131 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

ajax sahida
post Sep 3 2013, 06:53 PM

13 posts

im just bought yoga 11 and is ARM RT. i want to install IBM SPSS but its not compatible with it. its possible to change the RT to x86? any idea?
lee_what2004
post Sep 3 2013, 06:58 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(ajax sahida @ Sep 3 2013, 06:53 PM)
im just bought yoga 11 and is ARM RT. i want to install IBM SPSS but its not compatible with it. its possible to change the RT to x86? any idea?
Sorry cannot. You bought the wrong device.
ajax sahida
post Sep 3 2013, 07:01 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Sep 3 2013, 06:58 PM)
Sorry cannot. You bought the wrong device.
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
arc x
post Sep 3 2013, 07:42 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(ajax sahida @ Sep 3 2013, 07:01 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
u should do enough research before making decision smile.gif
ajax sahida
post Sep 3 2013, 07:49 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(arc x @ Sep 3 2013, 07:42 PM)
u should do enough research before making decision  smile.gif
it cant be format to other os? i read yoga 11s same as yoga 11 except for the os only. am i correct?
arc x
post Sep 3 2013, 07:53 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(ajax sahida @ Sep 3 2013, 07:49 PM)
it cant be format to other os? i read yoga 11s same as yoga 11 except for the os only. am i correct?
Maybe u can go XDA forum to search and see if there is any solution .
lee_what2004
post Sep 3 2013, 08:33 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(ajax sahida @ Sep 3 2013, 07:49 PM)
Both are totally different device.
Yoga 11s comes with Intel processor, Yoga 11 comes with ARM processor. Normal Windows 8/8 Pro doesnt support ARM processor.

tWice
post Sep 3 2013, 09:24 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 3 2013, 09:29 AM)
Quality of Illegear has been pretty good so far, not much complaints. But that might be because there are still not that much users yet.
Warranty support (Malaysia and Singapore) is superb. Very fast, although you will have to rely on postage if you are in east Malaysia.
My advice is, no matter what brand you are going for, if you are getting a gaming machine, go for warranty extension.
Gaming machines will be put to stress during your gaming sessions, and heat will kill the notebook, and its not cheap to replace high-end hardwares inside the machine  nod.gif
So, is it a good deal for me to buy RS-15 LITE? And what is the best extension of warranty? 2 or 3?
brian81st
post Sep 3 2013, 09:36 PM

46 posts

looking for 15.6" or 17", would prefer 17 "
mainly for autocad and some light gaming
budget below 4k, if got other option which is better bang for bucks, but slightly above 4k also can.
any brand
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 3 2013, 09:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tWice @ Sep 3 2013, 09:24 PM)
So, is it a good deal for me to buy RS-15 LITE? And what is the best extension of warranty? 2 or 3?
3 years is always the best since the rate of spoilage is higher between year 2-3 when compared to 1-2.
But do take note that will exceed your budget already if you decide to get the RS-15 Lite.
Try and bargain with PrinceJ or any other Illegear resellers before you purchase ya, I'm sure they will be able to help give some discounts icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 3 2013, 09:55 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(brian81st @ Sep 3 2013, 09:36 PM)
looking for 15.6" or 17", would prefer 17 "
mainly for autocad and some light gaming
budget below 4k, if got other option which is better bang for bucks, but slightly above 4k also can.
any brand
Unfortunately 17" notebooks are much more expensive sad.gif
Closest would be these:
17.3"
MSI
GE70-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4499,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard
GS70-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4699[2.66kg][Dynaudio], 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series multi color backlit KB

Illegear Configure Illegear units here: http://www.illegear.com/
Illegear RE-17, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3999[3.2kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 8GB, 500GB 7200RPM, FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]

As for 15.6 inchers:
Illegear Configure Illegear units here: http://www.illegear.com/
Illegear RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3799[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 8GB, 500GB 7200RPM, FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GE60-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4299,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard

mackioes
post Sep 3 2013, 10:20 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Sep 2 2013, 11:22 AM)
i agree you get an air... 13" good for you... if can top up i would suggest get 8GB ram if you plan use it 3-4 years.... if you are student you are eligible to get the educational pricing.

Education Pricing - Apple Store
Go for the Mac if you are looking for long battery lives  nod.gif

Apple
11.6”
MacBookAir 11", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 128GB SSD@RM2999[1.08kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX
MacBookAir 11", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 256GB SSD@RM3599[1.08kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX

13"
MacBookAir 13", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 128GB SSD + (1440x900)@RM3299[1.35kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX

I would recomend going for the MBA 13, 11" might be a bit too small for university assignments which sometimes require some split screening or even excel spreadsheets etc.

