English Clubs Liverpool Kop Talk 2013, Thailand 0 Liverpool 3- Couts, Aspas, SG

Duke Red
post Jul 10 2013, 04:27 PM

6,112 posts

That is a healthy sum to pay for a 22 year old but he would be less of a risk than Andy Carroll. Benteke has been scoring goals his whole life, at club and international level, where he is a starter with a team that's leading their WC qualifying group. Not saying he's the finished article but he does have a proven track record, unlike say Darren Bent who had one standout season. It's scary to think he can get better.
koolspyda
post Jul 10 2013, 04:39 PM

222 posts

Christian Benteke?

no

one, we will be second or third fav to land him.

two, are we taking 4 steps back?
TSdillonyong
post Jul 10 2013, 04:49 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jul 10 2013, 04:27 PM)
That is a healthy sum to pay for a 22 year old but he would be less of a risk than Andy Carroll. Benteke has been scoring goals his whole life, at club and international level, where he is a starter with a team that's leading their WC qualifying group. Not saying he's the finished article but he does have a proven track record, unlike say Darren Bent who had one standout season. It's scary to think he can get better.
Benteke is 15mil to me. 1 season in EPL is nothing, bro.

Michael ricketts, Marcus Stewart, Andy Caroll should serve as a fine example. Not saying he's not good. Seen too many good players not having luck and flop.

22 mil is too big a sum to risk unless he was the top scorer last season.
koolspyda
post Jul 10 2013, 04:57 PM

222 posts

for one they say wait till BR work wonders with benteke

awaiting joe allen, assadi and yesil to turn up smile.gif
berzerk
post Jul 10 2013, 05:02 PM

706 posts

QUOTE(keong24 @ Jul 10 2013, 12:35 PM)
why look like im the only one feel that suarez leave will give a better balance for the team?

i just dun like his complain-on-everything behavior on the pitch. even to own teammate. n less one man show attempt.
Not only you. LFC are a better attacking team when Sturridge is the lone attacker because he is better at off the ball running and creating space for team mates. With Suarez on the pitch, the attacks are far more concentrated around his individual trickery with the ball at his feet.

Suarez is one of the best at terrifying individual defenders and forcing them to make mistakes or a rash challenge. But half the time, he would waste the opportunity by overambitious shooting or trying to beat another defender instead of capitalising on the advantage he had created.

Jim.tan
post Jul 10 2013, 05:02 PM

63 posts

Real Madrid bid 40mil for suares.. wink.gif
Cloud0890
post Jul 10 2013, 05:18 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jul 10 2013, 04:27 PM)
His past records at other leagues are not indicative of anything, remember Mateja Kezman? At the international level, their group consist of the likes of Wales and Macedonia, the only noteworthy opponent out of that group is Croatia.

No doubt he is a much better prospect than Carroll but 25-30m is still a hugely inflated price to pay. Even if we can afford to pay that sum, I don't think we can compete against the likes of Spurs or Chelsea for his signature. If we are lucky enough to get him though I hope he does not come in as a replacement for Suarez. A front line of Suarez, Sturridge and Benteke is pretty formidable on paper.
Petre
post Jul 10 2013, 05:20 PM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

looks like we are only signing players worth 10m or less, because according to some of you we should not dream big and we should not spend big

this is the kind of mentality that gets david villa away

when you have no ambition... then there you are

sorry if am too harsh, just stating my opinion
leftist
post Jul 10 2013, 05:22 PM

734 posts

thnak god benteke reject us..with 50m from suarez money we could get other cheaper players
Petre
post Jul 10 2013, 05:26 PM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

QUOTE(leftist @ Jul 10 2013, 05:22 PM)
thnak god benteke reject us..with 50m from suarez money we could get other cheaper players
we lost so much money in the transfer this couple of years. caution is necessary
Cloud0890
post Jul 10 2013, 05:26 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Jul 10 2013, 05:20 PM)
looks like we are only signing players worth 10m or less, because according to some of you we should not dream big and we should not spend big

this is the kind of mentality that gets david villa away

when you have no ambition... then there you are

sorry if am too harsh, just stating my opinion
It's not about spending big, it's about spending them on the right players. What did Carroll and Downing do for us? That's 55m right there, did we not spend big?

I believe Benteke belongs in the high risk high reward category, not sure if we can afford that risk or will BR take that risk?

