Travel Bali V4

lostasylum
post Nov 27 2014, 02:19 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

Yay! I'm finally heading to Bali from 5 - 8 Dec and I've booked a stay at Amadea in Seminyak.

There are a few things I wanted to check with all the sifus here:
* Is it better to get a driver, rent a car, or rent a motorcycle
* If you have 4 days 3 nights to spend in Bali, what would be the must dos for a first timer?
* Has anyone tried surfing in Bali - I believe it's currently monsoon season there and apparently the waves are big enough to ride. I wanna try, but I don't know whether there are classes and whether it's worth it
* What's the best food in Bali for you guys - got a lot of recommendation online, but mostly from gwai los. I trust Malaysian taste more though smile.gif

lostasylum
post Nov 28 2014, 04:17 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 27 2014, 08:56 PM)
1. get driver = more expensive but much less tiring. motorcycle = a bit dangerous unless you are also a reckless motorcyclist yourself. car= i think all manual ones. so if u cant drive manual then too bad
2. depending whether this is a sight seeing, partying or relaxing trip
3. yeah there are classes. seen my friends done it. just don't get con.
4. naughty nuri's pork ribs!!! the rest are just meh
thanks for your input zstan!

2. it's a sight seeing and hopefully relaxing trip smile.gif - any tips?
3. do you remember which surf school they went to? there are so many online!!
4. will definitely put naughty nuri's pork ribs on the list.... been recommended to try it a few times dy....
lostasylum
post Nov 30 2014, 05:33 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Nov 28 2014, 01:08 PM)
Also what will be car rental rate for 1 day? I get quotes from 550k - 600k saying increase due to recent fuel hike in Indonesia.
yeah, i got quoted the the same, citing the same reason as well. I wonder if those who had gone recently (but after the price hike) have any experience....
lostasylum
post Nov 30 2014, 06:44 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 30 2014, 06:42 PM)
I would also like to recommend the English Breakfast by Alleycats cafe at Kuta in Poppey Street. It's really one of the most delicious and cheapest breakfast set i've ever tasted. One big plate around RM15 only compared to some crazy cafe's here charging almost RM30.
thanks again! i've added that to my list of food to eat. with regards to drivers, how much did you pay for your trip the last time?
lostasylum
post Nov 30 2014, 06:58 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 30 2014, 06:55 PM)
lol. actually you could just search on trip advisor on what's nice to eat.. that's what i did when i was there haha. when it's lunch or dinner time i would just open the website and see what's good.

i paid 450k for one day. not the cheapest out there but service was decent.
i did that actually. the problem is that a lot of the reviews are done by foreigners and i wanted to get local review. that's the reason i came to this thead smile.gif (and you've been very helpful. thanks).

450k / day isn't too bad at all. i'm getting quoted 550k / day.
lostasylum
post Dec 2 2014, 04:04 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Dec 2 2014, 09:14 AM)
Don't worry la, the monkeys are quite playful but they're not aggressive (unless provoked intentionally). When I was there, a baby monkey climbed onto my back, screamed a bit but it didn't harm me at all. It's very good experience to be this up close with them.

Jimbaran beach nothing to shout about, just for seaside dining. Most people go jimbaran after uluwatu.

I recommend suluban beach, it's on the way from uluwatu to jimbaran.
wah... suluban beach looks so good!!!! thanks!
lostasylum
post Dec 2 2014, 05:32 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

Decided to really have a good relaxing time in Bali instead of trying to visit too many places.... here's my itenerary. Anything major that i'm missing out on?

Day 1 (arrival @ 3.25pm)
Reach Bali
Relax
Explore Seminyak

Day 2
Kintamani (not planning to have buffet lunch)
Tampak Siring*
Lunch @ Naughty Nuri’s Warung (Pork Ribs!)
Ubud Palace
Sukawati Art Souveniour
Ibu Oka Babi Guling @ Ubud
Bedugul
Tanah Lot - Watch Sunset
Explore Kuta

Day 3
Nusa Dua beach
Blue point hotel-glass church
Suluban Beach
Uluwatu (Sunset) + Kecak Dance
Dinner @ Kuta