Can Avoid Astro or not?, Idea

nite_eif
post Aug 13 2013, 10:11 AM

482 posts

Wow this is interesting..

Been looking for a solution for a home media setup..

So this android tv can replace:

1. Asteruk
2. Smart TV by sony/samsung
3. Micro Tower CPU PC for home browsing, movie, videos for kids
4. Laptops connected to TV/Monitor for works or leisure..can even edit documents on TV then lol..

But Most IMPORTANT we need high internet speed with no caps..

Erm how about if i only use Wimax with 2mbs and 15gb caps..how long will it last..lol smile.gif

Edit:

Can also replace:

5. The Chromecast by Google..Oo
6. Any other wireless streaming apps/hardware..by Sony or Samsung..

This post has been edited by nite_eif: Aug 13 2013, 10:13 AM
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2013, 12:34 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(nite_eif @ Aug 13 2013, 10:11 AM)
Wow this is interesting..

Been looking for a solution for a home media setup..

So this android tv can replace:

1. Asteruk
2. Smart TV by sony/samsung
3. Micro Tower CPU PC for home browsing, movie, videos for kids
4. Laptops connected to TV/Monitor for works or leisure..can even edit documents on TV then lol..

But Most IMPORTANT we need high internet speed with no caps..

Erm how about if i only use Wimax with 2mbs and 15gb caps..how long will it last..lol smile.gif

Edit:

Can also replace:

5. The Chromecast by Google..Oo
6. Any other wireless streaming apps/hardware..by Sony or Samsung..
Yeah...share share info bro.. smile.gif You can watch tons of chinese/korean stuff ...all free...but I dont understand chinese, so app like PPTV is mostly useless to me...But there are other app and source. Downloaded one app...watch korean dramas...I am no fan of k drama but this one got english subtitle...so can watch if bored also...
Last night watch a lot of HBO HD movies....CloudTv free for 2 days...then subscribe monhly....not that expensive...about Rm40 can watch all the english and chinese channels....hehe. if xbmc can stream from those sources, then no need subscribe...must research more....

And yes..most important your internet no cap...I use Time Fibre broadband...8Mbps.
But I noticed the cloudtv streaming use about 300 to 400Kb/s max...usually under 300KB/s...So a 4Mbit line is the minimal requirement for smooth experience. But sometimes it buffers also (especially on HD channels). However, dont expect the hd uality like Astro or your downloaded bluray mkv. It is still better than Astro SD though...way better. For normal SD channels...just like Astro SD...but better a bit and got widescreen (16:9).
capoi
post Aug 13 2013, 01:36 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2013, 09:48 AM)
Thanks for the tip. Noob to XBMC, yesterday downloaded an add in file...dunno what's the name....not very interesting....somemore got a few XXX channels....haiyo....got kid in the house deh....cannot let them touch XBMC....tongue.gif....is it possible to edit those downloaded file to remove the XXX channels???
If this thing works fine, will consider to hunt an Android TV gadget which works with XBMC....who here have an Android TV working with XBMC? Can share your model???
Which file did u install and got XXX channel? If your kid clever enough, thats the problem. From navi x got some xxx chanel but it not really obvious unless you search for it

SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2013, 02:08 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ Aug 13 2013, 01:36 PM)
Which file did u install and got XXX channel? If your kid clever enough, thats the problem. From navi x got some xxx chanel but it not really obvious unless you search for it
Don't remember the name....got some XXX channels, not a lot.....btw, how do you access the channels? Just go to the 'Video' and scroll the channel list?

Even in Google playstore, can easily accidentally search for sexual material (maybe not XXX, but maybe naked girls photos app)...not really suitable to let kid use the Google App store on the Android TV box.
chris11900
post Aug 13 2013, 02:20 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2013, 12:34 PM)
Yeah...share share info bro.. smile.gif  You can watch tons of chinese/korean stuff ...all free...but I dont understand chinese, so app like PPTV is mostly useless to me...But there are other app and source. Downloaded one app...watch korean dramas...I am no fan of k drama but this one got english subtitle...so can watch if bored also...
Last night watch a lot of HBO HD movies....CloudTv free for 2 days...then subscribe monhly....not that expensive...about Rm40 can watch all the english and chinese channels....hehe. if xbmc can stream from those sources, then no need subscribe...must research more....

And yes..most important your internet no cap...I use Time Fibre broadband...8Mbps.
But I noticed the cloudtv streaming use about 300 to 400Kb/s max...usually under 300KB/s...So a 4Mbit line is the minimal requirement for smooth experience. But sometimes it buffers also (especially on HD channels). However,  dont expect the hd uality like Astro or your downloaded bluray mkv. It is still better than Astro SD though...way better. For normal SD channels...just like Astro SD...but better a bit and got widescreen (16:9).
what channels do they have on cloud iptv? Any references?
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2013, 02:25 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(chris11900 @ Aug 13 2013, 02:20 PM)
what channels do they have on cloud iptv? Any references?
http://www.cloudtv.bz/

celicaizpower
post Aug 13 2013, 02:28 PM

Race : ☐ Malay ☐ Chinese ☐ India ☑ /k/tard
1,177 posts

QUOTE(klphang @ Jun 19 2013, 11:29 PM)
oklah, seen u so cham.. i give u some tips. But u gotta very hardworking toteach ur mom how to use it.

