4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

xproc
post Aug 28 2013, 12:00 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Aug 27 2013, 11:55 PM)
So i can't get a good 17" laptop for rm4k? oh no this is very bad.

Just wanna satisfy my curiosity, what is the current best laptop for video/ photo editing?
15" macbook pro with retina display...http://www.apple.com/macbook-pro/

although you need wait for product refresh which will come very soon...

This post has been edited by xproc: Aug 28 2013, 12:06 AM
xproc
post Aug 28 2013, 12:09 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Aug 28 2013, 12:02 AM)
What about windows?
My desktop is windows so i thought it might be a problem if i transfer files from windows to mac or vise versa.
And license need buy for two different platform haa..
seriously no problem transfer file from windows to mac or vice versa... actually i dunno why people so resist mac os... actually the learning curve is really small and its more simple and more direct to get what you want...

but the issue for you is the budget... so i think you better stick with i think lenovo y510p...
xproc
post Aug 28 2013, 12:13 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

macs best for Photography, Video Editing, Design and Layout etc...

http://www.apple.com/macbook-pro/performance-retina/
xproc
post Aug 28 2013, 12:53 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 28 2013, 12:20 AM)
Yeah, no one is denying that man, especially in terms of the screen and also efficiency, but you do realize that the cheapest MBP 15 also starting from RM5.5k?
And the MBP 13 do not have enough GPU juice for proper editing unfortunately

i know.... so he will need sticks to budget conscious windows laptops for video and photo editing...
xproc
post Aug 28 2013, 12:56 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Aug 28 2013, 12:32 AM)
I think I'll go with mac pro with retina display if I can squeeze my budget up to 7k, or else I'll just get the lenovo one and change a ssd. Ssd can put ultra bay?
yea.. budget can be squeezed... but if you can wait... wait for haswell refresh (very soon), i think processor, graphics, storage, battery, wifi... all will upgraded but price still same...

facts about PCIe based flash storage

This post has been edited by xproc: Aug 28 2013, 01:01 AM
xproc
post Aug 28 2013, 10:41 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(kawaii87 @ Aug 28 2013, 10:16 AM)
Brand any
budget rm2k -rm2500
usage:mmorpg guild wars 2 etcetc,torrenting 24h,streaming vids and working

Looking for non easily heat lappy.... laat time i use acer it broke down around 1 year lols
1 year 24/7 usage = 3 years 8/7 usage = 6 year 4/7 usage...

plus its acer... so is already worth d...
xproc
post Aug 28 2013, 11:12 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(kawaii87 @ Aug 28 2013, 10:44 AM)
That before i know torrent da... at that time virus attack my lappy... and some stupid lecturer introduce avira antivirus making it delete all system file...

after that kong forever... can start but cant start os
reformat clean install OS will do... anyway if you planned to buy new laptop, you no need to reformat the old one... later you have no reason to buy..
xproc
post Aug 28 2013, 11:15 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 28 2013, 10:45 AM)
Unfortunately relatively "budget" notebooks do not have good cooling systems, especially when you are looking for a powerful one laugh.gif Performance, cooling efficiency and cheapness don't come together laugh.gif

You can either (1) top up and go for dedicated gaming machines; (2) go for a low performance machine which generates less heat; (3) try your luck with a bang-for-buck machine (+ providing regular maintenance i.e cleaning the fans and heat sink)

For (3):
14"
Dell Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699

Lenovo Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
2. rephrase.... go for low voltage machine with integrated graphics and stop playing games = macbook air... lol...

i the only one who keep promote mac here.... dont flammi....

This post has been edited by xproc: Aug 28 2013, 11:15 AM
xproc
post Aug 28 2013, 12:30 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 28 2013, 11:22 AM)
Again, MBA (i.e. 11) starts from at least RM3k, which is out of kawaii87's budget. Please recommended appropriately, this is not your first time  nod.gif

And yes, no fanboyism here, either you recommend appropriately, or go visit Apple Byte  nod.gif

Please take this as a kind reminder. You have the knowledge to recommend properly, if you want, please do (you are allowed to get information on specs and models from the LYN catalog thread), we need all the help we can get  icon_rolleyes.gif
imo budget always can be top up unless stated otherwise... i just proposed the alternatives... for macs the info is nicely presented at the official website where i dont think specs speaks all alone...

for work i still recommend windows laptop...
if just buy a laptop for entertainment / design / video / photography, OSX is not bad also...

the problem with those cheap laptops is too many bloatwares inside... not all of the buyers knows how to remove it properly since some of the bloats is deeply integrated with the system...
xproc
post Aug 28 2013, 01:35 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(Live4eva @ Aug 28 2013, 12:38 PM)
Guys recently i have been searching for a laptop that low in weight and high in specs.
This is for both work and gaming purposes. A laptop that fulfills 2 important part of my life.
And after browsing around i found the Razer blade 14".
I am most impressed by its low weight around 1.8kg? With decent  specs in terms of processor and graphics.
Though the price tag is a bomb, but i am more worried about the laptop's heating up issue as i looking to use it almost full hours of my daily life. Any of the sifu's here can share some feedback on this laptop? notworthy.gif
i will make a pass with razer 14... the cons is really fatal for such price point laptop... unless the screen you getting is different...