Thanks guys ! yeah, i like the good build with solid performance of macs. it'll be with me for years i hope.... i'm gonna get the 13" 8gb ram version, just a question, do stores stock up on macbook airs with 8 GB ram and what docs are needed to purchase with student pricing? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mackioes: Sep 3 2013, 10:22 PM
Charizard
post Sep 3 2013, 10:21 PM

373 posts

I'm deciding either
Vivobook S551LB-CJ075H – 15.6” HD Touch / I7-4500 / 4GB / 1TB + 24G SSD / GT740 2GB / W8

Acer Aspire V7-582PG-74508G52k - 15.6" IPS FHD Touch / i7-4500 / 8GB / 500GB + 24GB MSSD / GT750M 4GB / W8

HP ENVY Touchsmart 15- j003TX Sleekbook – 15.6” Touch / i7-4700MQ / 4GB / 1TB / GT740M 2GB / W8 / 2 Years LW

Lenovo Y510P 5938-9546 – 15.6” FHD / i7-4700 / 1x8G / 1TB / GT750M 2G D5 / W8

I use it to surf web, watch movies and play football manager. I am not a hard core gamer, just play some light games sometimes. My toshiba laptop is 5 years old now and never try other brand, so don't know pro and cons of lenovo, HP, acer and asus...
arc x
post Sep 3 2013, 10:41 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(Charizard @ Sep 3 2013, 10:21 PM)
I'm deciding either
Vivobook S551LB-CJ075H – 15.6” HD Touch / I7-4500 / 4GB / 1TB + 24G SSD / GT740 2GB / W8

Acer Aspire V7-582PG-74508G52k - 15.6" IPS FHD Touch / i7-4500 / 8GB / 500GB + 24GB MSSD / GT750M 4GB / W8

HP ENVY Touchsmart 15- j003TX Sleekbook – 15.6” Touch / i7-4700MQ / 4GB / 1TB / GT740M 2GB / W8 / 2 Years LW

I use it to surf web, watch movies and play football manager. I am not a hard core gamer, just play some light games sometimes. My toshiba laptop is 5 years old now and never try other brand, so don't know pro and cons of lenovo, HP, acer and asus...
ur usage is SIMPLE usage , any of the laptops above can easily fulfill ur requirement .
xproc
post Sep 3 2013, 10:51 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(mackioes @ Sep 3 2013, 10:20 PM)
Thanks guys ! yeah, i like the good build with solid performance of macs. it'll be with me for years i hope.... i'm gonna get the 13" 8gb ram version, just a question, do stores stock up on macbook airs with 8 GB ram and what docs are needed to purchase with student pricing?  biggrin.gif
CTO model with educational pricing = Apple online only...

just go to the link i give.. and follow the instruction for verification purpose...

This post has been edited by xproc: Sep 3 2013, 10:53 PM
NightFelix
post Sep 3 2013, 11:48 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

Dear sifu nexus2238 & [PF T.J.]

I got another question wanted to ask, so I already bought the Z400T last month, so I wanted to ask is, should I upgrade from 4GB RAM to 8GB RAM or upgrade the existing 1GB HDD to Plextor M5S series 128GB 2.5" SSD?

I'm looking toward to more performance wise because I use photoshop and illustrator more. I'm graphic designer btw. smile.gif
arc x
post Sep 4 2013, 12:08 AM

592 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Sep 3 2013, 11:48 PM)

I got another question wanted to ask, so I already bought the Z400T last month, so I wanted to ask is, should I upgrade from 4GB RAM to 8GB RAM or upgrade the existing 1GB HDD to Plextor M5S series 128GB 2.5" SSD?

I'm looking toward to more performance wise because I use photoshop and illustrator more. I'm graphic designer btw. smile.gif
definitely upgrading the SSD will give u big performance boost . While 8gb ram isnt giving so much improvement but if u run multitasking heavily , upgrading to 8gb might helps a lot .
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 4 2013, 09:46 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Sep 3 2013, 11:48 PM)

It all depends on your budget I would say nod.gif
Being an amateur photographer who do quite a lot of photo editing. I am finding my 256GB SSD and 8GB RAM a bit lacking in performance and also space (SSD), especially when handling big, RAW files hmm.gif
But 256GB and 8GB is still sort of the "sweet spot" in terms of price/performance.

If your budget allows and if you need to buy in a hurry, get the 128GB SSD and also 8GB. Otherwise, save more and go for 256GB and 8 (or 16GB) RAM nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 4 2013, 09:47 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Charizard @ Sep 3 2013, 10:21 PM)
I'm deciding either

QUOTE(arc x @ Sep 3 2013, 10:41 PM)
ur usage is SIMPLE usage , any of the laptops above can easily fulfill ur requirement .
+1, not just "enough" its Overkill already laugh.gif
DOn't really need to spend so much on gaming machines laugh.gif
sil3ntlif3
post Sep 4 2013, 09:51 AM

617 posts

or maybe other recommendation with these requirements please ?
1. Any brand - but with international warranty
2. at least 4gb of ram and more than 500gb hdd. 14"-15"
3. Budget under RM 2000
4. Usage for graphic designing student so mostly very heavy task like after effect, video editting and photo editting.
5. Non OS/MS 7/8

131 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:16 PM