1st. Buy a android box (any brand) cheapest is MK808 around RM130.
2nd Buy a wireless mouse.
3rd Its for your mom. Open browser in the android tv. search for azdrama.info . Tada! you can watch all the tvb and korean drama in 720p quality for free. Wait.. your mom need immediate showtime like Astro on demand?! No worry, go download a chinese app at play store call 风云直播 。you can watch direct live telecast of TVB, TVB HD, J2 and more channel
4th It for you! Install XBMC, insert add on Navi-X and you can watch the latest HD movie and live tv all around the world. plus its free.
5th It for you and your mom, if you still not satisfy with tons of show. Go play store install app call AMO TV.

It is so simple to use even my dad know how to use it to watch live sport in HD.

I think with this you can stick to TV whole day long.

hope it help you to save money.
huhu... thanks for the info bro!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2013, 02:45 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Damn...just found this:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2920813

Looks promising???
chris11900
post Aug 13 2013, 02:59 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2013, 02:25 PM)
thanks.
Alvan86
post Aug 13 2013, 03:36 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 12 2013, 07:41 PM)
Just bought a RicoMagic mk802 iv quad core RK3188....

XBMC doesn't work on this though sadly. Btw, i have downloaded the PC version of XBMC, can watch movies meh? All i can i see is a few channels...no FOX/HBO/STAR/CINEMAX etc.

Now using CloudTV, will probably subscribe to it soon. Still better than Assteruk.
Yeah... Can watch latest movies yet to release, watch all major US/UK channels including ABC/CNBC/NBC/FOX/STAR/HBO/NatGeo/Discovery to name a few... smile.gif
But, sometimes not so stable and need to wait for intermediate buffer during streaming live...
Alvan86
post Aug 13 2013, 03:45 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 12 2013, 07:41 PM)
Just bought a RicoMagic mk802 iv quad core RK3188....

XBMC doesn't work on this though sadly. Btw, i have downloaded the PC version of XBMC, can watch movies meh? All i can i see is a few channels...no FOX/HBO/STAR/CINEMAX etc.

Now using CloudTV, will probably subscribe to it soon. Still better than Assteruk.
I just check out CloudTV and looks not bad..
Just download the apps to IPTV and start streaming? How is the process as I am not so familiar with it? thanks
raizil
post Aug 13 2013, 03:46 PM

226 posts

unifi + apple TV
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2013, 04:05 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(raizil @ Aug 13 2013, 03:46 PM)
unifi + apple TV
Apple tv still need to pay and subscribe right?? Netflix dont work outside US
unless go through some vpn..and I saw you have to pay for each HD movie you download on some channels...I can download HD movies for free anyway....tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 13 2013, 04:11 PM
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2013, 04:08 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Alvan86 @ Aug 13 2013, 03:45 PM)
I just check out CloudTV and looks not bad..
Just download the apps to IPTV and start streaming? How is the process as I am not so familiar with it? thanks
Yes. You can try it on your phone also...I tried on my Galaxy Mega..
Syiok for 2 days...lol.
capoi
post Aug 13 2013, 04:18 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2013, 02:08 PM)
Don't remember the name....got some XXX channels, not a lot.....btw, how do you access the channels? Just go to the 'Video' and scroll the channel list?

Even in Google playstore, can easily accidentally search for sexual material (maybe not XXX, but maybe naked girls photos app)...not really suitable to let kid use the Google App store on the Android TV box.
If you already install plugin from repository file, you must click add on under video menu. You choose from there and install it in your list. For navi-x, I prefer to choose recently upload list. You can get a lot of list from there.
Alvan86
post Aug 13 2013, 04:46 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2013, 04:08 PM)
Yes. You can try it on your phone also...I tried on my Galaxy Mega..
Syiok for 2 days...lol.
But, when i download from site just now, the file format is apk which is for android phone..
Where to download for pc use? or Ipad use?
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2013, 04:58 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Alvan86 @ Aug 13 2013, 04:46 PM)
But, when i download from site just now, the file format is apk which is for android phone..
Where to download for pc use? or Ipad use?
There is only Android version......I didnt realized this until now.
chris11900
post Aug 13 2013, 05:50 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(chris11900 @ Aug 13 2013, 02:59 PM)
thanks.
Hello....I suppose for english and chinese is $4.99+$6.99 per mth....right?
klphang
post Aug 13 2013, 09:13 PM

143 posts

I wonder people nowadays still prefer watch tv program from tv channel which you might have to wait or miss your program and receive bunch of rubbish advertisment in your head. Sometime you even cant watch it due to weather condition or station had been offline.

Free on demand program is all over the web, you can select whatever show you want whenever you need to watch.
SUSMatrix
post Aug 14 2013, 09:06 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(klphang @ Aug 13 2013, 09:13 PM)
I wonder people nowadays still prefer watch tv program from tv channel which you might have to wait or miss your program and receive bunch of rubbish advertisment in your head. Sometime you even cant watch it due to weather condition or station had been offline.

Free on demand program is all over the web, you can select whatever show  you want whenever you need to watch.
Dude if you can find GOOD free on demand HD channels like
FOX HD, HBO HD etc, please let us know how and where....so far..all
the free stuff are mostly rubbish or with very poor quality video.
Even PPTV...the quality is horrible...

When you watch TV. Sometimes you just want to channel surf and see
what is on without thinking too much. If I want to watch blockbuster hollywood movies or tv serials, I will just download those bluray or 720p video recording...which no streaming can even match the quality and sound.

btw, tinker with xbmc last night. ..still not impressed. ..mostly rubbish channels or stuff which wont work except a few....the cloudtv experience is still way better.

32 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:37 PM