This post has been edited by Cloud0890: Jul 10 2013, 05:29 PM
Petre
post Jul 10 2013, 05:31 PM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

QUOTE(Cloud0890 @ Jul 10 2013, 05:26 PM)
It's not about spending big, it's about spending them on the right players. What did Carroll and Downing do for us? That's 55m right there, did we not spend big?

I believe Benteke belongs in the high risk high reward category, not sure if we can afford that risk or will BR take that risk?
its easy to associate high price = high risk

its wrong smile.gif

aspas is high risk.
tiSSue_paPer
post Jul 10 2013, 05:32 PM

milo ais KAW..!
1,127 posts

Liverpool have today confirmed that Academy striker Michael Ngoo has joined Championship side Yeovil Town on a season-long loan
vickno
post Jul 10 2013, 05:37 PM

68 posts

Guys.. Preston vs LFC friendly live at Astro, Saturday 2200 MYT on channel 811(SD) & 833(HD).

This post has been edited by vickno: Jul 10 2013, 05:39 PM
Cloud0890
post Jul 10 2013, 05:49 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Jul 10 2013, 05:31 PM)
its easy to associate high price = high risk

its wrong smile.gif

aspas is high risk.
Nope, if you were to pay 100m for a Ronaldo or Messi would you consider that high risk? I wouldn't. Some players have proven enough that they can compete at top tiered leagues and therefore present less risk. Benteke has only had one season in a top tiered league. If he lives up to his expectation then it is money well spent, if not we will be looking to sell him off at a huge cut price deal just like we did in Carroll.

Aspas was signed at a reported value of 8m I believe? If he fails to make it in England we should have no problem selling him back to Spain where he has no shortage of suitors for a fee in excess of 5m.
Petre
post Jul 10 2013, 06:02 PM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

QUOTE(Cloud0890 @ Jul 10 2013, 05:49 PM)
Nope, if you were to pay 100m for a Ronaldo or Messi would you consider that high risk? I wouldn't. Some players have proven enough that they can compete at top tiered leagues and therefore present less risk. Benteke has only had one season in a top tiered league. If he lives up to his expectation then it is money well spent, if not we will be looking to sell him off at a huge cut price deal just like we did in Carroll.

Aspas was signed at a reported value of 8m I believe? If he fails to make it in England we should have no problem selling him back to Spain where he has no shortage of suitors for a fee in excess of 5m.
have to agree anything over 20m for benteke is risky

but he have all the attributes. agree about spending wisely on proven players. there are only so much you can pay...

we need to curb the habit of spending over the odds. the nightmare which i dont want to mention, hopefully wont be repeated. i have to say it was totally unbelievable and now made us look like idiots

no one can guarantee anything. up to the experts to judge. but i'd like lukaku and/or benteke at the club
Everdying
post Jul 10 2013, 06:05 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

later benteke turns out to be another carroll then how?
carroll too was a goal-scoring machine while at newcastle.
Cloud0890
post Jul 10 2013, 06:09 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Jul 10 2013, 06:02 PM)
have to agree anything over 20m for benteke is risky

but he have all the attributes. agree about spending wisely on proven players. there are only so much you can pay...

we need to curb the habit of spending over the odds. the nightmare which i dont want to mention, hopefully wont be repeated. i have to say it was totally unbelievable and now made us look like idiots

no one can guarantee anything. up to the experts to judge. but i'd like lukaku and/or benteke at the club
Agreed, Benteke is worth 20m at best. But it seems like Villa is trying to rip off whoever is interested in getting him.
Everdying
post Jul 10 2013, 06:10 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(Cloud0890 @ Jul 10 2013, 06:09 PM)
Agreed, Benteke is worth 20m at best. But it seems like Villa is trying to rip off whoever is interested in getting him.
surprisingly no one has said to send downing back to villa as trade tongue.gif
Petre
post Jul 10 2013, 06:10 PM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 10 2013, 06:05 PM)
later benteke turns out to be another carroll then how?
carroll too was a goal-scoring machine while at newcastle.
surely there are questions over every signing ma right? who heard about countinho before? but reputation will increase the price of any player. ben's one of them.

can we get away with our philosophy every time? its how the club is run. and by looking at our style, ah ben probably wont suit our transfer policy. most probably we are looking at all these b leagues for under valued players... macam playing stock bah...

127 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:59 AM