63 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 >Bottom

VR/AR HMD Club - Oculus Rift, HTC Vive, PS VR, HoloLens, Magic Leap, Windows MR

ZZR-Pilot
post Jun 9 2021, 12:17 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Jun 8 2021, 06:25 PM)
great to know someone joining our VR group and hopefully provide feedback about the Pimax current state.
The high Fov is always tricky to deploy given that everyone's head-shape and eyeball shape and rotations are vastly different from one another.
and what seems normal to one user, will have optical distortion in another user. (hence why normal eye spectacles do not have that high FOV).

Drop us a feedback. I was also looking into the pimax earlier.
They're having a midsummer sale on their website until June 11. Plus some Youtuber's coupon code gives an additional US$20 off, so I just pulled the trigger. It'll probably take 2 weeks to get here from Shanghai.... which is just as well coz I'll be busy finishing up my grad school thesis for submission end of the month. 'Graduation present' is how I justify the obscene cost to my wife.

The stress of academic writing has put me in a particularly vulnerable state... so yeah, I fell for yet another expensive toy despite being in my mid 40s.

I don't think my 5600x + B550 mobo + 32GB RAM + RX6800 combo has the horsepower to drive 2x 4K screens natively in a satisfactory way, so I stayed away from the flagship Vision 8K-X model and stepped down to the Vision 8K Plus. I think it should be a more mature product than the recently released 5K Super.

Bloody expensive coz it doesn't include base stations or controllers, but since all I do is drive car sims mostly I don't really care -- it's that ultrawide FOV I'm really after. Lain semua belakang cerita.

I'm keeping my fingers crossed coz I keep hearing the PiTool software is more biased towards Nvidia GPUs, but since the minimum requirement is an RTX2060 I hope there's more than enough excess horsepower in my overclocked RX6800 to beat PiTool's Nvidia bias to drive this HMD smoothly with sufficient eye candy.

But first... I need to finish my research thesis!

FatalExe
post Jun 9 2021, 04:26 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(MelancholicAnubis @ Apr 25 2021, 06:37 PM)
Hi all, I'm looking into getting the Quest 2, but looking online for major issues, I noticed a small recurring issue that some people are facing which was that their Quest 2 was booting into USB Update Mode, I was just curious if anyone heard about it, and if there's any way to fix it besides RMA, since I heard warranty/RMA is hard to claim locally here.

Related URLs:
https://forums.oculusvr.com/t5/Oculus-Quest...the/td-p/841602
https://forums.oculusvr.com/t5/Oculus-Quest...ate/td-p/765430

or simply search "Quest 2 USB update mode loop"
non-issue, and Liang VR shop provides genuine warranty and not fake warranty (Amazon "tech" resellers in Shopee don't respond to warranty claims)
shirley_andy
post Jun 9 2021, 10:25 PM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Jun 8 2021, 05:25 PM)
great to know someone joining our VR group and hopefully provide feedback about the Pimax current state.
The high Fov is always tricky to deploy given that everyone's head-shape and eyeball shape and rotations are vastly different from one another.
and what seems normal to one user, will have optical distortion in another user. (hence why normal eye spectacles do not have that high FOV).

Drop us a feedback. I was also looking into the pimax earlier.
QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jun 9 2021, 12:17 AM)
They're having a midsummer sale on their website until June 11. Plus some Youtuber's coupon code gives an additional US$20 off, so I just pulled the trigger. It'll probably take 2 weeks to get here from Shanghai.... which is just as well coz I'll be busy finishing up my grad school thesis for submission end of the month. 'Graduation present' is how I justify the obscene cost to my wife.

The stress of academic writing has put me in a particularly vulnerable state... so yeah, I fell for yet another expensive toy despite being in my mid 40s.

I don't think my 5600x + B550 mobo + 32GB RAM + RX6800 combo has the horsepower to drive 2x 4K screens natively in a satisfactory way, so I stayed away from the flagship Vision 8K-X model and stepped down to the Vision 8K Plus. I think it should be a more mature product than the recently released 5K Super.

Bloody expensive coz it doesn't include base stations or controllers, but since all I do is drive car sims mostly I don't really care -- it's that ultrawide FOV I'm really after. Lain semua belakang cerita.

I'm keeping my fingers crossed coz I keep hearing the PiTool software is more biased towards Nvidia GPUs, but since the minimum requirement is an RTX2060 I hope there's more than enough excess horsepower in my overclocked RX6800 to beat PiTool's Nvidia bias to drive this HMD smoothly with sufficient eye candy.

But first... I need to finish my research thesis!
Which Pimax model are u looking at btw?

Was previously the official distributor for Pimax in Malaysia, got the chance to test almost all of their line up including Artisan, 5K Plus, 5K Super, and their flagship 8K X.

If need advise can get in touch with us. We supply base station if u need them.
ZZR-Pilot
post Jun 10 2021, 03:52 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jun 9 2021, 11:25 PM)
Which Pimax model are u looking at btw?