Pros: Sexy lightweight chassis; Extremely portable; Excellent graphics and performance; Comfortable fully programmable keyboard; Long battery life
Cons: Runs hot while gaming; Limited viewing angles; Lacks SD card slot
The Verdict: The Razer Blade 14 combines long battery life and excellent graphics performance in a slim and sexy design for a great mobile gaming experience.
link

Display Quality
It's unfortunate that one of the hallmarks of Windows notebooks seems to be that the vendor can get almost everything right, and then have one massive, gaping flaw. Unfortunately this remains true of the Razer Blade 14-inch as well. While the Blade has incorporated some of the best elements of Apple notebook design, they neglected to include one of the biggest and most important reasons why people will buy MacBooks: display quality.
link

An Ugly Duckling Display
Razer had to go and ruin the one thing that owners will look at the most. The screen is bright — so bright that you can write a document with the display set to 10% brightness outside on a sunny day. But that exceptional brightness causes washed-out and inaccurate colors, poor black levels, and very low contrast levels. In other words, videos and games look bad, much worse than they should.
link

This post has been edited by xproc: Aug 28 2013, 01:37 PM
xproc
post Aug 28 2013, 01:53 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 28 2013, 01:46 PM)
Apart from some of the drawbacks mentioned by xproc, you have to worry about warranty support in Malaysia as well. Repairs are done in Singapore. nod.gif
Powerful but slim notebooks will definitely get hot, its inevitable.

Can consider these as well:
13"
Illegear Configure Illegear units here: http://www.illegear.com/
RE-13 Pro, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080 IPS)@RM4299[2kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 8GB, 500GB 7200RPM, Backlit Keyboard, FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]

14"
MSI GE40-2OC, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GTX760M + (1600x900; anti-glare)@RM3999[1.8kg], 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8
The GPU is not as good as the ones recommended to you earlier nod.gif
off topic: how to make the @xproc ....
xproc
post Aug 28 2013, 02:50 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(kawaii87 @ Aug 28 2013, 02:10 PM)
You do like [      and then @name  and close it
tq kawaii87
xproc
post Aug 28 2013, 11:33 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

dell outsource most of their on site warranty service... so YMMV
xproc
post Aug 28 2013, 11:50 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 28 2013, 11:45 PM)
We don't have specific details on the models unfortunately, you will have to start from here:
http://www.dell.com/my/business/p/latitude-laptops

Check out the ones under "Business Basics" or "Ultrabook".
You can either check with resellers, or email Dell directly for purchase nod.gif

I'm not sure why Dell has made it so difficult for normal users to purchase their business-line notebooks. Sorry about that  icon_rolleyes.gif
last time they have online sales... now no more, not even vostro... maybe because cannot sustain...
xproc
post Aug 29 2013, 01:01 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 29 2013, 12:10 AM)
Some of the Vostros are still available, being sold as consumer devices now  nod.gif
But I still cannot brain why they don't wanna make their business models available online  shakehead.gif
i remembered last time they did show price for latitude / precision line... but then vostro / latitude /precision not showing price /specs... now end up leverage vostro name in consumer lineup... rclxub.gif

all this shows sign of dell keep shrinking and cannot sustain... their consumer laptops really not good QC...
xproc
post Aug 29 2013, 12:49 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(blueheaven @ Aug 29 2013, 09:36 AM)
Hi, is this the right place to ask about tablets?

Like the Surface RT, how is it compared to other tablets and how much does it roughly cost.
Surface RT is RM 1099, the only good about RT is got Office Home and Student 2013 RT included
xproc
post Aug 29 2013, 01:29 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(blueheaven @ Aug 29 2013, 01:07 PM)
I currently have access to a discounted price for a surface rt at SGD$266.

I do want a tablet but have limited budget, but the more I read about the surface, the less I think it's for me, since doing work on it isn't high in my priority list.
then forget about it... better you get android tablet / ipad
xproc
post Aug 29 2013, 02:51 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 29 2013, 01:39 PM)
I don't think you should burn your dad's pockets with the MacBook 15 Retina Display man lol... earn your own money for one later on nod.gif

Actually you can also go for an above-average notebook and an external monitor with good color reproductions (if your photo and video editing work is very serious) too. Still cheaper than the MBP 15  laugh.gif

Or just get an Illegear with the top screen upgrade, its a viable option as well nod.gif
Since I am also into photo editing (not video though tongue.gif), RAM > CPU > GPU. These are the main requirements (in that arrangement) for Photoshop. If I were you, I will go for an Illegear RE-15, upgrade the RAM to 16GB, opt for an SSD, warranty extension and of course, the screen upgrade.
Just my 2 cents  icon_rolleyes.gif
last time i say the same for my friend.... get a cheaper alternative and money saved can be used elsewhere...

