. It's still very much a manual car. It's also written in the specs...try download their brochure.

And lastly, i think Proton made a mistake in their website....website also no QC wan....sweat.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jul 26 2007, 06:32 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 26 2007, 04:06 AM)
bah, the site is nice but when i click GET IT NOW for Savvy Lite i'm led to that new car page. sad.gif
Proton's pricing sux. their cars are actually decent.

I personally like the Waja, Neo and Savvy. I'm still thought about getting Savvy recently tongue.gif still prefer it over P2 cars due to the price and technology. space is not an issue as i'm driving a Satria (near decade old).
Buy savvy now! Offer ends this month for 3k discount! drool.gif

Anyway, i don't like the AMT...fake auto car...later got problems 3 years down the road...cry!! cry.gif

One less oddball technology=one less potential problem. Remember, the AMT robot box is still french ...means expensive in the event it kong!!

I'm leaning more towards the Savvy now as i really dun like the Viva 3 cylinder engine....space is not an issue since 2nd car...only use it for going to work.

Hypermount: Auto cars are not for lazy drivers. What fun is there is changing gears with cluth in a traffic jam!!! doh.gif
Auto cars are great, imo, if it isn't petrol sucking that is. If auto car can give same fc as manual, i think i'll take auto anyday, especially for city driving.
SUSMatrix
post Jul 26 2007, 02:40 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Jul 26 2007, 01:40 PM)
Duh....AMT not an auto doh.gif
R u referring to my post?

I said "fake auto". Which is what it is.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0687sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:40 AM