Working in Singapore V14

deodorant
post Jun 19 2013, 11:42 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 19 2013, 10:56 PM)
SPF is not regulating someone who is staying in a foreign country and driving a foreign car

I dunno whether you are trolling or being serious. SPF regulations will apply because he is driving in Singapore on Singapore roads. By your troll logic, that person doesn't need to adhere to any of TP's traffic laws and can freely run red lights, drive in bus lanes and speed to his heart's content doh.gif
deodorant
post Jun 20 2013, 04:16 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Jun 20 2013, 03:25 PM)
i thought last night was reported to be 320psi?

The reported figure is a three-hour average, however within those averages there was a spike to 400-500 (can't rmb exact)
deodorant
post Jun 21 2013, 03:11 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(a-ei-a @ Jun 21 2013, 08:55 AM)
If a Malaysian going over to Sg to work, will he/she getting back the same amount he earn in Malaysia(convert to Singapore local currency)? For example:
Malaysia salary: MYR 5K
Singapore salary: SGD 5K

Roughly speaking, 1.0myr to 0.9sgd (e.g. MY 5k and SG 4.5k) would be considered an 'equivalent' salary. Of course there are other factors in which you may consider coming over on a "lower" salary.

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 21 2013, 02:32 PM)
The haze got affect the flight schedule? Yesterday PSI should be 371? Today just hit 400, can't see the opposite block in my office, later tomorrow they cancel my flight back home  cry.gif

should cancel imo then you got excuse to ffk your parents for one weekend and join the gang for dinner or drinks icon_idea.gif
deodorant
post Jun 23 2013, 04:22 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(strison @ Jun 23 2013, 11:31 AM)
I would like to apply for the respective e-VP Electronic Visit Pass
  (Long-Term). When I try to submit the form online, it prompts with
  the Employment Pass Eligibility Certificate (EPEC) Reference No.

http://www.mom.gov.sg/foreign-manpower/pas...tification.aspx

"The Employment Pass Eligibility Certificate (EPEC) scheme has been discontinued since 1 December 2011. The Ministry of Manpower (MOM) no longer accept any applications or appeals for this scheme."

So no, you won't be able to apply for the LTVP based on EPEC scheme. After your last day with current employer they will cancel your work pass and I believe you are issued a 30-days valid white card (the same as any tourist) so you need to leave singapore within that 30 days.

And yes, you need to also give notice to your landlord that you are leaving. Your contract should have a 'diplomatic clause' written in that says something like you can break contract if you are forced to exit SG due to no more valid work pass.
deodorant
post Jun 25 2013, 08:41 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(paintballtao @ Jun 25 2013, 07:27 PM)
do people who work in SG usually apply for the PR?

Generally those who intend to stay long(er) term I suppose. PR also has some drawbacks if you're West Malaysian.
deodorant
post Jun 26 2013, 01:18 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 26 2013, 12:42 AM)
Well, gf never intro any to me.. lol.. ok I gonna pm either of them and see what brows.gif is.. lol

it's just a whatsapp chat group where a huge bunch of us chat and talk nonsense and arrange meet ups for lunch, dinner, etc. PM MacKiddo as he is our supreme leader taiko. Admission for single guys = waiting list, but if you do a joint application with your gf and/or her SIA colleagues surely can cut queue icon_idea.gif
deodorant
post Jun 27 2013, 05:20 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Deathscythe@@ @ Jun 27 2013, 05:03 PM)
hey, if current offer + benefit about 4.8k, got an offer in sg at only 3k sgd, is it a good offer? thanks

No, IMO it is too much of a downgrade. With 4.8k rm you can own your own condo plus car. With 3k sgd you can only rent a room. I don't subscribe to the rationale of coming over, spending like a pauper, converting the left over to RM and proclaiming woo hoo look how much more money I'm saving now that I'm in SG.
deodorant
post Jun 28 2013, 05:50 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Deathscythe@@ @ Jun 28 2013, 03:52 PM)
They dont really look at the result. They prefers to look at your achievements..
You meant if 4.8k in Malaysia, can try to negotiate to 4k++ SGD? erm.. any recommended ways? LOL.

"I prefer to get 4k and above as what I currently being offer in Malaysia. Dont talk to me about currency of the rate of conversion as the living expenses here (sg) are much higher than in KL. ".. lol..

He means if you are earning rm4.8k, you should be able to get a job that pays sgd4k and above. Not asking a company to pay you sgd4k for a job that only pays 3k.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jun 28 2013, 05:51 PM
deodorant
post Jul 1 2013, 12:58 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Jul 1 2013, 11:25 AM)
I haven't tried with 2gb, but I always use the 7 day 1gb and keep purchasing the 7 day 10mb until I finish all my data. Rinse and repeat.

QUOTE(junky_89 @ Jul 1 2013, 11:41 AM)
Yaya... me too.. so i wonder if the 2gb one can do as the 1gb one or not... haha...