she did it, but half year later she still buy a mac, that time she brought a 15 macbook pro, she say the whole package that macbook provides is better, screen is nicer, software is more smooth, more professional choices, final cut pro x, photoshop, aperture, premier pro etc. and most of the professionals used macs...

sometimes it is just not about get the job done, is how to get the job done at more efficient and professional way. that is no cheaper alternatives...

and if use gaming spec laptop for photo /video editing... blink.gif blink.gif
xproc
post Aug 29 2013, 03:30 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 29 2013, 03:19 PM)
So you are asking eddydo to spent RM8000 of his dad's money to buy a MBP 15 RD? I'm assuming he is still on his early stages of photo/video editing at the moment, is there really a need for a MBP15? hmm.gif
Not to mention that most of the programs you mentioned are super expensive, and not-that-easy to find/pirate on a Mac.

I had no problems doing photo editing with my Sandy Bridge-powered notebook (I'm using a D800 btw, so its not just some minor processing). Hell, even my sifu can do awesome products (he is professional i.e. earning from photography) with his cheap@ss Rm1.5k Toshiba lol

Like I mentioned earlier, I never denied Macs are good for photo editing, but it depends on the situation. If you can't afford it, doesn't mean one should sell his/her liver to get one because its "really good", especially so if he/she doesn't really need 100% of it.

FYI, the "gaming-spec laptop" has better specs (or same GPU for the Y510p) apart from the MBP15 Retina Display, which can be substituted by a good, even higher resolution yet cheaper monitor hmm.gif
you are correct (especially for the bold part) notworthy.gif , anyway i don't encourage people to use pirated software..

This post has been edited by xproc: Aug 29 2013, 03:31 PM
xproc
post Aug 30 2013, 12:56 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Aug 29 2013, 06:05 PM)
If I'm rich to splash, I won't be asking here according to you.
But that means the poor can't ask for the best?
And if that's so, why am I here?

Asking for the best gadget is to know where technology actually stand these days.
Not everyday people will tell you what is good and what is bad, and not everything is on google.
Asking is a form of learning, we are here to listen to people's opinion, experience and ask questions which we don't understand.

Some people here aren't contributing any useful informations, instead I assume they are doing a good job here flaming the rich.

Everyone do wants to get the best out of something, but in this case, budget is the restriction.
Let me make this clear, I'm not rich, my parents may be but who cares.
But if it is a worthwhile investment, why not go for the best?

Why do our parents want us to get into a good school?
Want us to get good grades to get into a good college.
Why do our parents want us to get into a good college?
To graduate as someone they could be proud of.
But will you use everything taught in school after you graduated?
Knowledge do expire or should I say, outdate.
But what if you don't like studying from the start? Will you even get good grades?

And again, why get a Ferarri?
What's the purpose of all these? Nothing. I just like it.

"Buying the best gadget out there and hardly produce anything significant that has the same level of processing requirements. Better save some money as gadgets phase out so fast"

So if gadgets phase out quickly, why do people still get the latest phones?
Take S4 as example,
Are you gonna use S Beam?
Most probably not, but why is the technology there in your phone?
Or why did you even buy that phone if you aren't fully utilizing the phone's ability? More else it's the phone's signature ability.

Sometimes it ain't about fully utilizing it.

I love editing video's. But I hate waiting.
Slow rendering time, wait time longer than usage time.
People say time is money.
You can't buy time with money.
But if you can get a laptop that only have short rendering time, why not?
That's like purchasing time already.

And for a newbie I do know what am I doing.

Just wondering what generation are you from, the Y generation? Or X or Z?
Well it doesn't matter anyways.

The reason I was looking into macbook pro was:
Retina display
Light weight compare to those big ass gaming laptops
Stability
I'm gonna emphasize on this a little.
I got a teacher which is in advertising industry.
He started off his business right after he graduated and invested in WINDOWS.
After that he changed all his computers into MAC.
WHY?
Windows keeps crashing.
I'm not sure about it now but i guess MAC a safer road to go in this particular industry and it's worth the investment.

You just wasted 3 minutes and 53 seconds on this.
Oh and I'm not pointing fingers, just replying your post with my own opinion.  icon_rolleyes.gif
TL:DR
sometimes budget is not the most important factor... i agree with the part that you cant buy time with money... anyway you have the right to know which is the best and settle down to what else because of the budget... not the budget which setting out what the best you can have... most of the time people choose new laptop have wide budget range (last time i intro my fren, he have budget 3k-5k, end up buying a laptop just 2.5k because i analysed and explained to him his needs)... so no harm suggesting... if really suits their needs....

i believe this forum is open to discussion... so everyone will have thier POV.....

(off topic)
btw... firstly i surveying for a espresso machine for my fren which about 3k... then after find out... the budget already top up to RM8k... but based on their needs... i think i will suggest them espresso machine range from 8k-15k.... any people have knowledge of these at here? (off topic end)

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0495sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:42 AM