Dog Lover Kopitiam, A place for dog lovers to yam cha!
Digitral
Jun 22 2007, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Jun 22 2007, 11:16 AM) erm..biscuits i hv seen. its called biscal. den we hv greenies, reduces tartar n smell < which is quite fatal 2 some dogs. will try every method here...the 1st day i bring Pretty back..the smell is a bit fishy espiecially it moustache and tear stain...
Syrian
Jun 22 2007, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Jun 22 2007, 11:28 AM) greenies are even more expensive.. = = chew for few mins is like chewing off ur RM RM Hahahahahahaha!!!! My one pack of greenies can last for quite long. I buy small pieces one - RM 19.90. Inside got a lot and i cut them into two pieces  . I give him one small piece per week only  . My old pack of greenies - i bought it when i bought Hepy home and it lasts until now. Still got one more piece left  . U can imagine how "often" i give it to him .. hahaahahahahaha. This post has been edited by Syrian: Jun 22 2007, 12:09 PM
jaunty_niel
Jun 22 2007, 12:20 PM
wow.. i oso wanna implement wat ur doing d. snacks once a fortnight!
Syrian
Jun 22 2007, 12:23 PM
no lar .. no lar .. Only greenies and stick bones can last long. Treats/Snacks kenot last long one. Very fast finish already. One day already dunno eat how many pieces. I bought the treats back home, I also cut them into small pieces. Give one small piece to him everytime to tempt him .. hahahaahahah
jaunty_niel
Jun 22 2007, 12:25 PM
no. now need 2 seksa them a bit d. owez eat til i pokkai. lucky da daddy's paying half.
babymiki
Jun 22 2007, 04:38 PM
my silky can finish stick bones quite fast. except for those white color stick types..when its wet it gets like sticky? i wonder it's good for the stomach or not
crazymouse_yyh
Jun 22 2007, 07:26 PM
www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
QUOTE(babymiki @ Jun 22 2007, 04:38 PM) my silky can finish stick bones quite fast. except for those white color stick types..when its wet it gets like sticky? i wonder it's good for the stomach or not Those are rawhides.... well, they aren't very good coz it can get stuck in the gut if a dog swallows it whole. Also rawhide uses alot of preservatives... My dogs all get nylon bones to chew and hard dog biscuits and fruits for treats.
Pennywise
Jun 22 2007, 07:42 PM
I can give a little feedback about Biscal.
When I first got my West Highland, Casper, he smells really bad and I was finding ways to overcome the smell cause mom has been complaining like nuts. So, my proven way to work is to feed him a piece of Biscal every breakfast and regular showers. I bath Casper every Wed and Sun or sometimes Wed and Sat.
Greenies - I read a lot about it and how it would choke the dog and die. I give Casper the smallest size. I think its called Teenie. I just give him the whole stick in the night and he will chew till morning and viola! finish! because if I dont give him something to chew, then he will go on rampage at the newspaper which is supposed to be his toilet.
Casper has been having problem with his food for more than a week now. I thought it was because I changed to Eaglepack but that's not the case, according to my vet today.
I brought him to the vet and have him diagnosed. No worms. I was also given the dewormer to feed him in Sept and Dec. Vet conclude that my dog is fussy... So now, I have to fight him. If he doesnt eat, his problem.
Today's dinner served in bowl, dont eat. Feed with hand, eat. Eat until last bit (about 15 - 20 biji) more, he dont want. Just walk away. Bugger~!!@~~~
jaunty_niel
Jun 22 2007, 07:46 PM
haha looks like ur having a hard time wif ur westie.. feeding jack jack kibbles wif my hand too 2day. havent been eating for the whole day.
crazymouse_yyh
Jun 22 2007, 08:14 PM
If you hand feed your dogs, it can become a habit. Chelsea was like that at one stage. So I let her starve, then she got the message and now eats on her own.
Eaglepack is a good brand but I guess your Casper don't like the taste.... this is common coz dogfoods, especially the dry kind have little flavour but smells good. The wet food has more flavour and smell, which makes the dog wants more.
jaunty_niel
Jun 22 2007, 08:35 PM
sometimes i jus cant see him starve. seeing him starve is worse than starving myself. sometimes even use "tham" and hand feed he wont eat. y r dogs so moody ar?
Syrian
Jun 22 2007, 09:14 PM
how come all ur dogs are having problem eating? Hepy goes berserk whenever he sees me walking towards his food "tank" .. lol. For the past few days, I've been teaching him to walk into his cage if he wants to eat. But he din manage to do it. I had to carry him and place his front feet into the cage, then push his butt a little and ask him to get in. Today, i dun even haf to do so. When he sees me opening his food tank, he fast fast come to me, then jump up and down. I said "no....behave" .. then he fast fast sit down on the floor .. hahaha. Then he saw me still din give him his food, he fast fast get up and run into the cage and sit in the cage, waiting to be served  . Such an intelligent puppy.
crazymouse_yyh
Jun 22 2007, 09:22 PM
We should not grow soft on dogs lah.... you must teach them who is boss.... if you feed him using your hand, the dog can be more stubborn coz he thinks he is alpha male coz you keep babying him. Handfeeding and pampering is quite bad lah for a dog's development stage. I know you love them but you must teach them.
jaunty_niel
Jun 22 2007, 09:26 PM
trying to. sometimes he'll jus sleep 4 da whole day without eating anything. seems so energy-less.
crazymouse_yyh
Jun 22 2007, 09:32 PM
Your pup needs to exercise. Bring out to have long walks.... a 1km walk will do him good. Normally dogs which are more energetic will have better appetite.
jaunty_niel
Jun 22 2007, 10:09 PM
okay. 2morrow leesh him den take for walks. dat day my apartment 1 indian guy saw me carrying jack-jack, he scold me. say wan complaint 2 da authorities la stuffs la. jack-jack din even touch him or bark at him. he was sleeping in my arms. *sweat* Added on June 22, 2007, 10:21 pmhey check this out. dog food ratings. orijen is 6stars, alpo 1star, blackwood lamb+rice 3stars,acana 3stars.. http://www.dogfoodanalysis.com/dog_food_re...index.php/cat/1This post has been edited by jaunty_niel: Jun 22 2007, 10:21 PM
^MochI^
Jun 22 2007, 11:51 PM
acana only 3? i though its the best after orijen.. coz the price doest differ much~
crazymouse_yyh
Jun 22 2007, 11:56 PM
Actually, choosing a dogfood brand don't need to look at those reviews.... read the ingredients to judge. Those reviews were done by a few researchers and they are comparing it to many other brands we do not find here.
Super Premium brands and Holistic brands usually have similar pricing.... not much difference. It is just that super premium brands use soy or corn or wheat while holistic doesn't contain those.
TSWhite Palace
Jun 23 2007, 12:19 AM
Also do take note that one brand may carries different type of food, and each of the quality might differs, best way to determine a dog food is like Hun said, compare the ingredients, the reviews and testimonials are just a guide.
^MochI^
Jun 23 2007, 12:38 AM
Ohh... i taking orijen frm u yang wor.. then wad type shld i buy??
Added on June 23, 2007, 12:39 amORIJEN also Got many type AH?
This post has been edited by ^MochI^: Jun 23 2007, 12:39 AM