131 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

justWTBsomething
post Sep 2 2013, 11:20 PM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 2 2013, 10:53 PM)
13/14" is definitely much smaller than a 17 incher haha XD

Your best bet is to try out the real thing, or any other notebooks with equivalent sizes. Should be fairly easy to find nod.gif
Personally I think FullHD on a 13" notebook is pretty hard on the eyes, but that is just me. The specs offered by the Illegear is seriously hard to resist, and not to mention that you could always lower the resolution, or connect to an external monitor for better viewing pleasure~

The MS GE40 is also a very unique notebook, 1st of its kind, definitely worth considering as well~
Just need to throw in an SSD and you are good to go  thumbup.gif
wrong post

This post has been edited by justWTBsomething: Sep 2 2013, 11:20 PM
wavezard
post Sep 2 2013, 11:26 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 2 2013, 10:53 PM)
13/14" is definitely much smaller than a 17 incher haha XD

Your best bet is to try out the real thing, or any other notebooks with equivalent sizes. Should be fairly easy to find nod.gif
Personally I think FullHD on a 13" notebook is pretty hard on the eyes, but that is just me. The specs offered by the Illegear is seriously hard to resist, and not to mention that you could always lower the resolution, or connect to an external monitor for better viewing pleasure~

The MS GE40 is also a very unique notebook, 1st of its kind, definitely worth considering as well~
Just need to throw in an SSD and you are good to go  thumbup.gif
One more..u2 plus come with 2 fan same with u2 right? thx
stephennyy
post Sep 2 2013, 11:33 PM

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Aug 22 2013, 10:08 AM)
closest
Dell
Inspiron 14-3437, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1649[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL @ RM1799

Hello , does anybody now where can I buy this product ?

Thank You

This post has been edited by stephennyy: Sep 2 2013, 11:34 PM
tWice
post Sep 2 2013, 11:51 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 2 2013, 09:04 PM)
Assuming you are looking for a sole gaming machine.
If solely between this two, I would pick the Illegear, though with RM5k you are only getting the lowest specs and FreeDOS. But no worries, since you can always upgrade later when you have the budget.

As you are aware, the i7 is really a lot more powerful than the quad core AMD A10. I am not really sure the bottlenecking on the AMD will be that obvious during real-life gameplay.. but personally I trust Nvidia's driver updates more, that alone is enough for me to decide. They are more consistent and stable, meaning that you will get graphic boosts in new, popular games every one in a while icon_rolleyes.gif

Still, the finaly decision lies with you. The MSI comes with 2 years warranty support as well, which is a plus

15.6"
If you don't mind lower specs, can consider this:
GE60-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4299,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard

or this:
Illegear RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3799[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 8GB, 500GB 7200RPM, FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]

You will have more remaining budget for serious upgrades, especially for an SSD, which will significantly boost performance. And of course, don't forget about warranty extension, its important for a notebook this expensive.
Maybe im really focus on the performance in a sense of gpu and cpu. The SSD i will upgrade later since it is cheaper than upgrading GPU.

But when u arise the word warranty. I, now, wondering. How's the quality of illegear so far? Is there any problems when it comes to second or third year???

Thanks for ur good advice!!!! biggrin.gif

tWice
post Sep 2 2013, 11:59 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(russell612 @ Sep 2 2013, 09:17 PM)
ILLEGEAR is better bacause you can add a SSD right on the online shop. But for me I think it really depends on ur area. In East Malaysia? maybe ILLEGEAR is not a good choice. In West Malaysia? ILLEGEAR is the one to GEAR UP UR GAMING LIFE!
I will stay in nilai area about two years since im studying there. But then I'll go to US to further my studies there. *twinning programme* So can i know, this two years time, if the illegear doesn't show any significant prob. So, is that the laptop will be long lasting???. Exception for the minor service that can be done regularly.
exkaizen
post Sep 3 2013, 09:24 AM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

Hi sifu, May I know how is Acer warranty claims and service center... is it as bad as Acer?

I've been user DELL (the after sales service is good) and Lenovo (not yet send for warranty claims to service center but received mixed feedback... some say ok and some say bad)

I need to know this due to thinking to get another laptop for my uncle with below specs:

- processor: i5/i7
- gpu: 720M 2G DDR5 (740M and above is better)
- ram: 8GB
- Warranty: good after sales
- budget: rm 2k-2.5k
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 3 2013, 09:27 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(wavezard @ Sep 2 2013, 11:26 PM)
One more..u2 plus come with 2 fan same with u2 right? thx
Eh, this one can Google yourself
No spoonfeeding tongue.gif

QUOTE(stephennyy @ Sep 2 2013, 11:33 PM)
Hello , does anybody now where can I buy this product ?

Thank You
Buy from Dell online?
Remember to bargain with online sales agents for cheaper price yo icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 3 2013, 09:29 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tWice @ Sep 2 2013, 11:51 PM)
Maybe im really focus on the performance in a sense of gpu and cpu. The SSD i will upgrade later since it is cheaper than upgrading GPU.