Was previously the official distributor for Pimax in Malaysia, got the chance to test almost all of their line up including Artisan, 5K Plus, 5K Super, and their flagship 8K X.

If need advise can get in touch with us. We supply base station if u need them.
Pimax 8K Plus.

Won't be needing base stations in the near future, but might want to try them later down the road out once I get familiarized and 'build my VR legs' (I'm particularly interested in a new RTS game called Battlegroup VR, which unfortunately needs controllers to manipulate stuff as a fleet commander).

What kind of base stations & controllers will I need to work with a Pimax? Can I get away with having just 1 base station to operate both controllers in a sitting game like Battlegroup VR?
LostAndFound
post Jun 10 2021, 08:43 AM

6,256 posts

QUOTE(FatalExe @ Jun 9 2021, 04:26 PM)
non-issue, and Liang VR shop provides genuine warranty and not fake warranty (Amazon "tech" resellers in Shopee don't respond to warranty claims)
Same warranty whether bought on their store in Shopee or from their FB right?
shirley_andy
post Jun 10 2021, 12:31 PM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jun 10 2021, 03:52 AM)
Pimax 8K Plus.

Won't be needing base stations in the near future, but might want to try them later down the road out once I get familiarized and 'build my VR legs' (I'm particularly interested in a new RTS game called Battlegroup VR, which unfortunately needs controllers to manipulate stuff as a fleet commander).

What kind of base stations & controllers will I need to work with a Pimax? Can I get away with having just 1 base station to operate both controllers in a sitting game like Battlegroup VR?
8K Plus is not recommended though, the resolution is just upscaled resolution, not real 8K, for that price you're better off getting the 5K Super.

Pimax headset can work on it's own without base station but it will be stuck in 3DOF mode, meaning u can only rotate your head and look around in fixed axis, leaning forward/backward or side to side won't have any effect in the game.

To achieve 6DOF, you need atleast 1 base station, the 1.0 version is sufficient, don't need to spend extra for the 2.0. 1x base station setup is suitable for seated games as you'll only be facing 1 direction during game play so don't need 360 degree tracking. However if you plan to play games that u will turn around 360 degree, then you need full roomscale tracking with 2x base station instead.

All base station (whether 1.0 or 2.0) works with Pimax, we recommend 1.0 as it's cheaper and for home use there's no difference from 2.0 since 2.0 main advantage is able to track larger space (which in normal home use you wouldn't need it as normal home don't really have that big of space to track)

In terms of controllers, it will depends what base station u using, if u using base station 1.0, then ALL base station tracked controllers will work (Vive controller 1.0, Vive controller 2.0, Valve Index Controller). However if you plan to use base station 2.0, then only Vive Controller 2.0 and Valve Index Controller can be tracked, vive controller 1.0 can't be tracked by base station 2.0 (another reason not to go for the more expensive base station 2.0)

Anyway if you're more into simulator stuff, HP Reverb G2 is another very good and recommended headset, it's the VR that has the highest image clarity at the moment. Meaning u can see things in sharper resolution, things in the distance looks clearer, readings and gauges on the dashboard (if you playing games such as Elite Dangerous of flying a plane) are much easier to read.

In short:
- if want VR with super wide FOV - Pimax
- if want VR with super sharp clarity - HP Reverb G2
- if want VR with abit wider FOV than other VR but not as wide as Pimax, good image clarity but not as sharp as Reverb G2, high refresh rate up to 144hz - Valve Index

This post has been edited by shirley_andy: Jun 10 2021, 12:35 PM
shirley_andy
post Jun 10 2021, 01:39 PM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jun 9 2021, 12:17 AM)
They're having a midsummer sale on their website until June 11. Plus some Youtuber's coupon code gives an additional US$20 off, so I just pulled the trigger. It'll probably take 2 weeks to get here from Shanghai
do take note, the price listed is not include any local authority duty and taxes.
FluffyTee
post Jun 11 2021, 09:46 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jun 10 2021, 03:52 AM)
Yes u actually can. A well position base station should cover most areas. Just remember the lighthouses must be sufficiently above ur heights, looking down. Minor obscure are often compensated with prediction, so it should be ok.

Noticed how some VR arcade only use 1 base station for beat saber( and apps that require 180deg only)
altk1989
post Jun 11 2021, 01:44 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jan 26 2021, 12:10 PM)
https://shopee.com.my/VR-Prescription-Lens-...2184.6513123017

ours are made locally by long running optical store, not made in china, not import from overseas.
Hi, want to ask you still sell Prescription-Lens for Occulus Rift CV1 ? Kinda hard to find accessory for CV 1 doh.gif
shirley_andy
post Jun 11 2021, 05:55 PM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(altk1989 @ Jun 11 2021, 01:44 PM)
Hi, want to ask you still sell Prescription-Lens for Occulus Rift CV1 ? Kinda hard to find accessory for CV 1  doh.gif
Sorry we don't have CV1 stuff anymore
ZZR-Pilot
post Jun 15 2021, 02:27 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jun 10 2021, 01:31 PM)
8K Plus is not recommended though, the resolution is just upscaled resolution, not real 8K, for that price you're better off getting the 5K Super.
I intentionally bought it for the HMD's upscaling ability.