Why you all don't want to sign contract/plan? Get nice subsidy on the phone ...
deodorant
post Jul 1 2013, 01:01 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Jul 1 2013, 12:27 AM)
not very sure what does it mean? mind to explain? I never bother to take it when I was in malaysia. now im in sg.

It's quite clear actually. You need to present your original SPM cert latest by 1 year after the WP is issued. If you don't, then your WP gets cancelled and you might be blacklisted.
deodorant
post Jul 4 2013, 03:09 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Jul 4 2013, 09:08 AM)
Assuming it's 1000sqf, rental also more than 2k...
cannot afford la....

$2.20 for condo is damn cheap eh. Even HDB is hard to find good one for that price. The place I'm renting now also more expensive.
deodorant
post Jul 7 2013, 02:40 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Jul 7 2013, 12:34 PM)
hi guys. need to ask for PR fee, on the website it says the fee is $100, but in the letter it states I have to pay t/e re-entry permit as well? and other fees I dont really know what are those. so total how much should i pay?
Don't have the breakdown but I paid $200 in total for PR formalities
deodorant
post Jul 8 2013, 10:19 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Feizai2013 @ Jul 8 2013, 08:59 AM)
They don't recognize my Malaysia working experience and only getting $1100 per month.
Slowly slowly climb after 7 years manage to get 4k+ per month.

Just curious, what is your qualifications (dip? degree?) and what job role are you working as? To be honest $1.1k is a very low starting pay ... one of our member tayhaithian got offer as $7k as fresh grad a year ago and now already $8k++++.
deodorant
post Jul 9 2013, 08:03 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Jul 9 2013, 12:43 AM)
Is it okay to get a part time job on weekends (Sat/Sun) for work pass holder?

Not allowed.
deodorant
post Jul 9 2013, 01:12 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 9 2013, 01:10 PM)
When I start work with my other half, our pay difference is about 3 times. We came from the same school, different courses and results though, I go into bank and he go into engineering. Fast forward to date, his title I think is principal engineer, and I just a small potato in my company, but the income gap is still significant.

Er, so ... does banking pay more than engineering or the other way around? When you start work you $3k and he $1k? And now you $10k and he $7k?
deodorant
post Jul 11 2013, 04:29 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Jul 11 2013, 02:25 PM)
yes, had been told so. Completed formalities on 9th morning but today still cant submit....

for me also wasn't instant, i needed to wait 1-2 days before can make appointment.
deodorant
post Jul 12 2013, 04:52 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jul 12 2013, 04:23 PM)
guys, remember to pay tax.
damn heartache sad.gif

i no heartache for tax cos my tax amount is so low that it hardly makes any difference on my pitiful pay check icon_idea.gif
deodorant
post Jul 13 2013, 10:21 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(wilhelm @ Jul 12 2013, 09:59 PM)
Guys, just to confirm.
Can we withdraw our initial deposit straightaway after the account is opened with bank?

My DBS account can withdraw immediately but by month end must top up back to minimum amount otherwise ganna $2 charge.

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jul 13 2013, 10:15 AM)
those tax charges apply on PR or EP holders?
EP pun kena pay tax ka?

huh what are you talking about. you work of course you need to pay tax mah. unless your salary is so low that the government decides you don't need to pay like 90% of all malaysians.
deodorant
post Jul 14 2013, 10:49 AM

5,691 posts

How do you guys save your rainy day funds? StanChart bonu$saver seems the best so far at 1.88% as long as u swipe $500/mth on credit card. Anything better?
deodorant
post Jul 15 2013, 09:32 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 14 2013, 12:45 PM)
The cap on the savings that actually earns 1.88% is very low though. Only $25000.

The Star$aver account pays 0.88% (constant, no close ended bonus period etc) and the eligible savings cap is $750,000. Free cheque book also.

http://www.cimbbank.com.sg/index.php?ch=sg...er_st_cur&ac=12

Seems that they reduced the interest rate to 0.8% for new accounts now. Still multiple times better than the 0.05% that I'm currently getting at DBS though icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 14 2013, 11:14 PM)
i get 1.2% at stanchart using normal e-savers... the extra 0.68% is because the $500 spent each month there's no reward points or cash rebates...

credit card points are crappy anyway, lol. plus now manhattan card reduce their cashback from 5% to 3% (but you still need big 3k+ spending in that month to qualify). e$saver 1.2% ... how?

http://www.standardchartered.com.sg/person...dex.html#faqb01

e$aver Deposit Interest Rate (With effect from 1 Jan 2012)
Deposit Balance Interest Rate
Less than S$50,000 0.10 % p.a.
S$50,000 to S$199,999 0.15 % p.a.
S$200,000 & above 0.25 % p.a.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jul 15 2013, 09:36 AM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:33 AM