But when u arise the word warranty. I, now, wondering. How's the quality of illegear so far? Is there any problems when it comes to second or third year???

Thanks for ur good advice!!!! biggrin.gif
Quality of Illegear has been pretty good so far, not much complaints. But that might be because there are still not that much users yet.
Warranty support (Malaysia and Singapore) is superb. Very fast, although you will have to rely on postage if you are in east Malaysia.
My advice is, no matter what brand you are going for, if you are getting a gaming machine, go for warranty extension.
Gaming machines will be put to stress during your gaming sessions, and heat will kill the notebook, and its not cheap to replace high-end hardwares inside the machine nod.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 3 2013, 09:30 AM
GG_AT3
post Sep 3 2013, 09:52 AM

154 posts

hello, i need help on buying a laptop for my sister.
1. Preferred Brand -any
2. Budget - RM1500
3. Usage - web browsing, watching movie and maybe some mini games (what girl usually do with their laptop? biggrin.gif )
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - any size that fit the laptop usage.

ty for your feedback. smile.gif
Cheesenium
post Sep 3 2013, 10:01 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 30 2013, 03:17 PM)
Wow, this is a really tough one  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
I think the closest would be these, though not neccesarily the brands/requirements/dimensions/weight you wanted. 15.6" touchscreen notebooks are pretty uncommon at this time
15.6"
Acer
V5-573PG-74504G50r, i5-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2899, 4GB, 500GB, W8
V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8

Asus
S550CB-CJ102H i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499[2.3kg], 4GB, W8
S550CB-CJ103H i7-3537U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 1TB + (1366x768; touch)@RM3199[2.3kg], 4GB, W8
S551LB-CJ077H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x767; touch)@RM2699, 4GB, 750GB, W8

Lenovo
Z500T, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2499[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty

Don't think MSI has touchscreen 15 inchers  hmm.gif
Thank you for your suggestions. smile.gif

Still are there any 13 inch ones with touch screen, i7 and 650M/740M GPU?

Reposting my requirements below:
1. Preferred Brand: Asus, Gigabyte, MSI. Must have nVidia GPU and uses Intel i7.
2. Budget: Not more than 3.5k.
3. Usage: mainly AutoCAD drafting and Office with maybe a bit of gaming with newer touch screen supported games like XCOM Enemy Unknown, Civilization V, Sonic & All Stars Racing Transformed to old games like C&C Generals or Dawn of War 1. 640M/750M should run them fairly alright and it is slightly weaker than my G73JH so similar performance but much smaller form factor.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 13.3 or 15.3 inch. Not more than 3kg if possible. Must have touch screen, heard Win 8 is more bearable with it.

Additional Information: I am looking for something with similar specs to a Razer Edge slate where it has a touch screen with ULV version of i7 and an nVidia 650M GPU as my secondary laptop for mobility so that I can bring it to meetings, not my 4kg monster. Since Razer Edge is not sold in Malaysia and I dont trust Razer's QA after my Onza broke in one year. Better if there is one that is similar to a Surface Pro, if not ultrabook form factor is ok too.

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 3 2013, 10:12 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Sep 3 2013, 10:01 AM)
Thank you for your suggestions. smile.gif

Still are there any 13 inch ones with touch screen, i7 and 650M/740M GPU?

Reposting my requirements below:
1. Preferred Brand: Asus, Gigabyte, MSI. Must have nVidia GPU and uses Intel i7.
2. Budget: Not more than 3.5k.
3. Usage: mainly AutoCAD drafting and Office with maybe a bit of gaming with newer touch screen supported games like XCOM Enemy Unknown, Civilization V, Sonic & All Stars Racing Transformed to old games like C&C Generals or Dawn of War 1. 640M/750M should run them fairly alright and it is slightly weaker than my G73JH so similar performance but much smaller form factor.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 13.3 or 15.3 inch. Not more than 3kg if possible. Must have touch screen, heard Win 8 is more bearable with it.

Additional Information: I am looking for something with similar specs to a Razer Edge slate where it has a touch screen with ULV version of i7 and an nVidia 650M GPU as my secondary laptop for mobility so that I can bring it to meetings, not my 4kg monster. Since Razer Edge is not sold in Malaysia and I dont trust Razer's QA after my Onza broke in one year. Better if there is one that is similar to a Surface Pro, if not ultrabook form factor is ok too.
Sorry man, but I don't think there is one.
The ones that have a dGPU doesn't have touch, whereas those that are touch-enabled doesn't have dGPU lol laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 3 2013, 10:13 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(GG_AT3 @ Sep 3 2013, 09:52 AM)
hello, i need help on buying a laptop for my sister.
1. Preferred Brand -any
2. Budget - RM1500
3. Usage - web browsing, watching movie and maybe some mini games (what girl usually do with their laptop?  biggrin.gif )
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - any size that fit the laptop usage.

