QUOTE(nanan75 @ Nov 18 2014, 08:55 PM)
yes but the exchange rate loses to CIMB. there's no advantage to changing the money here first. further more it's hard to find Maybank ATM machines (saw one nearby Hard Rock Hotel ).Travel Bali V4
Travel Bali V4
Nov 18 2014, 10:24 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
QUOTE(nanan75 @ Nov 18 2014, 08:55 PM) yes but the exchange rate loses to CIMB. there's no advantage to changing the money here first. further more it's hard to find Maybank ATM machines (saw one nearby Hard Rock Hotel ). |
Nov 25 2014, 03:14 PM
470 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: UM, KL, PJ, 14 |
how about renting a motorbike instead of car or jeep?
Nov 26 2014, 08:25 AM
241 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: KL |
just back from bali last week.
renting a motorbike rilly cheap. around IDR 50,000 to 60,000. that's about RM13. |
Nov 26 2014, 08:27 AM
470 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: UM, KL, PJ, 14 |
Nov 26 2014, 10:24 PM
434 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Nov 27 2014, 02:19 PM
1,085 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Yay! I'm finally heading to Bali from 5 - 8 Dec and I've booked a stay at Amadea in Seminyak.
There are a few things I wanted to check with all the sifus here: * Is it better to get a driver, rent a car, or rent a motorcycle * If you have 4 days 3 nights to spend in Bali, what would be the must dos for a first timer? * Has anyone tried surfing in Bali - I believe it's currently monsoon season there and apparently the waves are big enough to ride. I wanna try, but I don't know whether there are classes and whether it's worth it * What's the best food in Bali for you guys - got a lot of recommendation online, but mostly from gwai los. I trust Malaysian taste more though |
Nov 27 2014, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(lostasylum @ Nov 27 2014, 02:19 PM) Yay! I'm finally heading to Bali from 5 - 8 Dec and I've booked a stay at Amadea in Seminyak. 1. get driver = more expensive but much less tiring. motorcycle = a bit dangerous unless you are also a reckless motorcyclist yourself. car= i think all manual ones. so if u cant drive manual then too bad There are a few things I wanted to check with all the sifus here: * Is it better to get a driver, rent a car, or rent a motorcycle * If you have 4 days 3 nights to spend in Bali, what would be the must dos for a first timer? * Has anyone tried surfing in Bali - I believe it's currently monsoon season there and apparently the waves are big enough to ride. I wanna try, but I don't know whether there are classes and whether it's worth it * What's the best food in Bali for you guys - got a lot of recommendation online, but mostly from gwai los. I trust Malaysian taste more though 2. depending whether this is a sight seeing, partying or relaxing trip 3. yeah there are classes. seen my friends done it. just don't get con. 4. naughty nuri's pork ribs!!! the rest are just meh |
Nov 28 2014, 01:08 PM
2,548 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Going to Bali coming Dec.
One driver tells me the check out from airport takes 1-2 hours. The last 2 times I was there ( many years back), the quque for Asean passport holder with no visa needed is not that long. Anyone travelled recently, can advise on this? Also what will be car rental rate for 1 day? I get quotes from 550k - 600k saying increase due to recent fuel hike in Indonesia. |
Nov 28 2014, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 27 2014, 08:56 PM) 1. get driver = more expensive but much less tiring. motorcycle = a bit dangerous unless you are also a reckless motorcyclist yourself. car= i think all manual ones. so if u cant drive manual then too bad thanks for your input zstan! 2. depending whether this is a sight seeing, partying or relaxing trip 3. yeah there are classes. seen my friends done it. just don't get con. 4. naughty nuri's pork ribs!!! the rest are just meh 2. it's a sight seeing and hopefully relaxing trip 3. do you remember which surf school they went to? there are so many online!! 4. will definitely put naughty nuri's pork ribs on the list.... been recommended to try it a few times dy.... |
Nov 28 2014, 04:49 PM
10 posts Joined: May 2007 |
QUOTE(lostasylum @ Nov 27 2014, 02:19 PM) Yay! I'm finally heading to Bali from 5 - 8 Dec and I've booked a stay at Amadea in Seminyak. i went there last month, first time and its a solo trip. stayed at tune hotel kuta and seminyak. rent scooter for 3 days (ID50k/day). pretty safe if you know how to ride motorbike. easier to move around. went up to ubud & tanah lot by scooter. unless u have more money to spend and dont mind get stuck in traffic jam then get a driver / rent a car.There are a few things I wanted to check with all the sifus here: * Is it better to get a driver, rent a car, or rent a motorcycle * If you have 4 days 3 nights to spend in Bali, what would be the must dos for a first timer? * Has anyone tried surfing in Bali - I believe it's currently monsoon season there and apparently the waves are big enough to ride. I wanna try, but I don't know whether there are classes and whether it's worth it * What's the best food in Bali for you guys - got a lot of recommendation online, but mostly from gwai los. I trust Malaysian taste more though |
Nov 28 2014, 04:50 PM