I don't trust my 5600x + RX6800 combo to have the horsepower to drive a full-on 2x 4K resolution HMD. So the next best thing is the 8K Plus that only needs my rig to push out 2k feed before upscaling it to eliminate the screen door effect. 5K Super was a consideration, but the price diff wasn't that far off and... again... I don't see my rig being able to push out anything beyond 110hz comfortably, nor will I need it to. So between the upscaling ability vs insane refresh rates, I think I'll benefit from the former more often.

On the Dirt 5 benchmark, I get an average of 71fps on maxed out ultra settings on a 1440p x 3440p 100hz monitor from my rig... and based on that, I went for the 8K Plus.

Oh yeah.. I had to pay the customs tax & handling coz it was FedDexed over, which is pretty hefty given the price of the thing... bugger... but even then it still came to a few hundred bucks cheaper than usual.

It arrived today. Handed the FedEx guy a stash of cash for the tax etc, took it for a spin and... man... amazing visuals coz it's so effing W.I.D.E...!! And I could wear my specs comfortably inside the HMD no problems at all, so top marks for that. Didn't have the time to faff about with the PiTool settings just yet coz I was in between meetings, but in Project Wingman (it comes ready with a VR mode) the immersion blew bloody my socks off.

Had to promise myself to keep it in the box until I submit my thesis end of the month... otherwise habis la kerja tak siap...

This post has been edited by ZZR-Pilot: Jun 15 2021, 06:09 PM
shirley_andy
post Jun 15 2021, 09:25 PM

2,631 posts

On paper, this looks like the combination of the clarity of Reverb G2 + the FOV, Tracking, and Refresh Rate of the Valve Index.
LostAndFound
post Sep 2 2021, 08:59 AM

6,256 posts

What's the budget entry option for PC currently? Oculus Quest 2 still recommended or not (will it lose access to PC gaming next year?)
FluffyTee
post Sep 2 2021, 11:28 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 2 2021, 08:59 AM)
What's the budget entry option for PC currently? Oculus Quest 2 still recommended or not (will it lose access to PC gaming next year?)
Quest 2 is still a good choice as a budget. It will only cost only usd 299 and ur privacy to facebook. May consider getting a good 5GHz router if u want to wireless to pc or usb type c if u want to play wired to pc.
LostAndFound
post Nov 15 2021, 05:23 PM

6,256 posts

Hi all, if I'm looking for an inside-out (no base stations please) headset to be used for AR app development (PC) is the Quest 2 with Oculus Link my best bet compared to the Rift? Vive looks good (that's what other companies seem to use) but need base station...
shirley_andy
post Nov 15 2021, 08:46 PM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 15 2021, 05:23 PM)
Hi all, if I'm looking for an inside-out (no base stations please) headset to be used for AR app development (PC) is the Quest 2 with Oculus Link my best bet compared to the Rift? Vive looks good (that's what other companies seem to use) but need base station...
Rift long ago discontinued already.

And if wanna do AR, only Quest 2 is suitable as it can utilise the passthrough cameras to do AR.
LostAndFound
post Nov 16 2021, 08:46 PM

6,256 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Nov 15 2021, 08:46 PM)
Rift long ago discontinued already.

And if wanna do AR, only Quest 2 is suitable as it can utilise the passthrough cameras to do AR.
Thanks. For Quest 2 the annoying thing is that they don't have an RGB camera (for AR, since that's not what it's designed for). But the price is good I guess.
FluffyTee
post Nov 17 2021, 07:47 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 16 2021, 08:46 PM)
Thanks. For Quest 2 the annoying thing is that they don't have an RGB camera (for AR, since that's not what it's designed for). But the price is good I guess.
Sadly AR is still very primitive. Quest 1-2 isnt actually AR as AR is more complex than that. Due to the unnatural distance between the cameras compared to the user ipd.

U might need to get something like the microsoft hololens 2.
Currylaksa
post Nov 17 2021, 11:52 AM

1,616 posts

Waiting for either Quest 3/pro or PSVR2 (if can wireless) ohmy.gif
LostAndFound
post Nov 17 2021, 02:40 PM

6,256 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Nov 17 2021, 07:47 AM)
Sadly AR is still very primitive. Quest 1-2 isnt actually AR as AR is more complex than that. Due to the unnatural distance between the cameras compared to the user ipd.

U might need to get something like the microsoft hololens 2.
HoloLens 2 has a super narrow FOV, to the point where you'd probably get a better user experience doing Pokemon Go style AR.

Perhaps I'll just affix an RGB-D camera to a Quest 2....

63 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 >Top

0.0293sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:25 PM