ty for your feedback.  smile.gif
Girl?
Definite these, simple haha XD
14"
Sony
SVF1421MSG, B987 + Intel HD@RM1599, 2GB, 500GB, W8; colors:black/white

Vaio SVE14121CVW, Pentum B980 + Intel HD@RM1499[2.4kg], 2GB, 320GB, W8SL

Vaio SVE14131CV, Pentium 2020M + Intel HD@RM1599[2.4kg], 2GB, 320GB, W8; color: white, Vaio backpack

Might be good to uprade the RAM to 4GB though icon_rolleyes.gif
Cheesenium
post Sep 3 2013, 10:39 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 3 2013, 10:12 AM)
Sorry man, but I don't think there is one.
The ones that have a dGPU doesn't have touch, whereas those that are touch-enabled doesn't have dGPU lol  laugh.gif
Ahaha, thanks man. I'll look out for them, as I better buy them soon before GST comes.

Hopefully the new iPad Mini wil be released before GST.
GG_AT3
post Sep 3 2013, 10:51 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 3 2013, 10:13 AM)
Girl?
Definite these, simple haha XD
14"
Sony
SVF1421MSG, B987 + Intel HD@RM1599, 2GB, 500GB, W8; colors:black/white

Vaio SVE14121CVW, Pentum B980 + Intel HD@RM1499[2.4kg], 2GB, 320GB, W8SL

Vaio SVE14131CV, Pentium 2020M + Intel HD@RM1599[2.4kg], 2GB, 320GB, W8; color: white, Vaio backpack

Might be good to uprade the RAM to 4GB though  icon_rolleyes.gif
thumbup.gif
ty for your suggestion. which one do you think best suited her?
any vaio reseller in here?
stephennyy
post Sep 3 2013, 12:21 PM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 3 2013, 09:27 AM)
Buy from Dell online?
Remember to bargain with online sales agents for cheaper price yo  icon_rolleyes.gif
Buying online from Dell needs 2 weeks . Anybody knows offline store who sell this ?
Dell 14/15 i5-4200U - Ubuntu

or maybe other recommendation with these requirements please ?
1. Any brand - but with international warranty
2. Minimum i5 processor - with Hasswell if possible
3. Budget under RM 2000
4. Usage for programming and Adobe Premier
5. Non OS
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 3 2013, 12:37 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(GG_AT3 @ Sep 3 2013, 10:51 AM)
thumbup.gif
ty for your suggestion. which one do you think best suited her?
any vaio reseller in here?
Go for the one with the Pentium 2020M nod.gif

Don't think there are any resellers here laugh.gif
Buy direct from Sony centers nod.gif
SUSHuman10
post Sep 3 2013, 03:47 PM

6,774 posts

Budget: RM1.5k
Usage: Purely surfing or office uses

Any recommendation?
vSwinGv
post Sep 3 2013, 04:02 PM

Aiks, silly me, been quite awhile since lurked on LYN. I actually posted a thread on buying laptop ehe....

Anyways I've done a bit of research (though I'm blur on the stuff) and mainly eyeing Lenovo Ideapad y510p & MSi GE60-20C. Need some recommendations and any opinions on either brand, or any other suggestions would be great!

1. Preferred Brand - only anti Acer. But I'm looking at MSi cuz apparently they're known for their gaming laptops; and Lenovo because their specs looks great for the y510p, and price is lower for that specs. Asus is a bit out of my price range for their gaming laptop range.
2. Budget - RM3 - 3.5k, though if can be lower but not skimp too much on the quality would be good. main cause I suffered from Acer laptop before, so don't mind to pay a bit more.
3. Usage - mainly gaming (currently play borderlands2, dota2, torchlight2... been wanting to play stuff like the latest Tomb Raider), using Adobe software (Ps, Ai, Lightroom, Dreamweaver), watching movies/shows, listening to music then so on.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - nothing below 15.6". 14" is way too fakkin small.

Thank you for feedback!
Planning to purchase sometime this week or this month. smile.gif

This post has been edited by vSwinGv: Sep 3 2013, 04:10 PM
exkaizen
post Sep 3 2013, 04:02 PM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

what are the brand have good after sales/warranty service besides dell?
aristotletan
post Sep 3 2013, 05:09 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(stephennyy @ Sep 3 2013, 12:21 PM)
Buying online from Dell needs 2 weeks . Anybody knows offline store who sell this ?
Dell 14/15 i5-4200U - Ubuntu

or maybe other recommendation with these requirements please ?
1. Any brand - but with international warranty
2. Minimum i5 processor - with Hasswell if possible
3. Budget under RM 2000
4. Usage for programming and Adobe Premier
5. Non OS
ACER ASPIRE E E1-472G-54204G50 :
Intel® Core™ i5-4200U-1.6GHz | 4GB DDR3 RAM, 500GB SATA HDD | NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 720M , 14 inch , 2.1kg

Price: RRP RM1899, but can get as low as Rm1630 from lelong.

This post has been edited by aristotletan: Sep 3 2013, 05:21 PM

131 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0348sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:48 PM