10 posts Joined: May 2007 |
QUOTE(??!! @ Nov 28 2014, 01:08 PM) Going to Bali coming Dec. i got cleared in less than 15 mins last month .. long queue for non-ASEAN tourists thoughOne driver tells me the check out from airport takes 1-2 hours. The last 2 times I was there ( many years back), the quque for Asean passport holder with no visa needed is not that long. Anyone travelled recently, can advise on this? Also what will be car rental rate for 1 day? I get quotes from 550k - 600k saying increase due to recent fuel hike in Indonesia. |
Nov 28 2014, 05:04 PM
577 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
Hi. I going to Bali next month. Read that the monkeys at Uluwatu are notorious and will even grab glasses
The glasses means they grab from your face or like u hang on collar/pocket? Sounds scary... I plan visit Uluwatu, Tanah Lot, Jimbaran sunset and shopping at Sukawati. 4D3N enough? Probably add in Nusa Dua beach as I read that part of beach has clearer waters.. |
Nov 28 2014, 06:03 PM
2,548 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(sheanlee @ Nov 28 2014, 04:50 PM) Thanks, i think the driver think aky ini Mat Salleh from somewhere :-)QUOTE Read that the monkeys at Uluwatu are notorious and will even grab glasses hmm.gif The glasses means they grab from your face or like u hang on collar/pocket? Someone said a fren got his handphone snatched from him while he was using it and the monkey threw it into the sea Haiz...this is worst than notorious snatch thieves of JB ! |
Nov 28 2014, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(lostasylum @ Nov 28 2014, 04:17 PM) thanks for your input zstan! well if you really want a relaxing trip you should put your base at Ubud... kuta is more happening..2. it's a sight seeing and hopefully relaxing trip 3. do you remember which surf school they went to? there are so many online!! 4. will definitely put naughty nuri's pork ribs on the list.... been recommended to try it a few times dy.... not sure which school they went.. probably some random one on the beach QUOTE(torres09 @ Nov 28 2014, 05:04 PM) Hi. I going to Bali next month. Read that the monkeys at Uluwatu are notorious and will even grab glasses they will grab anything they see. my friend was walking and they came to grab her slippers. had to pay the locals there to buy some fruit to bribe the monkeys..The glasses means they grab from your face or like u hang on collar/pocket? Sounds scary... I plan visit Uluwatu, Tanah Lot, Jimbaran sunset and shopping at Sukawati. 4D3N enough? Probably add in Nusa Dua beach as I read that part of beach has clearer waters.. can skip Jimbaran la.. getting quite bad nowadays.. the sunset at Tanah Lot or Uluwatu (be very careful of monkeys though) is good enough.. Nusa dua beach mainly for water sports unless you staying in some resort.. you won't have much chance to use the beach for swimming. |
Nov 30 2014, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(??!! @ Nov 28 2014, 01:08 PM) Also what will be car rental rate for 1 day? I get quotes from 550k - 600k saying increase due to recent fuel hike in Indonesia. yeah, i got quoted the the same, citing the same reason as well. I wonder if those who had gone recently (but after the price hike) have any experience.... |
Nov 30 2014, 06:42 PM
I would also like to recommend the English Breakfast by Alleycats cafe at Kuta in Poppey Street. It's really one of the most delicious and cheapest breakfast set i've ever tasted. One big plate around RM15 only compared to some crazy cafe's here charging almost RM30.
Nov 30 2014, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 30 2014, 06:42 PM) I would also like to recommend the English Breakfast by Alleycats cafe at Kuta in Poppey Street. It's really one of the most delicious and cheapest breakfast set i've ever tasted. One big plate around RM15 only compared to some crazy cafe's here charging almost RM30. thanks again! i've added that to my list of food to eat. with regards to drivers, how much did you pay for your trip the last time? |
Nov 30 2014, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(lostasylum @ Nov 30 2014, 06:44 PM) thanks again! i've added that to my list of food to eat. with regards to drivers, how much did you pay for your trip the last time? lol. actually you could just search on trip advisor on what's nice to eat.. that's what i did when i was there haha. when it's lunch or dinner time i would just open the website and see what's good.i paid 450k for one day. not the cheapest out there but service was decent. |
Nov 30 2014, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 30 2014, 06:55 PM) lol. actually you could just search on trip advisor on what's nice to eat.. that's what i did when i was there haha. when it's lunch or dinner time i would just open the website and see what's good. i did that actually. the problem is that a lot of the reviews are done by foreigners and i wanted to get local review. that's the reason i came to this thead i paid 450k for one day. not the cheapest out there but service was decent. 450k / day isn't too bad at all. i'm getting quoted 550k / day. |
Nov 30 2014, 11:22 PM
434 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
is debit card widely accepted in bali? trying to avoid carrying too much cash.
| Change to: | 0.0263sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:18 AM |